Shinko 705 Rear Dual Sport Motorcycle Tire

Customer Reviews for Shinko 705 Rear Dual Sport Motorcycle Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 8 Reviews

Return to Shinko 705 Rear Dual Sport Motorcycle Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Shinko 705 Rear Dual Sport Motorcycle Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Happy Camper

James in SA

Comments On Apr 03, 2014:I bought a set of these for a 4,500km adventure ride from Adelaide to Canberra and back on my Honda NC700S. Approximately half was on sealed roads, 40% on formed dirt roads and 10% on dirt tracks and off-piste. The front was amazing - never once did I think it was about to let go. The rear though was pretty easy to step out of line, but probably more a reflection of the weight bias on the NC700S. They were great on high-speed dirt roads, but as expected, challenging in deep sand. On sealed roads they're quiet enough, and allowed me to drag the pegs through a brilliant 70km stretch of switchbacks. I'd rate these tyres 60/40 sealed/unsealed. They've now done 6,000km and the rear probably has another 1,500km in it till the wear bars. I expect the front will last two or three rear tyre changes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great rear tire for my Versys

Matt in AR

Comments On Nov 25, 2013:I purchased this tire in September for my Versys. So far I've put just under 3,000 miles on it and it's holding up really well. I've done some single-track, quiet a bit of dirt roads, and a lot of pavement and it handles it all really well. Will be buying this tire again when it's time for another.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great. Give them a try

Peter in Victoria

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:I have just fitted the Shinko's front and rear to my 06 DL1000. I have had Meltzer's mostly and I have found the Shinko's up there with them. They are great in the dirt as we get into the mountain on dirt roads and they have good feel on the bitumen. The only complaint is the front is a bit noisy, but I had a set of Pirelli's fitted a while back and they made noise too. Don't know what sort of distance I will get, but for the price, even shipped to Australia, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great street tire

Chris in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Sep 04, 2013:Love this tire on pavement. I have put just over 3000 miles and still have lots of tread. I ride about 80 percent pavement 20 percent dirt. Smooth and very predictable on the road.
Off road is another story, back tire is ok, lots of spin as would be expected, The front tire is scary off road, very unpredictable. Front end will wash out even at low speeds. It is fine on hard pack but not on any type of loose soil. I will be replacing the front before it wears out.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome bang for the buck

Isaac in New Mexico

Comments On Jul 16, 2013:I'm on my second rear and first front tire of this particular model, and I love them. They're great 80/20 tires, and since I commute on my bike, I appreciate the good tread life I get from them. I got around 4000 of almost all highway miles, and there was still probably another 500 left in it when I replaced it. When they're new, they work great for dirt roads and hard pack trails. Once you're in loose terrain like sand or mud, you'll want something with actual knobs on it, but as an all around tire, it's tough to beat these.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Value

ROY in IL

Comments On Jul 13, 2012:I run Michelin tires on just about everything I own, so it was only natural to put Michelin Anakees on the Wee Strom when I bought it (used). Wasn't overly impressed. A friend suggested I try the Shinkos. They held up just as well, can drag the occasional peg (pretty impressive for dual sport tires) and were reasonably priced. I'm back for more. Even started using the 011 model on my FJR with good results. If I had to knit pick, it would be that they seem to harden up and lose a little traction as they age/wear. Seems to be easier to skid the rear tire when they've got some miles on them. But for the price, you can change them sooner then the brand name tires and stil come out ahead.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

MICHAEL in OH

Comments On Apr 30, 2012:My KLR650 came with one of these on the back. I've been amazed what it can do off road(snow, 6 inches of mud) and it's almost bald in the middle of the tread. Great on road also. The only time it's lost traction is wet clay or wet grass.(I've not tried one on the front or ridden in sand).
It goes better than it stops in slick conditions.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Shinko 705 150/70-17 radial

Steven in WA

Comments On Apr 08, 2012:I was on the fence about this tire because of the horror stories regarding the old bias ply. I bought a front and rear set and was truly impressed. The front still looks new after 6500 miles and the rear is to the wear bars. These are just as good as the Conti road attacks I have been using and half the cost. I run these on my 1000 V-Strom with a lot of 2 up and heavily loaded. My rides include a lot of twisty curvies and plenty of dirt and gravel roads. They are FAR more confidence inspiring off road than the Contis and just as good on road. I just ordered another rear. 2 of my co-workers just put them on their KLR650's and like them far better than their deathwings that came stock.

Was this review helpful?