R & D Racing Flex Jet (Remote Fuel Screw)

Customer Reviews for R & D Racing Flex Jet (Remote Fuel Screw)

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 42 Reviews

Return to R & D Racing Flex Jet (Remote Fuel Screw) Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

R & D Racing Flex Jet (Remote Fuel Screw) Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic for a WR

Josh in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Mar 26, 2015:If you have done any carb work to a WR bike you know the fuel screw is impossible to get to. Even with an adjusted that hangs down, the starter is in the way to get to it. This solves that problem so I can easily make small adjustments on the trail, no tools required

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works good

Nathan in MN

Comments On Mar 21, 2015:i love this thing, works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Remote fuel screw

Adam in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Feb 23, 2015:Used this guy to have remote access to fuel screw so I don't have to rotate carb anymore. Helps with dialing in

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

First one was bad and caused me months of trouble.

JEFFREY in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Jan 11, 2015:I was thrilled to get this on my bike and loved the convenience so much that I overlooked the fact that I could not get it dialed in and it needed much less turning out than the factory one. After several frustrating months of trying to adjust jets and daily adjusting this I called R&D and they said that they are all the same and should work. I was discouraged when I heard that so I just pulled it out and re-installed the factory one and my bike was back to working perfectly. I did not want to pay to ship this back because I figured if they were all the same it would do no good to get a new one. I finally talked myself into shipping it back and they sent me a new one. I installed the new one and it works exactly like the stock. Go figure. The first one I had was definitely not machined properly and they are NOT all the same. I learned a very hard and frustrating lesson. I give it three stars because the new one is a life changer and I love it but people need to know that it may be hit and miss.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excellant i would really recommend it

Cody in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA WR250F

Comments On Jan 08, 2015:if you hate burning you're hands or taking the carb off to get ur bike running right i would get this very easy to do on the trail

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Makes life easy.

Zachary in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jan 06, 2015:This fuel mixture screw makes life easy. Works as should, has not backed out like some cheaper mixture screws.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

JD flex Jet

Michael in WI

Comments On Jan 03, 2015:Works great on my 14 Beta 520. While it's not listed for the bike, it does fit perfect since it's for a FCR carb that most 4S use.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fuel screw

Jason in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF150R

Comments On Dec 02, 2014:Made bike work incredible no more low end bogging

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good; some mods needed

Curt in California

Comments On Dec 01, 2014:Overall I'm very happy with this item. Having the ability to adjust the idle jet was invaluable when tuning this used YZ400. In my case, it was not completely plug and play. This was installed onto a Keihin FCR-MX39 (stock carb for this bike). Removing the old idle jet required removing the float bowl as it seemed it would not completely unscrew otherwise. I later realized, when attempting to install this new jet, that the hole drilled in the float bowl was too small to allow the new jet to be installed. To remedy this I drilled it out (with a 1/4" bit if I remember correctly). I probably only opened the hole by something like 1/64", but it was just enough and didn't affect the bowl-to-carb body gasket at all (but only barely). After reattaching the bowl to the carb and attempting to install the new jet, it again would not seat into the threads on the carb. Turns out hole in the idle jet hole in the float bowl did not quite line up with the idle jet hole in the carb. No problem; unscrewed the bowl again, inserted the jet throw the bowl orifice, and then wiggled it into the carb orifice and turned it in a few threads. After that, attaching the bowl back to the carb was no issue as the flexi connector from the jet to the external knob is a adequately smaller than the threads on the jet itself, so no binding there. After installing the carb back on the bike, the best position for the adjustment knob faster appeared to be the outside screw holding the idle throttle adjustment knob, and the screw supplied with the idle jet for this purpose fit perfect and was plenty long (another mm and it would have been too long actually). For this bike, the idle jet adjustment knob fastener bracket had to be bent a little from its 45 degree angle to more of a 0 degree angle to accommodate a bit of the engine casing. Not a biggie either. I'm a little concerned about the overall durability of the idle get fastener knob bracket as it seems that the knob could come loose from the bracket, but to be fair, mine didn't, even after bending it a good deal with pliers, so, maybe it's all good. Overall I would definitely buy this again for any bike due to the ease of access when tuning. Especially on this bike where the stock idle jet turn out says 1 1/2 to 1 5/8 turns out, but the bike will not run till 5 to 5 1/2 turns out. Is there some other issue here? Maybe, but it finally idles smooth now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

adjusting made easy

Tom in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Nov 19, 2014:So stoked when I got this made life so much easier when it comes to adjusting the carb could be happier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fuel screw

