Maxxis Bighorn Radial ATV Tire

Customer Reviews for Maxxis Bighorn Radial ATV Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 159 Reviews

Return to Maxxis Bighorn Radial ATV Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Maxxis Bighorn Radial ATV Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big Horns

DAN in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS SPORTSMAN 800 H.O. EFI 4X4

Comments On Aug 18, 2014:Awesome tires they do everything they say and then some.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

There's a reason for all of the positive reviews.

Joseph in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA GRIZZLY 700 4x4

Comments On Jul 04, 2014:Terrific product, perfect for dry all terrain use. I ride desert - hardpack and gravel with some rocks. Haven't ridden in snow or mud.Can't imagine a better match for a Grizzly in the southwest. Bighorns run about an inch larger in all dimensions than same size Maxxis OEM tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These tires are awesome!

Ryan in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA GRIZZLY 660 4x4

Comments On Jun 29, 2014:I've put 600 miles on the Bighorns so far out here in Colorado, everything from rocks, roots, sand, and gravel. The performance is outstanding, the ride is really smooth and the traction is great. I've got the 26x9x12 front and 26x12x12 rear's with 4.5 psi and the quad rides like a Cadillac.
This is by far the best "all terrain" tire out there. They look extremely beefy too and are no doubt tough.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wear really good

CASEY in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI Teryx 750

Comments On Jun 03, 2014:We have over 3000 miles on these with a lot of pavement driving on them. They are about shot now but did better than expected with pavement riding. They ride very smooth handle good and grip good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tires ever!

Codie in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA RINCON 650 4x4

Comments On May 08, 2014:These tires have held up so well, we are not easy on our toys...they are tuff!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bought this tire when I bought the machine.

Joe in West Virginia – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On May 04, 2014:I put oversize tires on my RZR before I brought it home. Since the rims I wanted already had the Big Horns mounted I thought Id give them a try. I took it easy on them first couple times out basically experimenting just to see what they would do. They are great on pavement, gravel, and even in the clay mud were blessed with around here. If your in heavy clay mud it does help to burp the throttle and clean them out, with that being said I have a tractor with ag tires that I cant keep clean in the same mud so yes its sticky stuff lol. After a few large mud clots came down on me in some nice size holes I decided to put a top and fender flares on my RZR. Ive run them for 4 years now even had something cut a deep score most of the way around one but its never given me any problems. Rough terrain here at times so yeah they have a couple plugs in them lol. I will be replacing the rear tires this spring before I start riding alot again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tires

bryan in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA RINCON 680 4x4

Comments On Apr 25, 2014:These are great tires for all around riding and look great also. Great price

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tires

Jack in Saskatchewan – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 CAN-AM Outlander 650 EFI XT-P

Comments On Apr 27, 2014:I read all these positive reviews about these tires and I must say they are everything they are reported to be.
We just came in from riding the spring flooded fields with some snow still in the tree lines. Awesome tires went anywhere. Good grip, flotation very little spinning. Our neighbor has same quad with stock tires (same as \I replaced) and he said he was spinning all the time and they avoided some of the spots we went through. We both had our wives on with us.
I had my wife drive and said give er.. if we don't get stuck we aren't trying hard enough. So, we tried ramming through some snow on fenceline and got hung up!! No problem just rock it side to side and backed right out of there.
Definitely recommend them. I read all reviews here but did buy local dealer. Paid more I am sure! Great site.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great all around tire

Brody in Missouri – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 ARCTIC CAT 1000 LTD

Comments On Apr 17, 2014:I just put a set of these tires on a set of 14" STI HD3 wheels and they look great. I have had bighorns in the past and they do well in just about everything from pavement to light mud. With their radial construction they are very stable at high speeds but still soft enough to offer a smooth ride. Unlike other tires with directional tread, the bighorn's non-directional tread allows you to rotate them like you do a car tire to keep them wearing even.
Rocky Mountian ATV was also great. They had no problem price matching the whole wheel, tire and lugnut package from a competitor and they came mounted and packaged well. Shipping was only 2 business days to Missouri.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Daniel in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 POLARIS SPORTSMAN 500 4X4

