Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Intermediate Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Intermediate Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 184 Reviews

Return to Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Intermediate Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Intermediate Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

my first Maxxis

Zach in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Sep 17, 2014:This was my first Maxxis tire I have ever used. I am sold. The tire made me a better rider by getting me out of bad positions I put myself in. Did a national enduro and ot showed no signed of wear. Traction and tire life are the reasons for buying this tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

super tough

MIKE in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Sep 04, 2014:This is the only tire that I have used in the last couple of years. I put 45 hours on one tire. I am running the 120/90/19 which is a little on the fat side but when it comes to running in rocky desert terrain it really keeps from pinch flating a tube. Excellent traction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire for your money

MATT in CA

Comments On Jul 21, 2014:hooks up and lasts a long time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did not like in the sand

Jimmie C in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 525 XC-W

Comments On Jul 17, 2014:Switched to the S12. Not good for my riding style and sandy conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre

Kyle in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jun 14, 2014:Bought the tire for my NV desert riding after reading the hype about this tire. The tire wears like iron which is nice, but it doesn't do any 1 or 2 things well it just kind of does everything fair.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best offroad tire ever!

Matthew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jun 12, 2014:Guys riding mx tracks might disagree, but for anyone that rides deserts, mountains or anywhere that's not groomed for you this is the tire. Hooks up good on hard pack and rocks, but doesn't suck in sand either. If you don't like riding on flats this tire is the bomb, almost indestructible. And it lasts forever. My son had one on his 250 2 stroke and went 2 seasons of hard riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Dustin in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 06, 2014:Used for black diamond trails. Hook up was great on rocky terrain!! It will move some earth if you get stuck on a steep hill with silt/small gravel, but the bike was able to pull herself up with these fresh tires. Tire wasn't too bad to install and I also used an Ultra Heavy Duty Tube. The wear seems decent, with no chunks. Although, after two hours of riding, there are some small slices in the middle knobs, but these tires have a reputation for lasting (we will see). 110/90/19 looks a little smaller than the Dunlop MX51. Fun tire overall at a great price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good tire in rocky conditions

Ryan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On May 16, 2014:There isn't a better tire that won't chip away on rocky/shale type conditions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional

JUSTIN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF230F

Comments On Apr 18, 2014:The tires changed the way the bike handled on every type of terrain. Excellent on slickrock and sand. Helped me get my 230 through 5MOH.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2013 crf450r

jeremy in ID

Comments On Apr 14, 2014:Great tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big tire.. near tractor like proportions...

Jeffrey in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:superior grip and tread life.. but its big especially the 120/90/19 on my Katoom...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire with the tubliss system

David in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:I am running these tires with The tubliss system front and rear, I am running about 4psi in the rear and the tire hooks up great. So far I am very please with their overall performance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire for the desert

jim in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Apr 03, 2014:love the tire, kind of a pain to mount.....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Durability

Jay in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HUSQVARNA WR 360

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:Ride hard pack and rock 70% of the time and sometimes loam and this rear tyre still finds good to very good grip, although they aren't too good in muddy and slimy conditions like hard clay (what does?!). The strength is their durability with a fairly stiff carcass, you can run these tyres as low as 5psi without fear of puncturing and last for ages.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best knobby trail tire

Doug in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Mar 11, 2014:I ride from sand, to hard pack to rocks and this tire has held up the best and has really good feel. Its my go-to tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert

DUSTY in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:LOVE these tires, they wear like iron!!! We ride in desert terrain where it goes from sand, to rock, to muddy stream beds, to hard pack dirt, constantly and this tires works the best compared to others that have been put up to the test. Very versatile tire. And the price is more than fair.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Desert Tire

Kolby in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:Hands down the best desert tire out there that I have rode. Great hook up, reliable, durable. If your looking for a good desert tire that can take a beating the Maxxis desert is the way to go.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Shawn in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 27, 2014:I ran my first Maxxis Desert IT 4 years ago when I moved to Colorado and I have never looked back. It holds up well in the rocky terrain out here and doesn't lose complete knobs like other tires. I go through 1 a year but I'd say thats pretty good for riding a 450 over jagged rocks all season. Also, I've always liked the look of the yellow MAXXIS logo on the sidewall.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet tire

Brian in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 23, 2014:Awesome tire. Not the best in really sloppy conditions, but it still hooks up well and is VERY durable and long lasting. My go to rear tire for all my trail riding in northern Idaho.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Some of my favorite tires.

