Tusk Aluminum Panniers with Pannier Racks

Customer Reviews for Tusk Aluminum Panniers with Pannier Racks

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 19 Reviews

Return to Tusk Aluminum Panniers with Pannier Racks Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Aluminum Panniers with Pannier Racks Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk panniers

joe in Ohio – Machine this part was bought for: 2015 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Aug 27, 2015:Just finished installing the large set of panniers it went pretty smoothly and they truly are a great valve for the money, at least a third of other panniers. It just took a little adjustment to be able to lock them into place ( one washer behind mounting bracket) But here is some very good advise take all the mounting nuts for the entire assembly ( especially the acorn nuts ) and replace them with nylock nuts so they won't come loose. I've read were people have lost parts from the nuts coming loose. Other than that there great .Happy trails.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Kit, Added Crash Protection for Me

Daniel in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Aug 19, 2015:I really tested the build quality on this kit earlier this year. I crashed my KLR off-road and in the sand, a tank-slapper developed at like 35mph. So we went down hard 'lowside' style, and when the tires dug into the sand the bike went back in the air and did a full 360 kinda sideways or like a barrel roll. I broke my collarbone; the bike was ok, ridable, the damage was mainly to the front subframe and fairings ect. In the rear, the cast piece that serves as the passenger grab handle and cargo rack support, and where these bags attach through, fractured in one place. I have completely disassembled the bike since, the rear subframe is as straight as from the the factory. And the subframe that comes with these panniers is slightly bent but will even out with some added spacers on one side I think. I dont know how TUSK is offering this kinda quality based on their prices I was skeptical initially. In using these panniers before crashing I really liked them, easy to mount too, looking forward to loads more miles from them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You will get what you pay for

Matthew in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Aug 08, 2015:After taking about four hours to install and upgrade the very shoddy cable tie/ attachment system, I feel confident that these boxes will do great for grocery grabbing. Would I trust them on an expedition? Not a chance. Basically you get a decent rack system that you can mount wolfman bags to, and some laughable tin cans that will certainly make you look like the big adventure rider as you ride around town with them. Watch the video. Then watch it again, and maybe one more time because the written directions are missing the entire blinker extension and stabilizer mount directions. If you are not handy, get ready to cry, swear, or both.
These do not take "minutes" to install, unless you call 160 minutes minutes. Get loctite on EVERY connection and do not think that the "anti theft knob" is an option. It is essential to ensure you do not lose your cans when really hitting the trail. Normally tusk does ok for entry level items, but the thought of having these things hauling my essential gear on something like a back country discovery route makes me break out in a cold sweat.
You have been warned.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not good not bad

jesse in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Aug 02, 2015:I had a good review written but the website lost it, so..
1. The locks sucks. Do the best you can to tighten and loctited all moving parts. 2. Racks mounted with ease. No b.s. 3. I centered my brackets on the bags and location on the bike is perfect. 4. I had to file the quick release pin hole to get the bag on after the bracket was mounted. 5. Wish there was a locking system for the pin. 6. All in all great bang for the buck

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Poor quality -- made in China

Christopher in WI

Comments On Jun 19, 2015:Boxes seem sturdy, rack required fitting, grinding, drilling and additional hardware. Locks fell apart after two weeks of riding, rear signal wiring harness called for splicing that wasn't necessary (very unhappy about that).... I'm a machinist and still had to struggle with the parts. Lids no longer lock. Made in China. I'm being generous and giving them two stars since they haven't fallen off the bike......yet. Good luck.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The Glock of panniers

John Cloutier in Oregon – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On May 20, 2015:Very happy with the quality of this product. The install is very strait forward. For my bike I had to add length to both turn signal wires. The full install took around 2.5 hours. The rack went on on very quickly . Turn signal relocation went just as expected and drilling the holes to add the brackets to he pannier boxes went without a hitch. The only hiccup I had was that the holes for the quick disconnect pin to remove the panniers if you want to take them off the bike was not drilled on the center of the bracket. Even with the supplied washers they were just enough off that the pins would not go through the hole ( They were both off by about 1/16 ") . 2 minutes and a drill bit corrected this problem. This rack and pannier system is the essence of KLR. It is stout , no frills and functional. The locking mechanisms are of reasonable quality and the lids have mounts you can us to tie down additional gear if needed. The panniers themselves have tons of room in them to hold stuff. If your looking for a solid set of hard cases on a budget buy these. They look good , They work well and they don't break the bank.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this setup

