Armadillo Swing Arm Guard

Customer Reviews for Armadillo Swing Arm Guard

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 329 Reviews

Return to Armadillo Swing Arm Guard Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Armadillo Swing Arm Guard Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Swing arm skid plate

Kendall in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Apr 22, 2016:Very strong. Lives up to the name.!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Guard.

Robert in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 HONDA TRX 400X

Comments On Mar 22, 2016:Does it's intended purpose and easily installed.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesnt get any better!

MIKE in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Mar 22, 2016:Another product carried by RM that is cheap and well worth the investment. looks great and had zero issues installing. this will help protect all the expensive components that would ususally take a beating out back!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bolted right up

Jacob in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Mar 13, 2016:This is way more sturdy than the stock one, but you will be adding weight very heavy. When you want more durability your gonna have to sacrifice added weight. Was recommended by a friend and am happy with purchase wont dent and bend as easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Product

Brock in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Mar 08, 2016:Perfect fit and works perfect. Exactly what i was expecting and fast shipping

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid product, well built

Albert in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On Mar 02, 2016:Install was easy and has held up well over several hard weeks of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't look anything like the picture

Matthew in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Feb 08, 2016:Doesn't look anything like the picture only covers the rotor and sprocket seems to hang way to low to the ground. It definitely was well built just not what I wanted. I returned it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Protection must have.

David in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Jan 13, 2016:I really like the quality of this guard, install was easy, holes lined up perfect. Overall very happy looks sharp!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice and thick with a good fit

steve in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Jan 11, 2016:good product

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

strong very good quality

vanessa in QC – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jan 07, 2016:very nice product strong bullet proof !! best swing arm guard ever !! no problems to fit !!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Guard

Dannie in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 1987 HONDA TRX 250R FOURTRAX

Comments On Dec 30, 2015:Works great , little difficult to install

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Armadillo swing arm skid plate

Ryan in MO

Comments On Dec 23, 2015:Great and tough product would buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Thick

Sheila in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Dec 01, 2015:-----Pro's Thick sturdy plate. Quality for price point. Is what it says it is. Has a rubber guard when chain where the chain hits the plate. -----Con's Shakes off with heavy riding (I just put some lock tight on it, hopefully that works). Thick-so yes you lose some clearance, but I ride XC so its worth it to me. Sits Close to chain/runs (I added a few washers in between the plate and my atv to give a little more clearance for my chain).
----You can buy individual sprocket guards and chain guards so that you don't loose as much clearance BUT the price tag adds up. So you have to weigh whats more important to you.
----This is the best swingarm "skid plate" that you are going to find in the 100-200 range. Beyond that you might as well get sprocket and chain guards by themselves.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy install

Richard in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Nov 26, 2015:Went on perfectly and has bounced off of so many rocks. Tough and never will need replacement.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

brandon in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 ARCTIC CAT DVX 400

Comments On Nov 17, 2015:A little on the heavy side compared to OEM. But that's to be expected when upgrading to a quality durable skid plate like this. Bolts right up, the deeper chain area is what exactly what I was looking for after upgrading rear sprocket to a 42t. Recommend 100%

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bullet Proof

Dan in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Oct 12, 2015:Save your Chain, Sprocket and Brakes. Tough and Durable

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seems sturdy

Leonard in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Oct 05, 2015:Fit really good and holding up to the rough riding I do.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

better than pro armor

Blaine in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Sep 29, 2015:Brought to replace a beat up pro armor guard. fit great and more protection

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

its just that.... armadillo

Jeffery in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Sep 30, 2015:I didn't put 2 and 2 together at first, but once this bad boy arrived in the mail I knew whats up... this thing is like the armor on a abrams tank.... super thick and a great fit. If you trail ride in rocky areas this beast is perfect!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Strong

nick in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Sep 23, 2015:Really strong. No problems with it at all

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Derrick in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Jul 30, 2015:It is a great product for the money. I have some rides on it and its holding up well!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid

Zackery in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Jul 20, 2015:Nice plate. Fitment was good. No alterations needed. Would buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Protects swingarm and linkage.

clifford in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Jul 05, 2015:I tore the skid plate off my shock linkage and tore it up. I needed some good protection for it and my sprocket/brake rotor. This skidplate does both. Bolts up easily and is tough.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice gaurd

TRAVIS in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Jun 22, 2015:Nice guard. Thick aluminum takes hits well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

its a beast

paul in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 1998 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Jun 01, 2015:swing arm guard is a beast. I couldn't imagine ever being able to bend it, it looks incredible and does a great job protecting sprocket and rotor. had to rotary file a few holes to make it fit, no big deal

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great skid plate

Jordan in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On May 06, 2015:Best skid plate I have purchased to date. Never gave me any issues and I put it through tons of abuse. Armadillo is definitely the way to go.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Though and great price!!!

