Michelin S-12 XC Soft Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Michelin S-12 XC Soft Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 71 Reviews

Return to Michelin S-12 XC Soft Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Michelin S-12 XC Soft Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not as good as they use to be

DAVE in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Jul 19, 2014:first ride I ripped off several knobs and tire rounded off very quick. I used to run these on my 400 and they held up very well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Sand Tire!

Jimmie C in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 525 XC-W

Comments On Jul 17, 2014:Its the best for sandy terrain. Will never use another tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Nazareth in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLX450R

Comments On Jul 10, 2014:Awesome tire best i have ever ran held up well in MOAB and colorado rockies still has plenty of tread and no torn off knobs

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good sand tire

Travis in TX

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:Use this on both my KTM and Husqvarna riding in Sam Houston National Forest. It is predictable in the loose sand you see out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excelente Tire

Manuel in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HUSABERG TE 250

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:Excellent soft terrain tire... Michelin its awesome.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The M-12 is way better in all conditions

Lucas in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Mar 18, 2014:Not really a confidence inspiring tire. (front)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great soft terrain tire

James in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 350 XCF-W

Comments On Mar 10, 2014:This tire has performed well for us in the slick and muddy conditions. Just like the rear S-12 it chunks in the rocky stuff.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent tire

david in TN

Comments On Feb 05, 2014:The best offroad tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good performance for a minute.

Sam in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Jan 22, 2014:I used this tire on the front. The tire worked fairly well, but the lugs fell off the tire pretty quickly. There are better tires for sure.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Get some grab in the soft stuff

Wayne in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 500 EXC

Comments On Jan 12, 2014:I ride in North Florida and the S12s are crucial for traction in the soft terrain here. Lots of sand with some sand and a little sand on our trails and tracks. The S12's handle it like a champ.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic tire

Kevin in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 1993 KAWASAKI KX125

Comments On Dec 31, 2013:this tire is great. it is very durable, lasted 17 2 hr long hare scramble races+ practice, and it practically still looks brand new. no chunked lugs nothing... also the grip was amazing. works great in all terrain. I WOULD recommend this to a friend

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't like it

Dan in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Dec 04, 2013:No good for cross country. Too soft. Have had too many flats. Hooks up good though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stick like glue

matthew in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Dec 03, 2013:these tires are awesome in soft soil, mud, rocks, roots. I havent got to try them on anything dry yet. havent even had to air them down. running 12 poinds front 10 rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD TIRE

Michal in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:really good tire , great traction and handling .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good for their intented purpose

Robert in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Oct 25, 2013:First off I want to say if you use these tires for what they are meant for you wont be happier! but anything else and you will be slightly disappointed. In sand, mud, loose dirt and regular conditions these wear very very slowly. Grip great! especially on braking. if you even think about flat rock, hard pack or asphalt these will be completely opposite. The M12xc are great all around but I still favor the s12xc

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hooks Up

Tyler in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Oct 23, 2013:This is my favorite front tire. It has good traction on almost all terrain, good sidewall tread and last a while.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Tire

Cody in PA

Comments On Sep 29, 2013:Good traction and holds up well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE THESE TIRES

matt in PA

Comments On Aug 20, 2013:s12S ARE THE BEST i love these. work amazing on my 450 i think its all i might run now

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

S12 Always a great Choice for AUSSIE Winters

Helmut in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 200 XC

Comments On Aug 12, 2013:WILL BUY AGAIN. Just fitted the same tires on another husky 510.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works well

RALPH in CA

Comments On Jul 31, 2013:Predictable, tires life is not bad, used on 2 and 4 strokes west coast

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good traction for intended purpose - wears quickly

Casey in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jul 24, 2013:It was a 120/80/19 but installed it was more narrow than the 110 it was replacing (dunlop). The tread pattern was aggressive and worked will on it first ride at a loamy/gravel track in SW washington. Its next ride was at a sand track in eastern washington and I expected it to shine here but I noticed it wearing very fast after only a couple of hours on that track. Performance wise it was OK but did not hook up the way I had expected. I took in on a 4 hour trail ride in the tillamook forest around browns camp and it worked OK but the hard pack and roots there were not what it was made for. it tended to slide around and loose traction under acceleration but it held up OK. The next ride was a 15 hour, two day event outside of bend Oregon and the tire was completely done at that point. It chunked off nearly every center knob and many of the sides. I have put other tires through simalar abuse and never had this kind of a chunking issue. I will likely go back to my old brand. I was satisfied for the price I paid (sale) but would not have been if I had paid full price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Woods rider

