Tusk Stainless Steel Typhoon Brake Rotor, Front

Customer Reviews for Tusk Stainless Steel Typhoon Brake Rotor, Front

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 82 Reviews

Return to Tusk Stainless Steel Typhoon Brake Rotor, Front Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Stainless Steel Typhoon Brake Rotor, Front Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than stock

David in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jun 16, 2014:Replaced rotor with the Tusk. It seems to have less fade when you are using a lot of brake.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!!

Matt in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA XR650R

Comments On May 20, 2014:Great rotor, great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

High Quality, Very Impressed

AARON in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 SUZUKI RM125

Comments On Apr 15, 2014:I was a little skeptical before purchasing, but I am very impressed with the quality and performance of this rotor. Now I know what to get for replacement rotors in the future!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

looks great

Daniel in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Mar 04, 2014:looks great and braking is awesome

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great upgrade over stock.

Kevin in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Feb 25, 2014:These are nice looking as well as providing better stopping power. Happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

chris in MN – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Jan 30, 2014:Works good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Brake rotor looks great!

Anthony in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Dec 24, 2013:Had the rotor on in 10 minutes max. It is so easy to put on and looks great! So far it is performing very well! Tusk products work great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great rotor

Josh in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 400 XC-W

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Great rotor, even had stock position for speed sensor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No pickup for the speedo.

JEFFREY in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 500 EXC

Comments On Oct 10, 2013:Fits perfectly and works just as well as high dollar stock rotor for half the price. Only downside is that they dont include the pickup (magnet) for the speedo.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

STEVEN in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HUSABERG FE 450

Comments On Oct 07, 2013:Could not tell the difference between the tusk rotor and the stock. Just did an Olympic Penninsula Poker run; mud, slime, switch backs long downhill single track, logging roads. Never noticed or even thought about the front brake which tells me its working perfect! No apparent wear after 10 hours.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

val in QLD

Comments On Aug 15, 2013:easy to install with tusk bolt kit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

john in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Jul 28, 2013:Been racing with these for a while great purchase

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect fit, works great, cheaper then OEM

Alex in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Jun 22, 2013:No complaints about this one. Works as well as the OEM for a fraction of the cost.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

brake rotors

Andrew in NB – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On Jun 22, 2013:awesome bang for your buck. excellent product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than what I had

Mark in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:My old rotor was bent and the pads were worn out when I bought the bike so I don't know if this rotor performs better than stock. But, it stops well even when it's wet out and has been holding up very nicely too. I'm a hard on front brakes and I'm happy with this rotor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

brake rotors

John in Alabama – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XC

Comments On May 19, 2013:perfect. no complaints. would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

ERVIN in AL

Comments On May 11, 2013:Look and work great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rotor

Michael in CA

Comments On May 07, 2013:No complaints.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Performs good

JEFF in PA

Comments On Apr 19, 2013:Rotor bolted right up, fit perfectly. Ridden the bike twice since I installed it, no complaints.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

07 300 XCW

Paul in CA

Comments On Apr 12, 2013:Upon recommendation from a bud, I bought this item, and have been happy & surprised at its quality & performance. Would buy again when needed!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

like stock

DANNY in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:slightly thicker than stock. they fit good without a problem. i have not noticed a difference from oem in braking.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good deal

JERROD in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Feb 24, 2013:It stops like its supposed to and looks cool too....not a bad price either

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was skeptical - Now a believer

Thomas in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jan 07, 2013:I was skeptical given the price but I just ran a race with the rotor yesterday and it held up great. Very happy with the product and price given how often I bend rotors on the rocks.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very nice wave rotor

Tarik in CA

Comments On Dec 17, 2012:Nice and strong. Had to replace my stock rotor that was warped. Half the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good inexpensive replacement

clint in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:Another good buy from Rocky Mountain. My only complaint would be that it's not a floating rotor like the stock one was but at half the price what can you expect?

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great oem replacement

MATTHEW in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Dec 07, 2012:you just can't get a better value. It even has the hole to replace the speedo pick up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Michael in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Another top notch product from Tusk. Who would spend more.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great, looks great

Jeff in OR

Comments On Aug 17, 2012:I bought the front and rear, they look great on my crf 450r

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love it

Gage in OH

Comments On Jul 24, 2012:works great mounts good and cant beat the price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great stopping power

Kelly in AZ

Comments On Jul 23, 2012:I installed this rotor on a '96 KX125 front end. It replaced my stock, yet still good, rotor to have matching rotors front and rear. My braking power increased noticeably and they look good to boot!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ktm 450 excr 08

tony in VIC

Comments On Jun 27, 2012:As good as OEM. i punt hard and didnt feel much difference but for the price a must have

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Andrew in CA

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

anthony in pa.

anthony in PA

Comments On May 14, 2012:great product great buy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good aftermarket

Jason in VIC

Comments On May 07, 2012:This rotor seems to work well with reasonable feel. It doesn't look like it's overheating, and after 1000 miles it's wearing well. So far so good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

woooo!!!

