MSR Ultra Heavy Duty Motorcycle Tube

Customer Reviews for MSR Ultra Heavy Duty Motorcycle Tube

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 50 Reviews

Return to MSR Ultra Heavy Duty Motorcycle Tube Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

MSR Ultra Heavy Duty Motorcycle Tube Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste money on "ULTRA"

Drew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 KTM 620 EXC

Comments On Feb 13, 2014:I've had much better luck with the regular and heavy duty tubes over the ULTRA heavy duty tubes. Last one pinch flatted even at 18psi in the desert; rim and tire were both still in perfect shape. They add enough weight to the wheel/tire to affect the suspension; more unsprung mass = yucky handling.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

i didnt pinch it

MATT in WV

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:works for me

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What thorns

CAMERON in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 09, 2014:I don't even worry about thorns or snake bites any more with this tube!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!! (Honda crf250x 2007)

Andrew in PA

Comments On Apr 15, 2013:this inner tube has taken a huge beating on the rock trails of rausch creek pennsylvania. We ride by the mines where the trails get pretty rough and this inner tube has held pretty well. I like it so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Flat Tires Suck

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Ultras Rule

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Almost Bullet Proof

Kristian in WY

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:A thick tube, great for trail riding in rocky conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good tube

John in ID

Comments On Nov 30, 2012:Buy the Bridgstone. Its a little heavier and less $$$$

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very thick

Michael in PA

Comments On Oct 04, 2012:Very thick construction work well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Never popped a tire yet

devin in NL

Comments On Jun 25, 2012:title says it all...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good looking tube

CARMINE in CA

Comments On Feb 13, 2012:I have one of these as a spare. Hope I never have to use it. good and heavy though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

heavy, heavy duty, works great

BRIAN in TX

Comments On Nov 30, 2011:works great, probably a bit too heavy for some motocrossers

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not "ULTRA"

Josh in WA

Comments On Oct 31, 2011:There's nothing wrong with these tubes, except the name. They're only "Heavy Duty".

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

love this tube

SANTANA in NV

Comments On Nov 03, 2011:great tube. prevents flats pinched tubes. recommend very highly

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hefty Tube with a weakness

ALAN in CA

Comments On Jan 31, 2011:These are very thick and durable tubes that protect against punctures and pinch flats very well. However - I've had two of these tubes fail at the valve stem recently. One had been in the bike for over six months over which time I completely wore out a Dunlop 952 - when it suddenly went flat. The tube had ripped open at the base of the valve stem. The tube was in the wheel straight and the stem was sticking straight out - so I don't know why it would have failed there. But it did.
I installed a brand new MSR Ultra tube with a new tire and once I got everything together I had a huge leak and discovered that the new tube had also failed at the base of the valve stem.
The rubber at the base of the stem is layed in very thick but seemed hard and almost brittle rather than soft and flexible. It also doesn't look like the stem utilizes all of the rubber that is there because my stems just tore off of the top. The stem didn't penetrate through all of the rubber that was there but appeared to be mounted on the top half or so. For a very tough and durable tube - this appears to be its weak link. It's a bad one though because when a tube fails at the stem - it can't be patched on the trail.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good tube but...

GREGORY in MA

Comments On Jan 03, 2011:...not as thick or tough as the Bridgestone UHD tubes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality

JORDAN in FL

Comments On Dec 07, 2010:Dont be cheap, using a heavy duty tube can save a day of riding, I would rather spend a little more $ than spend the time and labor of changing a cheap tube when what I really should be doing is riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seemed OK ...

JEFF in CT

Comments On Sep 01, 2010:This seemed like a nice, quality tube that's heavier than the standard tube. BUT ... as I was installing the tube, I must have pinched in with a tire spoon :(. Soooo ... no time riding with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love these tubes!

Ryan in CO

Comments On Jul 27, 2010:I bash a lot of rocks where I ride in CO. With thinner tubes, I have flats on a regular basis. With the Ultra-Heavy Duty tubes I have yet to have a flat, and I run only 8 psi. I have bent a number of wheels, but no flats so far with these tubes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MSR ultra heavy duty motorcycle tube

Kevin in AZ

Comments On Dec 13, 2009:Amazing! Super thick tube works great in harsh conditions. Great price for a great product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

decent tube

JASON in AZ

Comments On Apr 24, 2009:i dont think its a good as the UHD Bridgstone tube but its pretty close. i will never ride again without a Heavy Duty Tube. changing tires on the trail is too big of a pain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Tube

Philip in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2009:broke 4 tubes changing my tire on my crf 450 x. bought this tube and no problems. Worth the $$

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tuff as nails

BRYAN in NY

Comments On Feb 15, 2009:this tube is great super tuff. this is a heavy tube but the weight is not noticeable.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great !!!

