Top Gun Rear Shock Spring

Customer Reviews for Top Gun Rear Shock Spring

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 9 Reviews

Return to Top Gun Rear Shock Spring Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Top Gun Rear Shock Spring Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Much improved

Jeff in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Jan 24, 2016:It's well known the KLR 650 suspension needs some help. Ordered the 8.0 kg spring and wow, what a difference. If your even thinking about getting one do it, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant quality

Scott in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Dec 07, 2015:Great quality spring, get the biggest for your weight from the start, ive now got all 3 sizes...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Spring Rate

Jason in Washington – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Nov 02, 2015:I purchased both the 6.6 and 8.0kg/mm springs, and proceeded set the sag on the KLR to be 33% of total travel or 3 inches(as recommended). I found that as a 160lb rider with no gear i achieved 2.5-2.75 inch of sag with the 8.0kg/mm sprig and the preload at a minimum. With that being said i see no reason to ever use the 6.6kg/mm spring. If your a very light rider perhaps the 7kg/mm spring would be better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Much better

Maria in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Sep 29, 2015:I installed the topgun 8.0 spring and what a huge difference it has made. I am 265 lbs and now it feels more stable off road.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid Product

Jon in Kansas

Comments On Aug 27, 2015:Definitely a good option if youre looking to improve the feel of the rear from stock... really like the feel combined with the consistency. For sure a worthwhile purchase!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT WELL WORTH THE MONEY.

ROBERT in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Aug 01, 2015:CHANGED THE STOCK SPRING BECAUSE HAD TOO MUCH SAG FROM ME BEING BIG GUY ,BOUGHT THE 8.0 KG AND THIS SPRING MADE A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE IN THE HANDLING AND THE LOOK OF BIKE WHEN SITTING ON IT,NOW NO LONGER HAVE TO SLOW DOWN FOR DIPS AND LOW WATER CROSSINGS ,THIS WITH FRONT SPRINGS REPLACEMENT HAS MADE THIS BIKE BETTER THAN NEW ,ENJOY RIDING IT AGAIN ,THANKS ROCKY MOUNTAIN .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What a difference.

craig in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Mar 08, 2015:A huge difference over the stock standard shock, particularly if you are 6ft tall and the bike is over 300 pounds with all the extra gear etc, etc. A totally different bike. A great product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent bang for the buck

Alex in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Mar 02, 2015:Stock KLR suspension is very soft but very balanced. Equal sag front and rear. But it's very mushy even when the bike is unladen. It might work for a 140 lb rider, but at 220lbs in gear + whatever luggage is on the back, it suffers.
I purchased the white spring (7.4kg/mm) to replace the stock (5.1kg/mm). I also recommend picking up a set of tusk spring compressors to do the job. It took me about 1.5 hours start to finish to replace the spring and get the bike on the ground.
Now with preload at 1 (minimum) it feels fantastic and gives me a lot of room to worth with for preload for a passenger or a lot of luggage.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great improvement

justin in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 1987 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:my stock shock would bottom out just looking at a rain rut on a dirt road - and it would hurt! i rebuilt the shock and put the 6.6 spring on and it was waaaaay better. I am pretty light but I pack up to 80lbs in my panniers and tail bag. the 6.6 worked well, but the 7.4 may even be better. Either way, a huge improvement over stock!! This is a must for KLR guys that actually take them adventure riding.

Was this review helpful?