Pirelli MT16 Garacross Intermediate Terrain

Customer Reviews for Pirelli MT16 Garacross Intermediate Terrain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 30 Reviews

Return to Pirelli MT16 Garacross Intermediate Terrain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pirelli MT16 Garacross Intermediate Terrain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK so far

CHRIS in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XC-F

Comments On Jul 18, 2014:Doesn't wear as well as the M59 but still in good shape after 2 hare scrambles and 1 enduro

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Carcass came apart

Lucas in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 300 XC-W

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:I liked the way this tire handled, gripped and wore until it developed a wobble with about 75% of the tread left. Upon dismounting I discovered that the cords were coming off the inside of the carcass. I'd ran 11-14psi with a heavy duty tube and never had a flat.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for Dualsports

Timothy in WV

Comments On Apr 30, 2014:All around cant beat this tire. I do a lot of long aggressive dualsport rides in the WV mountains. Good off and on the road always holds true even in the twisties. Will buy again. Only thing is wears kind of funny not all the knobs wear evenly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great All-Around Harescramble tire

JOHNNY in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Apr 24, 2014:I purchased the 120/100-18 for my bike for a larger surface area, in my experience running larger aspect ratio tires allows you to soak up bumps such as roots and rocks more smoothly. The tread compound is fairly soft, similar to what a lot of Michelin tires have, I'm very happy with the tire and can say after using a lot of different brands that this was a good decision. The pattern is obviously different than mx tires and features tapered lugs with a very round shape when mounted with not much sidewall when compared to the majority of tires with a flatter carcass meant for turning. I would buy this over the Michelin s12 tire simply because they chunk so easily. If you are a guy like the rest of us who runs enduros and harescrambles and doesn't have 2 sets of wheels, this is a great choice for all around performance. A bit weak in deep sand but that can be said of most tires since it's more about momentum than tread pattern.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

alright tire

Marshal in IA

Comments On Feb 14, 2014:It was an excellent tire at first, just felt like it got wore out to fast. Will be trying something else next time

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must have...

Tom in CT

Comments On Dec 28, 2013:...if you want a really good multi purpose tire. A staple for riding the roots and rocks here in new England!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good rubber !!!

BARRY in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Nov 22, 2013:tire hooks up well on rocks and logs in western pa woods .

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

north east killer

jonathan in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:the best tire i have found for the rocky north east. great traction in everything from rocks to sand to mud. ran this tire for the hancock dualsport run(all rocks, mud and hill climbs) and at the hammer run in south jersey(all sand and roots). i have no complaints with this tire. it has held up amazingly well too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire!

Andrew in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 KTM 200 EXC

Comments On Aug 13, 2013:This tire has great grip on mud, rocks, roots, and pavement. I have 600 miles on it and it is now finally showing a little wear, I'm guessing I have 90% left. Good grip + Long Lasting = Will buy again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wears like iron, grips like teflon.

Mark in NH

Comments On Jul 29, 2013:I bought this tire on sale for the front of my CR250R and used it for about a month when I installed Dunlop MX51 front and rear. I needed a tire in a hurry because my front knobs had all cracked so I put the Pirelli back on because it still looked new. I had matched it with a new Dunlop 952 on the rear and I could not hold the front end in corners. I ended up dropping the pressure to 9 pounds (recipe for a flat where I ride) just to get a little bite. I'll replace it and save it for another emergency because it still looks like it's new.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Diehard fan turned away

James in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Apr 28, 2013:I used to LOVE this tire as the traction is stellar. I recently purchased 6 to get me through this season of MRANN racing but am having horrendous chunking issues with the tires. I raced the VCGP this weekend and after the race, comparing my tire to my friends, it was a joke. I'll never buy these again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tire

Chad in WA

Comments On Apr 10, 2013:it seems narrower than other 110's ive had so if your on the fence between 110 and 120 go with the 120