Dan in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Jul 13, 2013:Been running these for more than a decade, tight single track woods rider. Some in my area have switched to a trials tire, just couldn't do it, had to have my S12's.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

amazing traction

Jeff in NY

Comments On Jun 26, 2013:Great tires! rode in some super slippery stuff and they bite even in deep nasty mud, they hook great on hard stuff too. I'm really impressed with the quality of Michelin tires. Harescramble tire of choice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great for mud

ROBERT in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Jun 17, 2013:great for mud, good most everywhere else except rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

have not found better

Owen in WV

Comments On Apr 28, 2013:kx450f and yz450f. this is a great mx tire. have tried bridgestone 403/404, pirelli scorpion, kenda washougal sticky. this tire is better than those.....testing dunlop mx31 now too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tires

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Best Sand Tires out there

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK

paul in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:I use to love them but they are not what they used to be.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality has gone downhill

ROBIN in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:I ran these tires for several years, and had pretty good luck with them until recently. I've noticed the last several that I've bought haven't lasted as long as they used to, but after the last one I bought chunked BADLY after one weekend of trail riding I decided to switch to something else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

michelin s12xc

ben in North Carolina – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Feb 02, 2013:in the past in woods riding i run dunlops but these seem to be the best tire for woods riding they hold up very well and the performance in soft to intermediate is fantastic front and rear highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is a good tire

SEAN in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Dec 02, 2012:but there are better that last longer. All things considered It is a good tire. " I would not kick it out of bed for eating crackers" type of tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SICK TYRE

Andrew in NT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 28, 2012:Grabbed at the dirt very well and hasn't worn that quick at all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Tire

Michael in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 250 XC

Comments On Nov 23, 2012:I use this tire for enduro racing, and it held up well. The hook up was outstanding, in all conditions, and improved traction. It starts to chunk after a while of aggressive use, but is durable and gives excellent traction. Will buy for next set of tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tire in all conditions

BRIAN in PA

Comments On Sep 11, 2012:I mounted this tire on my new KTM 350 EXC-F dual sport. I ride 95% trails and 5% road just to get to the trails. It has held up very well and gives great traction in all conditions so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire on soft terrain

Marc in UT

Comments On Aug 24, 2012:If you are on soft and loose terrain this is a great front tire. It handles really well. If you start to get into big rocks/slickrock, it will wear quicker than I like. But I really like this tire and run it in the Summer for a front tire since the trails out here get so silty

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sand and mud tire

brian in PA

Comments On May 31, 2012:grat tire for sand and mud.Works in the rocks also,but you'll probably be missing some knobs afterwards.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Michelin-S-12-XC-Soft-Terrain-Tire

Bryan in CO

Comments On Apr 06, 2012:Great traction! This is a good tire. It is holding up ok for me, but i ride in very rocky areas and it is chunking out a little after 3 rides but if you ride in sandy conditins it will work great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KTM 450 EXC

Brian in NJ

Comments On Mar 21, 2012:Super aggressive. wears well for short rides on the street to the woods. i get around 30 rides on one set around 800 miles of trail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best available

William in MT

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:Best front tire I've used. Works well on soft dry shale and sheds sticky clay better than any other tire. Only tire that holds the front of my 300xc w so I can rear wheel steer in soft conditions

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires

BRANDON in MI

Comments On Jan 26, 2012:Awesome tires for the sand. We have a lot of sand tracks here in MI. Front tire is great, but could use a 120 rear. I dont know why Michelin has such a wierd sizing for their tires and doesn't go up to a 120 width for the rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Michelin s-12 XC

George in OH

Comments On Jan 25, 2012:Only tires I use. Others complain about chunking but I have not had any problems.Getting about half of a season on them.Harescrambles and trail riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire!

