Metzeler ME880 Marathon Rear Motorcycle Tire

Customer Reviews for Metzeler ME880 Marathon Rear Motorcycle Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 22 Reviews

Return to Metzeler ME880 Marathon Rear Motorcycle Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Metzeler ME880 Marathon Rear Motorcycle Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Max Mileage

Dave in Texas – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 TRIUMPH American 865

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:Great tire. I have 17,500 miles on my America and the back tire is still the original ME880. Time for a new one now. No complaints at all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires. Great company

DALLAS in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA VTX1800C

Comments On May 17, 2013:Got 10,433 Miles on this rear tire. Rocky Mountain ATV is the best on customer service and speed. Truly a great tire and a great company. I will continue to use them and recommend them to others.
Dallas

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love these tires.

Adam in ID

Comments On Apr 20, 2013:In my experiances the ME 880's are woth the little extra cabbage. My first set went almost 15,0000. The Trick to these tires is STAYING ON YOUR AIR PRESSURE. IF you don't like to check your air pressure once a week or prefer to run below max suggested air. Don't waste your time with these tire they will wear out very fast. If you like running max psi you can't find a better tire in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Me880 arathon

John in NSW

Comments On Jan 28, 2013:Just purchased this tyre to replace origional ME880 that came as standard onthe Honda vt750s (shadow RS) The origional did 18900km (11500Mls) of mostly rural roads that were pretty straight . The tyre resisted squaring off badly and was always grippy enougn for the motorcycle and riding style. So happy with it I just bought another.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Service

Paul in Missouri – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA VTX1800C

Comments On Dec 20, 2012:Ordered these on Tuesday Dec. 11th and received them on Friday Dec. 14th. Excellent service from Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Plan to do more business with them. Haven't got the Metzelers put on yet but know there quality and reputation. no worries about them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good, firm tire

Stanley in AR

Comments On Dec 04, 2012:I put the ME 880 Marathon on the rear of my 1987 Honda Shadow VT1100 cruiser to replace the OEM Dunlop. I wanted to get more mileage than the Dunlop. I found the Metzler to be a little sturdier than the Dunlop, providing a stiffer ride. Probably due to stiffer sidewalls. I like the tire though; it has good traction and handles corners well. I received the tire from Jake Wilson on time (a little early) as promised. This tire is probably better suited for heavier loads/touring bikes. But since I weigh 320+, it works well for me. I would recommend this tire for the proper weight loads, and Jake Wilson provides excellent service.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good traction wet or dry

Rick in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 HONDA GL1500 Valkyrie

Comments On Nov 15, 2012:This tire seems to work well in wet or try weather. Haven't had it long enough to coment on tire life, but the traction is great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

the best service

Greg in NSW

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:I couldn't get these tires in Australia in 2 days these guys did it form USA in 3 days. what can I say OUTSTANDING!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hi mileage tire

JAMES in NH

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:recommend to hi mileage riders (custimers)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Rear tire - 2005 Kawa Nomad 1600

Greg in LA

Comments On Mar 24, 2012:Replacing a ME880 rear, 160-80-16 BiBelted. just mounted new tire and hoping for same? The old tire actually could have gone 1000 more but had a plug and not risking more. Got 17,400 miles on old one, True fact !!! It had tread left but with a plug and a upcoming long trip I replaced it w new one. used 160-80-16 biased belt, feels great but did need 3 weights and the old one had none. Tires were delivered on day promised and no issues with JW and will definately use them again. Best price and great service!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great performing tire by far

Dan in CA

Comments On Feb 17, 2012:The Metzeler ME880 rear tire has held up beautifully in both dry and extreme wet weather. I had the pleasure of riding through one thunder storm after another in central Calif. and the tire was flawless. My 2005 Kaw. Vulcan 2000 tracked along the straight and curving roads / highway with no much as a twitch. I have traveled over 16,000+ miles easily and have now ordered another ME880 for another round of long distance travel. The Metzeler front still can travel another 1,000 miles i suspect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best tire ever

kevin in UT

Comments On Feb 04, 2012:fantastic tires front and rear combo!so good in the rain!i got 8000. miles out of my last set and ordering more today!R.MTN.ATV you guys rock and shipping is so fast thanks .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Metzeler ME 880

Jackie in OK

Comments On Jun 23, 2011:Jake Wilson and Metzeler tires.....Best price and so far the best ride I've ever had on my 2001 Valkyrie Interstate. Prompt shipping too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire.

Mark in IA

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:Very happy with the Metzeler ME880, and very happy with the prices on Rocky Mountain ATV. This was the first of three tires I bought from Rocky Mountain for my two street bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire great handling awesome

Rich in TX

Comments On Oct 09, 2010:got the tire fast put on handles great in rain. The tire sticks great on all weather rain, hot streets pavement and concrete streets highly recommended to all who wont to be able to count on there tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Shipping speed

Jacob in OR

Comments On Sep 30, 2010:Just received my new tire yesterday. Very quick shipping. Thanks for the wonderful service. Looking forward to future transactions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WOW

Steve in TX

Comments On Sep 30, 2010:Great tires at a great price!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

best tire

LUKE in LA

Comments On Sep 13, 2010:Best tire for the best price. Jake Wilson is the lowest price for this tire. The last rear like this lasted me for 15,000+ miles. Not to shabby.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Metzler tires

Bruce in GA

Comments On Aug 25, 2010:Don't think you can get tires any better this these. 15K and 22K on last set of back and fronts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BMW R1200CLC OEM Tires at absolute lowest price!

Michael in MA

Comments On Aug 11, 2010:Shopped around for the better part of a day and Jake Wilson's (JW) price is the best that can be found for these tires. Don't be fooled by other offers of "Free 1 -3 day shipping" they use the same ground shipping as JW and Jake's price is less. Also found a JW coupon on the internet and got an additional $20 off the already great price. As for the tires, they are the stock brand and type that came on my R1200CLC and I got over 14K miles on them before I decided to replace them. Probably could get another 1-2K miles out of my originals but I'd rather have nice new ones on for the upcoming wet Fall season.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

Heather in OH

Comments On Jun 28, 2010:This is not the first time we used this tire. We get about 10k miles out of it so we love only buying 1 tire a year.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Metzeler tires are the best

David in MO

Comments On Sep 04, 2008:These tires were out of stock so I went to a local dealer. I got lucky and they had a pair in stock to fit my bike. The minute I rode off the lot I could notice a huge difference. It was like riding a whole new motorcycle. It was wet and raining when I picked it up and I can say that these tires are excellent in the rain. The rear tire didn't break loose once, and I got on it pretty hard from a stop. I have a 1997 Suzuki VZ800 Marauder. The front tire is a 130/90-16, the rear is a 150/90-15. The Metzeler's are way better then the stock tires I had on there, a Cruisemax on the front and a K177 on the rear. The tread is awesome looking and the tire was close to a half inch wider then the same size Dunlop. It looks and handles great. I would definately recommend spending the extra money to get a Metzeler instead of a "Cheap" tire. As for jakewilson.com, I didn't use them unfortunatly. But, I did find that they were the cheapest and best overall for tires on the web. Ride free and ride safe.

Was this review helpful?