Dunlop Elite 3 Radial Touring Rear Motorcycle Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop Elite 3 Radial Touring Rear Motorcycle Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 22 Reviews

Return to Dunlop Elite 3 Radial Touring Rear Motorcycle Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop Elite 3 Radial Touring Rear Motorcycle Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2008 GL 1800, tire wear on E3

G-man in Oregon – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA GL1500FT Interstate Gold Wing

Comments On Aug 25, 2014:2 yrs ago on the advice from a Goldwing expert, I installed the Centramatic wheel balancers for GL1800 Honda Gold Wing. The reason was to lengthen the life of my Dunlop E3's, and make the ride a tad smoother (Wings are already smooth, right?).
Anyway, I just had to replace my rear E3 at 12,700 miles due to a cut in the tire from road debris. This is to tell you that I still had an easy 5,000 left on the tire, and the tire/tread looked great. I've been using Dunlops for 25 years on Wings, and the only negative I have to say about the Dunlop E3's is the tire howl in every turn.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best for my m109

Walter in California

Comments On Jul 02, 2014:Best price, excellent handling, smooth ride for my m109, highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit and felt great on my M109R

Brian in OK

Comments On Dec 04, 2013:These tires are excellent and provide plenty of grip and feedback. In less than 50 miles I was already dragging the foot pegs. Highly recommended for the Suzuki M109R. The 250/40 fits perfect on the stock rear rim

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire for a heavy cruiser!

Igor in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA VTX1800N

Comments On Jul 08, 2013:Had rear Dunlop Elite 3 for 13K miles with a minimal wear, could easily run 5-7k more, but got a deep cut right in a middle of tread- roads in NYC are that bad! Ordering same great tire from the same great place: JakeWilson.com

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

service

sal in NJ

Comments On Jun 02, 2013:purchased tires from jake wilson for the first time three years ago, price was great and delivery was in a couple of days won't even look any where else I come back here every time I need tires

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tires for a heavy motorcycle

Carl Wilson in Texas – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA GL1800 Gold Wing

Comments On Nov 18, 2012:I am on my second set of Dunlop Elite 3 Radial tires. On the first set I found that by maintaining an air pressure of 41/41 I was able to get 16,000 miles out of them before change-out was necessary. (1/32 of an inch tread pattern depth remaining). The majority of my riding is one up on straight, flat asphalt and concrete roads. Because of this, the 1-1/2 inch contact patch diminishes more than the edges.
The key to tire life is maintenance. Inspect the tires before each ride and insure they have the recommended air pressure using an accurate gauge. Another thing that determines tire life is to not exceed the weight rating. On the GL1800, if the combined weight of the rider, passenger, and cargo exceeds 425 pounds you may be overloading your motorcycle.
The 130/70R18 front tire has a rating of 600 pounds @ 41 pounds air pressure and the 180/60R16 rear tire has a rating of 992 pounds @ 41 pounds air pressure.
Underinflated tires will result in higher running temperatures, irregular tread wear and affect handling which could cause accident, injury or death. Overinflating tires do not increase load-carrying capacity, but will result in a hard ride and accelerated tire wear in the center of the contact patch which makes them noisy.
Ride safe and use the tire the manufacturer recommends for your particular motorcycle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

gl1800

Pierre in QC

Comments On Jul 18, 2012:good deal

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Replaced the stock tire with the E3.

Jerry in TX

Comments On Feb 04, 2012:I got over 12k before I had to order my next E3, great tire & just bought another.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable price's

Alan in SA

Comments On Oct 05, 2011:Can't believe the pricing difference between USA and AUSTRALIA very happy with tyres , can't beat a Dunlop.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

dunlop elite 3

KERRY in MS

Comments On Jun 07, 2011:great tire for price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Tire

Johnny in CA

Comments On Mar 22, 2011:This tire has a very nice profile and sticks like glue I was running the D251 previously and using factory posted air recommendations was only getting about 8,000 mi to a D251 so my buds said to me run an E3 and to increase PSI to 42-44 and I should get better wear.I ride a VTX 110 cube beast a heavy machine with two up most of the time. The price was excellent after shopping all over. It shipped same day and was on my porch two days later. Thanks Rocky Mountain. You Guys Rock

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellant product

Mason in TX

Comments On Mar 02, 2011:I have been very satisfied with the tire i ordered and will continue to do business with Jake's.Thanks for the fast and dependable service.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good tire

Nick in NV

Comments On Feb 19, 2011:Great tire handles great but only get about 6000 mile on a v-rod 240/40/18

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Price

Terry in GA

Comments On Nov 01, 2010:Went to my local HD Dealer they wanted $280.00 for the same tire I got for less than half that price. For Tires that only get 5000 miles on it. The price here at Jakewilson.com make its a lot more easy to swallow.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Elite 3 front and rear

Terry in MT

Comments On Sep 20, 2010:Great tires, much better than stock tires. Takes groves in the road without any trouble. Great tires.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop Elite 3

Michael in TN

Comments On Sep 06, 2010:Great tire. I have the front and rear. Both smooth with Dyna Beads.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire for the money

Jeremy in MO

Comments On May 20, 2010:$138 for a 250/40/18 is a steal. Dunlop Elite 3 is the best tire for my M109r at this price point. The Metzler ME880 is at least $250, so I'll keep the change and use it for fuel so I can ride. I have over 2500 miles on this one so far and there is just a small amount of wear, still around 80% left. Hopefully I can get 12K miles out of it (I doubt it probably more like 10K)
Additional Comments On Jul 02, 2010:update, I now have just under 8,000 miles on this tire and will be replacing it within the next month. I am going to try the Avon for my next 250/40/18. But that tire costs an extra $60 over the elite 3. I still believe that this is the best value that I have found so far for a rear tire on the M109R.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What a GREAT company!

Donald in FL

Comments On May 28, 2010:I ordered this tire around lunchtime yesterday, and today at 1030am, UPS is delivering my tire! This is by far the best service I have ever had from an on line order. Not only is the tire in perfect shape, but it is $140 dollars cheaper than the dealer was going to charge! THANKS!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WOW!!

Joe in WI

Comments On May 25, 2010:Super fast shipping!I couldn't beleive it, i recieved the tire the very next day. i can't comment on the tire itself because i haven't put it on my motorcycle yet. but thanks for the super fast shipping.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding tire

Wayne in NV

Comments On Apr 11, 2010:I have finally worn my Dunlop Elite 3 tires to replacement time with 13,500 miles on them. I expected my 1800 Goldwing to burn them up in 8-10k miles but I have been pleasently surprised. I did have a brief hydroplane problem once outside Sturgis runnng about 60 when a downpour hit, but other than that, these tires have been great. Long life, great dry traction and good wet traction, smooth ride and great cornering. I will be ordering the same tires again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best tire yet!

Jerry in FL

Comments On Mar 26, 2010:i have had motorcycles for the last 58 yrs. this has got to be the best wearing rear tire i have ever had on any of my bikes, thank you dunlop, cant seem to wear it out!!! Yahooooo

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

DUSTIN in UT

Comments On Jan 05, 2009:I am so happy someone other than the dealership carried this tire, they saved me HUNDREDS of dollars and its the exact same tire! Keep up the great job. The tire wears and works great.

Was this review helpful?