JOHN in FL

Comments On Dec 20, 2011:Works great on the 50

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

the best-the end!

Craig in VIC

Comments On Dec 12, 2011:This tyre out performs all others! When you need traction and grip on clay and muddy hills look no futher.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tracktion and life

Adam in OH

Comments On Dec 07, 2011:S12's had long been known for traction, but the durability fell off. The XC's have added back the durability. I switched away from Michlin for a while because of the life, but I am back now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Didn't last long

John in PA

Comments On Dec 05, 2011:Tried these on our KX250F. Tread started to come off immediately. Lasted two months. Going back to the MX51s. They lasted a year.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Michelin S-12 XC

byron in NS

Comments On Sep 18, 2011:bought this tire and put it on my crf250x it hooks up good and it wears amazing its got at least 15 hours on it and u cant even see any wear

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Falling apart

Carl in WA

Comments On Sep 05, 2011:I've only had this tire on my CRF250X for about 6 rides and it is chunking badly. I ride mostly at Naches Pass in Washington State. Do not buy this tire if you ride in rocky terrain. Plenty of grip, but doesn't last nearly as long as my last tire(Dunlop MX51). I might try a trials tire now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

slick now.

Bryan in TN

Comments On Jun 02, 2011:The old S 12 were like glue on the ground.. Now the XC wears great but in any slight hard pack it's on glass.. Used to love S 12 but moving on to something else.. I need more traction not wear..

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome traction in soft terrain and it LASTS!

Brad in FL

Comments On May 31, 2011:I've been using the Michelin S12 tires for years and the only concern has been durability. It would make sense that a soft terrain tire would wear out fast if it is used anywhere other than in mud, etc. Michelin came out with these S12 XC tires and stated they last longer and that is very true! I am amazed how well these tires not only work in soft to mid terrain but the hold up to roots, rocks and occasional hard pack abuse. The durability is amazing and the traction is amazing too. They are worth the few extra bucks over less expensive tires. They work incredibly well in the sand here in Florida.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Grip for days

Donald in OH

Comments On Apr 21, 2011:Bought this tire to replace my rear S12 on my KTM. I have noticed less chunking even going over rock piles, logs, and the like. Strong, durable tire and gets great traction anywhere I need it. Great tire.
Additional Comments On Apr 21, 2011:Sorry forgot it was the front tire review. I have S12 XCs on front and rear. Same comments for the front as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Front Tire!

DEAN in UT

Comments On Apr 09, 2011:This is the best front tire I've ever used. I ride a Honda crf450x - mostly desert; Sand, rock, single track. This tire has held up nicely! I was a little concerned about getting a soft tire for desert riding, but wow! It Grips well in corners and floats on the sand. It also handles the rocky sections well. I think the diamond shape knobs on the sides help greatly!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tire delivery

david in VIC

Comments On Mar 29, 2011:wow guys -- thanks for getting my tires to melbourne australia so fast-- ordered on wed -arrived the following tues- well done !!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire holds up

leslie in NC

Comments On Mar 07, 2011:This has been one of the better choice tires for offroad motorcycles. It has lasted so far through 4 two hour harescambles and practices in between.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

David in AZ

Comments On Feb 27, 2011:Mounted on KX450F. Tires did very good in woods riding under dry to moist conditions. Failed in muddy, wet conditions (front end would wash out more than other tires in muddy cond). Also did well in desert hard packed. Not the best tire for my KX450F, but still very good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I can't tell a difference between the normal S-12

SPENCER in TN

Comments On Dec 20, 2010:These tires seem the same,in all spectrum s.Maybe they are just a marketing gimmick?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire ever

jimmy in GA

Comments On Nov 05, 2010:This is the best tire for offroad riding period!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic traction, wears like balsa wood

Ken in OR

Comments On Oct 17, 2010:I love this tire, but can remove the side knobs in 2 rides. Steep and fast downhills with ruts lined with rocks and roots, where the front tire "Grinds" while sliding sideways in the rut will tear half the side knobs off of the tire! Same problem on embedded shale, serpentine and obsidian side hills. Mounting difficulty is due to sticky rubber and to get it to bead properly lots of mounting lube is needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does not seat on bead

