Leatt 5.5 Pro Roost Deflector

Customer Reviews for Leatt 5.5 Pro Roost Deflector

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 11 Reviews

Return to Leatt 5.5 Pro Roost Deflector Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Leatt 5.5 Pro Roost Deflector Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

marginal at best

seth in CA

Comments On Jan 10, 2016:I had high hopes for this product. I really got it for the shoulder protection, the rest was pretty standard for a chest protector. First off, it's heavy and combined with a hydration pack over the rig and you'll feel it pull hard on your neck. Shoulder protection is good until you hit something. It protects, but breaks aways. The problem is the receptacle for the buckle is forever compromised and weakened and it then starts to simply fall out at the slightest breeze. After trying to bring it back to acceptable functionality, I hung it up to think on it and haven't used it since. For the price, I remain sincerely disappointed in design and performance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

top of the line

Mark in NC

Comments On Nov 26, 2015:Exactly what i was expecting from a leatt product. Very comfortable against bare skin when worn under shirt or over.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far so good

Justin in MA

Comments On Nov 24, 2015:So far I have been very happy with this. It's covered me in a few minor crashes and fits nice and snug. Latches are good and have no issues. My only complaint is I bought this along with the neck brace that integrates with the chest protector. It all goes together nicely but I have to wear my chest protector and neck brace over my shirt because you cannot get a shirt on once you have the neck brace on. Just something to be aware of

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great protector

HG in NC

Comments On Nov 02, 2015:It's a great buy, fits good under my jersey to. The shoulder cups could use some redesign though.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Product - Needs Shoulder Strap Fixed

Chad in MO

Comments On Aug 08, 2015:I really like the protector. It fits and wears well. Works great with the matching neck brace. But like some of the others have mentioned, the shoulder pad straps are T-shaped fittings in a hole and the tear out the first time you catch them and they cannot be put back in. They won't stay since they tear the hole out. I had to poke a hole in mine and zip-tie it back in. Maybe they are meant to come out instead of breaking, but they end up tearing up the hole in the process which ruins the protector. If the strap broke, at least one could replace just the strap or something.
I probably will buy another one just because I want the best and it fits so well with the neck brace. It just needs the straps fixed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fitment

Ronald in AZ

Comments On Jul 06, 2015:Great protection, pretty comfortable, a little restricted, but you feel protected. I have a muscular build and it adjusts to me really well. It can be a booger getting on and off when used with the neck brace. A 4 star rating on me but I am sure if I wasn't a stocky built guy it's a 5.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Poor Shoulder Pad Attachment

Allen in IA

Comments On May 13, 2015:I purchased this chest protector over the others because I thought it would offer solid protection against tree impacts while racing in tight woods sections. After taking this out of the packaging the shoulder pads each fell off my very first time trying it on. I am very dissapointed with the design and I do not believe that this item will withstand any kind of impact without the shoulder pads detaching and flopping around my arms during a race. I will be returning this item for either a cheaper chest protector without shoulder pads, or a different brand with a better design.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Safety First

Sonny in UT

Comments On Dec 28, 2014:After buying my Leatt GPX neck brace I realized I needed a chest protector that would work with it. I had two other protectors that work well but they were not compatible with the neck brace. I wish I would have bought this in the first place and saved some money. It fits very comfortable, I forgot I was wearing it and the Leatt neck brace fits perfectly into it. I like being able to wear it over it under my jersey. If you are looking for great protection and less bulk then this is what you are looking for.

Additional Comments On Mar 28, 2015:After using this product I have had issues with the shoulder pads not staying attached, the fit of the vest is fine but the quality of the shoulder strap is poor. I would hope that the manufacturer wold redesign this small issue by using some type of plastic riviot.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very thorough protection

WES in CA

Comments On Jan 29, 2015:I've always used cheap standard chest protectors. This is my first specialized chest protector. Feels very secure and protective. Little adjusting and fits perfect. I'm 6'5" 215 lbs and got a XXL.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Comfortable and very durable.

George in VA

Comments On Aug 21, 2014:After a few minutes of riding you don't think about it being on. It protects more of the upper body than others.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Be Safe

Scott in CA

Comments On May 13, 2014:After breaking my rib I decided to buy a better chest protector. Extensive Internet research revealed Leatt as the best chest protector for my size. My next investment will be the Leatt neck protector. They are both CE rated, which is a big deal. Don't buy a roast deflector people. Broken ribs hurt bad, God bless

Was this review helpful?