ALAN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:Wear well on mixed terrain, with these tires you can run lower pressure than some other tires out there, and still not get pinch flats. Good value !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Toby in MB – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jan 16, 2014:Love this tire. No flats. Holds up well anywhere.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing for AZ desert!

Ryan in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:My riding style is fire roads and open desert trail riding, very agressive. I have used the D606 before this tire and it never hooked up very well. This tire is much better in the desert. I got about 1000 miles out of it, but probably 200-250 were on the paved road which worn it down Very fast. I would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Desert IT Tires

Landon in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KTM 380 EXC

Comments On Jan 02, 2014:Living in the Western CO desert we experience harsh sharp rock, sand, loamy dirt (after a rain) and baked burned hardpack soil. Its brutal on tires. Knobs on most tires fly off after only a few rides. The Maxxis desert IT is our GO TO tire for these conditions. Really long lasting, no knob shedding until the tire is completely worn out, and they'll give you great confidence on sharp edges due to the strong sidewall. I got a full year's use out of them riding them almost every weekend. (A class racer, but mostly a weekend warrior these days)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This is THE rear tire for trails

braden in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:For the trails I ride (rocky singletrack, slickrock, some sand, some soft single track) this is by far the strongest and most durable tire I have found. Way less flats, longer time between changes, etc. Won't buy any other rear. The front is okay too. A royal pain to put on though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

all terrain tire

DAN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 250 XC

Comments On Dec 26, 2013:Good tire. We use these on several bikes for varied terrain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bulletproof tires

Patrick in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA XR400R

Comments On Dec 14, 2013:Best tires I've had. fantastic traction in mud, sand,rocks, and long wearing too. wish these were DOT approved for highway use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Douglas in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Nov 24, 2013:Long lasting tire. It a little bit hard to spoon on so you'll want to set it in front of a halogen light for a few minutes to soften it up. Stiff sidewall helps prevent pinch flats. Wish it were a little softer when I end up in sand washes but great for rocky trails.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good dirt traction, ok on hard rocky terrain

Christopher in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Oct 23, 2013:This tire is great/good in dirt, & ok/good on rocky terrain. After one ride, typical wear. No knobs removed by rocks yet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

5 stars!

Kalen in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Oct 15, 2013:I ride a DRZ 400S which has basically been converted into a dirtbike. These tires made all the difference (along with the suspension). Only tires i will buy for desert riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

grip

David in SA

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:in a straight line they grip well and also they last a long time , but they do break loose around corners and don't hold as well as other brands like 404, S12 and starcoss, good for the dessert straight i guess, i wont but again, but not a crap tire just average.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!

Wes in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On Sep 29, 2013:Like all other reviews given, this is a great tire. I have over 600 miles of rocky, nasty terrain on this tire. The MX tire that came on my bike only lasted 450 miles! It really has held up great considering I'm not nice to my tires. Judging by the wear, I should be able to get an easy 1000 miles out of this tire. Combined with a heavy duty inner tube, this is a trusted combo for extreme hard use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire for the Money

Cody in WY

Comments On Mar 07, 2012:This tire is AWESOME!! Difficult to put on, but eats up any terrain you can throw at it. I am hooked.

