Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Intermediate Terrain Tire

Customer Reviews for Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Intermediate Terrain Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 205 Reviews

Return to Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Intermediate Terrain Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert Intermediate Terrain Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Cross Desert

Mark in TN

Comments On Feb 09, 2015:These tires work great in the rocks not as good in muddy conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

mx52

matthew in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Feb 08, 2015:One of the best tires I have ever ran in the dirt and sand ,was quick and easy to order and way cheaper then anyone.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best tire made for desert

jeff in CA

Comments On Oct 06, 2014:Hands down the best tire made for the Rocky Sandy desert of so cal and Arizona. Many hard miles with very little tire wear. And the only tire to hold up to the torque of my xr650r without chunking or losing knobbies.

Additional Comments On Feb 01, 2015:Bought this for a honda xr650 that is only used on dirt in southern cal desert. Lots of rock and sand loose and hard packed. Glad to say tire has held up very well. Never any chunking at all. After a year of abuse its time for another and not hesitating at all to go with the maxxis desert IT again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Ryan in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA YZ426F

Comments On Jan 14, 2015:These tires performs great in the desert where I ride. They've worked everywhere I've taken them. They last a long time as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome

DUSTIN in WA

Comments On Jan 08, 2015:great tires hookup good for basically all terrains

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wears like iron.

Greg in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Dec 30, 2014:I ride these tires in theSoCal desert where getting knobs ripped off is commonplace. About 200 miles in, these tires barely look worn in. They grip nice, are stable and predictable. If and when they finally wear down, I'll be replacing them with the same.
Of Course, they are Maxxis tires, so they can be challenging to put on a wheel, lol. Luckily knuckle skin grown back!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Tire

Richard in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Dec 22, 2014:Replaced the OEM tire with this tire because of all the positive reviews both here on line and from friends who have them. They hold up well and give good traction in almost all conditions, best tire I have had so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Tire

Timothy in WA

Comments On Dec 16, 2014:Hooks up great in all conditions. Would have given it 5 stars but I haven't used it enough to know how well it will wear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Poor

THOMAS in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Dec 01, 2014:There is a reason why I haven't bought this Tire again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough but bad traction

Adam in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Nov 15, 2014:Could never get them to stick on hard pack. Tough tire with moderate chunking

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for tubliss and desert riding on the back

Donald in AZ

Comments On Nov 17, 2014:Shredded a MX51 quickly with chunks and knobs coming off riding woods and trails in the desert SW, Durango CO, and Moab. This one is wearing well, no chunks, running it on the rear at 8psi with the tubliss setup. Not one issue at all. Have not had it in mud, but suspect it would not do as well as a dedicated tire as the knob spacing is closer than even the intermediate MX51.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent tires...

Colin in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Nov 04, 2014:I expected a little better wear from all the other reviews - rounded off the knobs pretty well after two moderately aggressive rides. Tires hooked up well during that time though! Front is wearing spectacularly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great wearing tire

James in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Oct 26, 2014:with over 500 miles on this tire I have very minimal wear compared to similar tires from Dunlop and Michellin.
However lasting long on rocky singletrack and mud is not as awesome as it could be, this tire does pack up quickly due to the close blocking pattern and doesn't hook up quite as well as a M5B.
4 Stars for great all around tire with exceptional

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough to beat

Sean in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Oct 23, 2014:I beat the crap out of this thing in the desert and in a lot of rocks. It lasted a long time took a lot of abuse. I would recommend this tire!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great desert tire

Jason in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KTM 525 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Oct 18, 2014:I live in Phoenix AZ and this tire is perfect for the desert around here. good grip and very little wear after the 200 miles I've put on it. I'll definitely buy these again, and again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

wow what an awesome tire!!

michael in ME – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Oct 14, 2014:This tire is amazing for all different types of terrain. I b live in maone and the trials I ride go from extreamly rocky to all sand then to hard packed gravel with roots everywhere and this tire grabs in every section off the trails. Not only does it hook up but the thing last forever. You can hardly tell it's got 100+ hrs on it!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis dessert it

Jacob in California – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ426F

Comments On Oct 13, 2014:If you like riding in the desert this is by far the best tire I have ever ran and I would suggest it to everyone

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

TROY in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Sep 29, 2014:great traction, long lasting..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

What more could you want?

