Leatt Brace 5.5 Pro HD Roost Deflector

Customer Reviews for Leatt Brace 5.5 Pro HD Roost Deflector

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 15 Reviews

Return to Leatt Brace 5.5 Pro HD Roost Deflector Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Leatt Brace 5.5 Pro HD Roost Deflector Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough as nails

JEFF in CA

Comments On Jun 24, 2015:I don't ever ride without wearing this no matter the weather. I'm a vet rider and can't afford to have little injuries ruin my riding day. This deflector completely covers your ribs and spine and come with excellent shoulder cups. The fit is modular and with a little bit of time can be adjusted perfectly. You are wearing body armor it reduces airflow a lot which can make it pretty hot on summer days in the desert. After getting it adjusted well I never notice I have it on when I ride. Nothing sticks out or rubs or does anything weird. Tipovers are a pleasure if you are wearing this.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product - EXCEPT shoulder pads

Johney in MT

Comments On Apr 23, 2015:Love how it all works with my neck brace. Easy to custom fit with the adjustable straps etc. Easy to forget you have it on. Just an over all great product for core protection with a brace.
If RIB protection is a big part of your purchase decision, this is a great product.
REALLY bummed about the shoulder pads though. Both mine and another guy I ride with. The little rubber tabs that hold the shoulder pads on basically pull right out of the cloth slits that holds them in place. We have tried extra zip ties in behind the cloth but nothing seems to hold these on. As of now - the cloth "slits" are basically shot/stretched out beyond use.
We are going to try and permanently attach these somehow - as they are an important reason I purchased this item. (shoulders and ribs!!) Would be great if they came up with a retro-fit for this part of the protector.
IF shoulder protection is a key to your purchase - hold off on this item until they get this part fixed!

Additional Comments On Jun 10, 2015:Leatt WILL warranty this unit for the shoulder pads falling off. Just email them etc . COOL. BUT I have to spend another $40 + shipping it though. Not sure if I have to pay to get another unit sent out either? it is not very clear in the paperwork.
So pretty bummed right now with the whole gig / price / 1st version hassle. Did not expect to be a beta tester.
Had a good crash this past weekend - both shoulders hurt.. no shoulder pads...may have helped? maybe not, who knows. Thinking of tossing the whole darn thing and looking elsewhere! :-( Try one on before you buy it!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

5.5 HD

DANIEL in CA

Comments On May 28, 2015:Snug and comfortable fit, great improvement those side guards. Best purchase for the Leatt neck brace.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great body protection terrible shoulder pads

Patrick in California

Comments On Apr 24, 2015:Love this gear for the body protection and amazing integration with my leatt neck brace. Neck brace is locked in place on roost guard which makes for ultimate neck and inner shoulder protection. Not too hot for desert rides and great torso protection. Shoulder pads are a joke. Pulled out of vest while putting garmet on. Stuffed them back in place and they routinely fall out. Very poor design. If you are looking for dependable outer shoulder protection look elsewhere. Will be contacting Leatt to try and resolve shoulder pad shortcomings. 5 stars if the shoulder pads stayed on and in place.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leatt Brace 5.5 Pro HD Roost Deflector

JESSE in OR

Comments On Jan 29, 2015:Pros: - The integration with neck brace is great along with the options of running it under and over jackets and jerseys. Quality construction. Good rib and side protection. Good comfort on the torso. Cons: - Shoulder pads need to be better attached to the body section, they come unhooked very easily. Also the tend to slide around to the backside of the upper arms. Would like to see bigger and more protective shoulder and arm pads with an easier system of attachment, removal and articulation.

Additional Comments On Mar 23, 2015:Cons: With riding in it for a few months now the design of the shoulder and arm pads is real frustrating. They come off when putting on, the pop off while riding, they slide down the arm or move to the back of the arm/shoulder.
- I have a hard time believing that they actually did any product testing before releasing.
- I have all integration point wrapped in duct tape to keep it in place.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice product

Rick in WA

Comments On Feb 15, 2015:Except for the shoulder pads,this is a 5 start product. There is no adjustment for the pads and they hang down too far on my shoulders.
It runs large. I'm 6' tall and weigh 235. For the chest protector to fit correctly,I have it adjusted as small as it will go.
I'm guessing this thing would fit a guy 260+

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the money

alex in TN

Comments On Feb 06, 2015:You get what you pay for. This chest and back protector replaced my Fox airframe and does the job much better. Expensive yes but don't cheap out on safety gear. EVER. this chest protector is much cheaper than going to the hospital. My only complaint is that the plastic strap that attaches the right shoulder piece to the back of the protector slipped out once causing the shoulder piece to flap around a bit until I pulled over to put it back in. Only happened once though.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fits well...Redesigned for better durability!!

