Primary Drive Alloy Kit & Gold X-Ring Chain

Customer Reviews for Primary Drive Alloy Kit & Gold X-Ring Chain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 23 Reviews

Return to Primary Drive Alloy Kit & Gold X-Ring Chain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Primary Drive Alloy Kit & Gold X-Ring Chain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value

Greg in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Jan 01, 2014:Purchased the set, it's holding up well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good stuff

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:love primary drive stuff

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent quality and value

Larry in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On Aug 01, 2013:Restoring rm250, perfect fit. Broke master clip on install (didn't read instructions!) picked up master at local dealer , worked like a champ. Little to no stretch yet. Many rides later still looks new. No wave forming in rear sprocket, even though Aluminum... Saved around 30% buying package deal. Will put on all our bikes in future. Thanks again RMMC!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain going well, rear sprocket not so much

Chris in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 09, 2013:the X-ring chain has stretched a little but nothing out of the normal for a new chain. the front sprocket is going well but the aluminium rear sprocket is wearing out quicker than it should.
I would recommend this chain and front sprocket but the rear aluminium sprocket is the weak point. steel rear sprocket would see this set lasting for a long time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

JOHN in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 08, 2013:Works great. I've used several of these.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME DEAL

Daniel in OR

Comments On Mar 19, 2013:I've had many chains & sprockets over the years and I always thought you get what you pay for and that just isn't true.. these chains and sprockets have held up as well or even better than the $120+ chains i've purchased in the past

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Bang For The Buck!

JEFF in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Mar 12, 2013:Best bang for the buck, sprockets usually only wear when the chain stretches from old age or poor maintenance (no lube or no cleaning) . On my second set and they up graded the rear sprocket. The last set lasted long enough to wear through my chain guides. Did not get the Primary Drive swingarm stickers in this order, but completely satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST CHAINS IVE USED

DAVID in VA

Comments On Jan 02, 2013:IVE HAD ANOTHER REVEIW I WROTE ABOUT THESE CHAINS AND THATS BECAUSE I PUT THEM ON ALL MY MACHINES. THE LONG LASTING DURABILITY OF THE CHAINS.THEY DONT STRETCH LIKE OTHER CHAINS DO AND THAT SHOWS THE STRENGTH AND HOW WELL THEY ARE BUILT. ILL BE BUYING THIS BRAND AND TYPE OF CHAIN AGAIN FOR MY NEW BIKE!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

chain on 450r honda

DAN in CO

Comments On Nov 12, 2012:excellent combo. much better than stock chain. recommend highly

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great deal and product!!!!!!!!

richard in RI

Comments On Sep 10, 2012:Why pay renthal 150to 200 bucks for the same thing. all your paying for is the name. primary drive products are good especially this set the chain had one initial stretch and thats it. sprockets are also perfect!!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cheap, tough, and light!

devin in NL

Comments On Jun 25, 2012:after 500kms on my modified wr450f the chain has stretched slightly, gold has been worn off edges, and rear sprocket shows some slight wear. At this rate im expecting to get at least 2000km out of it and at $110 thats a great deal!

Additional Comments On Jul 20, 2012:1000km on it now and theres been no further wear or stretching. Will probably get much more than 2000km at this rate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does the job.

Reid in WA

Comments On May 25, 2012:Great chain, looks awesome

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Kit

Brent in AZ

Comments On Oct 28, 2011:This is an awesome kit; Primary Drive produces quality chains and sprockets. I have put hundreds of miles on my chain and sprocket kit and it is still holding up, how can you beat that?

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

no good

Jason in IN

Comments On Oct 06, 2011:2 links on the chain broke on the trail jammed in sprocket 3rd ride chain is bunk dont waste the money

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

excellent value

RALPH in CA

Comments On May 12, 2011:held up to 6 hare scrambles this season - 3 in extreme mud & one sand track race - will keep on all summer and maybe into fall - depending on wear.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

OEM performance at dollar store prices....

DENNIS in MO

Comments On Mar 06, 2011:You won't get a nicer looking chain and a more durable set of sprockets! The chain is a bit wider than some of the name brands, but a little filing of your stock chain guide or a stronger aftermarket item will have you on down the trail in no time! I get over two seasons with these sprockets!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

work well together

Robert in NJ

Comments On Nov 08, 2010:chain and sprocket set work great nice and heavy duty. look at reviews for chain and sprockets separately like I did to get best reviews

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Strong chain

SHELLY in NY

Comments On Jul 01, 2009:put it on and I've had it on for a month and i havent had to adjust it yet

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Front and Chain good, rear bad.

BOZO in NC

Comments On Mar 09, 2008:After a weekend of hard MX racing, the chain and front sprocket performed very well. The rear sprocket did not. The rear sprocket after one day started to wave top, and was missing a tooth. The chain and front sprocket held up very well, and I will race on both of several more times before replacement.
Tech Note: Aluminum rear sprockets are not recommended for the above mertioned siuation. Please be sure to use a steel sprocket for extreme conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awsome setup

JASON in KS

Comments On Mar 09, 2008:I bought this kit right after i got my banshee the fisrt thing i do is change oil and replace chain and sprockets, this kit made it very easy

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Alloy Kit & Gold X-Ring Chain

LANCE in WA

Comments On Jan 16, 2008:This is the best set for the money around. They are super durable and the o-ring chain is so simple to take care of.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Alloy Kit & Gold X-Ring Chain

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Nov 24, 2007:This sprocket and chain set is very good quality at a great price. All of the pieces were very good quality (it is not as "bling" as a Tag though) and fit well. I have about 100 miles on it and mine just now needs the first adjustment, there is no unusual wear so far.
Another poster stated that their kit did not come with a master link but mine did. I bought a separate master and now have a spare (not a bad thing). Perhaps Rocky Mountain needs to update the description on their kits to definitely say that they do or do not supply a master.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Buy the items Seperately

SAMUEL in NV

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:The sprockets are great, but the chain gave me problems. I would buy the sprockets again seperately. The chain held up good but if you need a masterlink you will have to order from Rocky Mountain. That doesnt work in the middle of Baja.

Was this review helpful?