Fox Racing Instinct Boots 2014

Customer Reviews for Fox Racing Instinct Boots 2014

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 25 Reviews

Return to Fox Racing Instinct Boots 2014 Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Fox Racing Instinct Boots 2014 Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not worth the $$

evan in NV

Comments On Jun 06, 2015:These boots fit small if youre dead set on them get a size bigger. Buckles and straps are terrible, i broke a strap and buckle on separate boots in the first month. The hinges are nice and feel good out of the box. Ive had these boots 3 months and already went back to my old tech 3s. In my opinion, at this price point the pros dont out-way the cons

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fancy boot poor fit on me

BRENT in UT

Comments On Apr 17, 2015:This boot has plenty of great features. I like the buckles and protection/heat protection it offers. I got this on closeout. This was my first full riding boot as well. Tried on in store and it was okay, fitment was small. I wear an 11 bought a 13. The bad part about this boot is that my left ankle sticks out a little towards the inside. There is no room out give there in these boots and left my ankle bruised and raw after 2 separate rides. Rocky mountain customer service was excellent as always and exchanged me boots. I did more research and found several to try on the sidi ta was too short in the toe for me the gearne sc10 I think it was had the Same issue with running my ankle as the Fox. I ended up trying the alpine star tech 5 and 7 both fit my odd ankle great I liked the 7 and got that for the better buckles and replaceable foot peg area. Same price minus a restocking fee since I didn't have the box. Much happier with this boot.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

turd boots

KRIS in TX

Comments On Mar 14, 2015:The worst feeling boot I have owned in 30 years of riding. I have a ton of fox stuff but never had any of their boots. I won't ever buy any again. They fit like they're made of metal down to the squeak when you walk in them. I have tried wearing them 5 times riding. I have adjusted the buckles until they are loose as house shoes and they are still uncomfortable as anything I have ever had on my feet. I bought a pair of Alpinestars tech 7's and they are fantastic. I have a pair of O'neals I paid $100 for years ago that are far better today than these boat anchors. Not for me and I seldom give anything a bad rating and I'm not a picky hard to please dude either.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great boots

Billy in CA

Comments On Mar 16, 2015:Had to by 2 sizes larger than I normally wear. They are extremely comfortable and look COOL!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No break in required

David in WA

Comments On Jan 27, 2015:Love these boots. Very comfortable from day one. Buckles appear to be good quality, no problems to date.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

They feel great out of the box.

Federico in FL

Comments On Jan 26, 2015:I changed my oneal element boots for something a bit more protective. I bought these for $315 in closeout. Great discount and definitely worth the money. They are very comfortable and very light weight.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good boot.....way smaller than size stated

Chris in IN

Comments On Sep 03, 2014:I read other reviews about size running small so I ordered a 12 (all my other shoes and alpine stars are size 11). Guess what, these are even too small, my toes are just rubbing the end of the boot. 12-1/2 would be about right. Now i have to send back for a 13. I hope they are not too big. I had read other reviews about the buckles not being very durable. These seem like they are made from a pretty non-pliable plastic. i could see them snapping fairly easily. i had my alpine stars for quite a few years and only ever broke 1 buckle. i will update this review after I wear the boots for a while.

Additional Comments On Jan 06, 2015:Boots are comfortable and took very little to no break-in.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Boots!

Garrett in PA

Comments On Dec 30, 2014:Best boots I've ever owned. Extremely comfy and flexible. Expected them to get ripped up and torn more, for I ride a lot of rocky trails and tough single track, but so far they are holding up better than expected! I got these boots when they were on sale for $350, but they are well worth the price, even if you do pay the original $500 for them. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

So far very impressed

Dustin in UT

Comments On Sep 24, 2014:Went to Plaza to test fit these boots to prevent the hassle of a miss fit and sending them back. They do run small I wear shoe size 11 bought size 12 boots. I have small calves so the top part of the boot fits loose with the buckle at the tightest setting. However I didn't test fit with my boot socks or my riding pants tucked inside the boot. They hugged my ankle nice and tight without any discomfort. I like the 2015 boot buckle redesign but the $200 cost difference did not make the new buckles worth the extra cost. I'm excited to try these out on the track this coming weekend!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fox Instinct = great boot

Steve in IA

Comments On Sep 09, 2014:I have always wore more entry level kind of boots in the ~$200 range and never considered spending the big bucks for high end boots. The only reason I decided to give the Fox Instinct boots a try is because they were offered for a great price on closeout by RM.
Now that I have a few rides on them I don't think I'll be able to go back to entry level boots. These are the most comfortable boots I've ever had, zero break-in time, and just incredible.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really nice boots

Justin in CA

Comments On Sep 07, 2014:These boots are very nice, about even in performance with other top end boots. Very similar in design to gaerne sg-12, pretty similar to sidi. I think the gaerne and sidi have slightly better quality, but these boots at the price is a killer deal.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fox Instinct Boots Rock

