Ballistic EVO2 Battery

Customer Reviews for Ballistic EVO2 Battery

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 27 Reviews

Return to Ballistic EVO2 Battery Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Ballistic EVO2 Battery Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Super light and powerful

Bruce in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC

Comments On May 12, 2015:Have several of these in my bikes. They are super light weight and more powerful than the lead acid batteries they have replaced. Wish they came with some foam or something to take up the space in the battery box. I've been using some weather strip foam from the home improvement store but the adhesive doesn't stick to the battery case really well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

cold crank

Dewayne in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Feb 23, 2015:works good, still seems to have trouble starting on COLD days. turns over fine, just not as good as a HARD kick. Never need charged. Very good battery, I was just expecting it to be 5 times the cranking power. Bottom line, always stays charged , even after sitting a long time. BAD-- it takes a special charger(not included) . I never bought one because it stays charged.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Way better than stock!

JON in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2015 KTM 350 SX-F

Comments On Feb 06, 2015:Awesome battery. Several pounds lighter than stock, fit no hassle, and more cranking amps. Couldnt be happier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Way lighter but...

Doug in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLX450R

Comments On Jan 19, 2015:If you are installing this battery for weight reduction, it is great. Probably half the weight of a standard battery. However, it may fit a little different due to the post mount style. It also does not hold up as long as a standard battery does.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ballistic EVO 2 8 cell battery

Jim in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HUSQVARNA TE 310

Comments On Jan 21, 2015:Bought a 8 cell EVO2 battery chasing weight savings but ended up with 2 failures leaving me stranded both times. Do not buy! These batteries are poorly constructed and the prorated warranty is a joke. What Ballistic won't mention is the prorated warranty will cost you as much if not more than what you paid retail since they go by MSRP. After the second failure I was done for good. Both batteries came apart internally causing a short which seemed like a fuel injection or spark issue. Do yourself a favor and skip this one.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't Buy This!!!!

Clint in Ontario – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Nov 25, 2014:I bought my 8-cell in Feb of 2014. Waited for warm weather and began using it May. Last week (Nov 2014) I bought Ballistic's charger to "balance charge" the battery, removed the black BMS port cover to begin the balance charging process and discovered the port was loaded with corrosion so bad that one of the 5 pins was entirely gone. Now I'm stuck with a battery I can't properly charge and a specialized charger I don't need.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ballistic EVO 2

WADE in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Nov 10, 2014:Battery failed after two weekend trips

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

better than stock

jordan in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KTM 525 MXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Oct 16, 2014:if you want to upgrade or putting an ellectric start on its a good choice

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worked good for about 2 years of mild/streeet use.

Michael in PA

Comments On Apr 13, 2012:Small and light! Lets just see how long it lasts. No problems so far!

Additional Comments On Oct 04, 2014:battery is super light, thats all it has going for it. It worked great from purchase in April 2012 to about June 2014, but once the battery dies and needs a charge or jump, its done pretty much for good. not to mention that the "3 Year Warranty " is ONE YOU PAY OUT OF YOU POCKET. The older the battery the more you pay torwards your replacement. Would never buy one again for my own personal use. And when you email Ballistic with an issue or problem they are one of "well its something your doing wrong" typpe of companies. NOT HAPPY AT ALL WITH THIS BATTERY/COMPANY/WARRANTY COVERAGE...!..... TECH NOTE: BALLISTIC USES A PRORATED WARRANTY.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Junk

Nicholas in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Oct 04, 2014:Used the battery for two days shut the bike off for 10 minutes and it wouldn't fire back up. Needless to say battery was junk after 8hrs of riding put a oem style battery back in it and the bike works fine.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't last

MATTHEW in CA

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:Installed the 4 cell on a DR200SE and shaved nearly 5lbs off this very heavy bike. Noticed no loss in performance over stock even on cold mornings. Held a charge despite being unused and not using a trickle charger for several weeks. I'll definitely be upgrading my other bikes' batteries to Ballistics as they wear out.

