Bridgestone ED78 Desert Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Bridgestone ED78 Desert Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 28 Reviews

Return to Bridgestone ED78 Desert Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Bridgestone ED78 Desert Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hooks up good!

Thomas in PA

Comments On Jun 15, 2014:Once it got scuffed on the hardtop, it seemed to hook up good in the rocks. not to be trusted on anything wet. all and all a good tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

If you run more than 10 lb's you are missing out

Big D in Arkansas

Comments On May 21, 2014:I have run this tire for years! What I can tell you is that I ride at an "A" level pace in some nasty stuff and have never had issue. I run it at 3 to 8 lbs and it hooks up even with worn tread. Super stiff side wall. Get it, run it at low psi and u will see how good it is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really grips well and holds up (but high cost).

KEVIN in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Apr 07, 2014:I'm on my 2nd of these tires and I'm really impressed. I got a lot of rides on this and the wear was quite noticeably better than other brands. On the downside, the tire price is kind of rediculous as compared to others. I doubt I will fork out another $110 or so for one Dirt Bike tire. The tire also tracked very good in the various desert terrains I rode.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ONE TOUGH TIRE

JOHN in UT

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:The toughest tire out there ! Great for desert ridding when you don't want flats. Works best with ultra heavy duty tubes and 14-16 psi.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Longest Lasting Tire

Gerard in CO

Comments On Apr 09, 2013:I bought the first one of these after reading a review in one of the magazines. It is the longest lasting tire I've ever used. Even my son can't burn it off on his KTM 300 XCW.
It is hard to install and I need a C-clamp to break the bead when removing. It helps to leave it lay in the sun to warm up before installing or removing. The carcass is very heavy and I've never had a flat with this tire. I use the Bridgestone Ultra Heavy Duty tube with it. Run 10 psi and it has awesome grip. Only downside is it's a heavy tire. I do mostly single track and two track in CO and UT. Also take an annual ride to Baja and it does well there too.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Durable reliable tire

ERIK in AZ

Comments On Mar 18, 2013:Durable, stiff sidewall. Slippery on rocks, but wears forever. Looking forward to putting my trials tire back on but this thing just won't wear out...including a weeklong Baja trip.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ED 78

Brian in KY

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:Overall good tire. Had been running maxxis desert IT for years, but switched to 18" rear, maxxis knob alot spikier on the 18". This is the 1st ED78 I've ran. Seems to last decent. I think the maxxis may have had a bit more traction, but with the spikier knobs that should be expected, the maxxis also wears alittle quicker for the same reason. Gonna buy a couple more ED78's and see how they last. I admit I'm rougher than most on tires, I ride alot of rocky, sandy, rooty terrain and I ask alot of a rear tire! So far I am pretty impressed with the ED78!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Would buy again

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 27, 2012:Good tire, traction and wear characteristics. Worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Best

Nicholas in CA

Comments On Jul 15, 2012:I run both Tubliss rims on my juiced up and lightened XR650L.
This tire has proven itself to be possibly the best tire I've ever used. The extremely tough carcass allow me to run virtually no pressure. This in turn gives me excellent grip while not worrying about flats or rim damage.
The wear lifespan is top notch. Just enough grip to get good wheelspin, good traction, predictable corners, safe handling through ruts. It gets better the more it wears down.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stiff Carcass

ISAAC in AZ

Comments On May 21, 2012:Price is good, quality is good. Tire is very stiff. On XR650R run about 11 psi with full tank of fuel. Less if low speed rocks.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The one Tire

Alvin in -

Comments On May 03, 2012:I haven't found any tire that outlasts this one. The best I've tried.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ED11 is better!!!

GLADYS in NV

Comments On Mar 04, 2012:This tire lasts & lasts the ED78 is good but I have so say that I have returned to the ED11 tire & will not be trying any other tires. The ED11 is supurb while I love all Bridgestone tires the ED78 didn't last as long with more knobs torn off during the extreme rock gardes that we ride. The ED11 does not suffer from knobs being torn off!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is one tough tire.

