Dunlop MX31 Geomax Soft Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop MX31 Geomax Soft Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 47 Reviews

Return to Dunlop MX31 Geomax Soft Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop MX31 Geomax Soft Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bites well

james in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:I use this tire almost always. Only if it's very hard will I opt for a MX 51

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great traction

Joshua in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On May 26, 2014:A great tire for sure. Bike hooks up in everything. I ride in the woods a lot . Will definitely buy another set when these wear out. Ultra soft rubber though. Stay off the pavement they wear quick!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This tire is gnarly

Chad in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Apr 04, 2014:Super aggressive front tire, should be great for the sandy/loamy conditions at Three Palms. My local dealership recommended this tire. They said to run a MX31 on the front and a MX 51 on the rear. Can't wait to stick this thing into some corners.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quality tire

ERIC in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Mar 20, 2014:great in muddy conditions,

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire for Southeast TX

Randal in TX

Comments On Jan 25, 2014:I bought 4 of these tires to re-shoe my kids' bikes - XR100 and KX85. For the type of terrain we have in Southeast Texas - mud, sand, woods - these seem to be holding up well. The KX85 has put about 4 races on this set of MX31s and they are holding up well. From what I can see, the rear hooks up better than anything they've had before in deep sand and the front seems to stick in the turns well without washing out.
Overall, the tires are working for the kids. Given my experience with Dunlops on my KTM 500XCW, I doubt I'll put these on my bike but I'd take them over the MX51s I think - especially the front.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ended my front end wash

David in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 30, 2013:MX31 is a great tire for the front. If you are a serious hare scramble or cross country racer. I raised my fork tubes about 6mm and slapped this MX31 on the front and my front end wash out problems are gone! love this tire and I love it with my MX51 on the rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tire for a softer top layer with a hard base

MICHAEL in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 14, 2013:Great tire on softer terrain with a hard base. For the SoCal riders this is the best tire for Pala Raceway.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great grip

PETE in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HUSQVARNA TE 510

Comments On Nov 12, 2013:This tire is an excellent all round tire. Awesome grip on all surfaces. It finally gave in on a very rocky terrain riding at full noise but i kinda expected that. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tire

matt in PA

Comments On Aug 20, 2013:pretty good tire no issues but im switching to s12s michielin

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Soft tire for front

DAN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Aug 08, 2013:THIS tire grips like crazy, but don't expect very much tire life. That's the price for grip!!! I'm going to try the new mxat81 next

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great sand tire !

Steve in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 350 SX-F

Comments On Jul 27, 2013:This tire works great in the sands of Fl. Big difference over stock tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MX31 Front

Jacob in OR

Comments On Jul 01, 2013:Tire hooked up great and was confidence inspiring in the soft stuff. It would step out quickly in the hard stuff and rocks but I always seemed to recover without going down. The down side is after less than 8 hrs trail riding every knob on the side walls began to rip. I haven't thrown any knobs completely off yet but I am looking for a new tire. It might be great for some one who just rides sand and loamy dirt, guess it wasn't me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good for soft dirt

ROBERT in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Jun 17, 2013:Great for soft or loose dirt.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire for Sand Whoops

RAYMOND in UT

Comments On May 27, 2013:understand the KTM 300 rear 18 makes sand tire options few and far between, this MX31 works great in sand whoops, she tracks a straight line and still floats, love it! i

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires..

Gabe in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ85

Comments On May 20, 2013:These tires are the best tires I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

120-90-18 out of round

Chris in Kentucky – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 300 XC

Comments On May 05, 2013:I bought a front and rear mx 31. The front seems to do good but the rear is not true. First I checked the wheel to assure it was not bent or out of round then to make sure the tire was seated properly. This tire is 3/8 of an inch out on the side from highest to lowest point and barley over 1/4 of an inch egg shaped. And it will beat your brains out on asphalt. I would expect this from a knock off brand but not Dunlop

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire so far..

Mike in KS

Comments On Apr 18, 2013:IMO better on the small bikes then the MX51

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tread, worth the money

Robert in NY

Comments On Apr 01, 2013:I prefer the mx 31 over the mx 51. The only tire in my opinion better than this series is the bridgestone 403/404 front and rear combo.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chunks out

Adam in IA

Comments On Oct 03, 2012:Bought this for my son's KTM 50 and the rear knobs chunck off after 4 rides...can't imagine what they would do on a big bike. I've tried two of these rear tires and both lasted 4 rides or less. The front tire seems to be holding up ok though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wouldn't buy again

Edwin in CA

Comments On Sep 11, 2012:the knobs ripped off the sides in two rides

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Side knobs rip from the inside

Simon in VIC

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:I had these on my bike for less than 100 kms and all the side knobs ripped from the inside of the carcass. I am not alone a friend had hid rip the same way after one grass track event.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quick wear

