Shinko 009 Raven Rear Motorcycle Tire

Customer Reviews for Shinko 009 Raven Rear Motorcycle Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 14 Reviews

Return to Shinko 009 Raven Rear Motorcycle Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Shinko 009 Raven Rear Motorcycle Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shinko rear tyre dissapointing performance

Darren in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI GSXR1000

Comments On Mar 16, 2014: In the last few days I replaced my Dunlop Sportmax tyres on my 2004 GSXR 1000 with Shinko tires that I bought from JakeWilson.com. As always from JakeWilson, the tires were well packed with no apparent damage.
The tires supplied were:
190/50ZR-17 (73W) Shinko 009 Raven Rear Motorcycle Tire - 2004 Suzuki GSXR1000 (Rear) 120/70ZR-17 (58W) Shinko 009 Raven Front Motorcycle Tire - 2004 Suzuki GSXR1000 (Front)
After fitting the tires the wheels were balanced and inflated to approximately 40PSI.
During the first test ride it was abundantly clear that turn in was very much slower, and that the bike felt unsteady even at moderate lean angles. The problem is more evident at slow speeds (

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Impressed

GERARD in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 TRIUMPH Speed Triple 1050

Comments On Jan 28, 2014:I bought a 2008 Triumph Tiger 1050 about 13 months ago and these Ravens were freshly mounted on it. I put over 8000 miles on it and was more than satisfied with the all around road performance I put on them. Some would stretch the rear tires remaining life and others would have replaced it already, but I just ordered the same Raven for replacement. I thought when I bought the bike, I'd replace it with a PR3, but I've been more than satisfied with the Shinko's on NJ's roads and the weather we experience. The same holds true with my Vstrom. It will also get a set of Shinko's when I replace them in the not to far future.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Saved money and gave up nothing

Cody in Tennessee – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI ZX14R

Comments On Jul 09, 2013:Thought I would give this tire a try. It's great. Could not tell any difference in this and the more expensive Bridgestone Battleax I had been running. Actually got a few more miles out of this one. Also made a dozen passes at the local drag strip and had no problems. Unless you just like spending money you should try this tire.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tires for the price

Blake in Illinois – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 HONDA CBR1000F

Comments On Feb 06, 2013:Bought both front and rear Shinko 009 Ravens for my Honda CBR1000F (sport-touring version of the CBR) about a week ago, and performance is excellent. Its cold weather here in Illinois still, chicken-strip capitol of the world (no hills, flat, straight roads) and i have already almost ridden to the edge of the tires with no slipping at all. Jake Wilson has the best price, and for cheap sport-touring tires these are extremely good. Very responsive, sensitive, and almost no roll resistance whatsoever. I didn't realize how much i was fighting with my last set of tires on the turns. Now sharp turns are effortless. The rubber does seem pretty soft for sport-touring, but people on forums are claiming to get 8k+ miles out of these. Time will tell, but for now i am grinning through every turn.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shinko Raven 009.

Pete in New Mexico – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 TRIUMPH Speed Triple 1050

Comments On Dec 31, 2012:I have to say I tried these from reviews, I am glad I did. Rear I get 6k no funky tire were like dual compound's simple and true tire sticks to the road handles wet well and never had a flat or cut in the rubber, you will notice the harder feel but after 500 miles it will feel like home. I take these on forestry roads with my 2010 Triumph 1050 Tiger (not on the ATV*MC list) and not the tire for off road 180x55.
Tried all the Dual compound and they are great but I don't race I do long distance touring and camp where I stop, tires are not cheap if you don't mount your own.
Love these tires just try them and you decide.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shinko 009

Austin in North Carolina – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI ZR750H (ZR7S)