Comments On Apr 14, 2014:I have been using the Maxxis Big Horns for many years now. I find them to be a very all around tire. They work well in sand, mud, mountain rocks, and in the woods. I am sold on this tire and will use them as long as they are around.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Frank in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On Apr 07, 2014:Had over 7,000 miles on the first set. Replaced because of a rock cut in sidewall.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires

JEFF in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 POLARIS RANGER RZR 4 800

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:I bought this one as a spare to carry. The Polaris came with these from the factory. They have been awesome in the sand and rocky terrain here in the California desert.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bighorn tires, cant go wrong!

DONALD in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA RINCON 650 4x4

Comments On Mar 01, 2014:Excellent tire. I ride from hard pack to snow and tires perform excellent. Tread wear is holding up nicely. Smooth ride. Recommend these tires for excellent all around use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best radial tires

John in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 JOHN DEERE Trail Buck 500 4x4

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:I dont think one could find a better price and service than Rockey Mountain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great tire !

Michael in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA RINCON 650 GPS 4x4

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:Rockey Mountain service is the BEST HANDS DOWN. ! If you have a problem they replace it no hassle.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

awsome fit & looks!!!!!

Richard in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 CAN-AM Outlander 800R EFI XT

Comments On Jan 08, 2014:I wasn't sure if the larger tires would fit, called customer service they said they will work. Arrived in only 2 days amazing. Just got done mounting them, My Can AM looks killer. Thanks RM

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

bighorn tires

DAN in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA GRIZZLY 700 4x4

Comments On Dec 19, 2013:best tire for all around use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tires ever

Kolton in IL

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Love then wear good on all surfaces no vibration or rough ride great traction

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tires ever

Kolton in IL

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Love then wear good on all surfaces no vibration or rough ride great traction

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Compared to:

jim in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 CAN-AM Commander 1000 X

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Tires give superior ride and great traction. I ride in the desert and mountain terrain and have had zero failures or flats. Only concern with this set is what the tread life will be. This set does not seem to be wearing as well as the ones on my ATV. Could be due to power difference between the two, Can Am 1000 verses Honda 650. I don't think it's because of a change in riding/driving style but do wonder if the tread depth is the same on this set compared to the previous ones ?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire, Great Price

Chris in AZ

Comments On Oct 16, 2013:Love the tire. Very reliable and versatile. Best prices are here on this site by far. Can't beat the free shipping

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome all around tire!!!

JAGGER in KS – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI Teryx4 750

Comments On Oct 16, 2013:I have close to 4000mi's on these and they have held up great!!! I did have couple flats but put slime in them and no more problems. Mine have about 50% tread left- they would probably have more but in the town of Overbrook you can legally ride them on the street. I ride in all kinds of terrain- Lots of rocks and these tires really take the abuse!!! I ride in sand too and let some air out and they perform close to a paddle. The 26x9x12 tires are about a 1" taller than most 26" tires are- But if you buy a 26x9x14 they are or were a 1" shorter than the 26x9x12's I bought- (have 2 teryx's and bought 2 sets of the same size but w/ different wheel sizes). Rocky Mountain is a great company to buy from- fast shipping and excellent service!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Proven tire

MIKE in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 POLARIS RANGER 900 XP

Comments On Sep 23, 2013:The Bighorn tire is a great tire, priced well and proven performance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires

Bill in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA RHINO 700 FI 4x4 Auto

Comments On Sep 14, 2013:Bought theses tires in 09. After 7500 miles of riding in the desert of southern Utah, Nevada and Northern Arizona, they still have half the tread. After the last ride I lost the entire side wall on one of the back tires (several multiple LARGE cracks around the side wall). Other tires still look OK. No cracks. Still feel like they are great tires and have given exceptional service.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big Horn Durability

Steve in AR – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 POLARIS RANGER RZR 800

Comments On Sep 10, 2013:I am on my second set of Maxxis BH tires. 5600 miles of brutal rocks, tree roots and stumps. I do rotate them every 500 miles left to right, as they are non-directional. As always, RMATV delivers with price and customer service!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best rugged tires, Never get flats.

