Michelin Trials Competition Tire (Tube Type)

Customer Reviews for Michelin Trials Competition Tire (Tube Type)

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 29 Reviews

Return to Michelin Trials Competition Tire (Tube Type) Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Michelin Trials Competition Tire (Tube Type) Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy the best !!!

chuck in Colorado

Comments On Aug 08, 2013:After 2 years of all types of terrain I find this tire to be far superior to any knobby I have used. The durability, and wear are great. this tire has over1800 miles on it. Tire pressure ranged from 8 PSI to 12 PSI. Oh yes, I have been riding for 50+ years, I am no novice. save $, buy this tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Should be called "Chunks a Lot."

Brian in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2012:After reading the reviews, I decided to try this tire expecting at least a 1500 mile plus tire. I was wrong!!! The tire is super grippy, unbelieveable grip. That said, after two hard days of riding and less than 600 miles, approximately 1/3 of the tread is simply missing. The knobs have literally torn completely off and are gone. The remaining knobs are at 80% or better and the tire is going into the trash because of the missing tread. Time to try something else. Good for short term wall climbing, and not much else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire I've ever used.

JD in OR

Comments On Aug 24, 2012:For years I've been a big driver for knobby tires (The bigger the better I used to think for hill climbing) and used to tease friends that rode with a trials bike tire until I tried their bike on a hill that was too slippery for my bike/tire. I'll never go back to a knobby for woods/trail riding again. I raced in 3 ISDE's and two poker runs, and rode for almost two summers before I had to replace my 1st Trials Comp Tire. Very happy with the tire and its traction and durability and just purchased my second trials comp tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The only trials tire I'll use!

Seth in TX

Comments On Jul 12, 2012:Excellent traction in all conditions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oh my gosh!!

Douglas in OR

Comments On Jun 11, 2012:For woods riding... I liked it better then a knobby from day one. Be ready the front end will be coming up unexpected. Really! You get used to it quickly. After a few weeks of getting used to it I like it even more. My 06 yz 250 is set up for the woods; Gnarly pipe, fly wheel weight. I can pull one gear higher with this tire. Riding with 300 two strokes I can pull them in the loose rocky uphill if they have a knobby tire. I use a extra heavy duty tube and would recommend it. People look at you weird at first then after they see what it can do they want to know all about it. For the woods you won't regret it. If it lasts as long as they say it will, there is no going back for me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works Great, Lasts Forever

Josh in WA

Comments On Apr 06, 2012:This tire works great, like all trials tires. It seems to last longer than most other brands (espeically the Dunlop D803!), and works as good or better than any of the others.
All trials tires work great, so if you're thinking about getting one, GET ONE!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sticky with awesome grip

TIM in WA

Comments On Mar 26, 2012:In the Pacific Northwest it gets pretty slimy. My buddy and I took some heat over our "goofy" tires but laughed as we chugged up a steep greasy climb that our other buddies pushed there bikes up. It is remarkable just how good these things grip, and they don't tear up the trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

traction plus- enduro bike

Craig in VIC

Comments On Dec 12, 2011:Using this product on a enduro bike. Offers great life, traction in most conditions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Incredible tire!

MICHAEL in NC

Comments On Oct 15, 2011:Over 2 years(150 hrs)on this tire with no flats, broken off knobs or destroyed sidewalls. I will be purchasing another and recommend them to others. This tire does squirm around at higher speeds and down steep hills the rear wants to lock up early but for the 99% that just trail ride, it is perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT USE A TUBE

BRYAN in NY

Comments On Jun 20, 2011:DO NOT RUN THIS WITH OUT A BIB MOUSSE OR YOU WILL GET A FLAT.ALSO THE SIDE WALL WAS SO BADLY DAMAGED THAT I HAD TO THROW THE TIRE OUT AFTER ABOUT 2HOURS OF USE.. AND BEFORE ANYONE SAYS IT I DID NOT RIDE ON THE TIRE WHEN IT WAS FLAT BECOUSE THTS VIRTUALY IMPOSSIBLE. BECOUSE OF THIS I DESTROYED MY REAR RIM AND AM NOW FORCED TO BUY A NEW WHEEL.ON A SIDE NOTE THE TRACTION WAS EXCELLANT BUT IT WASNT WORTH THE 500.00 IN DAMAGE PLUS A NEW TIRE

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire - great traction and great longevity

Jason in TN

Comments On Dec 11, 2010:I love this tire and can't imagine I'll be using anything else. I ride a lot of rocky, rooty uphills and this tire is so much better than a knobby. It grips better and provides more predictable traction due to less deflection. It seems to grip about the same in the mud as a knobby but it may require a little less PSI in those scenarios.
The tire also holds up much better than a knobby. I typically get approx 30 hours out of a knobby whereas I get just over 100 hours out of this tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Actually pretty good!