Dennis in WA

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:6000km of various terrain, with pressures from 20psi down to 4psi(Tubliss System), from hard rocky ground to very soft beach and dune sand. Not one puncture, or chipped lug, it still had more life in it, but with a 2000km ride coming up, bought another to replace it.
Additional Comments On Sep 10, 2011:Just clocked up 8000 km on the next ED78, same again no punctures or dramas.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good wear so far

Don in OR

Comments On Aug 16, 2011:Typically run the Maxis Desert IT but thought I would try this tire. Just got back from a 850 mile desert ride. Held up great to some pretty harsh conditions from lava rock to pavement. I would rate it on par with the maxis. The maxis seems to wear a little flater whereas the ED78 keeps its curved profile.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

One tough tire

CRAIG in NV

Comments On May 31, 2011:This is a tough tire. Holds up to the punishment of the Nevada desert. I run about 16lbs of air on my KTM 525 and never had a pinch flat. A little tough to mount but well worth the trouble.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Tall Tire

DEAN in UT

Comments On Apr 09, 2011:The tire grabs well and works well for desert. It's just way tall! If your shorter than 6' and haven't lowered your suspension or seat, don't get this tire. It raises the seat height by almost an inch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great desert tire. It stands up to the rocks.

ROBERT in AZ

Comments On Dec 18, 2010:This will definately be my second favorite tire. It has stood up to the rocky desert terrain as well as my favorite Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Terain tire. It last forever and has good traction. It is a little bigger (120 wide) than I prefer but darn good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great dual purpose tyre

Darren in QLD

Comments On Nov 04, 2010:I get around 6000 km on my KTM 625 carrying 40+ kg of luggage. That includes a variety of terrain including asphalt and lots of hard pack. Never even looked like getting a puncture at any time. Just a fantastic tyre. So much better than 606. I wouldn't use it one an enduro bike though it's just too strong and not enough flex.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ktm 530

JOSEPH in NSW

Comments On Aug 02, 2010:Strong tyre, High punchure resistance & will get over 1000km from them with a mixture of rocks,mud & sealed road.Not a high level of grip but predictable. Have brought another 2.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Save your $$$ ED 78 no good

EUGENE in UT

Comments On Jun 16, 2010:I read the previous reviews before buying tire for my 450. Having come from a 402 I thought this was going to be a good replacement, I could not have been more wrong. Seriously this tire does NOT bite, slides out on everything and IMO is just a waste of $$. My worn out 402 had better traction, very disapointed!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great traction

NATHAN in ID

Comments On Mar 29, 2010:This is a great off-road tire. Good durability and excellent traction. It has a pattern similar to the 402, and those of us who loved that tire, really loved it. This tire, like the 402 pulls down great traction, and unlike most tires, works across all types of terrain. Its not quite as sticky as the 402 but is close and is a little easier to power slide. Being a 120/100, its big, but as long as that suits you, its worth buying.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tire/very durable

Phillip in NC

Comments On Jan 07, 2010:I put this tire on my XR650R and have been running it for almost a year now. It has held up better than any other tire I've used on this bike. The big XR makes a ton of power and has literally chewed up other tires (Kenda, Maxxis, Dunlop) within a half dozen rides. This tire doesn't have quite the traction of the other tires but the durability is (for me) definitely worth the trade off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ED 78

David in UT

Comments On Dec 30, 2008:For an XR 650 its a great tire on hard pack, power line road etc, in sand it seems to have a taller profile which causes the front to crab more often then the stock Dunlop. I was impressed with its traction even when it appears to be worn, but it did change the front end handling and caused me more work in low speed tight sand washes, I'll probably stick with the ED 78 but change to a 90/100-21 on front to help steering in the sand. I'd give the tire my top rating for anyone on a XR 650 riding on hard pack but you might consider the stock Dunlop if your riding the big red beast in the sand.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tires

JAMES in CA

Comments On May 03, 2008:Awesome tire! I have been using these since 2002 as dual sport tires (NOT DOT legal)with great results. They work in most terrain conditions well and they are pretty good on the street with decent wear. I have never had a flat with these tires (I also use bridgestone ultra heavy duty tubes in all of my tires) probably due to the heavy duty, stiff, tall side wall. I will continue to use these on my dual sport for a long time to come.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Super Tough

ROBERT in TN

Comments On Apr 03, 2008:I rode this tire on my XR650R from TN to Moab on the TransAm Trail, and it still had life left. Super tough carcass.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great tires

JORGE in TX

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:They work very good on all terrain.Very good traction. I´ve been using it for 4 years.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

ED78

STEPHEN in OH

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Excellent tire. Sticks like super glue.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

The best baja tire !!!!!!!!

CHRIS in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I had this tire on the rear of my xr 650 in baja. It was great for 1200 miles. I was one of the few people in a group of 30 that did not get several flats. The tough sidewall and carcass of this tire made this possible.

Was this review helpful?