CAMERON in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Sep 28, 2014:This is by far the best tire for your buck. I ride in the Rocky Mountains mostly, and it's rocky. This tire that holds up the best. And Rocky Mountain does the best mounting job for cheap! Burned through too many pinched tubes, that cost me way more than Rocky had it done professionally! Thanks Rocky Mountain ATV/MC!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Tire

Peter in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Sep 21, 2014:We do a lot of single-track and technical desert riding and this tire hooks up great - wears well too. After years of trying all the major brands, this is my personal favorite.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best bet

Anthony in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Sep 20, 2014:I put a 120/100/18 love the bigger foot print more traction in the mountains

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

my first Maxxis

Zach in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Sep 17, 2014:This was my first Maxxis tire I have ever used. I am sold. The tire made me a better rider by getting me out of bad positions I put myself in. Did a national enduro and ot showed no signed of wear. Traction and tire life are the reasons for buying this tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

super tough

MIKE in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Sep 04, 2014:This is the only tire that I have used in the last couple of years. I put 45 hours on one tire. I am running the 120/90/19 which is a little on the fat side but when it comes to running in rocky desert terrain it really keeps from pinch flating a tube. Excellent traction.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire for your money

MATT in CA

Comments On Jul 21, 2014:hooks up and lasts a long time

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did not like in the sand

Jimmie C in SC – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 525 XC-W

Comments On Jul 17, 2014:Switched to the S12. Not good for my riding style and sandy conditions.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre

Kyle in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jun 14, 2014:Bought the tire for my NV desert riding after reading the hype about this tire. The tire wears like iron which is nice, but it doesn't do any 1 or 2 things well it just kind of does everything fair.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best offroad tire ever!

Matthew in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jun 12, 2014:Guys riding mx tracks might disagree, but for anyone that rides deserts, mountains or anywhere that's not groomed for you this is the tire. Hooks up good on hard pack and rocks, but doesn't suck in sand either. If you don't like riding on flats this tire is the bomb, almost indestructible. And it lasts forever. My son had one on his 250 2 stroke and went 2 seasons of hard riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Dustin in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 06, 2014:Used for black diamond trails. Hook up was great on rocky terrain!! It will move some earth if you get stuck on a steep hill with silt/small gravel, but the bike was able to pull herself up with these fresh tires. Tire wasn't too bad to install and I also used an Ultra Heavy Duty Tube. The wear seems decent, with no chunks. Although, after two hours of riding, there are some small slices in the middle knobs, but these tires have a reputation for lasting (we will see). 110/90/19 looks a little smaller than the Dunlop MX51. Fun tire overall at a great price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good tire in rocky conditions

Ryan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On May 16, 2014:There isn't a better tire that won't chip away on rocky/shale type conditions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional

JUSTIN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF230F

Comments On Apr 18, 2014:The tires changed the way the bike handled on every type of terrain. Excellent on slickrock and sand. Helped me get my 230 through 5MOH.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2013 crf450r

jeremy in ID

Comments On Apr 14, 2014:Great tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Big tire.. near tractor like proportions...

Jeffrey in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:superior grip and tread life.. but its big especially the 120/90/19 on my Katoom...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire with the tubliss system

David in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:I am running these tires with The tubliss system front and rear, I am running about 4psi in the rear and the tire hooks up great. So far I am very please with their overall performance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire for the desert

jim in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Apr 03, 2014:love the tire, kind of a pain to mount.....

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Durability

Jay in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HUSQVARNA WR 360

Comments On Mar 26, 2014:Ride hard pack and rock 70% of the time and sometimes loam and this rear tyre still finds good to very good grip, although they aren't too good in muddy and slimy conditions like hard clay (what does?!). The strength is their durability with a fairly stiff carcass, you can run these tyres as low as 5psi without fear of puncturing and last for ages.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best knobby trail tire

Doug in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Mar 11, 2014:I ride from sand, to hard pack to rocks and this tire has held up the best and has really good feel. Its my go-to tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Maxx Cross Desert

DUSTY in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:LOVE these tires, they wear like iron!!! We ride in desert terrain where it goes from sand, to rock, to muddy stream beds, to hard pack dirt, constantly and this tires works the best compared to others that have been put up to the test. Very versatile tire. And the price is more than fair.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Desert Tire

Kolby in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:Hands down the best desert tire out there that I have rode. Great hook up, reliable, durable. If your looking for a good desert tire that can take a beating the Maxxis desert is the way to go.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great tire

Shawn in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 27, 2014:I ran my first Maxxis Desert IT 4 years ago when I moved to Colorado and I have never looked back. It holds up well in the rocky terrain out here and doesn't lose complete knobs like other tires. I go through 1 a year but I'd say thats pretty good for riding a 450 over jagged rocks all season. Also, I've always liked the look of the yellow MAXXIS logo on the sidewall.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sweet tire

Brian in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 23, 2014:Awesome tire. Not the best in really sloppy conditions, but it still hooks up well and is VERY durable and long lasting. My go to rear tire for all my trail riding in northern Idaho.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Some of my favorite tires.