Glenn in QLD

Comments On Oct 02, 2014:good quality item

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy adjustment

Thomas in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 450 EXC-R

Comments On Aug 30, 2014:Make life easy, If your even thinking about this GET IT!. It makes adjusting the fuel screw a breeze.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great!

ANDREW in NV

Comments On Dec 01, 2013:This is a great product I've been able to dial in my jetting perfect with it and my yfz has never ran better

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

adjustments were needed this sunday

Terry in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 25, 2013:flex jet made adjustments easy 30-35 degree temps

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Get one!

Brandon in VA

Comments On Nov 23, 2013:I love this flex jet. It makes it so much easier to do adjustment and you don't have to worry about it backing out and losing it like a normal extended screw.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

top notch product

jonathan in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Nov 18, 2013:no more burnt fingers!!!! i purchased 2 of these for both fcr carbs i have. makes tuning super easy. i will never buy one of those fancy name aluminum ones again. these are well worth the money for a quality brass tip and ease of turning

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Poor Quality Control

JESSE in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 400 XC-W

Comments On Sep 04, 2013:This is the third Flexjet that I purchased. Previous two fit perfectly. This one would not fully screw into the body of the carb. Checked the threads by removing a previlously purchased Flexjet from my CRF450 and found that it screwed in carb body perfectly. Noticed that the new Flexjet threads were not as sharp as the stock OEM fuel screw or older Flexjet. Had to send it back to the manufacturer to get issue corrected. Not reimbursed for shipping to manufacturer. Told that my carb body threads were under-sized, which I do not agree with . . .

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great item

DANIEL in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KTM 525 EXC 4-Stroke

Comments On Sep 08, 2013:getting to the fuel screw before was a major pain (litteraly) with hot motor and an oversize tank on the bike. even with the electric starter removed, it was still no fun making adjustments. the flex jet is a dream come true. I removed the mount screw and opened up the wire loop a little so i could mount to a bolt on the motor just under my petcock.. now adjustments are a snap.. Awesome!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

JEFFREY in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:This makes fuel adjustments SOOOO easy!! A must have for the Keihin FCR carb on this bike. If you are fumbling around with the stock fuel screw or a cheap aluminum aftermarket knob, do yourself a favor and buy this now.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Brian in WY – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jun 19, 2013:Amazing product it keeps from buying your fingers when you adjust your air fuel screw.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good fuel screw

CHRISTOPHER in CA

Comments On May 25, 2013:Nice idea makes adjusting fuel screw easier

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great fuel screw

Mark in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Apr 30, 2013:I ride between 2,000 and 10,000 feet elevation so I need to be able to adjust the fuel mix easily. This does the job well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tuning

Greg in HI – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On May 01, 2013:well worth it. tune-ability is key.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Mark in TX

Comments On Apr 10, 2013:This is one of the best purchases I have made for my bike. I jetted my bike and this allows me to adjust the fuel ratio without having to take apart my bike.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Every 4-stroke should have one

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:If you own a four-stroke you need this. Got all my buddies to use it

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Why wouldn't you have one

ERIK in AZ

Comments On Mar 18, 2013:Seems like a must for a crf250x (or any bike) if you live in a place with huge temp and elevation swings throughout the day like I do. And it won't just fall out like some of the other fuel screws.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

IT WORKS.GREAT PRODUCT

Richard in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HONDA CRF150R Expert

Comments On Mar 07, 2013:YOU KNOW HOW HARD IT IS TO ADJUST THE FUEL SCREW ON YOUR 4 STROKE THIS FLEX JET SOLVES THE PROBLEM,I HAD NO PROBLEM WITH THE INSTALL,JUST LOSEN THE CARB AT THE CLAMPS FRONT AND REAR ,TURN THE CARB SIDEWAYS REMOVE THE FUEL SCREW ,WD40 THE FLEX JET AND INSTALL, THAT SIMPLE.NOW CAN ADJUST EVEN SITTING ON THE BIKE JUST BY A TURN OF THE KNOB.GREAT PRODUCT

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

good

DANNY in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 03, 2013:good for fine tuning the fuel screw without any tools. doesnt move at all

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great & simple product!!!

