Tusk Valve Stem Puller

Customer Reviews for Tusk Valve Stem Puller

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 79 Reviews

Return to Tusk Valve Stem Puller Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Valve Stem Puller Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

How do your knuckles feel?

Thomas in PA

Comments On Aug 30, 2014:I know when I change tires, getting the valve stem in the hole is a pain. This tool is easy to use and works great. only bad thing is you have to remove valve to screw it on. Then put back in and put air in tire. If you like your fingers,get one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Handy

Matthew in UT

Comments On Aug 05, 2014:I purchased this tool because I was tired of trying to fish my valve stems through my rims during tube changes. Takes a few times to get good with it but once you do, it does the job super slick.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Valve Stem Puller

Oliver in FL

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:Works as described, very useful.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Makes tire/tube changes easier

Andrew in CO

Comments On Jun 02, 2014:Do you hate getting those rubber-colored sore spots on your hands trying to fish the tube stem in the rim? I do. This product solves that problem. Would buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Save time use the Tusk Valve Stem Puller

Bruce in CA

Comments On Apr 11, 2014:It's just another great tool to use to save time and your hands.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A gotta have product for tire changes

Doug in CA

Comments On Mar 11, 2014:This makes getting the tube back into the wheel SOOOO much easier. I know one of these times, I'm going to pull the cable out, but it hasnt happened yet (2 years later). When it happens, I'll buy another one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy it and dont think twice

derek in CA

Comments On Feb 24, 2014:This thing is so handy. Seriously... it is one of those tools that you never had but once you use you wonder what the heck you were thinking all those years. Big bikes are pretty easy to get the valve stem in so it may not be as useful but if you are changing mini tires (I have 5 kids who ride CRF 50's and KTM 50's) this thing was well worth the price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool.

Nick in CA

Comments On Feb 12, 2014:How much of a pain is it to get a tube snaked through a rim sometimes? Plenty tough. But not with this tool. This little baby gets the job done easily. I use it for our race car tubes also. Great tool to have when you need it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as advertised

Walker in WA

Comments On Feb 11, 2014:makes life a little bit easier:)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Knuckle saver!

KEVIN in CA

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:I always struggled to get the valve stem through the rim after putting the tire on. This tool helps allot. Strong and works well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stem puller

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:works good. takes a little of getting use to

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

it works

marc in NJ

Comments On Nov 26, 2013:Total noob at changing tires but it worked and made the process that much easier.... Tusk rocks!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Valve Stem Puller

Christa in TX

Comments On Aug 19, 2013:They got the right idea and I give credit but its just not that practical. It takes more time and frustration trying to get it on the valve stem, easier to just do it with your fingers. And yes I have tried it every way imaginable!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Yep, it's a stem puller

Steve S in Florida

Comments On Aug 08, 2013:Can't imagine what people could complain about. It does the job that it's sold for.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This is my new favorite tool

Alex in BC

Comments On Jun 28, 2013:I dreaded the raw fingers that come from threading the valve. This tool makes it so easy that I can't believe I changed so many tires without it. Get this tool and your hands will thank you. It also has a coring wrench built into the end that made things even easier so you don't have to use the plastic ones on the valve cap. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does what it says

Shane in CA

Comments On Jun 04, 2013:Some people gave this product low reviews; Why?. #1. Fish valve puller through rim. #2.Attach to valve on tube after removing valve. #3. Push tube in tire at stems position. #4 Gently push back tube past rim, then pull gently on valve stem puller. #5 Remove valve stem puller and put nut on valve stem enough so that it won't pull through the rim when putting remaining tube in tire. Then finish putting on the second bead of new tire. Now have a lemonade, or whatever.....:Happy Ridding ---Aloha

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

Daniel in AZ

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:...a must for all toolboxes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Jeff in CA

Comments On Apr 27, 2013:This is a great tool. Certainly worth the money to save the headache of finding the stem with fat fingers.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

MORENO in VIC

Comments On Apr 29, 2013:This tool is a MUST have, I use to struggle with the blusted valves,and it got the better of me to try the valve puller. And man it was great to to the job of getting that valve through that rim in a fraction of the time. Great tool i got a spare just in case.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool that works well.