Additional Comments On Sep 03, 2013:Update----3 Tires down and still a big fan of the Maxxis IT Desert tire. It is a little stiff for sloppy/rooty conditions, but overall a great tire. If you ride desert mostly nad mountains occasionaly it is a great all around tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

super hard sidewall

JAY in CA

Comments On Jul 30, 2013:tough to put on but worth it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Durable Tire

Matthew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jul 10, 2013:This tire seems to last the longest out of any that I have tried. I ride very harsh terrain with lots of rocks and it with-stands a pretty good beating.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love maxxix

DAVE in CA

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:love these tires always a plus in the socal rocky moon dez

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Trail Tire

Michael in SD – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Jun 12, 2013:I use this tire for riding gravel roads to single track in the Black Hills. Provides superior traction and has great wear! I plan on buying this same tire when it needs to be replaced. Great value!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up and lasts

Fred in CO

Comments On Jun 10, 2013:This rear tire hooks up in and and rock and grips on slick rock. Very long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Jean-Luc in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 08, 2013:I've ridden with this tire for 1 season now and it's held up great. I ride mostly hard pack with lots of rocks, and some sand and mud. This tire hooks up great and wears very well. I will buy this tire again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tire for trail riding or MX

Ryan in Pennsylvania – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jun 06, 2013:I've been using this tire for years. I race and ride a lot of trails. I ride every single weekend and never got a flat. If u ride in the coal region where I do there are a lot of sharpe rocks and that's we're this tires excels. Excellent straight line traction and very good turning capabilities. Highly recommend this tire

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great on all conditions

TYLER in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On May 13, 2013:I hill climb and drag race on many different surfaces and with this tire im never having to worry about if im hooking up or not its grabs a bite and digs

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Lasting

andrew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CR250R

Comments On May 02, 2013:I ride on track and hard rocky trail terrain and hold up well without breaking knobs

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

These tires are hit or miss

Daniel in AZ

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:Ive gotten good ones and bad ones. I have moved on to another brand because I cant trust that Im not going to get a tire thats not going to lose all the lugs on the first ride.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Will never buy any other tire

Keith in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Apr 28, 2013:Great tire, great price, great traction, excellent life. I live in a desert environment with quite a bit of soft sand but there is also a lot of hard pack with rocks everywhere this seems to be the only tire that can stand up to this environment, it also does great on the track. I bought by first one 3 years ago and will never buy any other tire as long as I live in the desert.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great Dez tire

DOUG in NV

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:Lasts,strong,tough !!! this tire has worked for me .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't go wrong

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:Used this tire in desert and in trees. Awesome tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WEARS LIKE IRON!

Ben in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2013:If you want a tire that can take abuse in rocky gnarly terrain then this is the tire! I only run maxxis tires on my utv and dirt bike! you will love them very good tires!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Corey in UT

Comments On Mar 14, 2013:This tire has lasted through a couple of races with no issues. Still Looks new.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire

chase in ME

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:great tires, its cheap and last a long time and the lugs dont come off in chuncks like the past few tires ive bought

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

maxxis

SCOTT in NV

Comments On Mar 01, 2013:great tire. hooks up well in variety of conditions. long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good for the desert

DANNY in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:this tire with a bridgestone heavy duty tube is the best combo. it lasts me about 3 to 4 100 mile desert scrambles with practices in between.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Desert IT Front and Rear

Brian in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:Have ran Desert IT's since 2006, awesome rear tire, I tend to like the 110 and 120 19" knob size better han the 120 18" that i have to run since i swapped to a 450x rear wheel. The 18" seems to wear faster because the knobs are a bit spikier than the 19". Never had a problem with traction with either size though. It's been my experience you have to give up alittle traction to get longevity with tires, as is the case with these. The front tire hooks up great, but there is a downside, they tend to shed side knobs with age, especially in the rocks! Still the rear is a good long lasting tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Long lasting

Kristian in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:This a great tire, it seemed to last forever. Most of my riding is done in the rocky mountains WY, MT, UT. Good traction.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires

Geoff in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Feb 04, 2013:Great traction and good tread wear. Hooks up in the North Eastern California High Desert area on dirt, sand, rocks, and occasional mud. Definitely recomend these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best tire ever