BRIAN in OH

Comments On Feb 03, 2009:Extra heavy duty! Fights flats for off-road great ! A litle heavy for moto though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very thick

Bryan in OH

Comments On Jul 03, 2008:Great tube even for a novice tire changer. No flats ever with this one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tube made

JUSTIN in CA

Comments On May 18, 2008:Absolutely great tube. 500 miles in Baja and 0 flats. I rode 50 yards through a bed of cactus with these tube filled with slime and got away with no flats. I'm a believer, a must in all my bikes!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

no flats

MARK in MA

Comments On Mar 21, 2008:helps stop flats

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

ROBERT in IL

Comments On Mar 18, 2008:last alot longer than cheaper tubes

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great protection

PATRICIA in IL

Comments On Mar 10, 2008:A must for serious offroaders.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MSR Ultra Heavy Duty Tube

MICHAEL in CT

Comments On Feb 29, 2008:good tube,good price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

longest lasting tube made

JUSTIN in LA

Comments On Jan 19, 2008:i keep one as a spare on long hard rides, even though my current one has lasted through the last three tires. even riding rocks, roots, sand, trails, and hare scrambles, flats are dang near a thing of the past with these tubes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You have to mess it up

JASON in TN

Comments On Jan 07, 2008:If you get a flat with these then you must have messed something up or not be running any air pressure. These are tough.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tube

TIMOTHY in IL

Comments On Jan 01, 2008:i like these tubes!! they are thick and heavy and a little harder to install BUT i have NEVER had a flat yet.i used to go through a few tubes per tire now i go through a few tires before tubes. worth the $$$$

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MSR Tube

JEFFREY in CA

Comments On Dec 19, 2007:At 250 lbs+ rider, constantly in the rocks and often running 5psi without a single leak. Going on 2 years.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tube

GLEN in LA

Comments On Dec 16, 2007:Great tube for wood riding.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Super Thick

BRANT in GA

Comments On Dec 06, 2007:Works very well. If you are still using standard tubes you really should try the Ultra HD. They are so thick that if you do get a flat it's still equal to having 3-4 psi in a normal tube. In the unlikely event you do get a flat you can at least ride back to your truck without damaging your rim.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Dang things are thick!

KENT in OR

Comments On Dec 01, 2007:I have not flatted one of these tubes due to a pinch. I did tear an "L"-shaped hole in one when I hit a rock in a race that snaked between 2 knobs. Can't blame the tube for that. One thing I've noticed that I don't like, and I can't seem to stop it, is that the tubes rotate inside the tire. I keep having to let out the air, pull off one side of the tire and rotate the tube back to where it should be. My guess is that the tube has so much rotating mass that it continues to rotate even though the wheel stops spinning under braking conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Heavy is the key word.

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Nov 17, 2007:I bought this for my front tire since I am always in the rocks. Have not put it in yet but man is this thing HD. It is a heavy tube weight wise as well. I'm sure it will last a long long time. Right now I am running a tube inside another tube and it is working fine. So...don't throw those old tubes away. Cut them down the middle seam, put baby powder all over both of them and install. Works good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

MICHAEL in NV

Comments On Nov 09, 2007:They get the job done but I prefer the Bridgestone HD tubes. The valves on these are kinda weird and stick somtimes. I will pay the extra couple bucks for the Bridgestones from here on out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the money

GINA in SD

Comments On Nov 12, 2007:It's worth the extra money to get the better tube.
Still spendy though

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MSR Ultra Heavy Duty Tube

GREGORY in AZ

Comments On Nov 08, 2007:Nice and thick. No problems after 5 months of use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

MSR Ultra Heavy Duty Tube

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Nov 04, 2007:I have never had a flat with this tire and I ride in very technical rocky places. I will purchase this tube again if I ever need one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Long haul

GABE in CO

Comments On Nov 02, 2007:Great tube, never pinched or blew it out. Actually out lasted my rim strip and held up for I don't know how long on the bare spoke nipples. Finally started leaking at the valve-stem before it needed replaced.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tube

RANDY in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Good, quality tube.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Heavy Duty Tube, not ultra thick

JOHN in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:for running baja you need a heavy duty tube, this is heavy duty but not ultra, maybe ultra means lighter.For me Bridgestone is the best thicker heavier. no flats period. and for the thicker there is a heavy duty Cheng shin even thicker but heavier.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MSR Ultra Heavy Duty Tube

ERIC in CO

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:... Why buy a rear tire when you can simply cut out your knobby pattern directly into the ultra-thick tube!?!?!
Seriously, this thing is thick, stands up, deflated, on its own! No flats in over 1-year of desert riding (fast sand washes with many hidden sharp rocks - running 14 psi in the rear tire). As an added bonus, it's actually hard to pinch the tube during installation because its so thick; i.e. you know if its in the way and can avoid pinching it. Doubles as a life preserver! Good product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent and Will Take Abuse

CHARLES in ID

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Seems to be high quality tubes (we bought 4). Little heavier than expected but did take alot of abuse without giving us flats. Lose air 2-3 psig over a week's period but for the price and abuse they take - I'll be back.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Stay away from the pinch flats with this tube

MARK in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is a great tube, have yet to recieve a pinch flat. I ride on hard rocky terrain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good heavy wall tube.

PAT in DE

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Great tube to run in rocky terrain where pinch flats may ruin your ride.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seem to be very thick

ROBERT in IN

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:They seem to be almost as thick as my regular brand of HD tube.So far so good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ultra Heavy Duty Tubes

Kenneth in IN

Comments On Oct 19, 2007:great tubes, take alot of abuse, last as long as 2 tire changes some times 3, awesome overall

Was this review helpful?