Jacobo in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:So far I have not taken it on any rough terrain but will update on that later. In comparison to other swing arms, you can tell it can take a beating. the only difference is that it does not have a chain guard and the welds are not that impressive, there are two sections that are not welded. I did take it for a dune ride after the install and had no problems with the chain.

Additional Comments On Apr 17, 2015:04/17/2015
All I can say that after riding around where I live, this guard has taken a pretty good beating and it is still on one piece. No problems with the chain and no problems regarding the welds. Great guard overall.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Mike in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Mar 31, 2015:fit was great and it holds up very well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TOUGH

Mason in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Apr 01, 2015:This thing is tough. Does a great job on these Tennessee hills and rocks

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks tough

Christopher in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Mar 14, 2015:Only four stars because it fits snugly against one of the chain tension bolts. Think it will be fine though time will tell. Looks really rugged.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Looking But Design could be better

Clayton in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Mar 10, 2015:The skid plate is mounted in the front near the linkage with two long bolts a two spacers. I haven't had it happen but I worry about a rock hitting the bolts and cracking the stock cast aluminum swing arm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best

Jaime in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Mar 09, 2015:The best protect your atv

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great fit, easy install

Bret in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Mar 02, 2015:The skid plate fit perfectly and the install took less than 10 minutes. It held up well on a few rocks and tree limbs.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

Jeremy in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700R

Comments On Feb 07, 2015:This swing arm guard looks good and seems as though it will do the job. the fitment is excellent and installation was simple enough. you can't beat the added protection it offers.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Arthur in wa

Arthur in WA

Comments On Feb 08, 2015:I have bought the skid plate for the frame and was happy. This swingarm skid plate is awesome to. Its nice and thick and didnt bend up where the rotor and sprocket are when hitting rocks and tree roots. It did take more effort to put on because I had to loosen the rotor.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

TROY in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jan 21, 2015:fit was perfect and seems to be very heavy duty.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

ROBERT in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jan 11, 2015:I bought this skid plate for my Raptor 700, and it works very well in the east Tenn hills. We ride over rocks very often and this skid does what its supposed to do. Great quality and great price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Fit

Sam in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Jan 10, 2015:Excellent product! It has a great fit with good clearance from the chain and brake disk, and with the optional spacer added (included) its even better on clearance.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

beefy

DUSTIN in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Jan 08, 2015:good quality, very tough looking, im a stickler though and the welds look like bird poop. but will serve its purpose.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very strong

Jody in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA TRX 400X

Comments On Dec 21, 2014:I love the looks and it is extremely strong... Love it..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product, fits well

PRESTON in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Oct 22, 2014:Second guard I've purchased. they are well made, hold up to a lot of abuse, fits well in place of original guard.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great parts

Heather in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Sep 05, 2014:We have had the best quality from Rocky Mountain and will continue all my Atv purchases through them!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

450

CHARMAYNE in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Aug 08, 2014:its holding up so far here in the az desert

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

mounting issues

Clifford in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 KAWASAKI KFX 400

Comments On Jul 13, 2014:I purchased this swing arm guard based on good reviews, but upon trying to fit it to the swing arm, all 4 mounting holes did not line up properly. I had to drill out the holes to make them line up with the swingarm. Also, the mounting bolts that were included, were standard size threads, and not metric. I haven't field tested the guard yet, so I cannot speak for durability yet. It looks like it will withstand some abuse though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fits Great and Very Durable

James in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700R

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:I purchased this to replace the stock swing arm skid as it was already destroyed after 4 rides. I chose this over the Pro-Armor plate as a review on this site stated it had increased ground clearance. I am very happy with this purchase as it mounted perfectly and did have slightly better than stock ground clearance. It is built to last as well and I believe I wont have to upgrade again for a long while. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to upgrade their Raptor 700R stock swing arm skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid

Michael in WI – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On May 24, 2014:Had to do a little modifying to make work on my quad because of the lowering kit and slit was to narrow but otherwise looks good and does the job!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great protection but....