Edwin in CA

Comments On Dec 27, 2012:this tire is easy to change hooks up well good life

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pretty good long lasting tire.

darin in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Dec 26, 2012:I like these only in the rear configuration. The front is no good. This tire lasts a really long time but is less predictable than the similar Dunlop D952 witch is my favorite. As far as this tire goes I also like how the bead sticks out and protects the rim from rock damage. All things considered I would say the Dunlop is less expensive and much better in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best for the West

Randy in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Dec 20, 2012:This Maxxis tire has all of the qualities needed for running in the desert Southwest. The durable sidewall really helps elliminate pinching. The rubber compound is perfect for the loose sand and hard rocks. No chunking either. I run at 15 lbs, for higher speeds and greater resistance to flats. I have used many other brands and types. This is the best for the West. It lasts a long time, performs consistently in the heat (even at 115)and runs well in deep sand. There is no way any other tire can compare to the Desert IT out in the open desert.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

steve in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 14, 2012:great tire works great in all conditions last better than anything i have ran

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough tire

George in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 13, 2012:Hard to find a rear tire that will hold up in this part of Nevada. So far the Maxxis is doing well. Haven't ripped off any of the knobs and traction is great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent

JAMES in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:i went through 8 of these rears one year. loved them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best tire for 450

Robert in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Dec 04, 2012:I am now on my fourth or fifth Desert IT and will not use another rear tire. I ride desert and woods, great hook up on all terrain. I run it at 10 psi because it has such a huge sidewall but it can eat up the rear mud flap!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent for so cal desert and mountains

Allen in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Nov 23, 2012:This tire wears better than any other tire I have used. Excellent traction if you don't over inflate. 13 max seems to be about perfect, traction really goes downhill at higher PSI's. I sometimes run the front at 14 psi if I am worried about flats.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Double the tire life.

Andy in ID

Comments On Oct 31, 2012:I went threw 5 tires on my 450 before switching to this tire. Rear will last twice as long. Front will sometimes rip the side lugs off. One of the only brands in a 120/90x19 for the motocross bikes that want the benefits that a 18" wheel brings to protect from pinch flats.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quality and perfomance tire

NATE in CA

Comments On Sep 20, 2012:Best all round tire I have seen. Rubber lasts and really grips nice in all terrains. Have it on two 450s.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My go-to tire

Brian in AZ

Comments On Sep 16, 2012:I ride 70% desert both in AZ and Baja and 30% woods single track. This tire lasts! Can make an entire AMRA race season on 2 tires. Harder to put on but you can pretty much ride it flat if it ever does lose air but hasn't happened much.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire

Marc in UT

Comments On Aug 24, 2012:This tire gets decent traction in a wide variety of conditions and it holds up really well! Best bang for the buck for a tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great rear tire

jesse in NV

Comments On Aug 14, 2012:great tread pattern and wear time. doesnt throw knobs off the tire in the rocks and great traction ever where.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

so far so good

Chris in CA

Comments On Jul 20, 2012:Love this tire, grips good will buy again, and it look great on the bike if you care about that.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Value

MARK in AZ

Comments On Jun 27, 2012:I have been running these tires for years now. They will chunk if run with low air pressures but really hook up when fresh. They make a humm noise on fast fire roads. I have run many different brands and because of cost and performance prefer these tires over the top brands.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sturdy tire

DANIEL in UT

Comments On Jun 18, 2012:This tire held up better on my CR500 than any other tire i've ever had, in rocky terrain! Didn't chunk off

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

:D

Kyle in UT

Comments On Jun 02, 2012:Best tire for desert racing or just messing around in the hills hands down... this tire will just eat up anything you throw at it!! ive had this tire on for at least 6 months and it still is ripping stuff up better then some other brand new tires!! i would recomend this tire to anyone who wants a great tire that holds up amazingly!! it is extemely stiff so its a little tuff to get mounted on the rim, but its well worth it. Thanks RM!! :)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great traction

PAUL in CA

Comments On May 21, 2012:Second set wear is excelent will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up

Josh in WA

Comments On May 02, 2012:I ride in loose dirt / sand, and this tire really hooks up. Replaced my stock tire after almost a year of use, and this new one really grabs. Almost like a whole new bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire!