Comments On Dec 22, 2012:I bought a set these tires from RM ATV and was a little worried because of the price, but I had read many good thing about them. So I took a chance and went with it. I am very glad I did! These tires have fantastic grip and corner very well. They almost feel like they could ride the bike through the turn alone. They lean right over and hold a great line in the turns. Hard to say how long they will last but I hope to get at least 10K outta mine. Dont be shyed away by price these are a great bang for your buck!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

shinko tire

james in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI ZX14R

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:I bought a shinko raven rear tire for my zx1400. Really impressed by the milage that I received on this tire. Good traction,and handling so far.I am golng to buy a shinko rear for my gold wing.l have tried a lot of tires,but this tire is the best for your buck

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Rear Tire 10,000 miles

VERONICA in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 TRIUMPH Sprint ST 1050 (Std/ABS)

Comments On Nov 18, 2012:I measured my tread with a tire depth guage at every oil change and finally I wore it down to the wear bar indicators, probably could have gone another 1000 miles. Just over 10K out of this $99 tire !!! Awsome grip for my riding style. I ride 5 days a week,50 miles per day 70mph highway riding. Weekends around town and longer trips 2 up.
Use Dyna Beads also. The only people who dont like the beads are the ones that have not tried them yet. BUY THIS TIRE it's good!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't let the looks fool you!

Scott in MO

Comments On Sep 10, 2012:I have purchased 6 sets of the 009 Raven's. I run them on my 08' Kawasaki Concours. I ride hard, and they last. I get 6,000 miles out of them consistently. I ride every day, rain or shine, and they stick like glue, in the wet or dry! They aren't worth a hoot in the mud or snow though, so I wouldn't recommend them for that!
Seriously, if you are looking for steal in a motorcycle tire, this is it. I have bought two sets of these tires for what I was paying for the Michelin tires. I think these are every bit as good of tire!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

04 VFR800

Anthony in TX

Comments On Sep 03, 2012:After trying the pilot powers and the pirelli's the roads in texas just ate them up. If you want a tire that will get good mileage and lasts, this is it. I'm averaging around 12-15K on a rear tire. it's as good or better then the powers at almost half the price. Takes a little longer to warm up, but holds the corners great and lets you hold the lean angle in deep. Great tire for the price.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great replacement

Gregory in TX

Comments On Oct 16, 2011:Installed on my 07 SV650s, I felt the dramatic increase on road feel over the factory dunlop. In the first week of my daily commute 32 mi each way, it rained - the Ravens held true and firm. Since 9/24, I put on about 960 miles already and they are wearing or should I say not much wear at all...Great choice front and rear. And the price here on JakeWilson.com were the best over about 5 other sites and local!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

shinko raven perfect tire for riding

HERB in UT

Comments On Sep 07, 2011:I installed this tire on my 95 cbr1000f and have loved every minute of it. Tire handles great and grips great as well. It handles the canyon really well and even the mountain passes as well. I will for sure be buying this tire from now on and maybe even try out some of the other shinko tires as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tire , great price

Andrew in NSW

Comments On Aug 06, 2011:Well what can I say, this tire performed as well as 2ct and road smarts I have had in the past. I will no longer pay top $$ for a good tire. performance alone would be 4 star but when you look at value for money these are 5 star.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire for the money

Jeremy in MO

Comments On May 23, 2011:I finished off my Shinko this weekend on a 1200+ mile trip to NW Illinois and back. Final mileage was between 4900 and 5000 miles, so I got just a little less out of the Shinko than the PR2 that it replaced. It didn't exhibit the severe left side shoulder wear of the PR2, I think most of that is due to the Raven being a single compound tire. I didn't spend nearly enough time running twisty roads, most of my time was commuting back and forth to work. But I really liked how the Raven handled through the life of the tire. It didn't get nearly as squirrelly as the PR2 when it was ready to be replaced. Paired with the PR2 front I was pleasantly surprised at how well a tire at this price performed. I am gonna try the 190/55/17 PR2 for my next tire, but that doesn't mean I didn't like the Raven.............. just that it wasn't perfect and I want to give the taller profile PR2 a shot.

Was this review helpful?