ALAN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:Wear well on mixed terrain, with these tires you can run lower pressure than some other tires out there, and still not get pinch flats. Good value !

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Toby in MB – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jan 16, 2014:Love this tire. No flats. Holds up well anywhere.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing for AZ desert!

Ryan in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:My riding style is fire roads and open desert trail riding, very agressive. I have used the D606 before this tire and it never hooked up very well. This tire is much better in the desert. I got about 1000 miles out of it, but probably 200-250 were on the paved road which worn it down Very fast. I would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maxxis Desert IT Tires

Landon in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KTM 380 EXC

Comments On Jan 02, 2014:Living in the Western CO desert we experience harsh sharp rock, sand, loamy dirt (after a rain) and baked burned hardpack soil. Its brutal on tires. Knobs on most tires fly off after only a few rides. The Maxxis desert IT is our GO TO tire for these conditions. Really long lasting, no knob shedding until the tire is completely worn out, and they'll give you great confidence on sharp edges due to the strong sidewall. I got a full year's use out of them riding them almost every weekend. (A class racer, but mostly a weekend warrior these days)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This is THE rear tire for trails

braden in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:For the trails I ride (rocky singletrack, slickrock, some sand, some soft single track) this is by far the strongest and most durable tire I have found. Way less flats, longer time between changes, etc. Won't buy any other rear. The front is okay too. A royal pain to put on though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

all terrain tire

DAN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 250 XC

Comments On Dec 26, 2013:Good tire. We use these on several bikes for varied terrain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bulletproof tires

Patrick in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA XR400R

Comments On Dec 14, 2013:Best tires I've had. fantastic traction in mud, sand,rocks, and long wearing too. wish these were DOT approved for highway use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Douglas in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Nov 24, 2013:Long lasting tire. It a little bit hard to spoon on so you'll want to set it in front of a halogen light for a few minutes to soften it up. Stiff sidewall helps prevent pinch flats. Wish it were a little softer when I end up in sand washes but great for rocky trails.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good dirt traction, ok on hard rocky terrain

Christopher in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Oct 23, 2013:This tire is great/good in dirt, & ok/good on rocky terrain. After one ride, typical wear. No knobs removed by rocks yet.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

5 stars!

Kalen in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Oct 15, 2013:I ride a DRZ 400S which has basically been converted into a dirtbike. These tires made all the difference (along with the suspension). Only tires i will buy for desert riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

grip

David in SA

Comments On Oct 02, 2013:in a straight line they grip well and also they last a long time , but they do break loose around corners and don't hold as well as other brands like 404, S12 and starcoss, good for the dessert straight i guess, i wont but again, but not a crap tire just average.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!

Wes in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On Sep 29, 2013:Like all other reviews given, this is a great tire. I have over 600 miles of rocky, nasty terrain on this tire. The MX tire that came on my bike only lasted 450 miles! It really has held up great considering I'm not nice to my tires. Judging by the wear, I should be able to get an easy 1000 miles out of this tire. Combined with a heavy duty inner tube, this is a trusted combo for extreme hard use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire for the Money

Cody in WY

Comments On Mar 07, 2012:This tire is AWESOME!! Difficult to put on, but eats up any terrain you can throw at it. I am hooked.

Additional Comments On Sep 03, 2013:Update----3 Tires down and still a big fan of the Maxxis IT Desert tire. It is a little stiff for sloppy/rooty conditions, but overall a great tire. If you ride desert mostly nad mountains occasionaly it is a great all around tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

super hard sidewall

JAY in CA

Comments On Jul 30, 2013:tough to put on but worth it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Durable Tire

Matthew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jul 10, 2013:This tire seems to last the longest out of any that I have tried. I ride very harsh terrain with lots of rocks and it with-stands a pretty good beating.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love maxxix

DAVE in CA

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:love these tires always a plus in the socal rocky moon dez

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Trail Tire

Michael in SD – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Jun 12, 2013:I use this tire for riding gravel roads to single track in the Black Hills. Provides superior traction and has great wear! I plan on buying this same tire when it needs to be replaced. Great value!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up and lasts