Bryant in CA

Comments On Apr 20, 2012:These work great on my 250X, very slow wear but I am also very easy on the throttle. Good grip too. Very resistant to tearing lugs off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tuff tire

KEVIN in IL

Comments On Apr 23, 2012:Purchased as a rear for XR400. Mostly ride hard packed and rocks. Wear is normal. Would be to strong of tire IMO for a front

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2010 yz450f

david in UT

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:freaking love this tire hooks up everywhere where i ride. definitely will be getting another one when this one is wore.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire!

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:Installed on a 04 WR450 and ride in North Western NV. Tire holds up well and has great traction across many different terrains. Would recommend to friend (and have) and would purchase again (and did).

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Holds up well in the Rocky Mountains

TIM in WA

Comments On Mar 26, 2012:Pretty tough tire. It held up well riding the various terrain in Utah. Good tire for the $.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire

keaton in CO

Comments On Mar 25, 2012:I live in the four corners area and the soil here is really hard, dry and rocky and this tire is great for here it hooks up realy good and is great in corners on my cr125. Normaly i just get a sedona because there cheap and they are complete guarbage, i have only had a few rides on this maxxis and so far its holding up great and hasnt chunked at all!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Copeland in OK

Comments On Mar 20, 2012:This tire is the best tire i have ever put on my bike. It is extremely tuff and long lasting. Guys i have road with have been using these for years. It is the best trail tire out there.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One Tough Tire

Tim in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2012:This tire is in the top 3 for Desert and Baja use, regardless of price. Get it balanced after installation to smooth out its high speed character. Good heavy sidewall lets you run pressure below 15 psi and will really take a beating - sharp rocks, stickery plants, etc. Never had a tire carcass failure in several thousand miles of Baja with this tire. Wears at least as well as other tires compounded for hard terrain. Shallow rounded profile works very well in general off road/desert uses. If you are a hot shoe on fire roads and like to play dirt tracker, then look for another tire with a taller round profile. This one is meant for small lean angles to keep weight over the bike. Replace when blocks wear to the 1/2 way point and you will always be pleased with the traction and durability.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires for hard terrain

Matthew in NV

Comments On Feb 29, 2012:If you ride rocky/hard terrain, these tires will hold up much better than most other tire types. Top 3 tire choice for riding in Nevada/California mountains.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lasts super long

Kyle in OR

Comments On Feb 21, 2012:I will buy this tire again. It has decent traction and lasts way longer than any other non-hard terrain tire I have ever used. I run the tubliss system also and this tire has a very tough carcass which helps reduce puncture flats from sharp rocks etc.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires

ROGER in NV

Comments On Feb 13, 2012:I have used this tire for about 3 years now and love it. Occationally I will try a different tire but have always come back to the Maxxis

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Rear Tire

JOHN in CA

Comments On Feb 10, 2012:I have used these for years because of their durability. A little harder to install because of the stiff sidewall though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

IT vs 739at

JEFFREY in CA

Comments On Jan 03, 2012:Riding in Mojave i notice more tearing of knobs and loss of traction when tire is half gone compared to Dunlop 739at. great tire for the price. 01 cr500

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good all around off road tire

michael in CA

Comments On Dec 29, 2011:Tire wears well. I ride lots of SoCal single track, with plenty of rocks and the Desert IT outlasts any other tires I have tried with minimal knob chunking.It has decent grip in most situations from rocks to fast trails and desert.Plus, Rocky Mountain has great prices on this tire.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert IT tire (rear)

