Michelin S-12 Soft Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Michelin S-12 Soft Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 39 Reviews

Return to Michelin S-12 Soft Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Michelin S-12 Soft Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

woods woods woods

BERTON in ID

Comments On May 30, 2012:These are hands down the best woods tire. They are a bit pricey. They do perform very well in wet woods conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire!

JOHN in FL

Comments On Dec 20, 2011:Works great on the 50

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Light & Bite

Josh in WA

Comments On Nov 14, 2011:I have only purchased a REAR Tire. This tire was considerably lighter than the Maxxis IT tire, and had WAYYYYYY more grip This tire has amazing grip in really soft dirt. Great winter tire. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Is there another

ROBERT in KY

Comments On Sep 20, 2011:Once you go S-12 you won't go back

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Tyre

Brian in WA

Comments On Jul 26, 2011:The S12 are an awesome all round front tyre. From loose gravel to hard pack they perform very predictabily. Even when worn they still hang on and dont just let go.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Favorite rear tire

STEVE in WA

Comments On Mar 28, 2011:The S12 rear works great in soft/intermediate conditions, the compound is sticky even when worn. The only drawbacks are chunking in rocky desert terrain, especially in the 120/80-19 size rear since it has smaller knob blocks. Recommend pairing with an M12 front, the S12 front is skatey on harder terrain due to the taller knobs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Michelin S-12 Soft Terrain Tire (Front)

JIM in TX

Comments On Dec 28, 2010:One of the best tires available for Texas soil conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Benjamin in VIC

Comments On Jul 18, 2010:This tyre, is the ultimate mud tyre. I feel so much more confident riding in wet sloppy conditions on my YZ 125! This tyre is just unreal, I had a standard MX tyre and switched to this for my bush bashing/enduro riding and all i can say is WOW....Even in slippery clay the bike barley wash's out, though that may have something to do with my ability more then anything (Going to slow he he)
Dont cheap out on a front tyre, this is worth every cent.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tires!

CHRIS in NC

Comments On Apr 17, 2009:Find the muddiest, sandiest, wettest mess you can and go right through it with these tires. I've had them on my bike for 4 years now, they are holding up well and still diggin deep in the mud.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome hook! But...

MARK in FL

Comments On Jan 06, 2009:I ride a lot of FL trails with this tire. Most are harescramble type trails with tons of pine roots, palm stumps/roots everywhere, soft black dirt, white sugarsand, tons of mud, and some harder packed white sand. They hook up great and will stand my bike up quite easily. Not to mention they feel incredibly solid going into and coming out of turns. Full throttle and just hold on, they'll stick. My only disappointment with these tires is how bad they chunk. Other than that, they are great for going wide open through sugarsand and such and they wear quite nicely. My next tires will hopefully chunk less though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

BEST TIRES EVER FOR SOFT MICHIGAN SAND

Ron in MI

Comments On Nov 19, 2008:WHEN TIRES ARE NEW HOOKING THE CORNERS ARE SIMPLE. MICHIGAN'S TRAILS ARE SOFT IN PLACES AND THESE TIRES PERFORMED WELL. STAY OFF HARD SURFACES OR THEY WILL WEAR QUICKLY.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing tire

Manny in ID

Comments On Sep 21, 2008:Tire wears sharp. Edges stay sharp near end of tires life. 5th tire this year and highly recommend. I have 1000 miles on it and still ripping. Riding moist dirt in Idaho and lots of rock/sand. I had no idea a soft tire would wear this well. Ripping tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Purpose Built

Richard in OR

Comments On Jul 23, 2008:Excellent mud tires! Probably the best ever but there`s alot better tires for every other condition.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Most amazing mud tire I've ever used.

TYLER in OH

Comments On Jul 13, 2008:These tires seem like your average wear tire. I was so wrong, These things are incredible. I just got back from a weekend at Haspen Acres Indiana, Just after a huge rain. Everything was muddy as can be. I had 100% traction all the time, I was able to stop several times at the bottom of a steep muddy hill and chug in first gear all the way up without slipping the tire one bit.
I'm 100% sold on these, Looks like I've found my dream tire. They do amazing in dry pack as well.
If your searching for an excellent mud/dirt tire, These are the best I've ever purchased.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

High Quality and wears Awesome!