Wes in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On Feb 10, 2013:Must have for fuel adjustment on FCR carbs. Makes idle mixture adjustments a snap. Buy one!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works great!

Brian in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Feb 07, 2013:A little more expensive than other fuel screws, but it's worth it. It works great and makes tuning that much easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy adjustment, but needs lube

Keith in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Jan 28, 2013:Makes adjusting the fuel mixture easy. The only problem I've found is that if you don't move the screw every so often, it winds up being really difficult to turn. Without this product though, you'd have a hard time turning your fuel screw.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great

corey in SD – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 POLARIS OUTLAW 450 MXR

Comments On Jan 16, 2013:It makes it alot easier to adjust the air/fuel mixture. Can do it sitting on the quad.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great poduct

Cody in ID

Comments On Aug 01, 2012:Time saver! 07 YZ250F

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

JAMES in MO

Comments On Apr 05, 2012:Great product. Now its so easy to adjust the fuel screw !!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Much needed FCR fix..

EDWARD in CT

Comments On Dec 12, 2011:Helps with the tuning of FCR carbs(4stk)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

COOL

Jason in CA

Comments On Jun 30, 2011:GREAT LITTLE GADGET

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome product!

Michael in PA

Comments On Apr 27, 2011:This is definitely a slick setup if you need to make adjutments to your idle mixture screw. I've spent years burning my hands and arms trying to squeeze tiny screw driver bits under my carbs, and this is remote adjuster setup is well worth the money. Now I can tweak my mixture screw without even getting off the bike.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

MATTHEW in NE

Comments On Sep 14, 2010:This thing works great I love it, I picked up another fuel screw and the idle mixture was off, went to this model and it is perfect just like my stock screw, with the added bennifit that I dont have to burn my fingers and stand on my head to adjust it! 2008 CRF 250X.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great, but a word of caution

Sean in NV

Comments On Sep 11, 2009:Once you get this thing mounted it works great! Be careful of two things, however.
First, when trying to screw it all the way down to set your initial mixture be aware that the flex part of the product will twist off and break. Don't force it. It doesn't have the same "bottoming" out feel that the standard fuel screw has when it can't be tightened any further.
Second, make sure to count how many turns you are coming out. Don't come out more than about 3-4 turns or you run the risk of everything falling out and your bike stopping. When you're out on the trail this can be challenging to find all of the parts again and get them put back properly. I would like to see R&D create a way that the o-ring, washer, and spring can't be lost off of the end so easily. My two cents.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

For a YZ250F 2009

STEVEN in WA

Comments On May 06, 2009:I bought this in hopes of making my life easier, but it needs some adjustment to make it right. Super hard to turn after 2 weeks, so it needs to be oiled after every ride for smooth operation. Maybe a make a different mounting location or something
Additional Comments On May 21, 2009:It's a good idea and works well as long as you keep it lubed well. After one week of riding and washing I coudn't even turn it with pliers. I had to take it all the way out and re-clean and lube. Now after I clean the bike I have to spray it down. It's been another 2 weeks and all is well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WR250F

Tim in KS

Comments On Dec 27, 2008:Works great and came with everything I needed. Makes adjusting the fuel screw easy and has a little resistance so no worries about it turning while you ride. It would be better though if the knob was easier to grab with cold callused fingers.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Time Saver

Cody in UT

Comments On Jul 04, 2008:Flex Jet is great for on the go fuel screw adjustments. It mounts perfect on the outside of your carb, stays in place, and is easy to turn. I wish they made one for my four wheeler too.

Was this review helpful?