A. D. in UT

Comments On Sep 04, 2013:I bought two sets of these for two large quads after having too many flats from riding in the rocky desert. I now have two years worth of hard riding with these and have not had a flat. They also work better in snow than anything else I've used. They are radial tires and ride noticeably smoother than non radial. I will buy these again if they ever wear out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Tires For Every Terrain

MICHAEL in MS – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA RINCON 680 4x4

Comments On Sep 02, 2013:Have had these tires for over 4 years, they compare to brand new tires with 2000 miles of use. Street, snow, mud, rock, sand, and anything and everything. These are great tires for every use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big horns

Les in KY

Comments On Sep 02, 2013:Love these tires. I'm from eastern US, very rocky tough Terrain. These tires hold up great.. 1100 miles, plenty of tread left, no plugs... Will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires!!!

Antone in KS – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI BRUTE FORCE 750 4x4i

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:They work great in the mud and ride smooth on pavement!! I got the 30x10-14 they look great on the four-wheeler!! I am very impressed with them!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Bighorn Radial

Brian K. in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 POLARIS RANGER 900 XP

Comments On Jul 28, 2013:Theses tire do it all ! Looks,ride.strenght ! I purchased 28x10x14 size . They have 600 very rough tough trail miles very rocky lots of hills and mud ! I will buy these again !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent customer service

john in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 POLARIS RANGER 500 4X4 EFI

Comments On Jul 21, 2013:Shipping was beyond excellent. Haven't stuck them on the vehicle yet but they look great and I got them in a day and a half. Way to go.........

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great ride and traction

mark in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI King Quad 750AXi

Comments On Jul 16, 2013:I ordered these in a tire and wheel package and I just put them on my bike today and these tires have made a big difference on the handling and capabilities of my four wheel. Plus they look great too. thank you rocky mountain atv with all your help and your fast shipping.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Aggressive looking tire with excellent grip!

Brett in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA RANCHER 350 2x4

Comments On Jul 09, 2013:These tires will grab anything you throw at them! They have a soft rubber compound that grabs rocks, loose dirt, clay, and they even ride on top of the snow pretty well. They also wear very well as many people get 7,000+ miles before needing a new set!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT!

Travis in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 POLARIS RANGER RZR S 800

Comments On Jun 17, 2013:GREAT TIRE! EXCELLENT HOOK UP! NOW I UNDERSTAND WHY EVERYONE I RIDE WITH HAS THESE!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tires

Barry in Illinois – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA TRX 500 4x4 FOREMAN

Comments On May 30, 2013:I paired a set of these with a set of ITP SS 312 wheels. What a difference these have made on the machine. The stance is a bit wider and feels more stable. They are much more aggressive than the stocks that I took off. I went a from a 25x8 & 25x10 to 26x9 & 26x12 and the fit was still good . They really look sharp on the machine. The only thing I wish I could have done different was run a 26x11 in the rear but it is not offered in the origninal Bighorn. This is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I ordered these on a Wednesday and received them Friday. Thanks RMATV for the fast service!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Earth Movers

Ricky in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 POLARIS SCRAMBLER XP 850 H.O.

Comments On May 01, 2013:These tires are taller and wider than stock tires of the same size but the treads clean out in the mud really well and they just dig the ground when you mash the throttle.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great trail riding tire!

Wayne in PA

Comments On Apr 16, 2013:I'm sure they were designed for another purpose but BH's work awesome for trail riding. I avoid mud for the most part but they have done very well in the mud for a non mud tire. Oh yea, they are also the best looking tire on the market , hands down.
400 miles and no pinch flats or any flat for that matter. I'm running them on 14" wheels too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Another good quality product from Rockey mountain

Michael in ON

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:Another good quality product from Rockey mountain with the best price . I like that Rocky Mountain stands behind the products they sell if you ever do have a problem .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Big Horns or else.

