Maier Aluminum Pipe Guard

Customer Reviews for Maier Aluminum Pipe Guard

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 40 Reviews

Return to Maier Aluminum Pipe Guard Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Maier Aluminum Pipe Guard Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

decent

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:decent if you are on a budget but I'd spring for the carbon fiber

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Pipe Guard

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Apr 21, 2013:Was easy to install and fit well (Pro Circuit Platinum II on a 2006 KTM 300 XCW). Did not really beat on the guard while ridding yet, racing VCGP next weekend and will give update afterwards. Would purchase again and would recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Guard

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Does the trick

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It's good

Tyler in MT

Comments On Jan 02, 2013:Took me a while to figure out how to shape it but it looks good and works great. Tip: Put the first clamp on and litely tap the guard with a hammer to where you want your 2nd clamp to go, clamp it, keep going like this until you're done. Be patient and it'll shape perfectly to your pipe.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Francisco in NL

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:its a great product to keep your pipe safe!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

97 YZ 250

Justin in NV

Comments On Jul 25, 2011:Easy to bend and shape. I just used a rubber mallet. Needs a few longer band clamps. I had to go buy some at Home Depot. If you don't dry off your pipe good after it gets wet you will notice small rust spots.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maier Aluminum Pipe Guard

ART in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2011:Super fit and price. You can't do better than RMATV/MC

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

About what I expected

JEFFREY in MO

Comments On Mar 21, 2011:It helps protect from smaller falls but eventually your pipe will still get bent if you ride long enough on rocky trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I'd rather not have it

RONALD in NM

Comments On Nov 30, 2010:This guard is fairly pointless, we put it on our KX100 and dents went right through it. The aluminum used on other pipe guards like Flatland and Moose are much more durable.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

CRAIG in WA

Comments On Nov 29, 2010:Bought this cut it up and used it for a guard on my 4 stroke Mega Bomb header woeks great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pipe guard

James in MO

Comments On Nov 01, 2010:I rated this average and believe that is an adequate description. It can be manipulated to fit what you put it on and it will guard your pipe. We have since found other items that work better for us.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Kind of flimsy

Phillip in NC

Comments On Oct 29, 2010:I used this guard for about six months before upgrading to a different unit. The Maier guard is flimsy in comparison and doesn't offer as much coverage.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good guard

jimmy in GA

Comments On Jul 13, 2010:its saved my FMF pipe several times..and is still holding up.EASY to install too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Covers the parts it needs to

Mimi in CA

Comments On May 26, 2010:I have run these guards on different bikes over the years. Works great on the older bikes like early to mid 1980s, and that's just around the time when the shield was designed. These days I run one on my 2003 KDX220 and also had one on my 2005 EXC250. Bigger pipes like those on modern style two stroke bikes don't get quite the same coverage, but the shield still gets the parts covered that are the most prone to getting dinged in a fall or getting too close to rocks or stumps. It just takes a bit of pounding and shaping with a rubber mallet to get the shield to follow the bends of the exhaust. It's a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Aluminum Pipe Guard

MATT in WA

Comments On Mar 13, 2010:Fits just right for KTM 360 it might look to small but it only needs to protect the front and under side

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit my 125

Chad in SC

Comments On Mar 04, 2010:I can see how this would not work for larger pipes. decent coverage on my 125.
Not sure I would reccommend this product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pop Cans

Kristen in UT

Comments On Feb 06, 2010:Pop and Beer cans would be better than this pipe guard. It's fairly thick but it's TOO generic. I don't see how it would fit anyones pipe without major reshaping.
TECH NOTE: Universal fit so some customizing will be required.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good only for small bikes

CRAIG in CA

Comments On Dec 18, 2009:This definately was not meant for a 250cc pipe or larger. Didn't even come close to covering enough pipe for protection. Might be ok for a 125cc or 80cc.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KInd of small...

kevin in TN

Comments On Nov 19, 2009:for a large two-stroke pipe. Wished it had been a little bigger on one end to better cover expansion chamber. Includes several clamps of various sizes. BTW, getting the plastic wrap from the packaging off of the guard was a tough job. Have a razor blade handy - you WILL need it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Well designed

ROBERT in CO

Comments On Nov 25, 2009:Great guard offers decent protection for expensive pipes. Fit is flexible, no worries.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Way too small