Additional Comments On Mar 11, 2014:Got one for my KTM 450EXC about the time that I sold the DR. Had it about 6 months before it started dying after a few starts. I kept it on a quality tender whenever I wasn't going to be riding for a few days. Finally got so bad that it would only start right after coming off the tender. Voltage confirmed my suspicions - 13~V on tender, take it off, in 2 hours its down to 12V, next morning, 11V...
Love the weight but not for a battery that costs 2x as much and lasts half as long.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

better than stock

Kendall in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 525 XC

Comments On Jan 28, 2014:I bought this too replace the stock battery that was still in good shape but didn't have enough juice for cold weather. This ballistic did the trick. Going on almost 2 years without any problems and I run a HID kit and it doesn't seem to phase it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked Well

John in Massachusetts – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On Aug 26, 2013:I used the ballistic battery for 3yrs and never had any issues. I left the battery in my 450sxf yr round in the NE climate and it fired my 450 up with zero maintenance. The battery finally did fail year 3 but I think it would of lasted longer if I pulled it for the winter and did some periodic charging. Trying a Shorai now.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY!

patrick in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Jul 29, 2013:The cells inside broke something loose causing a rattle which created a short or a loss of continuity. It caused the bike to have intermittent power loss which felt like a fuel or a spark problem. It had caused me to get a DNF in a hare scramble race in Colorado. Voltage metered great when on the stand. I had in my bike for about a year before it failed. Its too expensive to have failed this way. Do not waste your money!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get the 8 cell for the big bite motor

Dave in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS OUTLAW 525 IRS

Comments On Jun 28, 2013:I got the 4 cell model by mistake and it didn't last very long. For the bigger bore bikes. Make sure you get the 8 cell battery

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Buy something else

Haydn in SA

Comments On Mar 18, 2013:Battery failed within the first few rides. Caused a race DNF and 600 dollars worth of fault finding labour at the local bike shop. Battery would test with 13 volts but when the bike was running the vibration would cause it to short very breifly but enough to upset the ECU on my KTM. Thought i might have been just unlucky but it seems a few have had the same problem.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good at first.

JASON in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 POLARIS OUTLAW 90

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:I bought 2 of these. One for my daughters trx300 and one for my wifes polaris 200 pheonix. The one in the 300 got hot somehow and melted? And the one in the 200 is still doing pretty good. It has been in the quad over a year with no issues. The one in the 300 we are still trying to figure out.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Super light and compact, but on second one already

Nick in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 POLARIS OUTLAW 450 MXR

Comments On Jan 13, 2013:The first battery I received eventually failed because of an internal short. Ballistic finally replaced the battery with a warranty battery. They are super light and compact, so that's why I'm sticking with them. I'm just concerned that if the first battery went as quickly and easily as it did that the second one may not be far behind. Overall, Rocky Mountain was top notch in the transaction in both shipping and customer service!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

KEVIN & JULIE in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jan 02, 2013:This holds it's power longer than anything I have owned. It also shaved about 3 lbs. off my bikes weight. You get what you pay for when it comes to ATV batteries.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

BUY SOMETHING ELSE

DAVE in CA

Comments On Nov 05, 2012:NOT JUST ONE OF THESE BATTERIES WERE JUNK, TWO. FIRST ONE WORKED GOOD FOR A COUPLE OF RIDES THEN FAILED SECOND ONE WAS NO GOOD OUT OF THE BOX. RM TOOK CARE OF ME OF COURSE. I PURCHASED THE ANOTHER BRAND AND IT WORKS GREAT. LAST TWO RACES I GOT THE HOLE-SHOT

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome so far

Gary in CA

Comments On Sep 04, 2012:This battery is lighter than stock, and it has so much more starting power also. It cranks my ktm 2 smoker over with ease.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Henry in FL

Comments On Jun 11, 2012:Just installed in a KTM 450 and works better than expected. Light weight and more than enough cold cranking amps. Time will tell but so far I'M impressed. Quality cost.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great cranking power

PAUL in CA

Comments On May 21, 2012:Lightweight good power cost too high

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worse than the stock battery

joe in CA

Comments On Apr 07, 2012:I purchased one of these batteries thinking it would last much longer than the stock battery. I have the Race Teck high output stator, hand warmers, 8" HID Baja Designs head light and thought this battery would top everything off. What a mistake, it didn't last 6 months.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

simply awesome

Sebastian in NE

Comments On Mar 13, 2012:i put this battery in my R1. saved 5lbs 2oz over the stock one and the bike fires off better than ever. well worth the money!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Battery Didnt work

Dareck in MN

Comments On Feb 28, 2012:Not enough cold cranking amps, at least in the 4cell battery. my machine is stock motor also

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Freakin Awesome.

RYAN in CA

Comments On Oct 20, 2011:This battery is Freaking awesome, with Cold Cranking Amps: 275 packs a serious punch , the stock one only has 130 Cold Cranking Amps. If you have TRX 450er with starting issue get this battery for sure. This thing is so light is it amazing. It is so worth the price, like mini optima for your quad :D.

Was this review helpful?