Stephen Otto in Colorado – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 POLARIS RANGER RZR XP 900

Comments On Jan 31, 2013:I replaced the ITP's that came with the XP after 400 miles. I go to Baja for 1 trip per year, when you are 600 miles from the truck you better ride the best- Maxxis. I have them on a Sportsman 600, 09 Rzr S and the 2011 XP.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't ask for more from a tire

TRAVIS in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI PRAIRIE 650 4x4

Comments On Jan 11, 2013:I ride in a really rocky area that gets occasionally muddy and snowy. These tires are simply the best in all conditions. I have not gotten stuck once while using these tires. Also, they are very long lasting. I have well over a thousand miles on them are they still have at least 70% of their tread left.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Highly Regarded

Gary in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 POLARIS SPORTSMAN 500 4X4 EFI

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:I have been exploring via ATV for over 10 years and these tires have a solid reputation in the Utility ATV crowd. This is the second set I have purchased as the first ones lived up to their reputation. They are very durable and perform great. I am approaching 10,000 miles on my Polaris and have run the Bighorns exclusively since replacing the factory original tires. When I find something that works, I stick with it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Horrible sidewall pucture resistance

john in Arizona – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 POLARIS RANGER RZR XP 4 900

Comments On Nov 26, 2012:I have cut & replaced 2 Bighorn in 700-miles. I need a better sidewall resitant tire. Do NOT BUY these

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wow...

TIMOTHY in PA

Comments On Nov 01, 2012:These tires are awesome! Pictures in ads or quad photos just don't do them justice. They are even more aggressive than I thought they would be. They run pretty true to size and look great on my Grizzly 700 & dig 10x better than stock tires. No wonder they were the most highly recommended all purpose tires on the atv forums that I frequent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Is There Any Other Tire?

KEVIN in UT

Comments On Oct 31, 2012:Maxxis Bighorn says it all. Superior tire and nothing else comes close. Keep up the good work Maxxis.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Lives up to the Hype

Luke in IN

Comments On Oct 25, 2012:I have read review after review raving about the ride quality of the Maxxis Bighorns. I thought they'd definitely be better than the stock rubber, but the difference truly is amazing and not just in traction.
The cornering is much better and the steering feels much lighter. I noticed the difference after about 3 feet backing out of the garage that it felt like a much different bike. After I got out on the trail it now felt like I had power steering and it wasn't darting.
Traction-wise, these things flat hook up. On one trail where I usually spin the tires on a gradual up hill climb, I could feel the front-end picking up.
I only have a handful of miles on these, but I couldn't be happier.
RMATV got them here in 3 business days. Can't beat that.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Product fit great.

BRIAN in OH

Comments On Oct 18, 2012:Nice Product fit great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Tires

Will in CO

Comments On Oct 16, 2012:Just put these on the rear of my 98 sportsman and they handle great. Just did a trail through 35 miles of extreme mud in the sun, snow and ice in the shade, with steep inclines and descents mixed in. The tires greatly increase traction in any terrain. They work so well i just ordered the front tires because they were the only tires left spinning out. Sure footed grip and great puncture resistance. Amazing tire to say the least.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire ever

STEVEN in AR

Comments On Oct 10, 2012:Best tire for all around use ever...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sweet

Jonathan in AZ

Comments On Sep 18, 2012:These climb good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires

Marcus in TN

Comments On Aug 13, 2012:Got 26-9-12 and 26-12-12 on itp ss316 wheels for 2012 Honda Foreman. Wheels and tires look great!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis-Bighorn-Radial-ATV-Tire-Arctic Cat 700 TRV

Dean in CO

Comments On May 29, 2012:Wow! What a difference from the OEM Duro Red Eagles that I replaced after returning from the San Rafael Swell/Moab, Utah rides...The Bighorns kept the front end stable on straight aways without the front end swishing from side to side.. The grip on the rocks/boulders is as impressive as could be...Also, the peace of mind of not worrying if the tires would go flat or take the abuse of the trail was worth every penny spent on the Bighorns...Received the tires promptly from Rocky Mountain ATV/MC...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing ride

