Dunlop D739 A/T Desert Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop D739 A/T Desert Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 33 Reviews

Return to Dunlop D739 A/T Desert Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop D739 A/T Desert Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great wear

john in PA

Comments On May 21, 2014:I use this on my KTM 300XC in hard rocky to muddy conditions. I run this tire using the Tubliss system with about 3 to 5 psi. This tire hooks up and wears out slow.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Matthew in NV

Comments On May 17, 2014:300 miles and going strong. Looks better than other tires at this point.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

0psi With Tublss works excellent

MELVIN in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 BETA 300 RR

Comments On Jul 12, 2013:I run this tire at 0 psi with the Tubliss system and it works excellent. Even after the tire wears down it still works good. On hardpack corners you do feel it roll over a bit, but not on most soil conditions. Sticks like a trials tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good offroad tire

CHRISTOPHER in CA

Comments On May 24, 2013:Beefy tire with good traction. Good for rocky desert terrain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough tire

JOSHUA in ID

Comments On May 06, 2013:Very resistant to pinch flats. Hooks up great

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tough tire

Kyle in OR

Comments On Apr 17, 2013:I run the Tubliss system and have had issues with puncturing tires themselves. At the advice from Jeff from the Tubliss company I bought the Dunlop D739 A/T. This tire is super stiff and is supposed to be virtually puncture-proof. I ran it this past weekend in some tight singletrack at 3 psi and it was amazing! Time will tell if it is as puncture resistant as I have been told. The only thing holding it back from five stars at this point is the price which is a bit steep. Hopefully is lasts longer and makes the initial price a wash.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Tire

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Oct 19, 2012:Installed on a 2004 WR450 and primarily ride in North Western NV. I have done one G.P. style race at Honey Lake (Two hours long) and two desert races (One race was 120 miles and the other was just under a 100 miles) on tire and some trail riding and tire is doing well. Seems to be wearing fast but I think all tires wear fast (lol). The tire is a bit on the pricy side but it is worth the money. Hooks up great everywhere ie: sandy washes, rocks and whatever else the desert has to offer. Would purchase again and would recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire for sharp rocks

JAMES in MO

Comments On Apr 05, 2012:Used this tire for over 300 miles at 3-5 psi before it started to chunk. Good traction at low pressure.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tire for the desert...

DEREK in AZ

Comments On Dec 23, 2011:One of the best rear tires made for any terrain, especially the desert. Gave three stars because the price is ridiculous considering how fast they wear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

YESS!!

john in MO

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:I've run about 5 of these so far and have been overly satisfied with every one. Hold up well in missouri racing and thats no slouch!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

On a Xr650r

ANDREW in UT

Comments On May 31, 2011:Its a great 'desert' tire. Has wider lugs so of course it doesn't hook up in the looser stuff like an mx tire but thats why its a desert tire! Tough as hell and wears great. I ride a mix of desert/single track(w/sand) so ill go with a knobbier tire the next set. Still an A+ tire for what its made for
Additional Comments On Aug 17, 2011:i've got about 250 miles (desert, single track) or so on my 739 and it got about 200 or so left (maybe less).. For the price this tire isn't worth it to me. I know my xr650 has weight and power going against this tire but its too steeply priced when considering you can get other comparable brand desert tires for cheaper. Going to try the maxxis IT for the rear next

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Desert tire

MIKE in UT

Comments On Apr 26, 2011:I've got about 500 miles and two 70 mile desert races on this tire. The wear is good with no torn or cut knobs. I really like the traction and very predicable cornering. Little high priced. Would definitely buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Jan 16, 2011:hooks up very nice. love it for the desert

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire but expensive.

ROBERT in AZ

Comments On Dec 18, 2010:This is a decent tire but a Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert tire has equal traction and longer life for less money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Tire

Doug in WA

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:I used this tire on my pre-run bike at the Baja 1000 this year. The tire is still in remarkably good shape after 500 miles.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tyre

bert in WA

Comments On Dec 05, 2010:used one on a week long 2500km desert event. tyre was shagged at the end but stood up well. i was prepared to replace 1/2 way through if needed but the mild power of the drz400 meant it lasted. it dealt with some tough terrain and had a wire tangle slice into it but it survives. others used kenda parkers which looked to offer more grip but wore much faster, others used michy deserts or more trail tyres like dunlop 606 etc which also survived ok. the deserts are too much tyre for a drz and the trail tyres looked to offer average grip. will use 739AT again for same event this year.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tire

JOHN in AZ

Comments On Sep 10, 2010:I swear by this tire on my 450X. Holds up great in D-38 area. RM has the best prices on it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty darn good.

Matt in MT

Comments On Aug 10, 2010:Used this in Baja to pretty good effect. It's just not as good or long lasting as a Maxxis Desert IT.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop D739 A/T Desert Terrain Tire

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 26, 2010:An overall great tire that will hold up and let you get back even after a flat.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

120/90-19

Peter M in NV

Comments On May 27, 2009:Holds up great on my 04 KX500. I ride Desert around Vegas. Pretty much everything else gets shredded.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

If you ride in the desert, this is the one!

TIMOTHY in AZ

Comments On Nov 10, 2008:Although it takes a little more effort to mount, this tire is worth it. It holds up great without chunking and offers very predictable traction. I've tried many different rear tires but for the riding I do this is my favorite. It's not the cheapest available but tires are one of the things where you usually get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire for my XR650r/ OK for the YZ450

Jim in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I get twice as many rides on the AT Desert model when compaired to the std D737. This tire lasts!
Additional Comments On Jun 23, 2008:Still a good tire for my new YZ450, but the 120/90x19 is a pain to mount.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Cody in ID

Comments On Jun 08, 2008:Great Tire In The Desert

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Will buy again!

Gabriel in TX

Comments On Mar 24, 2008:My bike's handling feel great: Very good grip with a smooth controlable slide. Very good durability! Will definitrly buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tough as they come

JOHN in ID

Comments On Mar 20, 2008:This guy comes as advertised. A tough tall desert racer. The tire did not fold under the torque of the XR600 even at low pressures (<10psi) A match for the power and speed of this bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

One tough tire.

ROBERT in MI

Comments On Jan 22, 2008:Hooks up good, and is wearing great. Difficult to install and fairly heavy, but I have no worry about pinch flats!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

DRAGO in CA

Comments On Jan 15, 2008:Great compound and good wear. Good hook-up. A bit pricey.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

MIKE in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:Great tire for all off roading. I have used this in desert, GP's, and single track. It holds up well and bites really good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good

Rushton in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Probably the best open desert out there for the cost, seems to last longer than most tires, just a little tough to put on due to the thick sidewall, just make sure you have good tire irons and some soapy water...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Traction, but short life

Terry in NV

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:These tires do well here in the desert, but they have worn really fast. I'm trying the Maxxis desert tire next.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good tire

TROY in ID

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:This tire has top referal by a lot of pro MXer's. I bought it for my son's CR250R. He has really liked it as it hooks up well. The jury is still out on how it will hold up over time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire

PETER in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Great tire for the Cal City desert.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

durable traction !!

JOHN in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Riding in rocky & sandy desert terrain these tires hold up very well and provide excellent traction , a little pricey but no pinch flats yet with the stiffer side wall !! I highly recommend ...

Was this review helpful?