Shinko 009 Raven Front Motorcycle Tire

Customer Reviews for Shinko 009 Raven Front Motorcycle Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 8 Reviews

Return to Shinko 009 Raven Front Motorcycle Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Shinko 009 Raven Front Motorcycle Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

Randy in Colorado – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA VFR800FI

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:Burned through three sets of the Ravens with no problems. Until the last set the front blistered badly leaving bumps with air pockets. There was still about 30% tread to go. I ride aggressively and only get about 4k per set.( no matter what brand of tire). Yes the pressure is always correct. But the sides always wear out before the center. I am going to try the Shinko Advance.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional value

Blake in Illinois – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 HONDA CBR1000F

Comments On Feb 06, 2013:Bought both Shinko 009 Ravens for my Honda CBR1000F (sport-touring version of the CBR) about a week ago, and performance is excellent. Its cold weather here in Illinois still, chicken-strip capitol of the world (no hills, flat, straight roads) and i have already almost ridden to the edge of the tires with no slipping at all. Jake Wilson has the best price, and for cheap sport-touring tires these are extremely good. Very responsive, sensitive, and almost no roll resistance whatsoever. I didn't realize how much i was fighting with my last set of tires on the turns. Now sharp turns are effortless. The rubber does seem pretty soft for sport-touring, but people on forums are claiming to get 8k+ miles out of these. Time will tell, but for now i am grinning through every turn.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I'm happy my sith set!

Scott in Missouri – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI ZG1400A Concours (ABS)

Comments On Jan 14, 2013:These tires work! I ride year around in Missouri. I've ridden them in temps from the teens to the hundreds. NO PROBLEMS! I even rode them home in a freak snow storm, they aren't snow tires, but they got me home!
Seriously, I've had NO cornering issues, even cornering hard in the rain. They hold a line well. The DO tend to grab the tar snakes though, so once you know that and prepare, you are fine!
Great miles, I usually get ovewr 6k of HARD miles out of each set. I can't be happier!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

04 VFR800

Anthony in TX

Comments On Sep 03, 2012:Not sure if this tire will ever wear out,have over 20K on it now and it looks great. the only issue I have it is very hard and does take some time to warm up. put when up to temp it holds the corners good. this is my second set. they hold up to the rough Texas roads a lot better then the pirelli's or pilot powers. and at half the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

why pay more??

Paul in NSW

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:Same grip & handling qualities as bridgestone sportmax & michelin pilot powers, what more can you need??

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You get what you pay for

Tyler in PA

Comments On Jan 15, 2012:I took a chance on this set of shinko's and i was somewhat disappointed. The price is great and i didn't expect too much but i only got 4000-5000 miles out of the front tire. I was forced to replace the front when it needed the rear because it only had 10-15% left on the sides. plenty of meat left in the center but the sides were gone and i don't beat on the bike. Rear life was better than expected though. Ok, getting down to it, wet traction leaves a little to be desired but it was ok. Dry (warm) traction was good, cold was expectantly worse. It all depends on how you ride, but the rear wore very evenly.
My advise, don't expect a cheap set of tires to be wonderful. They are good for the price but if you can afford to spend a few extra dollars, I would.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire , great price

Andrew in NSW

Comments On Aug 06, 2011:Well what can I say, this tire performed as well as 2ct and road smarts I have had in the past. I will no longer pay top $$ for a good tire. performance alone would be 4 star but when you look at value for money these are 5 star.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So Far So Good

Thomas in CO

Comments On Jul 08, 2011:I am very satisfied so far with the Shinko Raven 900 tires. They are on my 2004 BMW R1150RT and have over 6000 miles on them and still have plenty of wear left. They have handled very well in all riding conditions including a brief snow storm near Monte Vista, CO in May. I went from Denver, CO to Yucaipa, CA and back in May, putting the first 2700 miles in these tires. I am very comfortable in the mountain twisties here in Colorado that I have the great fortune of living near. The price of these tires allows me to buy two sets for the price of one set of many other brands that I have used in the past. My only hope is that the price does not go up as they become more popular. I will recommend these tires to others.

Was this review helpful?