TYLER in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On May 21, 2014:Ordered this skid plate 3 months ago and it does the job well but I had to cut a notch out of the skid plate for one of the 4 swingarm bolts that go through the carrier. Other than that 5 stars.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

takes a beating

THOMAS in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On May 21, 2014:It has taken a beating in the rocky area that I ride and is still holding strong

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid protection

Denzil in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On May 04, 2014:After busting the factory plastic guard I definitely wanted solid protection and after research I decided to go with the Armadillo guard and I am completely satisfied

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bullet proof with lots of ground clearence!

JENNIFER in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Apr 27, 2014:Bought this after our old one got torn off during a desert race. Tons of ground clearance and takes a real beating! The best we have ever used!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Swing Arm Plate

Casey in TX

Comments On Mar 27, 2014:Have this on my 08 Raptor 700R, can't say enough good things about this plate. It has a perfect fit, very thick, and the aluminum seems to be a perfect balance between hard and soft so it doesn't crack or bend to easy. Something that I really like about this plate was that that the chain guard is long and the wear strip is just as long, not a shorty like some of the others where something could catch the front of the guard easier. This being said, one thing I would have like to have seen was the square corners cut at a 45 degree angle on the front. I can easily do it myself. The squareness seems like it would be prone to catch though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great skid plate

Jeff in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Mar 03, 2014:Perfect fitment, No instructions for install but none needed. Looks very stout and im sure it will hold up well. Reuses stock hardware. I put some low strength lock tight just to be safe. Extremely happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Rodney in AR – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Feb 14, 2014:Armadillo makes an excellent product, you can trust it to protect your machine!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Matt in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:It does a great job of protecting the swingarm, without it my swingarm would be in horrible shape

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate

THAD in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:This skid plate bolted right up and is very tough. Would buy again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

what a beast

dale in West Virginia – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Dec 08, 2013:It did take me a bit longer then expected to install this but once it was on all I can say is awesome. I bought my atv used a few months ago and ive been putting money into it so it will last for years and rocky mountain has been grate. You cant beat their prices and so far my orders have arived earlier then expected. A big shout out to rocky mountain you have all my business.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

super tough

Scott in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:by far the best out there I ride alot of trails with big rocks and stumps, works above all of my expectations!!! will be sticking with armadillo products!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for the price.

Jacobo in AZ

Comments On Nov 19, 2013:So far I have not taken it on any rough terrain but will update on that later. In comparison to other swing arms, you can tell it can take a beating. the only difference is that it does not have a chain guard and the welds are not that impressive, there are two sections that are not welded. I did take it for a dune ride after the install and had no problems with the chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid!

Joel in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Nov 16, 2013:This thing is a beast. Solid as a rock. Took me 10 minutes to stand up my z400 and get this installed. Now it takes huge hits and stands up to anything. Great piece of mind. And as always Rocky Mountain ATV was fantastic start to finish!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice and beefy

MICHAEL in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Oct 11, 2013:I like this one the best for the price...its nice and beefy for the least amount. lots of rocks here in AZ...so it does the job.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice and beefy

MICHAEL in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Oct 11, 2013:I like this one the best for the price...its nice and beefy for the least amount. lots of rocks here in AZ...so it does the job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did not come with bolts

Brendan in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Sep 23, 2013:Good skid plate, but disappointed it did not come with bolts or nuts to mount. It came with just 2 washers that fit between the rear end of the skid plate and swingarm to fill in the gap. TECH NOTE: WE CONTACTED ARMADILLO, THIS PLATE REQUIRES THE USE OF THE STOCK HARDWARE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product, Great price!!

Steve in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:Fit as it should. Was cake to install and came with the required bolts and washers. They could have put about 6 more inches of weld on the part as it looks like they just stopped before it was complete, I guess time will tell if that makes a difference. All and all it seems to be well made, the thickness of the material was thicker than I expected for the price which is a good thing and as usual RMATV shipped it fast and for free. Provided this thing holds up for 20 hours or so of riding I will buy more Armadillo.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Armadillo Swing Arm Guard

Jim in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA TRX 400X

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:This thing has taking a beating and is still great shape.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Taking big hits and still in one piece

Evan in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:Installed this on my wife's YFZ for some trail protection. She has beat the snot out of his thing and its still going.
Would recommend and buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Full skid Plate

CHRIS in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 1999 YAMAHA WARRIOR 350

Comments On Aug 18, 2013:its a very good thing to have a full skid plate on any atv so the it will protect your engine from and damage on rough terrain
I highly recommend this this skid plate its a wise choice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great plates