James in MO

Comments On Apr 12, 2013:This works well if you remember to use it. There are times where this has been a big help. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product, very helpful

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Great Product, very helpful

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy to use

Daniel in ID

Comments On Mar 13, 2013:No more pinched fingers, works good to get stem into hole.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

the best tool ever

Edwin in CA

Comments On Mar 01, 2013:this will save pinched fingers love it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I love this thing!

Peter M in NV

Comments On Feb 26, 2013:Makes installing the Ultra Heavy Duty Bridgestone tubes a lot easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product and save hassles

DOUG in TX

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:Worked great and is very useful in smaller tires. Just don't pull real hard or it will break. Its not made to pull real hard. Brass is soft. Still a great product that is cheaper than any other.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great little tool for the collection

Blake in WA

Comments On Jan 14, 2013:This is a great little tool for the collection saves so much time and keeps the skin on your fingers

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stem puller

craig in IL

Comments On Oct 18, 2012:eh,no way a must have.tires are a pain so bust your knuckles and get traction

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very handy

CHARLES in IL

Comments On Oct 16, 2012:saves my hands and time great tool great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

waste of money

Ryan in OK

Comments On Oct 12, 2012:after trying to put the tool through the hole to pull the stem through, my fingers were just as sore as without using the tool, so I just did it with out the tool. I didn't find it useful.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No more bleeding knuckles

Chris in AZ

Comments On Sep 12, 2012:Great product. Definately makes installing the valve stem easier and for only a few bucks. Worth adding it to that $95 order to get the free shipping.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very handy tool

Koby in NE

Comments On Sep 10, 2012:Works as advertised. Cable gets kinked up a bit but not terrible.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TUSK RULES

Eric in CO

Comments On Aug 06, 2012:Dude, just get it. This saves so much headache trying to pull my valve stem through. Used it in the backcountry 23 miles from the truck with a thunderstorm about to pound us and it really sped things up... no fighting trying to get the stem thru the rim. Also use it in the garage. Only issue is it looks like a valvestem poppet remover but didn't go over the poppet, so I had to modify mine (drill it out and file the slot wider) to get it to go over my valvestem. Now it works as a valve stem poppet remover. Very pleased. Thanks TUSK!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Valve stem puller

Thomas in VIC

Comments On Jul 21, 2012:Makes life that little bit easier when changing tyres

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice for 19" rears.

Josh in WA

Comments On Jul 19, 2012:It really helps when you are having a hard time getting the valve stem thru the rim. Don't neede it every time, but nice as a back up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works like advertised

Randal in OK

Comments On Jun 28, 2012:works like advertised

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Andrew in CA

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have!!!

Daniel in HI

Comments On May 07, 2012:This tool is great! The first time I changed a tire, I couldn't fit my fingers in to pull the valve stem through. I ended up jimmy-rigging a similar device to get the stem through. My home-made device broke just as I get the stem out. I saw this on Rocky Mountain and had to buy it, a great product from Tusk.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It just works

EDDIE in VA

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:Does what it's supposed to. Handy tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nuckle saver.

tempe in CO

Comments On Mar 10, 2012:Cool little tool,work's well and nice to have in the toolbox when needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT TOOL

Paul in OK

Comments On Feb 20, 2012:HELP PULL THE VALVE STEM AND GET THE TUBE LINED UP RIGHT LOVE IT EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE ONE

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Helps save your precious fingers

MATT in NSW

Comments On Feb 05, 2012:Helps from destroying your fingers. especially with harder tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk valve stem puller

George in OH

Comments On Jan 25, 2012:Must have for changing tires.Just be carefull not to pull too hard-I think the cable could break easily.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

skeptical at 1st.

David in WA

Comments On Dec 27, 2011:I admit... I was a skeptic.. but this makes pulling valve stems easy!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Product Ever!