Fred in CO

Comments On Jun 10, 2013:This rear tire hooks up in and and rock and grips on slick rock. Very long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Jean-Luc in ON – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Jun 08, 2013:I've ridden with this tire for 1 season now and it's held up great. I ride mostly hard pack with lots of rocks, and some sand and mud. This tire hooks up great and wears very well. I will buy this tire again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent tire for trail riding or MX

Ryan in Pennsylvania – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jun 06, 2013:I've been using this tire for years. I race and ride a lot of trails. I ride every single weekend and never got a flat. If u ride in the coal region where I do there are a lot of sharpe rocks and that's we're this tires excels. Excellent straight line traction and very good turning capabilities. Highly recommend this tire

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great on all conditions

TYLER in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On May 13, 2013:I hill climb and drag race on many different surfaces and with this tire im never having to worry about if im hooking up or not its grabs a bite and digs

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Lasting

andrew in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CR250R

Comments On May 02, 2013:I ride on track and hard rocky trail terrain and hold up well without breaking knobs

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

These tires are hit or miss

Daniel in AZ

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:Ive gotten good ones and bad ones. I have moved on to another brand because I cant trust that Im not going to get a tire thats not going to lose all the lugs on the first ride.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Will never buy any other tire

Keith in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Apr 28, 2013:Great tire, great price, great traction, excellent life. I live in a desert environment with quite a bit of soft sand but there is also a lot of hard pack with rocks everywhere this seems to be the only tire that can stand up to this environment, it also does great on the track. I bought by first one 3 years ago and will never buy any other tire as long as I live in the desert.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great Dez tire

DOUG in NV

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:Lasts,strong,tough !!! this tire has worked for me .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't go wrong

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:Used this tire in desert and in trees. Awesome tire

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

WEARS LIKE IRON!

Ben in UT

Comments On Mar 26, 2013:If you want a tire that can take abuse in rocky gnarly terrain then this is the tire! I only run maxxis tires on my utv and dirt bike! you will love them very good tires!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Corey in UT

Comments On Mar 14, 2013:This tire has lasted through a couple of races with no issues. Still Looks new.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire

chase in ME

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:great tires, its cheap and last a long time and the lugs dont come off in chuncks like the past few tires ive bought

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

maxxis

SCOTT in NV

Comments On Mar 01, 2013:great tire. hooks up well in variety of conditions. long lasting.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good for the desert

DANNY in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:this tire with a bridgestone heavy duty tube is the best combo. it lasts me about 3 to 4 100 mile desert scrambles with practices in between.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Desert IT Front and Rear

Brian in KY – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Mar 02, 2013:Have ran Desert IT's since 2006, awesome rear tire, I tend to like the 110 and 120 19" knob size better han the 120 18" that i have to run since i swapped to a 450x rear wheel. The 18" seems to wear faster because the knobs are a bit spikier than the 19". Never had a problem with traction with either size though. It's been my experience you have to give up alittle traction to get longevity with tires, as is the case with these. The front tire hooks up great, but there is a downside, they tend to shed side knobs with age, especially in the rocks! Still the rear is a good long lasting tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Long lasting

Kristian in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:This a great tire, it seemed to last forever. Most of my riding is done in the rocky mountains WY, MT, UT. Good traction.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Tires

Geoff in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Feb 04, 2013:Great traction and good tread wear. Hooks up in the North Eastern California High Desert area on dirt, sand, rocks, and occasional mud. Definitely recomend these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best tire ever

Edwin in CA

Comments On Dec 27, 2012:this tire is easy to change hooks up well good life

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pretty good long lasting tire.

darin in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Dec 26, 2012:I like these only in the rear configuration. The front is no good. This tire lasts a really long time but is less predictable than the similar Dunlop D952 witch is my favorite. As far as this tire goes I also like how the bead sticks out and protects the rim from rock damage. All things considered I would say the Dunlop is less expensive and much better in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best for the West

Randy in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Dec 20, 2012:This Maxxis tire has all of the qualities needed for running in the desert Southwest. The durable sidewall really helps elliminate pinching. The rubber compound is perfect for the loose sand and hard rocks. No chunking either. I run at 15 lbs, for higher speeds and greater resistance to flats. I have used many other brands and types. This is the best for the West. It lasts a long time, performs consistently in the heat (even at 115)and runs well in deep sand. There is no way any other tire can compare to the Desert IT out in the open desert.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great tire

steve in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 14, 2012:great tire works great in all conditions last better than anything i have ran

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough tire

George in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 13, 2012:Hard to find a rear tire that will hold up in this part of Nevada. So far the Maxxis is doing well. Haven't ripped off any of the knobs and traction is great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellent

JAMES in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:i went through 8 of these rears one year. loved them

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best tire for 450

Robert in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Dec 04, 2012:I am now on my fourth or fifth Desert IT and will not use another rear tire. I ride desert and woods, great hook up on all terrain. I run it at 10 psi because it has such a huge sidewall but it can eat up the rear mud flap!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent for so cal desert and mountains

Allen in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Nov 23, 2012:This tire wears better than any other tire I have used. Excellent traction if you don't over inflate. 13 max seems to be about perfect, traction really goes downhill at higher PSI's. I sometimes run the front at 14 psi if I am worried about flats.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Double the tire life.