RONALD D. in IA

Comments On Oct 25, 2010:My first trials tire and I was impressed with the traction it found. Probably better on a four stroke than a two stroke because they can be lugged to find traction rather than the spinning on a 2T. Poor traction in loose down hill gravl/rocks. Soft sidewall eventually was cut big time by a rock and ruined the tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Jim in MA

Comments On Sep 14, 2010:Great grip! Switched from MT16. After a few rides on this tire I am sold. I run it at 10psi with a UHD tube. No pinch flat issues at all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I can climb walls

SEAN in BC

Comments On Aug 30, 2010:great tire!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mounted on an XR400

MICHAEL in AZ

Comments On Jul 03, 2010:I am now a trials tire convert. Mounted up a Michelin X11 and did a ride today. The pluses where better than I thought they would be (massive traction on every thing, and better more supple suspension.) and the minuses where less than I thought (squirm at speed was not bad, could feel it but did not bother me, stalling the motor at low speeds, (due to the increased traction) took one stall to figure it out).
I rode my loop a lot smother than I usually do, motor lugged with all the traction making me ride quieter and smother. Never spun the rear wheel ( I never realized how much I used to spin the tire without even knowing it.) Less trail impact.
I purposely rode a little lazy on rocky climbs, I could crawl up climbs that I usually have to blast up.
I would take the tire for only it's improved suspension or I would take it for just its' improved traction. Luckily it gave me both.
Mounted it on my XR 400, worked fine on open desert roads but really shined on super tight single track. If you are on the fence about ridding one of these take the plunge you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This trials tire is like a billy goat

Russell in GA

Comments On May 10, 2010:Got the Michelin X-11 on a Friday and installed it with the Tubliss system for the rear on my 09 KTM 300 XC-W. Rode on Saturday and was able to go up rocky, rooty nasty hills in North Georgia like a Billy Goat. Went up stopped mid way and eased on the throttle and went right over the top. Friend with a knobby on a very rocky hill climb was having problems spinning his poor knobby on those rocks. I just motored around him like I was on flat ground.
I will NEVER use a rear knobby again. Trials tires rule in the woods!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Must use the right tube

DAVID in WA

Comments On Mar 27, 2010:Just want to say to you riders that think the X-11 might be to soft for rocky trails, just use a Bridgestone ultra heavy tube. Plus don't be afraid to put 18 to 20 psi in it. You will climb like a billy goat and I have not had a flat in the five years I've used this tire

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Never will I

OLIN in UT

Comments On Mar 10, 2010:go back to an MC tire. I love the trials tire for Moab sand stone and the High elevation single tracks of Central Utah.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Give Trials a Try.

Kristen in UT

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:If you purchase this you'll be very happy. It is expensive but is worth every penny. Don't get the Cheng shin, it's junk. The michelin really hooks up in everything, except sand dunes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Michelin X11

ROBERT in PA

Comments On May 15, 2009:I've been riding for 40 years and just tried the Michelin X11 and I'm amazed. The traction is amazing. It gives me a feeling of confidence and makes me feel invincible....like I can go over anything. I'm going to keep using it until I find out where it doesn't work well, which hasn't happened yet. I highly recommend this tire.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Treads Lightly

JOHN KEVIN in CA

Comments On Dec 14, 2008:I have the X-11 on my KTM 2 Stroke. I like to ride tight and technical single track. The trials tire outperforms a traditional knobby in almost every way.
The hook up is unparalleled. Typically when riding technical trails, you lose momentum and have to stop on occasion; like when having to three point or wheelie a tight switchback. The trials tire hooks up and pushes the bike forward with no wheel spin with just a little lug of the motor. A traditional knobby would be left spinning; resulting in trail damage.
The wear can not be surpassed by a traditional knobby. I usually get 350 miles out of a rear knobby. I have 1300 miles on my X-11 and the tire is still in good shape and hooks up as well as it did on day one. So far I am on track to get 4X the life out of this tire when compared to a knobby.
The only downside as others have reviewed is that the braking is not as effective. I was a little disappointed at first with the tires handling when braking. However, I have adjusted my riding style and I have to say the outcome has been positive. I have been forced to use the front brake more; the result is smother riding and less impact to the trail when braking. Brake sliding tears up the trail, especially downhill switchbacks. By using the front brake heavily, wheel slide is dramatically reduced.
Great tire. I believe in it so much I am advocating its use to my friends when riding the High Sierra trails of California.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire in most conditions

