Tusk Aluminum Panniers

Customer Reviews for Tusk Aluminum Panniers

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 8 Reviews

Return to Tusk Aluminum Panniers Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Aluminum Panniers Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the money

Scott in British Columbia

Comments On Aug 24, 2015:Ordered these since they are actually affordable. Got the Dirt Racks pannier mounts, which are decent, but I would recommend going with the Tusk ones, since they have better features. Ordered the large, boy, they are huge! They mounted up quite nice and out of the way on my 2013 KLR though, look great, work awesome. Couple things I would change, a strip of aluminum backing would be good at the mounting points as its just the sheet metal holding things, the lock cylinder fell out of one, which is concerning. Emailed RMATV, they are sending me out replacements at no cost. For those of us without Motech money, this is the best deal out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT PANNIERS

kenneth in TX

Comments On May 01, 2015:Put a set of these panniers on my KLR 650 went on quick with no problems. Rode Big Bend 750 miles on dirt roads and trails only one nut came loose.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

minor issues but a great buy

Aaron in WI

Comments On Dec 29, 2014:These are very inexpensive compared to any other option for aluminum panniers. Quality has only a few issues and that is with the paint and hardware. The paint had several blemishes including orange peel and drips. These issues are not a big deal to me because it got several conspicuity stickers added to cover the areas plus the bike will end up getting scratched at some point. The hardware was loose and I lost one of the clips on top. Change out the hardware or lock-tight it all. Latches and lock are working well so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good bags

Eric in Florida

Comments On Oct 11, 2014:I've had these on my adv bike for about a year now and they are holding up very well. I mounted them using the happy trails universal kit.
Luckily I have not been down with these bags on, but I feel that they could handle a tip over if it happened. I think they are made very well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Boxes

Rob in Oregon

Comments On Jul 16, 2014:For street bikes and stuff, these are great, just like other reviewers have said. However, if you plan to use these on an adventure bike or dual sport, be forewarned... due to their very lightweight construction, they bend very easily. My DR650 tipped over with these boxes attached and full of camping gear. The impact was enough to put a rather large dent on the inside of the right-side box where it attaches to my Happy Trail rack. I was able to straighten it using a floor jack and a block of wood, plus some pounding with a large rubber mallet. I'm no longer going to use them on that bike; they will be for my V-Strom instead. Still, if I ever go down on it, it will likely destroy the box.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Quality for the Price

Rich in California

Comments On Apr 23, 2014:Well built, light weight, nice hardware, secure locks, and good weather sealing. Mounted these on a Buell Ulysses using a mounting rack I had been using to hold up a pair of 20mm ammo cans. These aren't as cool looking as the ammo cans, but they have much more room. I added some small LED running lights and a couple larger handles on the tops so the wife-unit can have her grab handles.
Added a 1 gallon RotoPAX to one of them. I used an aluminum plate on the inside as additional support. The stock aluminum by itself would probably work, but I wanted to make sure the weight was well spread out. One good thing about these compared to the $1,500/pair sets is that you could screw them up and not feel too financially hurt ordering a new pair.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant

Sarath in CA

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:These are tremendous value for money. Looks as good as panniers that cost twice as much, very sturdy and complements the bike's looks. I haven't crash tested them yet, but these appear every bit as strong as Touratech's. I am very happy with these.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great boxes! best deal

David in Utah

Comments On Nov 08, 2013:I am pretty excited about these. I always wondered why aluminum boxes cost so dang much! Finally tusk made some that are priced right! plus they come with the locks! mounted them on my klr and they look awesome. they seem to be very tough! very happy klr owner

Was this review helpful?