KIM in WY

Comments On May 11, 2012:Ride quality difference between old bias and new radial tires is amazing!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Bighorn

Scott in TN

Comments On May 07, 2012:Installed on 09 Yamaha Grizzly FI EPS in stock size. No comparison to stock tires. If I knew they were that good, I'd have ditched the stockers the day I brought it home! Stock dunlops barely lasted one season before almost slicks. I've got 2 seasons on Bighorns and still lots of tread. Get the originals, not the 2.0!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bad a$$ tires

MAX in NV

Comments On Apr 09, 2012:first heavy snow didnt realize i was in 2wd, these things hook up

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!

Joseph in AZ

Comments On Apr 08, 2012:Great tire does everything I ask it too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rock Mountain ATV

James C in NV

Comments On Mar 29, 2012:I have not used these Maxxis Bighorn Radial Tires yet but I am really empressed with the quality of this tire. Looks great. I will right another review later when I have used them awhile. This review is about Rocky Mountain ATV really. They are absolutley great. I recieved these tires the day after I ordered them. The price was the best I found anywhere and shipping was free. 5 star for Rocky Mountain ATV. Thanks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires, and awesome customer service!

James in AZ

Comments On Mar 28, 2012:I ordered my tires mounted on ITP Rims and 5 days later they are on my doorstep. WOW, can't say enough how great the customer service is at Rocky Mountain ATV. They will definitely be the first place I go to in the future to order parts. The Bighorns are a really nice tire, and could tell just by a ride around the block on pavement that they are a much smoother riding tire than the stock tires on my Polaris RZR. Can't wait to take them out and give em a run on the trails...

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

GREAT TIRE

Lyle in AZ

Comments On Mar 20, 2012:Much softer ride and better traction everywhere over the Carlisle radials that came on the CAN-AM ATV.
Little noticeable wear after 30 hours use. Look great also!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires

kerry in UT

Comments On Mar 12, 2012:I put these on my rzr xp 900 and love them mud, snow, sand, rock they like it all great tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fast Free Shipping

John in CO

Comments On Feb 29, 2012:Great Price, fast Shipping, Good Tires. Replace the factory Polaris XP 900 ITP XCT900's with these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dang Good Tires

Andy in GA

Comments On Feb 25, 2012:I bought my tires in late 2008 after going to the Rocky Mountain Atv Jamboree in Utah. Mostly here in Georgia I do agressive trail riding and mud riding. These tires do great in both and are so much better than the stocks were on my King Quad 700. Stocks spun and the big horns grip. I have over 2000 miles on them and they are holding up very well. I'm sure they will last another 2000 before replacement.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

maxxis bighorn's

JIM in IA

Comments On Feb 08, 2012:i replaced my maxxis mudzilla's with these bighorns and love them, in the mud the tread really fills up with mud but still go good, i ride in 2wd in the deep snow with these, and i just love them, now i need to sell my mudzilla's!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire ever!

John in AZ

Comments On Dec 30, 2011:Have installed on 2 of 4 quads so far, going to install on the rest soon. Tires ride and perfom excellent on all surfaces.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Bighorn

Chad in MT

Comments On Dec 28, 2011:I put these tires on my Honda Rincon. I can go places in 2wd that I had trouble going in 4wd before.
Rocky Mountain ATV is the best place to shop. I got my tires in two days.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Bighorn ATV Tire

glenn in AZ

Comments On Nov 29, 2011:Awesome tire! Lots of tread. Best tire I have used so far. I bought a total of 8 (2 quads). I used them on my 2005 Honda Rincons. They actually did great out in the California sand dunes too!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best All-Round ATV Tire