Brad in Utah

Comments On Sep 02, 2014:No break in at all and after a full day of ridding in them it didn't feel like I had wore boots at all. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

best boots ever!

angie in VA

Comments On Aug 25, 2014:these boots look so cool!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

descent boot

james in MI

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:i love the boots they are TOUGH!!! but i wish they had a removable boot like the techs in the simular price range.. but they are comfortable and very nice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excelent boots

Juan Carlos in TX

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:great boots, it is better to spend more in this boots, better quiality no need to break in.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Won't be let down

chase in UT

Comments On May 04, 2014:I tried these on and took a few steps and wtihout hesitation told the guy I wanted them. I had tried on a pair of tech 10s right before and to me it was an easy choice. The tech 10s are an awesome boot and you really couldn't go wrong with either one. But the comfort and how well the boot felt was unreal. I liked that it didn't have a bootie wich made me feel like I had really good feel overall. The buckle system is great and I love how long the two top straps were. I have large calves and together with my asterisk knee braces it was still easy to buckle my boots. There was almost no breakin time and I wore them for hours straight without any discomfort. It's true that they do run small. I still went with my normal size nine but I'd rather have the boot be more snug than not. A must have boot if your commmitted to spending that much money. Won't regret it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fox Instincts!!!

Jordan in IN

Comments On Apr 16, 2014:Best boots out there for sure! Unmatched comfort and protection and stay looking great throughout the season!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bangin boots

holly in RI

Comments On Mar 25, 2014:This boot is as close to perfect as a boot can get. They have great interface with the bike as well as great movement and a sense of security. Never going back to another boot brand.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing boot, nothing even compares

Zack in PA

Comments On Feb 10, 2014:Love these boots, so solid and qualitly is beyond excellent. great movement. made the switch from Alpinestars to Insticts and will never go back. sold customer!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome boots!

Sam in FL

Comments On Feb 09, 2014:This is the most comfortable boot I have ever used. They break in very quick, by the end of the second ride they were perfect. Very good quality but you definitely want to order a size larger than you usually wear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Are they Boots or Bedroom Slippers.........

TODD in VA

Comments On Oct 30, 2013:After much research for a comfortable yet protective pair of new boots due to having feet with nerve issues, I decided on these and was SO Glad I did. They are like wearing a nice pair of Sneakers but feel as if you can do battle with anything. Very well built and no break in needed which was nice!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great but some dificulties

Joshua in FL

Comments On Jun 25, 2013:Yeah iv'e had my instincts for about 7 months now and finally decided to write a review. Well first off they fit great, if your a 9 they might grow out if your still growing like a animal, but if your true to size like me. A 9 is snug. Which is exactly what you want. I ride hard. I scrub, I run quick through corners. So I need a good boot, But if you do end up sliding on the side of the boot with the buckles. I wish you luck. The buckles break easy and the leather at the top of the boot does gash. But it is still worth it.
I still have my Comp 5's and the comp 5's are pretty bad compared to the instincts. The flexibility is just so substantially more, you need these boots. Just have some buckles on standby. They are supremely easy to replace. I am no mechanic and I figured it out and replaced it in a matter of minutes. OVER ALL THESE BOOTS ARE A MUST BUY FOR THE SERIOUS OR CASUAL RACER.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent comfort and construction

STEVEN in AZ

Comments On Mar 20, 2013:This boot is the best boot I have ever owned, which include the Alpinestar Tech 8 and many others. It does not take any time to break in, it is comfortable right out of the box. It is an extremely high quality boot.
Make sure to get a size larger than normal, it runs small. I wear 10.5 and ended up with a size 12 boot.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome boots

bead in Minnesota

Comments On Dec 22, 2012:I got these boots in August, they are really great boots. The Olny problem I had was a hole formed on the inside of the boot on the rubber peice from rubbing on the bike. It Olny happend because the bolt on the pivot system came lose. Other than that these boots are Soo amazing. I would recommend then if you are buying new boots. They are totally worth the price

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sizes run small!

Brian in UT

Comments On Sep 30, 2012:Got to demo these boots at a KTM demo day. First the sizing is off, I wear size 11 Tech 8's and wore the size 12 when I demo'd them and they felt on the small side...almost could have worn the 13. So be sure to order these one size larger than normal. The Fox rep told me they run small. I wore these for about an hour of moto and the fit and comfort right out of the box was amazing. I think they are more comfortable than my 5+ year old Tech 8's. I can't speak for their protection or longevity, since I don't own a pair yet. But when I buy new boots next season I'm pretty I'll buy these. The only thing that makes me hesitate is my Tech 8's have been unbelievably durable over the years and I hope these Fox Instincts are as durable.

Was this review helpful?