BUTCH in MA

Comments On Sep 17, 2014:The fit is fantastic and it's very comfortable, but the arm pads lasted one ride and one of the Velcro strips tore off, so most of this season has been without them. Now a shoulder pad won't stay attached. The hole that the catch is inserted into is bonded with a small piece of rubber/plastic that tears out, and then they won't stay for even a single ride. It's too bad because other than flimsy construction, they would protect very well.
I hope Leatt takes these reviews to heart, because I wouldn't buy another, or recommend one until these weak areas are corrected.

Additional Comments On Sep 17, 2014:I placed a call to Leatt and was informed that these issues have indeed been modified, and they are going to replace my chest protector at the end of this season. As soon as that's complete I will change my rating

Additional Comments On Jan 17, 2015:Leatt has replaced my 5.5 Pro with a redesigned version, free of charge. The new design has addressed all of the durability issues that I had previously mentioned and I'm excited to start the new season with this! Not only is this a well made item, but the company has proven to stand behind their products!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Alan in TN

Comments On Dec 27, 2014:Great protection! Wouldn't ever ride again without it! Continued great service from RMATV

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chest Protector

James in NM

Comments On Dec 19, 2014:I really like the 5.5 Pro HD. It's super comfortable and the rib protection is a huge bonus. There is a weak link. The adjustable web used to attach the shoulder pads to the protector is pretty flimsy. My riding bud launched himself over the bars with the 5.5 Pro HD and a shoulder pad pulled loose from the protector....shouldn't have happened. Week after that I noticed mine was doing the same thing from just putting it on and taking it off. Weak design for Leatt. But, I like the rest of the protector so much I'll have a shoe shop sew some beefy stitching in these areas and be good to go. I've seen other reviews with the same issue. Is Leatt listening??

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Leatt Brace 5.5 Pro HD Roost Deflecto

ART in CA

Comments On Jul 28, 2014:Good quality chest protector. Inasmuch as it's suppose to work with the Leatt, the GPX Adult brace did not fit well.
I ending up used this without the GPX for full body protection. I especially like the way it protects the ribs.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Edward in ID

Comments On May 12, 2014:I did a ton of research looking at all of the chest protectors available on the market. I looked at full armor jackets as well but finally decided on the Leatt 5.5 HD as I wanted something to just add chest, back, shoulder and side protection. I liked how the Leatt had the shoulder protection in the right place. Too many "chest protectors" have shoulder protection on the top of your shoulder, with little or none for the side where you most likely will hit, the Leatt had it in the right place. The chest and back protectors where in the right place on the Leatt as well. What really sold me on the Leatt 5.5 HD was the side protection, something that nearly all chest protectors and armor jackets lack. I bought the Adult size, I am 5'9" 190lbs and it fit just about right. I adjusted the shoulders out one notch on the back side so they sat lower, and adjusted the chest/back so it sat lower and a little more forward. I adjusted the side protectors out one notch as well. The only snug thing is the bicep straps, they could have been a little larger, but they are nice to have as they help hold the shoulder cups in place. I was worried that the side (rib) protectors would rub under my arms but honestly I don't notice them there at all while riding. The top corners of the front chest protector push a little into my pectorals when i have my camelback on which pulls it a bit, but it really wasn't a problem. Great product, obviously riding without protection would be less cumbersome and cooler (heat wise), but having the protection in place gives peace of mind. I spent a week riding with it in Moab and took a few tumbles where I landed on my shoulders, I was glad to have this on.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best!

scott in NJ

Comments On Feb 27, 2014:after having 3 broken ribs this chest protector is the best ive tried on for support of the outer rib cage..I am glad I purchased it and would again.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Atlas compatible.

DAVID in GA

Comments On Feb 12, 2014:The chest protector runs a little small in comparison to Thor and Fox chest protectors. It is really only compatible with Leatt neck braces. It feels like it offers excellent safety in comparison to my Fox and Thor chest protectors. I hope I never find out how safe it is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

It fits well...

Tom in CT

Comments On Jan 20, 2014:my Leatt Adv neck brace fit into it perfectly

Was this review helpful?