Tusk Aluminum Panniers

Customer Reviews for Tusk Aluminum Panniers

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 15 Reviews

Return to Tusk Aluminum Panniers Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Aluminum Panniers Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nicely made

dayton in CA

Comments On Apr 25, 2016:A great bargain pannier. The locks aren't the best though but they do work

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Panniers for the Money

Brady in UT

Comments On Feb 02, 2016:I am very happy with these panniers. I had a lock fall out but RMATV send me a whole new set. I recommend putting some loc tight on them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good boxes!!

Patrick in MI

Comments On Feb 01, 2016:Hold things well! nice waterproof seat for lid. I added rubber washers for the mounting bolts to help waterproof it. I have these on a 2008 KLR650. The only issue I have with it is the single cylinder bike vibrates a lot which kind of rattled the crap out of the locking mechanisms. They for sure need threadlocker on them as they started to fall apart on me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk panniers with racks

Chris in MT

Comments On Dec 17, 2015:Big, sturdy panniers. Did I mention big? I mean large. I did not expect them to be as large as they are. I am certainly not unhappy with them, they have afforded me much more (low end) carrying capacity. Some slight wind resistance on the highway. I have not laid the bike over (yet) so I can't speak on brutal longevity. So far I am impressed with these inexpensive, sturdy panniers. The racks were simple to install. Not painful.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sweet pannier system

Bob in Pennsylvania

Comments On Sep 10, 2015:Bought for my 2007 KLR because friends recommended. I'm totally happy with both the panniers and the rack system.
First, don't believe dopes who say they're 'cheap' or 'thin' or claim the install process to be difficult. I will say you should get a friend to help - this will save a LOT of frustration when it comes time to mark the holes for drilling.
Rocky Mtn's video is easy to follow...a 9 year old could assemble this based on it. The only recommendation I'd make would be to disclose the bolt/nut sizes just to save some time. Also, on the rear rack that goes under the tail light the top nuts barely fit in there - you need a needle-nose pliers to hold the nuts while you drive the bolt in.
Also, in the video they make reference to another video showing how the lock/latches are assembled. I couldn't find it but, again, a 9 year old could do it. Very intuitive.
Now, here's a tricky part. In attaching the brackets to the panniers, the video suggests drilling out the two corner bolts, tighten and then use the bracket as a guide to drill the other holes. This seems logical until you discover the 11/32" bit they recommend DOESN'T fit through the pre-drilled holes in the bracket. Also in the video it doesn't say how you now have to drill through the bracket slightly to bore it out to accept the 11/32 bit. Once you figure this out, however, it goes smoothly.
On mine I had to use two washers on each of the three upper bolts in order to get the latch to work. But then they went on smooth as silk.
Net, these are awesome boxes! Solid and well designed.
Thanks Rocky Mtn for making these available!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

they are great

Francisco in CA

Comments On Aug 31, 2015:they are great, huge and strong, but keep in mind to put some loctite in all the screws, including the lock barrels, because I loose one in the road. I made the base by myself

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Panniers

GORDON in ID

Comments On Aug 29, 2015:Fit was a little tough on the release pins. The mounting bolts can get in the way. Once past the installation issue, they are great for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the money

Scott in British Columbia

Comments On Aug 24, 2015:Ordered these since they are actually affordable. Got the Dirt Racks pannier mounts, which are decent, but I would recommend going with the Tusk ones, since they have better features. Ordered the large, boy, they are huge! They mounted up quite nice and out of the way on my 2013 KLR though, look great, work awesome. Couple things I would change, a strip of aluminum backing would be good at the mounting points as its just the sheet metal holding things, the lock cylinder fell out of one, which is concerning. Emailed RMATV, they are sending me out replacements at no cost. For those of us without Motech money, this is the best deal out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT PANNIERS

kenneth in TX

Comments On May 01, 2015:Put a set of these panniers on my KLR 650 went on quick with no problems. Rode Big Bend 750 miles on dirt roads and trails only one nut came loose.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

minor issues but a great buy

Aaron in WI

Comments On Dec 29, 2014:These are very inexpensive compared to any other option for aluminum panniers. Quality has only a few issues and that is with the paint and hardware. The paint had several blemishes including orange peel and drips. These issues are not a big deal to me because it got several conspicuity stickers added to cover the areas plus the bike will end up getting scratched at some point. The hardware was loose and I lost one of the clips on top. Change out the hardware or lock-tight it all. Latches and lock are working well so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good bags

Eric in Florida

Comments On Oct 11, 2014:I've had these on my adv bike for about a year now and they are holding up very well. I mounted them using the happy trails universal kit.
Luckily I have not been down with these bags on, but I feel that they could handle a tip over if it happened. I think they are made very well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Boxes

Rob in Oregon

Comments On Jul 16, 2014:For street bikes and stuff, these are great, just like other reviewers have said. However, if you plan to use these on an adventure bike or dual sport, be forewarned... due to their very lightweight construction, they bend very easily. My DR650 tipped over with these boxes attached and full of camping gear. The impact was enough to put a rather large dent on the inside of the right-side box where it attaches to my Happy Trail rack. I was able to straighten it using a floor jack and a block of wood, plus some pounding with a large rubber mallet. I'm no longer going to use them on that bike; they will be for my V-Strom instead. Still, if I ever go down on it, it will likely destroy the box.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Quality for the Price

Rich in California

Comments On Apr 23, 2014:Well built, light weight, nice hardware, secure locks, and good weather sealing. Mounted these on a Buell Ulysses using a mounting rack I had been using to hold up a pair of 20mm ammo cans. These aren't as cool looking as the ammo cans, but they have much more room. I added some small LED running lights and a couple larger handles on the tops so the wife-unit can have her grab handles.
Added a 1 gallon RotoPAX to one of them. I used an aluminum plate on the inside as additional support. The stock aluminum by itself would probably work, but I wanted to make sure the weight was well spread out. One good thing about these compared to the $1,500/pair sets is that you could screw them up and not feel too financially hurt ordering a new pair.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant

Sarath in CA

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:These are tremendous value for money. Looks as good as panniers that cost twice as much, very sturdy and complements the bike's looks. I haven't crash tested them yet, but these appear every bit as strong as Touratech's. I am very happy with these.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great boxes! best deal

David in Utah

Comments On Nov 08, 2013:I am pretty excited about these. I always wondered why aluminum boxes cost so dang much! Finally tusk made some that are priced right! plus they come with the locks! mounted them on my klr and they look awesome. they seem to be very tough! very happy klr owner

Was this review helpful?