Brent in WV

Comments On Apr 30, 2012:Works great on crf450r 06 model. it also fits my dad's 09 model crf230f so im sure it will make just about anyone as happy as it has made me. it is a little thicker than the stock front rotor but takes heat and harsh braking with ease. stops on a dime and hangs with all the other rotors just fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

brake rotor

brian in VA

Comments On Mar 27, 2012:this brake rotor is great seems to be holding up well when it comes to brakes tusk is the way to go biggest bang for the buck

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice rotor for the price

Ben in IA

Comments On Mar 18, 2012:bought this to replace my bent stocker fit was good its been on over a year now with no issues

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

XR650R

KEVIN in NV

Comments On Dec 08, 2011: The rotor seems to be of quality material, the right Outside Dia, thickness, and the bolt holes line up. BUT, the ID is too small, you have to trim the plastic hub cover on the XR650R so you can use it. And be careful not to trim the "Tabs" that fit under the rotor or it won't stay and you end up with an ugly hub. As for performance, I have not used it hard yet so I can't comment. It should be good as long as the correct material was used.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid rotors

Michael in TX

Comments On Oct 09, 2011:Rotors seem to be of high quality. I replaced my high dollar KTM rotors with these and have been impressed with thier performance. Rocky Mountain continues to deliver high quality at a low price which enables the budget racer like me to continue racing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

JOSEPH in NSW

Comments On Sep 28, 2011:looks good works well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A+++

Tomas in FL

Comments On Aug 19, 2011:Fits perfect, thanks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Super happy

ryan in AK

Comments On Aug 18, 2011:I swapped these rotor out with the stock rotors and have been very impressed with better stopping with out the fade and they have been long on he trails and still look new

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very Pleased

spencer

Comments On Aug 12, 2011:i bought this rotor for my crf250r to stop my front breaks from squeeking. Not only did it stop seeking it made my brake perform 110% better... *****best buy i ever made******

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

brake discs

Lincoln in NSW

Comments On Aug 07, 2011:nice product, killed the stock rotors with heat and these are holding up great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Rotor

Steven in TX

Comments On Jul 10, 2011:Running this on my crf450r & it works great. Definite increase in stopping power with good feel & no fade. One finger braking. Bolted right up without any issues at all.Adds a bit of bling as well. Stock disc guard also bolted right up issue free. Durability is on par or better than oem for alot less money.Works as well as any hi dollar rotor ive used.Cant go wrong with this these rotors.Get ya some!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great rotor

NATHAN in UT

Comments On Jul 11, 2011:This rotor is great but watch out it is sharp

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

cant go past

vaughan in TAS

Comments On May 27, 2011:good solid product with plenty of stopping power

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good value

MANOJ in KS

Comments On May 09, 2011:the rotors look great and provide good stopping power, only problem is the sharp edges need to be sanded down before you destroy your new set of brake pads

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TRX450R front rotors

Nick in CA

Comments On May 02, 2011:Excellent product for the money. Have put about 20 hours on them so far and they are holding up great. Excellent fit and provided a very noticeable increase in stopping power compared to the stock ones. Definately worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

stoppie

Travis in CA

Comments On Mar 31, 2011:this is a great replacement for the original rotor, i got in a headon wreck with a quad and bent my rotor. this not only preforms way better(pulls stoppies when u want to) than the stock rotor but it looks great too. just a little plus.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Pads

James in FL

Comments On Feb 17, 2011:Excellent brake pads little to no fade

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Instant gains in stopping power over OEM

Robert in TX

Comments On Jan 16, 2011:My 450F had significant, immediate gains in stopping power. I noticed no fade and the rotor wore well for an entire season. Definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Almost Perfect for CRF230F

James in CT

Comments On Jan 04, 2011:I bought this to replace a bent one for my son's 2005 CRF230F. The product looks and seems durable. The only problem is that is does not have the pre-tapped holes for the plastic hub cover. I'll throw it on anyway without the cover but just thought people might want to know it's not a perfect OEM swap for the CRF230.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Upgrade Over Stock

JOEL in CA

Comments On Dec 28, 2010:Works and looks better than stock for a price that can't be beat. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TUSK ROTOR FRONT

TRACEY in OH

Comments On Dec 18, 2010:GREAT PRICE GREAT ITEM...WEARS GREAT, AND LOOKS GOOD.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

rating 1 for life..

Ashley William in QLD

Comments On Dec 12, 2010:First time running these and so far they have out preformed the stock KTM ones, Riding tight trails on a 300 2stroker you need to pull up just as quick as your putting it down, Thick rotor would recommend to anyone looking for a replacement for stock rotors...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice

derrick in AR

Comments On Nov 04, 2010:great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

James in MO

Comments On Nov 01, 2010:We are extremely hard on brakes when racing in the woods and go through a lot of brakes. These rotors last as long as the guys buying the expensive ones. We are very happy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rotor looks alsome!!!