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rocks

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Great Rock Tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth it

DUSTIN in MT

Comments On Jan 20, 2013:This tire works well in all conditions. I have tried multiple brands of tires and compositions. These are the best all around. Well worth the extra $10. Good life as well. Single track freak in Montana.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My favorite rear tire

Brian in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 250 XC-W

Comments On Dec 08, 2012:My big complaint is that Pirelli needs to make this in a 19" tire again. My other bike is an KTM 250 SX and I cannot run my favorite tire because it is a 19 inch rim. I love how it handles and lets me slide sideways into a turn. The durability is a plus. These tires last.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best tire

SCOTT in RI – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HUSABERG FE 390

Comments On Nov 17, 2012:Best rear tire for new england.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tires n the right conditions

John in NV

Comments On Oct 17, 2012:I value traction over longevity, so these tires delivered in the right conditions. The rear was good everywhere. Chunked the rear to pieces in a 120 mile race, but it was ALL rock. The front does really well in rocks and holds up, but I lost the front end a lot in really loose and dry sand washes. Good for spring in the high desert. I like the Scorpion Pro for looser stuff.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tire

craig in IL

Comments On Sep 04, 2012:its good seems to be wearing quicker than others so far.id buy again if it hit a sale of sorts

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great do it all tire

KELLY in IA

Comments On Jun 15, 2012:I tried this tire based on recommendations from enduro champ Dwight Rudder on Thumpertalk. Using it on my '07 KTM 300XCW for trail riding and hare scrambles. I've ran this tire in mud, sand, dry slick, loose rock, slickrock, and loam. It simply works everywhere. If conditions are wet/muddy, I'd prefer a Michelin S12, but for a tire to just put on and leave on, the MT16 works great. The knobs go way around the sides of the tire which I think helps keep the bike moving in muddy ruts. It's tough too. I'm guessing I have 50+ hours on it. I have a knobby knife and have put a new edge on it 3 times otherwise it won't wear out. It finally started shredding some knobs after a race that had quite a bit of cattle panel over the creeks. That tears up pretty much any tire. Probably time for another one anyway!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good mud and sand tire

brian in PA

Comments On May 31, 2012:This tire works great in sand and wet conditions.Pretty good in the rocks as well.you'll probably lose some side knobs after several rides though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent for New England

ANTHONY in CT

Comments On May 01, 2012:Great rear tire for New England.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire I have found by far!!

glenn in PA

Comments On Oct 04, 2011:works awesome anywhere from mud to hard pact.what I like about it the most is it's predictable, controlled slides when accelrating and decel.where is pretty good for a race tire also,I get a 3-4 more hrs out of these compared to a geo max 51 or s12

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Seth in ME

Comments On Jun 01, 2011:mounted a 120/100r18 on my 450xc-f and I love it. it gets great traction. Even on wet rocky climbs it just hooks up. It almost works to good. If you are a woods rider get this tire, You wont be sorry!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

why no 19" rear tire?

JOSHUA in WV

Comments On May 18, 2011:I have a KX450F with a 19" rear rim and would be great if you offered the 120/90-19 as well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great all around tire

Lyle in AZ

Comments On Oct 20, 2008: Does everything well, has good traction with my 510 cc bike. Wears well, hooks up great in loose rock.
My new favorite tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Meaty tire

Travis in OH

Comments On Aug 05, 2008:This is a truly meaty tire which hooks up great. I will buy this tire next time I am due.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

averge

MARK in MA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:works great but wears out to fast

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great rock tire

JOHN in AR

Comments On Dec 07, 2007:Works awesome in the rocks and down to medium hard terrain. Great rocky terrain race tire. Too many knobs for soft terrain, though. Life is not great, but that's not what I buy a race level tire for.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tire

David in PA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:Great all around tire. Will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pirelli MT16

DAVE in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great all around tire for N.E. Pa. riding and harescrambles.

Was this review helpful?