Kristin in UT

Comments On Jul 31, 2012:Wears quickly when raced. Not too often that you find really soft terrain. Would reccomend the MX51.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

Brad in ON

Comments On Jun 26, 2012:works well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Front and rear.

william in PA

Comments On Jun 06, 2012:The best tires I have ever run in the mud, just hold on!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hooks up great

john in MA

Comments On May 28, 2012:lots of traction

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

dumlop MX31

Derek in OH

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:These are realy good for all kinds of dirt I use them for the woods very nice.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Grip, Short Life

Josh in WA

Comments On Oct 25, 2011:Great performance, but in 5-8 Rides, all the front side knobs tear off. This was in mostly soft terrain. They grip a little better than the MX51, but the lifespan is WAY too short for me. The MX51 lasts almost twice as long, and I have no complaints.

Additional Comments On Apr 06, 2012:More accurately, the MX51 lasts about 50% longer. My group, especially those who favored the MX31, have found that the new, narrower MX51 front (80/100/21) grips better than the wider front (90/10/21). I have to agree.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

BRENT in TX

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:I put a MX31 rear on an RM85, mostly because of the price, but looked to be a pretty solid tire!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire for the money

Terry in WA

Comments On Nov 28, 2011:This is a very good tire for smaller bikes. It has excellent traction and wear. I will buy this tire for my other bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy some there Great!

Rodney in VIC

Comments On Oct 27, 2011:Awesome tyre, heaps a grip in the wet. Excellent latteral grip as well and last really well 5 star!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CRF 50

Kelly in WA

Comments On Sep 13, 2011:Huge improvement over the stock "save Dad's lawn" tire. Used 1st time at sand dunes, was way better than I expected. Now gets used woods riding, son does great with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this tire

Mike in CA

Comments On Jun 15, 2011:I would definately recommend this tire for the front. It wears very well and last a long time. The price is also very resonalble

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not durable at all

LANCE in WA

Comments On Apr 18, 2011:I thought the tire worked well, but the fact is, I have 12 hours on this tire and the side knobs are falling off. 1 day at washougal some spring soft sandy days and a handfull of days at my local track. 12 hours of soft/intermediate dirt. bummer. back to michelin.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

new design

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Apr 06, 2011:i love these new designs that dunlop came out with. great for sand and gravel washes ect

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

756 replacement

Jeff in OK

Comments On Mar 23, 2011:While it is not a 756 it is much better all around than the MX51. Have used on prepped track and it is awesome even when track starts to dry out and get some hard slick lines. Really did well on sand track for our first race of season. I switch to MX71 on harder surface or none prepped tracks. I stick with the MX51 rear for all tracks we ride on.Once again RM MC has the best individual price on Dunlop tires.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perform great but not for long

John in MD

Comments On Mar 14, 2011:These really hook up great in all conditions but dont last long at all. After just a few rides I was missing over 25 knobbies on the rear. Now Im back with my 756

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice tire for price

samuel in FL

Comments On Mar 08, 2011:held up well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire.

Stephen in VA

Comments On Mar 07, 2011:Use for motocross/ woods riding, I absolutely love this tire. It grips in flat corners like no other tire. Seems to work great in all conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good for soft and intermediate

Owen in WV

Comments On Jan 18, 2011:YZ250F MX. Have found Bridgestone 403 and Dunlop MX51 good until it gets really soft. Find the MX31 way better in the soft and still good in intermediate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Tire

John in MA

Comments On Dec 21, 2010:Good tire. I put one on my son's CR85, worked well and lasted all year.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GEOMAX IS BEST

lisa in FL

Comments On Jul 26, 2010:WE LOVE THIS TIRE DOWN HERE IN FLORIDA.EXC, STRAIGHT LINE TRACTION OFF LINE.WEAR IS GOOD. BEST TIRE WE CAN GET.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires!

MIKE in CA

Comments On Jul 21, 2010:Use them on my son's RM85. They wear great and are priced right!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chunking

JIM in AZ

Comments On Jul 19, 2010:I had bad luck with this tire chunking in a very short period of time.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent tire.

Timothy in CO

Comments On Jul 14, 2010:I decided to give these a try after using 756's for some time and I did not like the Geomax MX31's at first. There comparable to the 756 but not as good and are more sensitive to tire pressure. However, after riding on the Geomax 31's for a while now, I like them, but I will stay with the 756's as they are still a better tire and cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Scott in FL

Comments On Jul 10, 2010:Absolutely the best front tire I have ever ridden on in sandy conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great pit bike tires

Clinton in WA

Comments On Feb 24, 2010:These tires are great for pit biking and for the price you can't beat them

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dunlop's new soft terrain tires

DANIEL in NY

Comments On Jun 07, 2009:Works well in new England states. Rolls on top nobbies a little bit on the rock gardens. Overall pretty comparable to the old faithful 756 series. They seem to keep there edge a little longer.

Was this review helpful?