IRC TR-11 Trials Tire (Tube Type)

Customer Reviews for IRC TR-11 Trials Tire (Tube Type)

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 23 Reviews

Return to IRC TR-11 Trials Tire (Tube Type) Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

IRC TR-11 Trials Tire (Tube Type) Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Husqvarna TE511 .. hooks up great on the TRails

Helmut in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HUSQVARNA TXC 449

Comments On Jul 30, 2014:will buy again.. TRails on the Dirtbike is super grip in tricky tracks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Tire Ever.

Eric in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Jul 05, 2013:This trials tire works on all types of terrain. If you think it will never work on mud or sand you would be wrong. It has such soft rubber and the side walls have so much flex that it lets the bike transition from side to side very fast on the rocks. In a long grassy field or open sandy terrain it is not better than a moto tire but if you are racing and the open sections are connected by long technical rocks or mudded roots then you really make up a lot of time with this tire. I have never gotten a flat. I have used it in 12 ECEA Hare Scrambles. Try it you will like it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

best performing trials tire even in mud

Andrew in Colorado

Comments On Apr 14, 2013:I have tried all of the trials tired out there for trail riding and this is the best performing tire. I ride dessert and mountain and this tire even did pretty well in the mud in the mountains. It has great traction even when the tire is put on edge which the other trials tires don't. It has a nice stiff side wall and the softest compound so it can be ran at a slightly higher psi (8.5 - 9 psi) Its only weak spot is that its thin skinned in between the lugs so once it starts to get worn down I tend to worry about flats but Ive never gotten one. I wouldn't recommend this tire for Moab as the slick rock wears it down quick but slick rock wears every tire down quick.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire...super traction

Reaves in PA

Comments On Jan 28, 2013:Great tire for SLOW technical riding. 6 to 8 lbs on my 250 and it's super traction time! Great forward drive in a straight line by design. The compound is sticky yet surprisingly durable! High speeds, like log road cruising, kills these tires...they chunk. Slow and gnarly, they are awesome!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

Michael in PA

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:Mounted on a ktm 200 worked well in most conditions. I would buy it again if i was purchasing another trials tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

IRC trials tire tr-11 tube type.

Don in WA

Comments On Sep 03, 2012:Do not use this tire with Tubliss. system as the knobs wear the tire will leak air. After 300 miles wear and grip is good. Will reinstall win a heavy duty tube.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BEWARE!! total failure..

SEAN in WA

Comments On Jun 25, 2012:This tire failed. After 25 rides the tire split open between the knobbies in several places. It happened on my bike and my riding buddies bike, same amount of time and type of technical riding. Still lots of tread though, just big holes everywhere. This is not acceptable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Keith in OR

Comments On May 23, 2012:I am running it on the trail. Works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

alan in UT

Comments On Mar 21, 2012:I go back and forth between these and the Michelins - I honestly think these are a great value for the money - soft enough for great grip and still wear quite well - I use them on enduro bikes but have used them on my trials bike (when I had one) as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

MATTHEW in CA

Comments On Mar 09, 2012:I added a rim lock for a total of 2 on my rear wheel. Hear you can run it at 6 psi with 2 rim locks, but my fear of rock dents has me at 8-10. Hook up with lower tire pressure is awesome!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Traction and long lasting

Jonathan in UT

Comments On Feb 20, 2012:Lasted forever for me and still looked good when I sold the bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent in every way

Josh in WA

Comments On Dec 05, 2011:After 2 Dunlop D-803 Trials tires, which chunked horribly (as other reviews can confirm), I opted to try the IRC. I have an 18" wheel on my '09 YZ250 2-stroke, and after 5 rides, it shows almost no wear at all. It has as good, or better traction than the Dunlop.
I've run 10 psi in all three tires, and have never had a pinch-flat (knock on wood).
I would highly recommend this tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

IRC trials tire

BRETT in CA

Comments On Nov 28, 2010:I used this tire on a 450EXC and found it to be very versitle.I took the bike on everything from the street to motocross tracks changing the air pressure as needed and never had an issue.Trials tires do make the bike handle different and as would be expected don't like a ton of mud and sand, but I'm actually going to take a nearly new Dunlop 952 off and put a trials tire back on at least through the winter.They work well on clay!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

First ride on a trials tire - my review

FRED in MO

Comments On Nov 27, 2010:I never even heard of running a trials tire on a dirt bike until about 2 weeks ago. All the reviews here sold me on the idea and I decided to get one to test out for myself. Me and my friends ride woods trails in MO, AR and OK, lots of hill climbs, loose rocks, leaves, dirt, ruts, roots, sticks and some mud. Today was my fist trip out with this tire - the verdict? This thing is Stiiiiicky! Seriously, this thing increased my traction on hill climbs so much I was wheeling up stuff I used to spin up with my old Kenda knobby - I literally had to change my riding position to keep the front end down on long tough hill climbs - def. not a bad thing (more traction is always better). I'm decent at hill climbs to begin with but this tire has given me the confidence to tackle any one I come up against.

