Tusk Ultra Lite Tire Iron

Customer Reviews for Tusk Ultra Lite Tire Iron

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 56 Reviews

Return to Tusk Ultra Lite Tire Iron Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Ultra Lite Tire Iron Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice tool

Nick in CA

Comments On Mar 05, 2014:Makes a difficult job less difficult. Light and good for the back pack to have with us.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire Iron

Shane in UT

Comments On Jan 28, 2014:Not a hugh fan. Very hard to get the tire removal process started and every time I have used these irons I have punctured a tube. It seems that once you get a fair amount of pressure on the iron it slips and puctures the tube or slips off of the rim. I have tried on 3 different tires, and 3 different approaches with the same results. I give this a 3 star rating because once you get the first 1/3 of the tire off of the rim then the irons work well for the rest. You would be better off using a large flathead screwdriver to get it started.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product

daniel in NC

Comments On Dec 07, 2013:Product worked as intended. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Josh in AL

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:You need this!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tool

sean in SC

Comments On Nov 07, 2013:comes in handy. good to have a set in the tool box if you're going to be changing tubes or tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Light and easy. Great tool

Helmut in VIC

Comments On Aug 12, 2013:would buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

work well

steve in UT

Comments On Aug 01, 2013:it will get the job done

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A little short for primary iron

Brett in UT

Comments On Jul 13, 2013:Easily fits in fender bag, strong and durable. Takes a lot of muscle to use it as primary tire iron because of short length. Works great as a place holder. Could get by with it out on the trail though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product!

Cory in UT

Comments On Jun 24, 2013:Great Product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sturdy

Scott in WY

Comments On Apr 19, 2013:These small irons are really strong, and the price is great!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best small tire iron I've ever gotten

Jonathon in MI

Comments On Feb 18, 2013:Honestly the best small tire iron I've ever gotten. Most tire irons have sharp edges that need to be knocked down with a grinder or a file. Not this one! Nice and smooth. They're awesome.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Seems good...

Evan in OR

Comments On Jan 19, 2013:I haven't needed to use it yet, but it is compact and lightweight, making it easy to carry in my small tool pouch on my XR dual-sport.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for travel kit.

Catherine in NH

Comments On May 25, 2012:I bought these for my home garage, very sturdy a little tougher to work with then the longer ones but they do the job and are great for a travel kit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Haven't pinched a tube yet.

CY in CA

Comments On Apr 17, 2012:It's a tire iron and it works. It hasn't broken yet nor has it pinched a tube. 'Nuff said.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs just a little more length

Jonathan in CA

Comments On Dec 16, 2011:Good solid tire iron, but I wish it was just a little longer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Need 3

Merle in CO

Comments On Oct 19, 2011:I originally bought 2 spoons. After using them to change/repair about 5 tires, 2 is not enough! I bought a 3rd with my last order... and to get my order over $100. I hope I do not need a 4th...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff cheap price!

Angel in TN

Comments On Aug 22, 2011:I have 5 of these work great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Versatile Iron, and CHEAP

Richard in SA

Comments On Mar 30, 2011:Buy a whole bunch of them ! They're cheap as chips and have both a lever and spoon on each one ! They do the job intended and do it well. At the price, just buy heaps of them !
Excellent tyre iron for the trail side !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not so good

Douglas in OR

Comments On Jan 16, 2011:This is the first Tusk product I have ever given a low score. They stink, don't buy. Wanted to make sure they would work when in the woods so tried them at home. Poor design did some serious scratching of my rim. I was able to get out the tube with these though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good price

harley in WA

Comments On Dec 29, 2010: a little short but for the price you cant go wrong great value

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not that light

steve in AZ

Comments On Sep 21, 2010:Not that light, especially for it's small size. Nothing like a Motion Pro T-6. Will work fine for the "third" trail iron in addition to my spoons. Packs easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

too small

arthur in NY

Comments On Aug 27, 2010:good for holding your spot while removing tire, but too small to get any real leverage or bite.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

handy tool

Brad in WA

Comments On Aug 02, 2010:great little tool for the fanny pack or in addition to full size tire tools

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Too small, but they worked.

JOHN in GA

Comments On Jul 27, 2010:I should have purchased the larger irons. These are a fine product, but next time I will go for the larger ones.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Light Weight

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:These are great for using on the trail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

sort of usefull

Ryan in MI

Comments On May 26, 2010:I got two of these cheap little irons and one bigger heavy duty one for the prying. That strategy works great. I would not use just these little irons by themselves though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great little tire iron.