William in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Aug 03, 2013:These plates are worth there weight in gold. I have had them for about 5 months now and they have taken some abuse, landed on huge rocks slid on logs and even hit a jump and slightly bottomed out and they have barley gotten scratched! Also make sure to Loctite some of the bolts in, never hurts. Would buy again and again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Richard in QC – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Aug 02, 2013:Very good quality and fit perfecly on the machine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Built Like a Brick

Kyle in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jul 17, 2013:Not really concerned with how it looks like a lot of people seem to be. It's a skid plate, it's meant to be bashed off of rocks so pretty doesn't really cut it

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Justin in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Jul 02, 2013:This guard has taken some pretty hits and holds up really nice. Make sure you put lock tight on the bolts. I almost lost mine on a trail. Would recommend to anybody.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent product

John in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA RAPTOR 660

Comments On Jul 01, 2013:Pros: ¬ Thick where it needs to be ¬ Chain runner included ¬ Looks nice ¬ Still gives good clearance ¬ Good pricing
Cons: ¬ Had to ream one of the holes to line up perfectly.
Overall: 4/5, would buy from Armadillo again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perfect!

Blake in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jun 24, 2013:Great skid plate! fits and looks great! reccomend to everyone!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was good while it lasted!!

DEVON in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Jun 16, 2013:So I ordered my skid plate last Monday and received it Thursday which I was very impressed with. Installation was very straight forward and easy also. After about 30 minutes of riding with the new skid plate I stopped and checked all the bolts to make sure they were tight still. Later that afternoon somewhere, somehow it had managed to rattle loose and fall off. Needs some modifications to secure to ATV better, otherwise a good product

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A must have for any extreme trails

Kyla in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:Best money I ever spent. Bolted right up in less then 20 minutes. Took my quad down trails with huge rocks and stumps. Couldn't be happier with this product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

don't looking for style, but quality

JEROME in QC

Comments On May 17, 2013:I bought this skid for my kfx440 for xc racing, after loosing my brand new Pro Armor in a race, due to vibration (without putting lock tight, my mistake) Just got this one, and looks as strong as pro armor. Ground clearance under rotor and sprcket are nearly the same, but this one will give about 1/2 to 3/4 inch better clearance between, by the way it is made. So for racing, when every MM counts, I would go with this one. Yes it is heavy, but Pro Armor as well. BUT, if you want great look, perfect precision and super well made skid, pro armor is yours. In my case, I did really care, since it is under the bike, but I do understand people who love their bike, like their girlfriend :) both are super great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Buy

KEVIN in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 1988 SUZUKI LT250R QUADRACER

Comments On May 13, 2013:Bolted on easy and provided great protection from big rocks, super thick!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Skid Plate

Rulon in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA BANSHEE 350

Comments On May 10, 2013:A little heavy for the Banshee but would rather have the protection. Very tough and works great with larger sprockets.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

strong but not the best fit

stefan in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA BANSHEE 350

Comments On May 07, 2013:the guard is very thick and light weight. gives great protection however fitment was a little tight and didnt bolt on as easily as i would have liked

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Harder then rock

joshua in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On May 09, 2013:One is all you'll ever need!! Fast and easy swap.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Takes a beating

matt in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On May 01, 2013:bolts up perfect only took a few min to install fits perfect high quality rode all the trails at Majestic in pa had rocks hammering the rear end and not so much as a scratch. great buy for the money

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Jeremy in OH

Comments On Apr 22, 2013:No more broken chains

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect customer service

Austin in UT

Comments On Apr 12, 2013:I just bought this rear swingarm skid plate. When I tried to install it yesterday, it wasn't fitting. I tried to tighten it down, but it was hitting against my (stock size) rear sprocket. I called Armadillo's customer service to figure out what to do. Without talking to any computers, I got straight through to Brian.
Instead of just telling me to return it (which I expected), he actually talked to the other guys to get some ideas. They told me they would return it or ship me some spacers if I wanted, but thought I may want to check that the axle cam (used to tighten the chain) was in the right orientation.
Sure enough, I went and checked, and the cam was the wrong way, making the sprocket drop 1/2" instead of raise 1/2". I corrected the orientation, which raised the sprocket enough that the skid plate fits perfectly.
I just wanted to praise their friendliness and excellent customer service. If I decide to go with front swingarm covers as well, it will definitely be Armadillo. Just an excellent experience overall.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Sturdy

Keith in Arizona

Comments On Apr 10, 2013:Pretty beeffy skid plate, definitely sturdy. Although I got the skid plate without mounting bolts? No big deal for me since I have plenty of hardware in my garage. Just think it should be supplied with new mounting bolts. Also, whoever welded this piece did an OK job, not great, kinda snotty, and missed one of the welds.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!