ROBERT in MS

Comments On Dec 29, 2011:Running on a KTM 300 XC-W. 10-12 psi. B class rider in Hare Scrambles(Southeast terrain). PROs : VERY durable sidewall, knobs holding up well after a full season. Some rounding of center knobs but no chunking and very few cuts. Fairly tall knobs for digging in. CONS : Heavy & difficult to mount (due to durability), Not very good traction in anything wet. Cornering not the greatest due to roundness of tire and lack of aggressive side knobs.
I bought this tire as a "Summer tire (dry and hard pack)" and is has been EXCELLENT for that. The tire has held up so well I've run it in the fall season and the wet conditions really show the tire's limitations. The tire seems to be so tough, I'll lower the psi (8-9) and see how that does.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Incredible

Jeffery in MA

Comments On Dec 21, 2011:This tire is nasty. I love it. I ride a ton of trails with sharp shale type rock and every other tire I've had is missing knobs after one ride. I rode this tire for a full year on my 450 and it still has plenty meat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

dana in CA

Comments On Dec 03, 2011:this tire works good! it last and wears well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

Brady in UT

Comments On Dec 01, 2011:I am completely satisfied with this tire. It's durable, lasts a long time, and is a beast on the trails!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great traction & seems to last longer.

Casey in AZ

Comments On Nov 14, 2011:I love this tire. It seems to have more knobbies than the other desert tires I have used before & I def get longer life out of them. The sidewall is a little stiffer so it's a little more difficult to change but well worth it in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hooking up

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Nov 03, 2011:these are great tires. recommend for rocky terrian

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I like it...

paul in WY

Comments On Nov 01, 2011:Still in good shape after 2 2hour desert races with volcanic rock that usually chews the crap out of other tires. Hooks up well in all but slimy trails. To bad Maxxis raised their prices but I'll buy again and again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rear is deffo more HD than the front

bert in WA

Comments On Oct 18, 2011:Put a set (F&R) for a week long desert event. Expected the front to last but maybe not the rear. When they arrived I was suspicious about the front ? felt very lightweight in the carcase compared to what I?d prev used on this sort of ride. the rear felt as solid and firm as a desert knobby should (ie, similar to Dunlop 739). Both gave fine grip and feel but on day 4 on a rock section, ripped a hole in the front tyre which required replacement. rear lasted (just) till the end.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire for durability on Colorado trails.

Robert in CO

Comments On Oct 20, 2011:I am very pleased with this as a rear tire on a KTMexc. I am basically torn between this and the Dunlop D952 as the "best" value rear tire. I usually order whichever one seems to be cheaper a the time, but can't go wrong with either. I do think the Maxxis has a stiffer carcas.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire!

ROBERT in NM

Comments On Oct 10, 2011:Great tire! Lasts about a half year on my KX 450F. Desert riding/mountains/mx works good everywhere. Leave out in sun or by a heater for about 1 hour before install. PIA to get on thank god for tire stand. Also you can use a knobby knife to squeeze more life out of the tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

john in MO

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:It's this or the dunlop desert. Cant go wrong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

Justin in ID

Comments On Sep 26, 2011:This tire gets really good traction but it chunks easily on nasty rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

525 KTM EATS THESE TIRES

CRAIG in NV

Comments On Sep 18, 2011:This tire is no match for the Nevada Dessert. 160 miles on my 525 and this tire is trashed.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Front Tire On xr650r

ANDREW in UT

Comments On Aug 25, 2011:I went from a d739 to this tire.. it hooks up GREAT in the sand and hard pack with its deep stiff knob design. It definitely feels like a desert tire also. Install was a little hard but pairing it with a heavy duty tube i feel i won't have to worry about flats anymore due to the thickness of tire/tube combo
I put this tire through 80 miles of hell so far and theres NO sign of any wear. Going to replace my d739 rear with a maxxis also and im confident it will outlast the dunlop and hook up just as good just like the front. Price is EXCELLENT also.

Was this review helpful?