Garrick in UT

Comments On Oct 11, 2010:Tire does well in soft and hard terrain. It wears pretty fast in the hard stuff. The reason don't like this tire is because I have never been able to get the tire to seat all the way on the bead of the rim. Stock rim or Excel rim, and it is really annoying.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

richard in IL

Comments On Jul 12, 2010: This is my all time greatest tire to use in the midwest. In soft terrain on a 2 stroke it can't be beat. The new XC tires last 3 times as long as the regular S-12.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire for soft terrain only

Darin in WA

Comments On May 18, 2010:I thought this tire worked great in mud and slick conditions. The traction was excellent in the mud. I rode it a couple times where there were some sharp rocks and it tore off the knobbies bad. I realize this is a soft tire but was not expecting it to get shredded so easily. Great tire if you ride soft terrain conditions though.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

SUSIE in VA

Comments On Apr 24, 2010:Great east coast tire

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love it!!

tempe in CO

Comments On Apr 22, 2010:Love the front tire,hook's up really nice everywhere.Have ridden rock's to sand and it doe's well on all of it.Great in the mud!!Great purchase!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up...wears well

Brian in ID

Comments On Apr 16, 2010:The rear tire hooks up in the soft stuff and is wearing quite well. The front tire is awesome...not 1 wash-out this season...sure beats the stock Dunlop that came on my 08 WR450F!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good soft terrain tire.

Mark in IN

Comments On Feb 19, 2010:Great in the sand and mud I ride in. Sheds the mud pretty quickly. Does wear faster than the other tires I was using.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Front!

Gary in CA

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:If you need an awesome front tire that wears good and does a great job offroad/woods style riding this is it. I love this thing in the mud and loose stuff i ride in.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great as a front Tire

David in IL

Comments On Jan 10, 2010:These are good tires, and made a world of diff on the Front. The back tire wore a little too quickly. will try the m12 next time for the rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

250-350 miles Intermediate Terrian

PAUL in MO

Comments On Dec 06, 2009:Favorite tire, great traction in a variety of terrian.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So happy with S-12 XC tires

EDWARD in ID

Comments On Nov 11, 2009:Have these tires front and rear. I ride trails only in N. Idaho and NE Washington. In use for 300 miles of mixed rocky and clayey trails this fall, two observations-excellent traction and very little wear so far. Last Sunday, we rode in slick clay with patches of snow on top. These tires dramatically outperformed the tires on my partners bikes. I am very pleased. I would recommend these tires to trail riders who encounter wet, slick conditions

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Tire You Can Buy

Justin in MI

Comments On Aug 15, 2009:I have used this tire on two different bikes a Honda CR250R and my 06 YZ450F. I'm buying my second set for the 450 and it be my third overall. I ride up north in the gnarliest trails in the country and I race on multiple tracks throughout the state. This is the best I have ever ridden on. It hooks up awesome on everything from dirt roads to 3 foot sand sections.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great sand tire!

RYAN in CA

Comments On Jul 28, 2009:I ride at E-street motocross track quite often. (My local sand-based track here in California) I swapped out my front Dunlop 756 for the wider 90/90-21 S-12 and the tire was night and day better in the turns. I could enter and exit with higher speeds and the tire never washed out. Great sand tire for sure!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pass on this one!!

Dale in GA

Comments On Jun 21, 2009:Ok all, here's the scoop. 2007 KTM 250 XCF-W. Yes I ride hard but I somehow managed to shred this tire in just 3 outings. The lugs started to chunk off than started to separate at the base of the tire. Traction was horrible, I basically had no rear brakes with this tire becuase it would lock up by just barely touching the brake pedal. Heck no I wouldn't consider buying this tire again and Michelin should be ashamed of themselves for selling such an inferior product that disintegrates way too quickly. Yet they advertise that these tires are 25% stronger???? Stronger than what???? Rubber bands.....Save your money and buy a Maxxis or the M12.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

great tire wish i had another

Ian in CO

Comments On May 04, 2009:super tire great grip worth the dollars. don't know if i can go back to a medium terrain tire after this. it works sooo well. absorbs little hits effortlessly and great traction on snotty terrain.

Was this review helpful?