Andy in ID

Comments On Oct 31, 2012:I went threw 5 tires on my 450 before switching to this tire. Rear will last twice as long. Front will sometimes rip the side lugs off. One of the only brands in a 120/90x19 for the motocross bikes that want the benefits that a 18" wheel brings to protect from pinch flats.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

quality and perfomance tire

NATE in CA

Comments On Sep 20, 2012:Best all round tire I have seen. Rubber lasts and really grips nice in all terrains. Have it on two 450s.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My go-to tire

Brian in AZ

Comments On Sep 16, 2012:I ride 70% desert both in AZ and Baja and 30% woods single track. This tire lasts! Can make an entire AMRA race season on 2 tires. Harder to put on but you can pretty much ride it flat if it ever does lose air but hasn't happened much.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire

Marc in UT

Comments On Aug 24, 2012:This tire gets decent traction in a wide variety of conditions and it holds up really well! Best bang for the buck for a tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great rear tire

jesse in NV

Comments On Aug 14, 2012:great tread pattern and wear time. doesnt throw knobs off the tire in the rocks and great traction ever where.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

so far so good

Chris in CA

Comments On Jul 20, 2012:Love this tire, grips good will buy again, and it look great on the bike if you care about that.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Value

MARK in AZ

Comments On Jun 27, 2012:I have been running these tires for years now. They will chunk if run with low air pressures but really hook up when fresh. They make a humm noise on fast fire roads. I have run many different brands and because of cost and performance prefer these tires over the top brands.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sturdy tire

DANIEL in UT

Comments On Jun 18, 2012:This tire held up better on my CR500 than any other tire i've ever had, in rocky terrain! Didn't chunk off

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

:D

Kyle in UT

Comments On Jun 02, 2012:Best tire for desert racing or just messing around in the hills hands down... this tire will just eat up anything you throw at it!! ive had this tire on for at least 6 months and it still is ripping stuff up better then some other brand new tires!! i would recomend this tire to anyone who wants a great tire that holds up amazingly!! it is extemely stiff so its a little tuff to get mounted on the rim, but its well worth it. Thanks RM!! :)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great traction

PAUL in CA

Comments On May 21, 2012:Second set wear is excelent will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up

Josh in WA

Comments On May 02, 2012:I ride in loose dirt / sand, and this tire really hooks up. Replaced my stock tire after almost a year of use, and this new one really grabs. Almost like a whole new bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire!

Bryant in CA

Comments On Apr 20, 2012:These work great on my 250X, very slow wear but I am also very easy on the throttle. Good grip too. Very resistant to tearing lugs off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tuff tire

KEVIN in IL

Comments On Apr 23, 2012:Purchased as a rear for XR400. Mostly ride hard packed and rocks. Wear is normal. Would be to strong of tire IMO for a front

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2010 yz450f

david in UT

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:freaking love this tire hooks up everywhere where i ride. definitely will be getting another one when this one is wore.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire!

ROBERT in NV

Comments On Apr 02, 2012:Installed on a 04 WR450 and ride in North Western NV. Tire holds up well and has great traction across many different terrains. Would recommend to friend (and have) and would purchase again (and did).

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Holds up well in the Rocky Mountains

TIM in WA

Comments On Mar 26, 2012:Pretty tough tire. It held up well riding the various terrain in Utah. Good tire for the $.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire

keaton in CO

Comments On Mar 25, 2012:I live in the four corners area and the soil here is really hard, dry and rocky and this tire is great for here it hooks up realy good and is great in corners on my cr125. Normaly i just get a sedona because there cheap and they are complete guarbage, i have only had a few rides on this maxxis and so far its holding up great and hasnt chunked at all!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Copeland in OK

Comments On Mar 20, 2012:This tire is the best tire i have ever put on my bike. It is extremely tuff and long lasting. Guys i have road with have been using these for years. It is the best trail tire out there.

Was this review helpful?