DEAN in UT

Comments On Dec 20, 2011:I can't believe how much easier it is to change a tire with this! What a breeze! I carry this in a tire repair kit on my front fender. It's a must have in the shop or on the trail! My only regret is that I didn't invent it. ;-)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Jonathan in CA

Comments On Dec 16, 2011:Love this for trail-side tube changes. Makes it much easier to get the valve stem through the rim.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great Procuct

Clayton in VA

Comments On Dec 13, 2011:Tired of Pinching fingers, used with tire lifting tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Need a vavle core remover

KEITH in CA

Comments On Nov 30, 2011:I thought this would remove the valve core but it didnt. I got one for a $1 so it should work good now...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ez to use

LARRY in UT

Comments On Nov 22, 2011:This stem puller works great to help pull the valve stem thru the rim.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sweet

JIM in PA

Comments On Nov 22, 2011:love this thing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Justin in ID

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:Using this is way easier than using your fingers to pull the valve stem through the rim.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Beautify simple

Robert in IN

Comments On Jul 22, 2011:Simple, easy to use, makes tire changes easier. Wouldn't be without it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome tool

Mark in NH

Comments On Jul 14, 2011:I should have bought one of these years ago!!! Use it to guide the stem to the hole, don't try to use it to yank the stem through.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

careful

DUSTIN in MT

Comments On May 30, 2011:This thing works great as a guide for the valve stem - not a puller - it will break. I have used mine on over 8 sets of tires and it still works - again as a guide not a puller. what do you want for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

REALLY NICE

lisa in FL

Comments On May 20, 2011: I GOTTA SAY THIS STEM PULLER IS SWEET. NO MORE KNUCKLE CRUCHIN. I CAN'T BELEIVE I NEVER USED THIS IN ALL MY YEARS. REALLY COOL PRODUCT. TUSK PUTS IT OUT THERE FOR A GREAT PRICE TOO.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

Tim in IL

Comments On May 06, 2011:guys if you do your own tires and have fairly large didgets.You need this , trust me.Should have bought one a long time ago.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really helps with tube/tire changes

Anthony in FL

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:Simple tool, it makes installing tubes easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Saved me time!

PAUL in CA

Comments On Mar 30, 2011:This worked great saved me time and a pinched hand!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tool

michael in FL

Comments On Jan 03, 2011:This valve stem puller made fun work of extraction

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Travis in MI

Comments On Dec 27, 2010:Makes installing valve stems super easy! No need to fuss with perfect alignment of rim tape and opening the tire to get your fingers in. The cable is easy to get through before installing tube, and the bullet shaped end slides through the rim easily when installing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stop cursing at your tire.

Douglas in OR

Comments On Dec 23, 2010:This tool really works well and takes away that finger pain of trying to get the stem through the hole. Just don't force it. If you don't have everything lined up right forcing it won't help. It will only brake your tool. This toll is tough and worth every penny but it's not idiot proof.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

it works

bert in WA

Comments On Dec 06, 2010:used it a few times and it works. must admit i only resort to this after i've been totally frustrated trying to "get it in" with my fingers. got a bit carried away with it once and ripped the valve stem out of a UHD tube. gee changing desert tyres is FUN!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

a great tool

TERRY in TX

Comments On Nov 26, 2010:this does help save your knuckles. if you are an amatuer at changing tires, like me, then this is a great tool to have in your tool box. i like it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

must-have

DAVE in OH

Comments On Nov 24, 2010:If you do your own tire swaps...get one of these!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Makes quick work.

casey in UT

Comments On Oct 07, 2010:Quick work of the most painful part of changing your tire. Works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT!

STEVEN in NV

Comments On Sep 28, 2010:the valve stem was always the hardest part about changing a tire for me but this thing makes it extremely easy this is a must have tool for changing tires or replacing tubes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Another great tool.