Terry Sylvester in Nevada – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Apr 25, 2015:Great boxes, seal well. The pannier racks bolted on perfectly and are really solid (I lift the back of my bike up by them regularly). The price is amazingly low for what you get! I mounted my a little lower than I would have liked to accommodate my bow case so the boxes will hit my feet if I get them underneath the boxes off road; mount them as high as you can if you ride off road a lot. Very pleased with them overall!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Buy

Johnny in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Mar 24, 2015:I bought these boxes in December and by April the lock had fallen out of one. however other then that they are a great box.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome bags

brandan in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Mar 15, 2015:These are great bags for the price, tons of storage and they look good too. Easy to install, I didn't cut the blinker wire and extend it like the directions said, I was able to pull the wire through and had about 1" extra. I would definitely recommend these to anyone looking for hard cases. These are the best bang for your buck out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent choice

Ryan in Oregon – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Feb 15, 2015:I searched and searched as was about to pull the trigger on those $1000 panniers but found these and have been extremely happy since

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Value

Craig in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Sep 20, 2014:I have taken these on a bunch of rough trips and they are still in great shape, the quality is first rate and the price is much lower than most panniers on the market. I would highly recommend these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Cheap as chips!

Rob in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Sep 16, 2014:Great racks, waterproof and fit well to the KLR650 with specific parts for same.
The nuts, well I'd suggest purchasing aftermarket nyloc nuts that will not vibrate loose over time and a little silicon doesnt go astray either with mounting the locks to the panniers.
Interesting they turned up quicker than ordering some bits elsewhere in Oz for another bike of mine.
Get some and save yourself a heap!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

start with left box!

Oliver in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Sep 10, 2014:if you mount the right side box first and set it tight to the blinker....you will have big problems with the left blinker!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Value

JOHN in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Aug 04, 2014:I ordered this set back in March and did not receive it until July but it was well worth the wait. Given the cost of this set, everything is well made and appears that it will be durable. One word of warning though, BE SURE to tighten any screw or nut that was pre-assembled as virtually everything was loose. I would highly recommend using thread lock on all of the parts as well. This includes the lock/latching mechanisms as I found the backing nuts and the screw that holds the rotating locking tab to all be loose.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Buy this now

Jo in Texas – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jul 09, 2014:I bought these paniers with very low expectations and was very surprised when I received them. I do not have them mounted at the time of this review but they seem to be a quality product. Aluminum is a little thinner than some other boxes but regardless these are great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Kyle in Missouri – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jan 22, 2014:Excellent materials, workmanship and instructions !! Superb job in developing an end to end product !! cheers !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tusk paniers

Joey in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 1988 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jan 07, 2014:I am very pleased with my purchase. This seems to be a very well thought out, quality product. I had an issue with the rear hoop section of the rack clearing my muffler. In my case I had to buy a new muffler, but I think the rather larger aftermarket unit I have is the issue. I called RMATVMC and the tech I spoke with said he'd seen it work with many aftermarket exhausts. Guess I just had the unlucky one. The kit itself is very nice, and fits like a glove. For the money, you can't beat it!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk panniers

Glenn in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jan 07, 2014:First up i would have given theses a better score had one of the corners of the pannier lids not been torn apart on the weld.
They were shipped to Australia and arrived well packed. I would recommend these to other buyers.Shipping time was absolutely fast compared to shipping from our East to West coast, 4 days to Oz with the usual messing around that takes place here, total 7 days
Thanks RMATV, look forward to purchasing again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

very nice set up

james in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:i just mounted these on my klr650. they went on easy and everything lined up nice. Boxes went on good too thanks to the instructions and video on the RM site. they look fantastic on my bike. very rugged and tough looking. very happy with my buy.

Was this review helpful?