One odd thing I wasn't expecting is it's skinnier and way taller than my Kenda knobby, not a problem, just wasn't expecting it.

One feel on the knobbys with your fingers and you'll understand how those gonzo trials guys can climb those brick-wall-like boulders they do - this thing has the softest most pliable, rubber I've ever seen on a tire. It's almost like cheating! If you though your buddies 35" Jeep tires were soft you'll be surprised at these:) Surprisingly after a long day of rocky trails it shows almost zero sign of wear.

There are some real strengths and some notable weaknesses with this tire though that you should be aware of - it excels on the dry rock (go figure, trials bikes live on big dry rocks:) it's cool on dry regular variable trails, not really better or worse (in my opinion). But, when it comes to mud it's lack of side knobbys make it difficult to tractor out of muddy deep ruts or along off camber muddy hills and turns.

Bottom line: I love it on the dry hill climbs (any type of trail) and I hate it in the mud. Would I buy it again? So far I'd say yes because I love hill climbing and do a lot of it. (I also discovered rock climbing today at Disney, OK and think a trials bike is in my future :) but, I'll avoid muddy hills like the plague from here on out!

I'll add more when I get a chance to ride in the rain on wet rocks and slippery slimy stuff, can't wait!

For more on our adventures in trail riding in the Midwest visit our FB page at: Midwest Offroad Riders Club - Facebook

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Noel in OK

Comments On Nov 15, 2010:I've been running this on my KTM 525, it works great on the rocks. Big rocks seem to destroy knobbies quickly, the trials tires just wear forever. This one seems to have a stiff sidewall like the Dunlop. For some reason it seems to work better in the corners than the Dunlops.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love it! Never using knobby again!

MATT in CA

Comments On Jan 12, 2010:I've had this rear tire on my WR450 for almost 2 years now. I love it!! It took me a few rides to get used to it, because it is so squishy. But after I 'learned' how to ride on it, it is my new favorite tire, I'm never going back to knobby's again. I primarily ride So. Cal open desert, desert single track and forrest single track. No racing. It gets A LOT more traction than you think, especially in sand washes and dunes! Its great for slow stuff, short hill climbs, hard pack, roots, rock crawling, hard core single track, desert, forrest, Moab, sand washes etc... The only complaint is whoops, because it will swap out if you're not paying attention, and fast hard pack roads becuase it folds over. The squishyness does absorb washboard bumps which makes for a buttery smooth ride. A 110/100 or 120/100 HD tube is a must to fill that big tire! 10-12PSI is a good balance between good grip and pinch-flat risk. Air down for even more traction in the dunes. This tire is not for you if you're hard on the gas and like to roost. Keep it controlled, non roosting, and it will grip like tank treads and take you places you've never been able to go before. Despite the funny look, it can grab and throw you back when called upon. Hard late braking in sand does't work well, but regular braking is just as good as a full knobby. Tread wear has been nice and even, reverse it for even more life! Wide open dry lake runs will shed knobs, as will spinning on sharp rocks. Like I said, for my style of riding I'll never go back to full knobby again.
Additional Comments On Jan 12, 2010:

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

trials for the trail

KEITH in TN

Comments On Jun 10, 2009:awesome traction and durability. will most definitely buy again for my crf450x.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best rear tire for a regular bike!!

kevin in AR

Comments On Mar 26, 2009:I run this tire on my ktm and it's the best rear tire I have run. Beats a knobby in ANY conditions except MAYBE deep mud or sand.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

CRAIG in CA

Comments On Feb 10, 2008:Holds up very well, great traction. Keep the pressure below 10lbs or you'll start to rip off the center lugs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

IRC trials tire

ERIC in CA

Comments On Dec 16, 2007:I tried one of these on my Honda CRF250X, the tire tread is crazy soft and pliable, the sidewall stiff enough to prevent pinch flats, definitely inspired confidence riding rocky rooted nasty single track trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What a trip-------

JAMES in MI

Comments On Nov 09, 2007:We are Michigan trail riders with Ktm's and YZ's---theses tires are a blessing to ride with in our sand and also handle the rocks, tree roots and logs extremely smooth. These tires added at least 2-3 mph to our average ride. Need to make a 19" rear for our YZ rears, however.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

could it be

RONALD in ID

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This tire is great, grips as good or better than full knobby, wears like iron!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

works great

BURT in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This tire works great and holds up well.

Was this review helpful?