ROBERT in NY

Comments On Sep 07, 2010:Simply put- no more fighting to get the valve stem into the rim, what a great idea.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Saves time

Gary in CA

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:It sure makes getting the valve stem through on the tight holes. Have to have item in your tool box if you change your own tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

Steve in CA

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:This has made changing a tire much easier. I shouldn't say this, but I would pay 3x more than I did. Great product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't pull too hard

WILLIAM in AZ

Comments On Dec 09, 2009:Works great as long as you help the stem along with your second hand. The cable broke on the first one after the stem got hooked on the rim. Be careful not to pull too hard on the handle and you will be fine. Have changed about ten tires with it so far.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

You CAN use it AND partially inflate the tube.

Owen in WV

Comments On Dec 27, 2009:Like many, my procedure for installing tube and tire is to partially inflate the tube before completing tire installation. Yes, getting the valve to go through the hole in the rim is one frustrating step, which is why I bought this puller device. At first glance I thought I'd have to forego the partial tube inflation. After more thought realized NOT SO. What I did was (1) thread the puller through the rim hole (2) install one side of the tire (3) Screw the puller into the core-less tube valve (4) Pull the valve through the rim hole. (4) take the puller out the valve of the still de-flated tube, install the core and partially inflate tube (5) feed the partially inflated tube into the tire (6) proceed as normal. The device made getting the valve through the hole in the rim PAINLESS.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maybe I'm using it wrong...

Brian in PA

Comments On Mar 30, 2009:This sounded like a really cool idea. However, I always inflate the tube slightly during installation. Valve core must be removed, so no air in tube. I have much easier time without it, and just be sure to install valve stem nut as soon as stem is through hole. This is the only purpose for the nut however, as riding with in on the tube causes flats if the tire slips on the rim a little.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no more pinched fingers

Tyler in IA

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:this worked better than expected. I have used it about 10 times now and i am very happy. good thinking tusk!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great idea

Mark in CA

Comments On Mar 26, 2008:this is a cool tool. it makes getting the valve stem into the rim hole super easy. I don't mind changing motorcycle tires anymore.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

JUNK

DAVE in CA

Comments On Jan 16, 2009:Great idea too bad it broke the first time I tried to use it, RC made good on the tool and sent me another, then I went to use it and it broke the very same way (cable pulled out of the core tool with no effort) the problem is the crimp they put on the cable for retention was cracked and the cable pulled out (too brittle of a material) What I did to correct the problem was tie a small knot in the cable and reassembled it. I got two for the price of one to (bad I had to repair both).

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A must have!

BRIAN in PA

Comments On Mar 11, 2009:If you do any tire changing you have to have this product! Works awesome and is cheap! Put one in your toolbox and one in your trail bag!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very handy but fragile

Gregory in FL

Comments On Jan 10, 2009:Post on ThumperTalk recently where people were bagging the "Tube Snake" as being useless... One of the hardest parts of changing tubes/tires for me has been threading the valve stem through the rim (guess my hands are bigger than the peole who bagged the idea on THumperTalk). This makes it super easy. Only reason 4 instead of 5 stars is that it is VERY fragile. My buddy borrowed it and broke it immediately. You can't use it to "pull" the stem, but if you are careful and use it to "guide" the stem through the rim it works great. I'm ordering 3 more just so I'll have some in case I break another one. If you don't have any problem getting the valve stem through, don't bother with this (but also please tell me the secret other than having the hands of a 7-year old)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Junk

ROY in WA

Comments On Oct 05, 2008:Broke the first time I used it...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff!!!!

STEVE in CA

Comments On Oct 20, 2008:The tool was broken one minute after it was out of the package, I will exchange it and try it again.
Additional Comments On Oct 28, 2008:Rocky Mountain fixed the issue and gave me a new tool, then called me to make sure everything was great. Wow can it get any better than that!!!! Thank You

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I like it

John in OK

Comments On May 13, 2008:Getting the valve stem back in the hole was the hardest part of tire changes for me. Once I figured out the best way to use this thing it now makes tire changes much easier.

Was this review helpful?