Patman in KS

Comments On Sep 16, 2010:Replace my stock rotor with these one. Looks sweet and out performers my stock one by a lot. It also is thick and doesn't flex when braking hard. I would highly recommend these rotor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awsome

Stan in BC

Comments On Sep 12, 2010:Nice thick rotor, cool design, amazing price, best value on the market for a rotor

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

very good value

aman in BC

Comments On Sep 04, 2010:I bought this rotor for a 01 suzuki rm 250 my braking wasnt very good on the bike. I bought this rotor, ebc pads and flushed my brake fluid and my braking is 2-3 times better stops on a dime with 1 finger braking. the photos dont do this rotor justice I have a braking wave rotor on my 250f and this rotor seems very comparable. I am going to buy the rear and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best one out there

richard in RI

Comments On Jul 07, 2010:once again thank u tusk and rm for making a great working product at a reasonable price keep up the good work!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Gopod quality

Mark in IN

Comments On Feb 19, 2010:I was wary about buying this rotor because of the price. It's been on for a year now and has held up remarkably well. I will definetely buy another if this one wears out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!!

Zann in ID

Comments On Jan 07, 2010:Too much snow to ride, but if these perform as well as they look braking will be spectacular. Fit and finish is excellent! No fit problems on my 1995 KX500. These rotors are very high quality and look amazing! As others have said, Don't wait to buy these!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value for the money

PAUL in MO

Comments On Dec 06, 2009:Does the job. In comparison to the factory it is slightly better. Took a little time to break in and the use of different types of pads to find desired braking performance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

Travis in CA

Comments On Nov 20, 2009:Awesome rotor, looks and works great.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good (enough) for the money

Jason in AZ

Comments On Jun 02, 2009:Bought for a 05' WR450. Installed new Tusk Carbon brake pads as well. Fit/finish was a bit of a problem initially. While it mounted up to the wheel hub with no problem, some of the edges around the wave pattern that pass between the pads were burred still from the machining process or something. Once I filed the high spots down a little, the rest "wore" in. Once all together the stopping power was great. I don't have that many miles on it yet so we will have to wait and see how long they last.
Additional Comments On Sep 18, 2009:After getting some miles on it, and a few HARD stops I am happy with the tusk rotor/pad combo despite initial fitment issues. Rotor has not warped at all. Stopping power has remained strong, softening only slightly. Nothing more than normal wear. Will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

unbeatable

KENNETH in NJ

Comments On Sep 10, 2009:I use these on my 09 yfz450r front and rear combined with braided brake lines, this setup is killer. most people don't push their machines hard enough to know when they need to upgrade the system but even casual users can feel more confident with the combo!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bang for the buck

William in PA

Comments On Aug 17, 2009:After not being able to effectively use my front brakes on my 03 rm125 for a long time i saw this and couldn't pass it up. this rotor is 30-50 dollars cheaper than most other rotor and it's stronger and looks better than stock. will buy a back one too when it's worn out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

all the rotor almost half the price

scott in MA

Comments On Aug 13, 2009:Replaced my stock front rotor on my 05 CRF450 with this rotor and EBC pads. Fitment was perfect, quality was great, and the stopping power is better than stock.
Tusk will be the only brake rotors I buy. I feel bad for the bikes that don't have fitment.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

GREAT!!!

ADAM in NY

Comments On Jun 29, 2009:7 STAR!!!!!!!!!!!great price and even greater performance, i beat my brakes and this one held up excellent, still like new, i ride hard and i get this covered in mud and water and sand and anything else on the track and trailand i slam on the brakes hard.this is my best purchase! works awsome with neutron brake pads oh yeah, i run this on an 05 rm 250 with a weisco pro lite in it
Additional Comments On Aug 06, 2009: great after 3 months

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WOW, great value. Stops on a dime.

Jim in UT

Comments On Apr 30, 2009:Would definately recomend to anyone. Stops on a dime. Incredible braking.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fit was great and does what it's supposed to but..

Christian in CA

Comments On Apr 18, 2008:Threw the rotor on along with the Tusk front pads. Front brakes squeak upon initial braking. Not sure if its the pads or the rotor. They stop the bike fine, can't say if they stop it any better then the stockers.. but I would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love the Price

GREG in NV

Comments On Mar 19, 2008:This is the best price I could find on an aftermarket rotor anywhere.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Can't beat the price

CIRO in CA

Comments On Mar 06, 2008:I bought these rotors over a year ago and still perform like new. So far no complaints.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great!

MIKE in CA

Comments On Feb 22, 2008:Look cool...work great....good deal!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice

LOUIS in WA

Comments On Jan 10, 2008:look cool & function great

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

NICK in FL

Comments On Jan 06, 2008:I installed this on my yz250 with tusk brake pads and wow my stopping power increased!!! and it seems to be taking a beating... 10 times better than oem

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awsome Deal

Rod in NV

Comments On Jan 03, 2008:Excellent product for the looks and quality thank you very much

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Why spend more?

David in TN

Comments On Jan 02, 2008:This rotor is a great value...way cheaper than the alternatives, great fit and finish, and great performance. I paid less for this rotor and the also solid Tusk pads for less money than the alternative aftermarket rotors.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Heck of a deal!

BRUCE in WV

Comments On Dec 21, 2007:Cant beat the craftmanship & price

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great for the price

FRANK in OH

Comments On Oct 27, 2007:for the price of these rotors you can buy 2 instead of just 1 from some of the big name company's and the work as good and last as long!

Was this review helpful?