RK 520 Chain

Customer Reviews for RK 520 Chain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 50 Reviews

Return to RK 520 Chain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

RK 520 Chain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good chain

james in Maryland – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Jul 05, 2014:Decent chain for the money ...bought two so far

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

trx 400 ex

KAREN in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On May 27, 2014:i put this on my fourwheeler and it fits great never any kinks or hold up of dust or dirt anywhere - highly reccomended

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Gene in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 1979 HONDA XL500S

Comments On Apr 19, 2014:Good solid chain without the cost of Orings

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good Chain

Marvin in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KTM 450 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:Yes I may have had to adjust it maybe one time more than the really expensive chain, but I have gotten a lot of riding time and still going strong after a year. No power robbing o rings on this type, just clean it after each ride and a shot of that good Primary drive chain lube.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Strong

Lowell in RI

Comments On Feb 19, 2014:No stretch

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

RK520 Chain.....stretch,stretch, cost effective

DAVID in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:For the price....not too,too bad. No breakdowns but lots of stretching. Going on my 6th ride and still stretching more than usual. Works though...as needed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ok

Joseph in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Dec 17, 2013:chains short but works good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

520 RK chain

Dave in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Dec 14, 2013:The durable, economical choice of professionals!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good stuff

anthony in PA

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:not as good tensile strength,,do your homework,,pay the extra couple dollars

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

price is good, but still wanna watch it.

DENNIS in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 HONDA TRX 300EX

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:I have had this chain for all of this summer and it stretches an unusual amount until its officially broken in. it hasn't shown any problems yet, but i'd still wanna make sure i have a strong case saver.

Additional Comments On Nov 04, 2013:if your machine has a lot of torque, then this chain wouldn't do you any good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

OK for the price

Jared in Tennessee – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Oct 20, 2013:This is a cheap chain which was ok until I went off-road. It stretched quickly due to the abuse I put it through riding in muddy, sandy, and rocky trails and creek beds. Its not good for off-road, but if you stay on the track its ok and a good solution if you have a small budget.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Had To Try It!

Brian in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Oct 26, 2013:The price was so great on this chain that I had to try it. Currently have 34 hrs on this chain and still going. A couple links seem to bind, not rotate as they come of sproket. I just oil it up and use it. The price is so good, that I would get it again. I thought it would break or stretch. but that has not happend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain

Borce in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 1996 HONDA CR125R

Comments On Oct 13, 2013:does the job

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Will It Fit

Grant S. in Indiana – Machine this part was bought for: 1987 HONDA TRX 250X FOURTRAX

Comments On Oct 01, 2013:I just have a question will it fit my four-wheeler listed above???
TECH NOTE: This chain will work for ATV's as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great No-Frills Chain

Jeremiah in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA XR400R

Comments On Sep 26, 2013:Purchased this chain to use as a "sand-only" chain to avoid damage to my standard O-Ring chain for a recent trip to the dunes. Worked great without any problems, and didn't have to worry about the sand ruining an $80.00 chain. If you play in the sand, $25.00 is a great price instead of shredding an X-ring or O-ring. Thanks Rocky Mountain for a great product at a great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good chain

Mark in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA XR250R

Comments On Aug 27, 2013:Good chain for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Initially a Quality Chain

Joseph in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Aug 27, 2013:So far so good, chain seems to be of decent quality. I installed this along with a 12/40 sprocket setup. Took a bit to get on but overall very happy for the price paid.
Cannot comment on durability as I have maybe an hour or two since install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:good for my girlfriends bike not sure I would use as an A rider

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

52 Hours on DRZ400 kickstart

Nick in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 SUZUKI DR-Z 400

Comments On Jul 11, 2013:I'm at 1800 miles and about 52 hours worth of ride time using this chain. I ride 50/50 dual sport, testing the chain with punishing pavement wheelies and gumming it up in trail/desert conditions. Maintenance is a quick oiling before every decent ride and a thorough cleaning every few hundred miles. I've been very happy with the chain. It is noisy compared to o-ring, but does its job just the same. I'm finally starting to get some sticking links, but I've neglected maintenance for the past 20 hours or so. Although I oiled it, I wasn't cleaning it and it is starting to gum up on a couple links, although it is still well within spec. as far as stretch is concerned. I've only had to adjust it once so far. I'll soak it in some kerosene for a day and it'll probably be good to go for another 20 or 30 hours. This is one of those great deals where a quality product is sold at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Austin in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 125 SX

Comments On Jun 21, 2013:Great for a backup. Good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

corey in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF150F

Comments On Jun 06, 2013:I feel the difference the first ride. The R-K 520 chain delivered and worked well with this bike.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good.