Mack in MS

Comments On Sep 22, 2009:This guard is way to small for my KTM 300. It barely provides any protection at all.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

You get what you pay for

Travis in TN

Comments On Nov 28, 2008:Works well on small to medium hits but if you plan on launching grenades at your pipe, go with the carbon fiber. Installing was easy but time consuming to get it just right. (I put it on a fmf fatty) Just a tip: Don't try to bend/line it up before you bolt it on, Bolt on the top bracket first and work it down letting the clamps bend the guard where it needs to go. Also, don't get the Gold one, it looks nothing like my showa forks or excel rims.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Maier Aluminum Pipe Guard

James in OH

Comments On Sep 08, 2008:Looked good for a while, starting to fall apart on me. Hasn't taken any real hard hits to be able to tell if it would protect the pipe. Seems to be vibrating stress cracks in the aluminum. Aluminum is thinner on this than the MOOSE guard, but good value for the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Small for a two stroke

Chris in CO

Comments On Aug 30, 2008:I put this on an 06 KTM 300 and it only covers a small portion of the pipe. I have destroyed my pipe under the cover on rocks in taylor park CO. the larger pipe gaurds would be the way to go.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

Levi in WY

Comments On May 08, 2008:The pipe guard was alot thinner and not a wide as I had thought when I bought it. Would be good on a smaller pipe but doesn't fit so well on my Narly pipe for my 380.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy to install

NATHAN in CO

Comments On May 02, 2008:No install directions, but not easy to figure out. Simple and easy. Works great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product!!!

Lisa in CT

Comments On Apr 07, 2008:This guard is very strong and easy to install. A great buy for anyone looking to protect thier pipe.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pipe guard

TY in NV

Comments On Mar 18, 2008:Great fit should have purchased before having to get dents removed. Stays secure no rattles

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Its alright

KEVIN in UT

Comments On Feb 05, 2008:THe guard broke in half at one of the races.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does it's job

MICHAEL in OK

Comments On Dec 19, 2007: This pipe guard works great at a reasonable price. If you get the colored guard, it does tend to scratch up somewhat easily, but this is to be expected and is much better than beating your pipe to death... The guard would work a little better if it were a little larger but it does it's job for the price you pay.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Save that pipe

SCOTT in NY

Comments On Dec 06, 2007:After just one ride i dinged my new pipe. I've dropped the bike on the pipe scratched the protector but nothing to the pipe after i installed it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have

GINA in SD

Comments On Nov 12, 2007:This is a must if you run a 2 stroke.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good protection

SCOTT in CO

Comments On Nov 10, 2007:I always run some type of guard on my 2-stroke fat-ass pipes. These hold up well but hard hits will still leave a dent. Good product for the price but if you want the ultimate, go fiber.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pipe guard has too small clamps

JERRY in CA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:Pipe guard looks good and molded to my KTM 300XC pipe ok, but the clamps were too short to go around the big pipe. Had to double up a couple to make it work. Good price thou, much cheaper than carbon fiber.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

Sean in PA

Comments On Oct 24, 2007:the guard is easy to install because of the way it conforms to the pipe, (kdx220)and has provided good protection against scratches for a good price, you get what you pay for, cheap so it wont protect to much against hard hits but good enough for me

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding protection for your exaust

BRADLEY in AZ

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This is one of the best add ons I have bought for my bike, It has provided extreme protection against my large expansion chamber and when I lay it down my pipe is barely scratched.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

maier pipe guard

LANCE in TX

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:basic protection for good price. I have fully test my guard, it does not look super strong but I have center punched large logs, nailed big rocks and my guard has helped me continue on with minimal damage. Why spend the price of a new pipe for a guard?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product

LUKE in WA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Completely changed the look of the bike

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maier Pipe Guard

ARTHUR R. in TX

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:This product has saved my pipe numerous times. Works like a charm. The mounting brackets are a little awkward, you have to tweek it a bit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maier Pipe Guard for KTM 300

ANTHONY in OK

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Priced right, looks good, Fits real well, and protects the pipe as good or better than the very expensive alternative. The neat thing about this product is that it will work with any brand exhaust by conforming to its' shape.

Was this review helpful?