Michael in WA

Comments On Nov 29, 2011:Several years ago, after some serious research on ATV tires, a friend elected to go with Maxxis Bighorns for his Polaris 800. (He told me the best and cheapest place to order the tires was through an on-line company called Rocky Mountain ATV.) I waited for him put the tires through their paces to find out what he really thought. It seemed that his appreciation grew the more miles he logged on them. After 1000 miles I had to admit, I hardly noticed any wear. So, I finally went ahead and ordered a set from RM. It has proven to be the best upgrade to my ATV's I have purchased to date. I have since ordered a second set for my other ATV.
The tires seem to smooth out and mold to my machine within 50 miles. (However, please note, they are much larger than any Non-Maxxis tires with the same measurements. The 26 inch Bighorns are significantly larger than my 26 inch Polaris stock tires?a tight (but doable) fit on my Polaris 500.)
I now have 800 miles on the my first set of Bighorns and they still look almost new. In my humble opinion, if ATV manufactures used Bighorns as their stock tires, a lot of the other tire manufactures would be out of business. They are the best all-round tire I have used. Tough as nails, they wear like iron and have outstanding traction on just about everything I have thrown at them. I could not ask for more.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Impressive improvement

GREGORY in MA

Comments On Nov 12, 2011:After reading many ATV tire reviews, we bought a set of Bighorns for our '06 Kodiak 450. I was concerned about the weight, but did not want the shorter knobs and thinner sidewalls of the 2.0's. Overall, these tires feel wonderful. Compared to the stock Dunlop's, they seem to roll very smoothly and absorb the small, sharp hits much better. I do not know if this is due to the tall, soft knobs, or the radial design, but whatever the case, there is an impressive improvement in ride quality. These tires also mounted up very easily, and if not for the difficult removal of the old tires, I probably could have mounted them by hand. From what we have seen, these tire deserve the high ratings that they seem to unanimously receive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tires at a great price for my yamaha rhino!!

JIM in NV

Comments On Nov 08, 2011:I should have done this mod a long time ago. Very happy with these tires so far.
It is like I got a new suspension compared to the stock tires; a very smooooth ride.
I expect them to last a long time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WOW Rocky Mountain ATV Service and Bighorns!

George in NV

Comments On Sep 30, 2011:I just gotta say that you guys delivered these to my door in just 2 days. That is outstanding. Tires are nice! I haven't rode them yet but look for an upcoming review.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

27" BIGHORNS on a 2010 ranger 800

Ramon in OH

Comments On Aug 25, 2011:I put 27's on my ranger without a lift, just moved the shocks. My ranger splits its duties between work and play and so far the work side of things have been awesome. I run stock steel wheels 12 psi in the front and 15 in the rear for work, it carries a load. Trail 8 psi all the way around.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis bighorn

William in UT

Comments On May 30, 2011:My only complaint is Maxxis dodesn't make the tire in a 26x10 or 11x12. other than that the tire is a great long lasting tire. I've got arount 2500 miles on them and can't see any wear on them. They on on a Can Am Outlander Max 650.
Additional Comments On Aug 09, 2011:So far there has been no problem with 50 inch rule that the BLM & Forestry has place on the trails in my area not much room on each side They are major mud slingers (no big). I got around 3500 on the now and the still show no wear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Still going strong

ROBERT in AZ

Comments On Aug 03, 2011:I bought a set of these tires in December of 2004. I ride in the Arizona desert through some rough terrain, and up in the high pines. These tires have been holding up. I originally bought them for my Kawasaki 360 Praire 4x4, but they are now on my Honda Rubicon 4x4. They still look pretty good with obvious signs of wear, but I think I can put more miles on them. The price went up by $40 dollars a tire since I put them on. The only reason I would be hesitent in buying new tires is for that reason only - cost. The set has about 1900 miles (conservative estimate) on them. I ride alot, but do not drive like some drunk redneck hillbilly. Yes, over rough terrain.
Additional Comments On Aug 03, 2011:One thing is they do add some extra weight to the big which does change some performance. You have to adjust to the difference in performance, but doesn't take long.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire size is LARGER than expected

Rick in CA

Comments On Jul 02, 2011:Great tires and absolutely no complaints. I bought these to replace my stock tires and I purchased the exact same size as I had. But when I put them side by side, the Maxxis Bighorn tires were much taller and wider than my other Maxxis AT tires. They fit well but slightly effected performance due to the increase in tire diameter. Just food for thought.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WOW, what a difference a tire makes

Robert in ID

Comments On Jun 22, 2011:Went from the OEM Maxxis on the Rzr, to the Big Horn and only wish I had made the switch last year. The improvement in ride and handling, plus the lack of tire noise is nothing short of phenomenal. Great tire at a very reasonable price. Have already made another convert, when he drove our Rzr.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME TIRE!!!!!