CHRIS in NJ

Comments On Apr 05, 2013:Armadillo is the absolute best swingarm skid plate available

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Zachary in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Mar 13, 2013:It worked really well until the stock bolts blasted off. Just wish it would have came with grade 8 bolts and nuts to keep it on there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

Jason in CT

Comments On Feb 01, 2013:I had to cut this guard to get it to fit my 99 warrior. The welds and metal finish edges were a bit rough in my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Looks beefy, but not like Stock

Brandon in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Feb 17, 2013:Haven't put this on yet. I bought this because my factory one bent up into the rotor after smacking a rock. I placed it under the swing arm to see how it would do, and noticed it doesn't reach all the way up the chain like my stock one. This bothered me, but not as bad as paying almost twice as much for the factory replacement. So I compromised, I bent the plastic/metal skid plate back, replaced the brake rotor (and pads), and went on my merry way trying to avoid rocks. I'm saving it for when I -really- need one, and I'll tune back in and let you know when I do. Other than not using it, it looks beef and well constructed (chain glide comes attached), I just wish they put a little more thought into it to get it closer to what the stock one covers.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great product

carol in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 HONDA TRX 400X

Comments On Feb 09, 2013:im using bolted right up no problems took it on couple good hard rides we have some nasty rocks that pop out after good heavy rains and 4x4 jeeps n trucks rutting paths out didnt even tweak it highly reconmened

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent buy

Daniel in QLD – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jan 31, 2013:2 minute install, takes a bashing 10/10

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great swing skid

Mark in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:I ride in the forest and logging trails of WA, where there are stumps and rocks reaching out to grab your quad everywhere. When I got my quad the stock plastic skid had chunks missing and had obviously seen better days. I knew I needed a new heavy duty skid as soon as possible. I like that the Armadillo piece uses 1/4" plate instead of the competitors 3/16". Sure it adds a few ounces but I don't care about that, I want protection. It's also cheaper than the competition. This part installed like a breeze, no misaligned holes or anything, and has already taken a few bashings and hasn't budged at all. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

Mark in AE – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Jan 08, 2013:Honestly!!! This may be a little much if you are doing a lot of dune riding or riding in low terrain ares. I do recommend it if you're riding rocky trials and washes. It fits perfect and will take less than 5 minutes to put on. Some people said it was SUPER heavy. I was actually surprised how light it was for how heavy duty it is.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2009 trx450er

Borce in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Dec 08, 2012:Excellent swing arm skid plate bolted on perfectly and was nice and thick looks great as well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT

KENNETH in TN

Comments On Nov 10, 2012:Istalled on a 400ex, Fits perfect, has held up great. Ride in a lot of rock in East TN. It gets hit a lot, still in good shape potecting sprocket and brk. disc

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I really like the quality and fit of this.

Jason in IN

Comments On Nov 07, 2012:I would highly recomend this product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked on my Banshee.

Emmanuel in NC

Comments On Oct 26, 2012:Replaced a plastic guard with this one and it held up waaay better. Tough product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400ex great fit great quality

Raymond in OH

Comments On Oct 12, 2012:Just got mine in today seems super sturdy mounted up in 10 min. No instructions but not much to it. Even comes with a spacer for the rear Incase your running a large rear sprocket. Will edit once it gets some use

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

HEAVY duty

CLAY in KS

Comments On Sep 25, 2012:If you want tank armor then this is your skid plate. I have a 450 sport quad, this was over kill and sent it back. if you aren't concerned about the weight then this is for you, very solid, very heavy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Heavy duty

Donald in PA

Comments On Sep 25, 2012:This thing is heavy and can take a big hit. 7 xc races this year and not as much as a dent. The only down side is it really reduces ground clearance. Must use tall tires with this plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best swing arm gaurd I have ever bought armadillo

chris in PA

Comments On Sep 19, 2012:I have to say I put a swingarm guard befor this one an it got trashed. The last two rides I had where very rocky an it sounded bad I did not think it was going to hold up. But at the end of the ride just some nicks an scratches an it has held up great ever since. Best one I have bought yet

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does it's job.

Rick in WV

Comments On Aug 21, 2012:Super light weight yet ultra durable. I raced an extemely rocky and rough xc race last weekend and saw several dfferent quad parts laying all around the track. My swingarm hit a few rocks extremely hard and I did not have any issues at all. Great buy, just ordered the full chassis skid from same company.

Was this review helpful?