Reece in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2008:This tire will provide more traction and will outlast any other tire out there. The only problems I had was due to the soft sidewall and aggressive riding in Moab, I suffered an sharp increase in pinch flats. I increased pressure to 15psi and still was unable to avoid the pinches. I have since returned to a motocross tire, but i miss the traction provided by this tire. If you style is more finese, or you ride in areas without sharp rock ledges like Moab - I highly recommend this tire.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Tire

Scott in WA

Comments On Jan 19, 2008:The Michelin X-11 trials tire was introduced to me by a weekly trail rider at my local bike shop. I tried it and it is the only tire I will use on my Honda CRF250X for trail riding in all conditions. Great traction and less wheel spin ,means longer tire wear with awesome performance. Every trail rider should try it.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Best trials tire made, but not for everyone.

KENT in ID

Comments On Nov 22, 2007:First, I've tried Dunlop, IRC and Michelin trials tires. Michelins are best. They fit right and last up to twice as long. This is true even though the Michelin rubber is the softest and "grippiest" of the trials tires. Michelin seems to have a great formulae for their rubber compound.
The real question is whether you want a trials tire at all. I use a trials tire in the summer for trails, and for trips to Moab (rock ledge riding), but in late Fall and early spring I switch to a large (140 X 80) soft terrain motocross tire. The big aggressive motocross tire does better in the mud, and in the sand, and especially in the snow, which is the type of riding I do in the winter. During the summer I put on the trials tire for high mountain trials. A trials tire will out climb a motocross tire on dry ground in any type of soil, except mud. In fact, even in the mud, if the ground is at all rocky or has roots, a trials tire will still do better. Basically, the slower and rougher the trail, the better a trials tire will treat you.
However, the faster and more aggressive you ride, the less help a trials tire will be. Trials tires do not corner well at high speed. They are squared off and have no knobs protruding for corners. Trials tires also do not brake well, if your style is to slide into corners, you're in for an unpleasant surprise. Trials tires skid on the surface instead of digging in like a motocross tire will. I have learned when I have my trials tires on to brake lightly and keep the tire rolling, like an antilock brake system. If you can learn to do that, the trials tire actually brakes very well and is very effective on long, steep downhills.
These differences are because a motocross tire needs to "dig in" for traction. A moto-cross tire basically roto-tills the trail, throwing dirt to create forward momentum and digging a trench on a long hill climb. A motocross tire frequently gets stuck in its own trench and cannot move forward on a hill climb. A trials tire does not dig in; it sticks to the surface and pushes rocks into the ground and uses them for traction.
Another point is that the mountain trails would be in far better shape if everyone used trials tires. I've seen a lot of trails wrecked by knobby tires digging trenches on pristine trails that would still be in great shape if everyone used trials tires in the mountains.
Trials tires seem expensive, but I get between 1200 and 1800 miles on a Michelin trials tire and about 800 on the Dunlop I tried. I rarely get more than 800 miles on a motocross tire. Thus, in the long run, a trials tire is no more expensive. One reason a trials tire lasts so long is because it will work almost as well when it is bald as when it is knew. A motocross tire becomes much less effective when the knobs round off even a little.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gummy Bear

DAVID in CA

Comments On Nov 18, 2007:Simply the best tires for serious trials riding.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Michelin X-11 Trials Tire Feedback

CRAIG in AZ

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:The tire is awesome as to great traction (it wants to grab rather than spin) and it lasts twice as long as typical knobbies. The taller sidewall make it easier to mount and the lower pressure make for a smoother ride. Like other Trials it does wallow and feel unstable on paved roads at higher speeds. Also for braking it works best to slow rotation as locking up is like braking with a slick, it slides with not much grip.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Like Supa glue

Billy in MO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Very grippy tire, just don't try to brake slide too hard. Use this tire on my son's Crf230 we love it. Great for trail riding, i would be careful riding in a thorny area tho, this tire is supa soft.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Trials tires rule

PATRICK in WA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I switched to the trials tire four years ago and haven't looked back. No need, it keeps you going forward on rocks, roots and ruts and shines when the weather doesn't. I ride in the sand dunes in the winter and on mountain trails in the summer and it works equally well all year round.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Off Road Riding

KEITH in GA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I'm using it on a KTM250SXF for off-road. Hill climbing, even in soft silty soil is great, but the roots and rocks is where it really shines. Where knobby's will hit a root and start spinning and sliding down hill, a trials tire will track straight. Braking in soft soil is not as good as a knobby.

Was this review helpful?