Craig

Comments On May 22, 2011:Just had my first ride with my new bighorns and what an awesome ride it was. Smooth ride and great handling compared to my stock tires. 40 mile ride with no complaints, when they wear out I will buy them again. Good job Maxxis

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

FAST D

JOHN in ID

Comments On May 20, 2011:less then 24 hrs. and they were at my house that's fast delivery

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME

Jordan in UT

Comments On May 06, 2011:These things are meaty! I have the same tires on my Grizzly and RZR S, and I will never buy another tire for either of these machines

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

MARK in UT

Comments On Apr 02, 2011:This is the best tire I've found for my type of riding. Going to Moab in about a month. Last thing I have to worry about is the tires. Rockymountain ships fast! Less than two days from ordering to delivery. WOW

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires

Austin in CA

Comments On Mar 31, 2011:Ive beaten these tires to death and I finally just bought a new set after running my last set bald on my Ranger 700. I wouldnt go with another tire. Uses: Mud, Sand, Rock Climbing and work

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bighorns in kentucky

Tony in KY

Comments On Feb 21, 2011:best all around tire ever on my rzr

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2000 miles and still going strong

Merlin in WY

Comments On Feb 14, 2011:I was lucky enough to buy a machine with these tires on them its a 10 rzrs i have put a brutal 2000+ miles on the same set from Moab Utah to the moutains here in Wyoming these tires do it all. i finally destroyed a rear tire doing a power slide at 50 mph and clipped a rock that pinched the tire inbetween the wheel. 2 tire plugs and off i was. Simply Amazing tires!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire money can buy for desert trail riding

Bruce in AZ

Comments On Jan 31, 2011:These Maxxis Bighorn tires are great. I ride with a local group in the Phoenix AZ area and most of my fellow riders run Bighorns on the desert trails. They are tough as nails and wear great! Since installing these tires, I have had no more flats or any issues of any kind. I highly recommend these tires and will buy another set when these wear out. I'm sold on the Bighorns for life!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire, but disappointed with.....

Peter in NY

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:I ordered and received four tires. The overall design of the tire appears to be good, but the "Maxis Bighorn" writing on the side wall had a blue tint of paint sprayed over the white lettering. I'm not exactly sure why it was painted. I had to use a black marker the cover the paint because I did not feel like packing the tires back up to return them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the wait!

PATRICK in MI

Comments On Nov 23, 2010:I spent many weeks reading reviews and comments on various ATV sites. For me and the places I ride there is no better tire. I've ran these tires only a few miles thus far and notice a significant improvement in stability. They hook up great. Cornering at higher speed is better too. I notice engine braking is less effective, but it's slight and was expected due to more mass in the tire/wheel combo. Highly recommend these tires. Really built!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT TIRES

Greg in IN

Comments On Nov 20, 2010:I have these tires on my quad and my wifes rzr and they work out perfectly for all around riding they work great in mud and even on road riding they last excellent and did not even need to be balanced.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BIG HORN ATV TIRES

BILL in MT

Comments On Nov 10, 2010:I HAVE READ REVIEWS FROM OTHER SITES AND THEY ALL PRAZE THIS TIRE AND RECOMEND IT AND STATE THAT BIG HORN DID THERE HOME WORK ON THIS TIRE. I CAN'T WAIT UNTIL MINE GET HERE AND TRY THEM OUT.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Big Horn tires, 14".