John in MO

Comments On Mar 21, 2010:Well worth the money and just the right size.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

lightweight, but too short

COLE in UT

Comments On Feb 14, 2010:bought so i had a small, light weight tire iron to take with me. very light, very small, too short to apply any real leverage. today, i just use them as a place holder while i use my longer tire irons.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Get the job done

Chris in VIC

Comments On Feb 05, 2010:I used a couple of these along with the sure grip tyre iron. They seem to be good quality.
I used them to hold the tyre while working it with the sure grip tyre iron. I think the leverage of these would make the job more difficult than something longer, however I'd use them on their own on the trail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good

JENNIFER in WA

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:good for the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Light weight and durable

Rebecca in CO

Comments On Feb 01, 2010:Great price and size. Fit nicely in a fender back. It comes with a Tusk decal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

necessary tool

TERRY in TX

Comments On Feb 02, 2010:a necessary tool in your collection

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rockin

Andrew in GA

Comments On Dec 01, 2009:These things beat the crap out of using screwdrivers. I'm just an old school redneck, and have been bustin my knuckles for years even when I don't have to. Not anymore. great shipping and delivery time, rocky mountain ATV is top notch.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tools

Jack W in CO

Comments On Aug 23, 2009:I use two of these tools with a Tusk sure grip iron and the Tusk bead tool. It makes changing tires a breeze. Very sturdy, compact, and easy to use. Well worth the money. I've changed dozens of tires and tubes with these tools with NO problems at all.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk

JIMMY in TN

Comments On Jul 06, 2008:A great item to have around!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Value

Charles in NC

Comments On May 21, 2008:Easily changed the front tire with two of these. Worked fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tire iron

AUSTIN in TN

Comments On Apr 17, 2008:The tire iron could be a little bit bigger.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excelent

JAMES in AR

Comments On Apr 14, 2008:These little jewels are dandy! Some say they are too short? Well I wouldn't want to carry a 16 inch tire iron in my pack! They actually work very well on the trail, are light and carry easily.
It will take a bit of effort to change a tire with these but they are designed for the trail. If you can't change a tire with these then you need some more practice.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

they worked for the price

Michael in NM

Comments On Apr 08, 2008:Great for a second set of hands but not a primary tire iron.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Small, light , and cheap.

JASON in OR

Comments On Mar 19, 2008:Works good for the trail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

too heavy

JIMMY in TX

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:tool was not as light as i hoped it would be.after some machining and grinding it is ok

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Trail Irons

Craig in AE

Comments On Mar 14, 2008:As with any compact tire iron your technique needs to be correct. I've changed enough tires to successfully change out a couple tubes on the trail with no problem.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Broke

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:Not tough enough my son broke it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does the job

Tim in CA

Comments On Feb 22, 2008:i wouldn't use if i was working on my bike at home or in a shop. but for while riding, they work, and fit in a portable caring case.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

gets the job done

Robert in AZ

Comments On Jan 30, 2008:gets the job done!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Small tool, I recommend larger sure grip instead.

Duane in IL

Comments On Jan 25, 2008:Not that good, too short and the ends aren't bent that great. I also bought a longer sure grip tire tool and it is awesome, longer length for leverage and the tip has a better angle. Unless you are wanting a short tool don't buy this, spend a couple more bucks for the bigger, better one.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too short

JASON in TN

Comments On Jan 04, 2008:These are too short to do any good when changing a tire. I'm glad I tried them in the garage before I needed them on the trail. Gave them to somebody.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Price

BRIAN in CO

Comments On Jan 06, 2008:Great Price and a must for offroad repairs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good addition to tool box

FRANK in NJ

Comments On Dec 11, 2007:well made and good value

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TIRE IRONS

JASON in UT

Comments On Dec 08, 2007: WORK WELL

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice little tool to have on hand

STEVEN in SC

Comments On Oct 28, 2007:this tire iron works great and dosn't take up a lot of room in the tool box.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Small....but

DAVID in NJ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Yes these are small,however that is what you need to be carrying in your bag while riding. I have changed both tires only using three of these spoons and yes it was almost impossible.........but I got it done.Practice, practice practice If you are closer than 10 miles, put some plastic lock ties around tire and wheel and nurse her home any farther out use the irons!!! They work as they should but not easy.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty tough irons

GERALD in CA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:I used these to change a soft sidewall tire to a very stiff Dunlop D606 (rear). I thought I would end up breaking or bending them but I didn't. They are short and compact for trail use, my hand slipped off of one, and it got launched across the garage. I figured if I could use it at home, I should be able to use it while away (I hope I don't have to).

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

not for everyday use

BRAD in TX

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is great for carrying with you for an emergency situation, but I do not recommend for everyday use. Light weight, packs easy, not much leverage. Perfect for the trail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tire irons

JUSTIN in NH

Comments On Oct 19, 2007:Good little tire iron. Fits very nicely in a waist pack or back pack. No much leverage so if your going to be using it for regular tire changes get the longer more expensive types.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Have tried about everything Tusk!

DANIEL in MN

Comments On Oct 18, 2007:Have tried about everything tusk and have had good look with this product. It has last this long and still works as it should. This is a great and cheap buy for anyone!

Was this review helpful?