christopher in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 HONDA CR250R

Comments On May 30, 2013:Great chain for the price especially if your on a budget. Just as realiable as the more expensive chains just make sure you install the master link correctly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good chain and for cheap too

Ryan in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On May 29, 2013:good product good price seems to be holding up would recomend to a friend

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great price

Alan in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR125R

Comments On May 19, 2013:I have always had o-ring chains in the past but deceided to see how long a stock chain would last. It was about half the price of the o-ring chains so we will see if there worth the extra money or not.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Jeremy in OH

Comments On Apr 22, 2013:Heck of a deal

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rk chain

MARK in MI

Comments On Apr 11, 2013:Perfect if you don't have the money for a high dollar chain. Few rides so far and is holding up well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good strong chain

Craig in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Mar 11, 2013:good strong chain highly recommended for dessert riding and does not stretch

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Price around!

David in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 1987 SUZUKI LT230S QUADSPORT

Comments On Feb 10, 2013:I priced all over the place, and the RK chain was best, purchased for my quadsport, and it performd great! There is no need to buy a high dollar chain, you could buy 3 of these chains for the price of 1 of another brand! Important... if your atv does not have a chain gaurd around your front sprocket, thre is a high chance your chain could destroy your crank case cover... learning experance, also frequenty check for slack in your chain. Happy trails and safe riding!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Chain

Shane in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Dec 21, 2012:Its a good replacment chain went right on and I havent had a problem with it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

joseph in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:nice replacement chain

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Chain

James in WA

Comments On Sep 21, 2012:Strong chain and very little stretch on break in.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great fit

Tyler in KS

Comments On Sep 17, 2012:Good Chain Just make sure to keep it oiled

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Is what it is, does what it does.

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Aug 08, 2012:Installed on a 04 WR450 and have not had any problems. Would recommend to a friend would purchase again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works

JIM in IA

Comments On Jul 02, 2012:been all over iowa, missouri, arkansas and still running this chain...no problems what so ever

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

RK

andy in PA

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:great name in chains, just as good as did or renthal

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

oh well

lisa in FL

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:Chain kinked up after 2 rides. Allways well lubed on our part. Cheap chain you get what you pay for.Never again I will use RK again just not a cheap one.I just won't buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

stretched chain

alex in KY

Comments On Sep 15, 2011:i put this chain on my bike and it made the tire halfway back on the slider just puttinging it on the i take the bike out to ride and after a while the chain was jumping the teeth
TECH NOTE: IT IS RECOMMENDED TO REPLACE THE SPROCKETS AT THE SAME TIME AS THE CHAIN.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good

Dylan in VA

Comments On Sep 01, 2011:This is a good chain, i race every weekend and it last longer than a gold race chain. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

use this as a back-up chain

JOSH in VA

Comments On Jul 24, 2011:keep this in my truck in case I break a chain while riding......great price!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

its an rk chain, what do you expect, its great.

Evan in CA

Comments On Mar 31, 2011:Solid RK excel chain, cheap as dirt and works like a dream. only con that it stretches a little on my crf250r which is surprising. but a good deal and good chain. only wish it came with a sticker

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

RK 520 chain

ANDY in MI

Comments On Jul 08, 2010:Fit well. Is holding up real well. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok for your stock small bore machines.

Logan in TX

Comments On Nov 16, 2009:Ok for your stock small bore machines. Even mod small bores eat this chain pretty quick. If you have a 250 2Stoke or 450 4stroke don't waste your money, just go O-ring. Price is good, Rolling resistance on the stand is good. As with any other non O-ring. I do believe this chain wore out a little quicker than it should have. And for an Rk chain I expected a little more. Seems like the chain needed adjustment after every or every other 20 minute moto.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

james in IN

Comments On Oct 08, 2008:I put this chain on a 250 raptor and it is holding up great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain for a great price

NATHAN in NH

Comments On Jul 14, 2008:great economy chain for a cheap price, holds up about 1 race season but for the price you can't go wrong

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ok for smaller engines

BRANDON in MI

Comments On Feb 28, 2008:had this thing on my 87 lt500 for about 2 hours, then it ate the chain right up. if you have a larger displacement atv or dirtbike, get a stronger chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

TR in OR

Comments On Feb 16, 2008:CRF450R wore this out, but not as fast as others. Good chain I think.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Chain

Matthew in KS

Comments On Jan 19, 2008:Cheap and durable. Buy one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CHAIN

MICKEY in AL

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:GREAT CHAIN FOR SMALLER CC MOTORS

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great chain

MATTHEW in NC

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Holding up well

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

For the price this is an excellent chain...

Jon in WA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:I am slightly surprised on the performance of this chain. The chain has lasted longer than I would have ever expected. I do race my bike but don't have alot of money. Products like this make it possible.

Was this review helpful?