Terry in MT

Comments On Sep 20, 2010:Put these on a rzr which had 12". Really great tire for trails. Great traction. Don't need 4 wheel drive near as often.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tires

Dustin in ID

Comments On Aug 31, 2010:These things will enable you to climb up a tree

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT Tires

Jack in OR

Comments On Jun 13, 2010:I put about 600 miles on the stock Dunlop tires on my Honda Rubicon. The tire lug edges were rounding off riding in granite rocks, and traction in dirt, snow and mud was not good.
I now have about 600 miles on the Bighorn Maxxis tires, and am REALLY impressed. They are wearing well, and the edges are not rounding in the granite country. They have very good snow, and good mud traction. The ride is MUCH smoother, and in large rocks, my arms are not tired at the end of a day. When hitting a hidden rock or root at speed, the handlebar jerk is not bad. I had the handlebars almost jerked out of my hands with the stock tires. I will purchase these again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Apr 25, 2010:Put on a 05 Honda Rancher. They look great. Really grab the dirt so have to hang on a little more. Bigger that you expect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire Review

Scott in AZ

Comments On Apr 12, 2010:These tires are great and the service provided by Rockey Mountain ATV/MC is excellent. These tires ride so much better than my Goodyear Rawhide tires that I bought another set to have a spare set for when these wear out.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

So Far So Good!

Francisco in CO

Comments On Mar 24, 2010:I have not put but a few miles on these bad boys but can say they are very nice tires. I put them on my 2007 Honda Foreman ES 4x4. I never rode on the factory tires but a few miles so i can compair them but these tires climb some steep hills in 2x4 and 3rd gear. Dont seem to have much power loss. They look awesome too! Factory size on mine is 25x8x12 and 25x10x12. I went with the 25x9x12 and 25x12x12. They fit with about an inch of clearence in the front and 2 inches in the rear. Very nice fit with factory suspention. 27 inch will not fit with out a lift on the forman. They only stick ut about an inch so i should not get to muddy. Oh ya and they look best on the ITP 212 Black wheels!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BEST ALL AROUND TIRE AROUND!

JERRY in ID

Comments On Mar 02, 2010:I have had my Big Horns for a while. I have 2500 miles on mine and still look practically new. Some guys in my atv club have over 5000 miles on theirs and still plenty of tread. I live in the North West and ride all types of terrain including deep mud and snow and nothing slows them down. Never evan had a flat yet. I cant say enough about these tires. You wont have any regrets buying Big Horns.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These Tires are AWESOME

Anthony in PA

Comments On Feb 26, 2010:You want a good trail tire? Look no further!
-No tire roll like the stock tires.
-Tough as nails on Roots, Rocks, and snow
-They even grip on the side for those tricky ruts and rocks
Only bad thing I can say This isn't a mud tire, so don't expect to win mud nationals with this one. Remember it is a trail tire and built for such.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!!

Brian in ID

Comments On Feb 18, 2010:Just an awesome tire. Steering is effortless. Traction and durability couldn't be better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Arthur in KS

Comments On Feb 05, 2010:These tires are night and day better than the stock tires that came on my Polaris 850 XP. If you need a good all purpose tire, these are some of the very best and Rocky Mountains price is the lowest I've found anywhere.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT TIRES

Dustin in TX

Comments On May 20, 2009:Put them on my RZR and it made a world of difference over stock. In the turns I am drifting in the sand at full throttle passing others! Traction on hard pack is off the chain too. The pictures don't do them justice either, when they showed up at the house I was amazed.
Additional Comments On Feb 02, 2010:An all around tire for traction and speed. Hard pack, rock, sand and mild mud no problem. Don't get for mudding! They are not very self cleaning and look into getting extended mud flares because they will sling the stuff!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Tires

William in CA

Comments On Dec 02, 2009:Handling improved with these tires over stock tires on my RZR. Best price found and super fast free shipping.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It Don't Get Any Better

Christopher in CO

Comments On Nov 28, 2009:Absolutely the best all-round tire out there. Great in the rocks, great in the snow, great on hard packed trails. No complaints here.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough

James in CO

Comments On Nov 24, 2009:Best all around tire I have owned! Great traction on rocks, trails, and mud!

Was this review helpful?