SPENCER in TN

Comments On Apr 24, 2008:I've been searching for the perfect rear tire and I found it.It hooks up great wears well and looks good too! I have a 2003 KTM450SX that I ride harescrambles with in Ga and Tn. The last race had a truly variety of terrain from soft silty/sand/dirt to mud holes and hard pack. The tire was predictable the entire time and helped me score a second place! Try it out,I doubt you would be disappointed!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

S-12 OK tire

JEREMY in GA

Comments On Apr 14, 2008:Not bad in real soft terain. Tread life is very short I get 1 race and 1 practice ride out of the tire. Tire is kinda unpredictable in corners sometimes it tracks good sometimes it puts you on the ground. Overall its a decent tire but not my first choice for a race tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Michelin S12 front tire

KIRK in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2008:Loved this tire on my 2 stroke, and initially liked it on my KTM 4 stroke. But not sure what happened. Just doesn't seem to provide any confidence after 1 season. Ride the same areas, no other changes to bike, so assume it's not wearing well though tread looks good. Switching brands next go round to see if makes a difference.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

used to luv them...

JASON in AZ

Comments On Feb 09, 2008:...now i hate them. i dont know what heppend when they moved production from spain to indonesia but the tire went to crap. i was getting 1/2 the life i used to get and at $65 a tire that is unacceptable. i now run maxxis IT Dez and am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GOOD REAR TIRE

DARRYL in VA

Comments On Feb 05, 2008:The S-12 has worked extremely well on my YZ426F, I was planning on buying my third one, but it appears they don't make enough of the size I wanted so I'm gonna try a Kenda 771, my fingers are crossed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best i've owned

JUSTIN in LA

Comments On Jan 19, 2008:best gripping tire i've owned. sometimes they will slightly chunk when on rock or a whole lot of big roots. the overall handling is well worth it though. i've ridden on just about everything but snow with these and others. these are my favorite by far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT PRODUCT

COLIN in NC

Comments On Jan 08, 2008:THIS PRODUCT WORKS GREAT AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE TO USE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A+ Torque Tire

PATRICK in CA

Comments On Jan 05, 2008:This tire is the best 4-stroke tire around for the price . The tire handles the torque of the 450X and WR450 in most conditions that come up whether your riding in sloppy goo and snow or intermediate conditions and you can expect the tire life to meet your expectations .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sticky treads

GLEN in LA

Comments On Dec 16, 2007:A great tire for sand and loam. I've used this tire for years.
Additional Comments On Dec 16, 2007:The Best and lasts a long time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome tire

CHRISTOPHER in CO

Comments On Dec 11, 2007:very nice tire. great life and even better hookup

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

KENNETH in KY

Comments On Nov 28, 2007:Still a good all around tire but Mich needs to fix the problem with big chunks of material coming off knobs

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

S-12s Forever!

KIRK in TN

Comments On Nov 24, 2007:I will not run another brand / model of tire other than the S-12. I've had a set installed for nearly a year - no chunking despite our very rocky terrain. 70 mph on hard pack dirt roads; mud; limestone; wet clay - tire still holding up well and traction is great everywhere. Get a set - you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great in mud, but use to be better.

ROBERT in OH

Comments On Nov 12, 2007:The old S12 was the greatest woods tire ever. Now they are made in Taiwan and are not the same.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

To soft!!

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Nov 10, 2007:Felt like the side walls were going to go over my rim. Took it off and put a Dunlop 756 back on and all was good. Not sure what was up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Tire!!!

RUSSELL in TN

Comments On Oct 29, 2007:Best tire I have ever had lasts for ever and excellent in wet mud

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tires

FRANK in OH

Comments On Oct 27, 2007:have lasted a lot longer than expected and been used in all types of terrain with great results, will buy again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best desert tire

CASEY in UT

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:When you lose traction, which is rare, it is gradual so you have time to catch it. Almost all my crashes use to be losing the front end until I started running these tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Soft Sand

RICK in MI

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:The best soft terain tire out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great sand tire

David in PA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:Great tire, but don't ride in the rocks. It will not last. The rocks will tear it up in no time

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tires for soft conditions

MATTHEW in MI

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:The S-12 are my favorite tires for front and rear. They provide excellent tractions and predictable behavior in a variety of conditions. The work best in soft terrain like sand, loamy soil, and mud. The hold up well in hard pack and rocky conditions too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best traction money can buy

ROBERT in IN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Best tire money can buy for the terrain I ride.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tire!

WILLIAM in IA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Hooks up great in almost anything but hard pack. Wears pretty good too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hooks up everywhere

GEOFFREY in NY

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:great tire for east coast. i've gone through a lot of tires and always come back to this one. i run them front and rear for harescrambles. the concave design of the center lug seems to have a profound effect on traction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Mixed Terrain Tire

CHASE in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This tire is what I have used for 4 years now in Northern California. Intermediate to rocks to mud and some hardpack. it works well the softer it gets but will handle anything. It will chunk in the rocks, as most tires will.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Michelin 140/80X18 S12

STEVE in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:best tyre period! what more can i say

Was this review helpful?