Michelin M-12 XC Intermediate Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Michelin M-12 XC Intermediate Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 31 Reviews

Return to Michelin M-12 XC Intermediate Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Michelin M-12 XC Intermediate Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Manuel in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HUSABERG TE 250

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:Great all terrain tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good.

Lucas in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Mar 18, 2014:Works well on almost all surfaces but chunks in rocky terrain.

Additional Comments On Mar 18, 2014:This is for the front

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good wear and predictable

Dana in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 300 EXC

Comments On Feb 04, 2014:I ran these tires in DS, enduro and Hatfield McCoy. Mostly in southern Ohio and even a little MX. I really have no complaints as they hooked up for me and even worked well in deep mud. They where perfect on mx course. 14lbs in front and 12-13 rear I had no flats and really good wear. I rate a 4 as I'm always looking for more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

M12 not as good as S12

Anthony in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 24, 2013:The M12 does not work as well as the S12 for East Tn dirt. The S12 hooks up much better. The M 12 performed ok for about 2 rides. It was poor thereafter!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not bad

jon in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Dec 23, 2013:not to bad pretty good grip didn't last to long though

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent grip

Dan in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Dec 04, 2013:Using this tire for cross country and it has performed very well. Not too soft but not to hard. Grips pretty well everthing out there. Run it on all my bikes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My favorite front tire

Scott in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:This is my benchmark to compare all other front tires to. I keep going back to this tire after trying others. Its got amazing traction when new, but the side knobs will wear and it will start to slip... nothing lasts forever! I don't like the rear tire at all. It has mediocre traction when now and gets bad when it wears.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very chunkey

val in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Aug 08, 2013:was easy to install . works well in sand

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

XC-12

Paul in CA

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:I've been running this tire for years on all my 2strokes. Wear is avg., but I feel it is always predictable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tire

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:Good all around offroad tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This tire rips

Doug in Idaho – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Mar 12, 2013:We ride sand and loose dirt most of the time, This tire is a dream come true to anyone climbing soft dirt/sand hills. I have four rides on the tire and it is holding up very good. One ride is about 5 hours and two tanks of gas.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Intermediate Tire

ANDREW in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ426F

Comments On Feb 22, 2013:It has lasted longer then my last tire and gets good traction in my MONTANA MOUNTAINS!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good all round tire for money

Rory in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:Used this tire for desert XC riding here in New Mexico. Tire has good traction in in sand and loose rock, ok traction on hard pack and did really well the 2 times it saw wet terrain. Got about 500 hard miles out of it (completely worn down). Tire did seem to loose more braking traction after tire was worn 50% than it should have in my opinion. Overall good tire for price and lasted quite a while.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good over all tire

lee in OH

Comments On Jan 17, 2013:This tire works well in all kinds of terrain. It holds up longer than most tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire

John in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Nov 30, 2012:Great Tire. Would give it 5 stars if it was better in the mud.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great all around tire

craig in IL

Comments On Sep 04, 2012:ive found a tire that works great in all conditions for me,and ive found the secret to getting the most longevity out of a tire.......................................wait for it..........................wait for it...............................dont ride,lol.if u want a good tire with better than average wear this is it at least for me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent tire

Marc in UT

Comments On Aug 24, 2012:I had it in a front tire. I thought it performed well. Handling was predictable and the wear was decent. I would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

honda cr250

ROBERT in TN

Comments On Jul 21, 2012:i love theses tires they work great for me in the tenn mountains, rocks,mud,roots etc and just like there car tires these things seam to last forever,and i got a great price from RMATV

Additional Comments On Aug 08, 2012:rode last sunday, just like i thought my Michelin tire hoooked up greta cant wait to get a back one too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Shane in UT

Comments On Apr 16, 2012:Super sticky fun tire. Really predictable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Paul in NSW

Comments On Apr 10, 2012:Top quality tyre at an unbeatable price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire Never Fuly Seated on The Bead

Garrick in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2012:I had this tire and it NEVER fully seated on the bead. There was a spot on both beads where never seated, even after letting is sit overnight with 60psi. I had this tire on 2 different wheels, one being stock and the other Excel. It gripped good in soft stuff, but got destroyed FAST on hard pack. Overall I am not impressed with Michelin tires, and I have used them for years.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic front tire.

tempe in CO

Comments On Dec 09, 2011:I like this front tire alot,Hooked up well pretty much everywhere!!I will run this one in the future,great price and tire last's a long time,no knob's ripped off,just a well made intermediate tire.Ran it in mud,sand,rock's and hardpack to loam and it did well on all of em,Great tire!!For soft condition's try this front with the S-12 XC rear,killer combo!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent all-around tire

Charles in AZ

Comments On Sep 19, 2011:I ran the 80/100-21 front on my XR400R. This is my all-time favorite front tire overall. It provides good grip in all conditions: sand, loam, hard-pack, and rocks, even when worn. The only weakness was rapid wear on asphalt at highway speeds. But since it is not DOT, I can't really hold this against it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Favorite front tire

STEVE in WA

Comments On Mar 28, 2011:The M12 front works great in all conditions, recommend pairing it with a S12 rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

David in AZ

Comments On Feb 27, 2011:Mounted on KX450F. Tires did very good in woods riding under dry to moist conditions. Failed badly in muddy, wet conditions. Also did well in desert hard pack. Not the best tire for my KX450F, but still good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Marko in VIC

Comments On Jan 08, 2011:Not the best but does the job, recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Traction Plus Slippery when Wet!!

Ashley William in QLD

Comments On Dec 12, 2010:First time running the Michelin M-12's, the front is supper gripy and responses well to all terrain and Conditions
The rear puts down plenty of support except for in the wet, then your struggling to keep it it a straight line,
Mainly riding in Shaily Rock, dense forest floors and Sand Loam conditions. Running a KTM 300 exc 2 stroker..

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bad Tire For Rocky Terrain

John in BC

Comments On Sep 09, 2010:bought this tire for durability cause I was going through mx51's every month but this tire was a mistake. nowhere close to the performance of a Dunlop, worst rear tire I ever tried! giving it 2 stars cause it might be good in different terrain other then rocky rooty wet slime lol!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

my new favorite tire

BRIAN in TX

Comments On Jun 10, 2010:I only ride mx tracks here in fort worth / dallas texas. The tracks all start off the same, way over watered due to the heat quickly drying out the track turning into a dustbowl by end of practice. My Ktm450 found its complement and works tremendously well with this tire on these track conditions. I used to absolutely hate the end of the practice and would leave early, now I have more fun when the track drys out. This tire does wear but not as quick as I thought it would. Actually just picked up a couple more, give it a shot you wont regret it. P.S. about the only tire I havent tried is some of the kendas which I hear good things about, but im sticking with this one for awhile.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Front Tire

Tony in NC

Comments On Jul 07, 2009:I have the M12 XC mounted on the front of my KTM 200XC-W. Just completed 180 miles at Hatfield McCoy in all types of riding conditions. Hard packed roads, mud, lots of rock. Everything from fast riding roads to single track trail 199 (baddest of bad). The tire did great. You can feel this thing gripping when you lay into the turns. So far no signs of chunking or knob breakage. It hardly looks worn. Fit well and mounted up nicely. Will buy it again.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

excellent for 50 miles or less..

Bryan in OH

Comments On Jun 08, 2009:I ride in a huge mix of terrain from mud to rough concrete hills to slick hard clay. I don't expect any set of rear tires to last very long or keep a sharp edge beyond the first hour of use on these trails. I could not have been happier with these tires for 95% of the first day ride. Perfect loose soil/loam tire for hill climbs even when worn. I was a little surprised at how fast these large knobs wore after the first 70 miles. Those thin cuts on each knob in the pics are completely gone. Straight line acceleration is still very good despite the rounded profile the knobs have now. Cornering on anything slippery at all was only average at best when new. You can definately feel them get worse as the day goes on. If this tire had a harder compound like that of a year old, abused D952 it might have actually had a chance of surviving 4 rides..

Was this review helpful?