KTM SixDays Quick-Fastener Skid Plate

Customer Reviews for KTM SixDays Quick-Fastener Skid Plate

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 37 Reviews

Return to KTM SixDays Quick-Fastener Skid Plate Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

KTM SixDays Quick-Fastener Skid Plate Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Protection, But Quick Release problems

Nathan in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Apr 02, 2016:The skid plate is durable, strong and easy to installed. My only fault is that the quick release isn't reliable. I've had it fall off while riding. I no longer use the quick release bolt provided and instead use a zip tie.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

durable product

katherine in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2016 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Mar 28, 2016:easy install and has held up nice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't case or drag this thing over anything!

John in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 250 XCF-W

Comments On Jan 25, 2016:Very disappointed with the quick fastener skid plate. Love the idea - hard plastic, easy to remove, good coverage.... however I've gone through 2, yes two of these already. Both times the skid plate has hit either a rock/root or just bottomed on whoop and tore right through the plastic. The dzues fastener remained, the skid plate did not - tore right through the plastic, twice! If you plan on riding where you might use your skid plate, save your earned cash and go aluminum or at least a different plastic one.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice Skidplate

DERRIK in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2015 KTM 350 SX-F

Comments On Jan 29, 2016:I really like the fit and finish of this skid plate. The quick release feature is really nice for cleaning the bike and oil changes. I have heard of complaints of then falling off the bike wile riding but I know a handful of guys using this same skid and have never had any issues at all. I would defiantly purchase again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Surprised how good this works

Robert in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Jan 22, 2016:This was pretty low priced and RMATV got it to me in less than 24 hours with the free shipping. Really easy to install and remove, that's my favorite feature. Protects well judging by the scuffs on the bottom. 20 hours in the Idaho mountains and it hasn't fallen off yet so I would say this is a great skid plate. Only downfall is there is no side protection but I knew that when I ordered it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

EASY ON, EASY OFF. FULL COVERAGE

MARK in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2015 KTM 500 EXC

Comments On Nov 24, 2015:Fits extremely good! Extremely HAPPY w/ this skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good, but flawed

Mike in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Nov 17, 2015:This is a great skid for the most part - the quick release was a major reason for making the purchase. It is light weight,.easy to remove for maintenance, and provides good coverage - all the reasons I purchased it. The problem is, a hard hit tends to pull the latch mechanism through the plastic, which results in a lost skid. I lost my 1st one early this season - the skid was gone, but the bike-mounted latching system was intact! I considered it a fluke and ordered another. Last weekend, it happened again. Fortunately, I remembered where it may have happened when I noticed the skid was gone(but again, the mount hardware and latch were intact, along with the extra zip-tie I installed for extra security after losing the 1st one). I found the skid on the trail and confirmed my suspicion - the plastic just isn't quite tough enough(or thick enough) at the latch and it simply pulled it through the end of the skid(top where it quick-latches to the included hardware). I will try to attach an aluminum plate to reinforce it and see what happens - after buying 2 and both failing in the same manner, I won't be buying a 3rd.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

Christa in TX

Comments On Oct 29, 2015:We put these through the torture test. They fasten easy for painless oil changes. Easy to install. Fits great and looks good. Plus they are easy to keep clean. Glides over big logs easily. Would buy this product again for sure.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Poor Engineering from KTM

James in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2015 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Sep 18, 2015:It took one day at the track for the skid plate to be torn off the bike. Seems out of the ordinary for KTM to put something out there that doesn't hold up. I've witnessed another skid plate of theirs fail on a different day at the track. Apparently KTM doesn't have a warranty for impacts on their skid plates. Would not recommend their quick release skid plate. Spend your money on something able to do it's job and take impacts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Simple to install. Simple to service.

Harout in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Sep 08, 2015:Once you have the bracket bolted on, getting the skid plate on and off is super ez. Plenty of protection for the moderate riding that I do.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice skid plate!

David in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Mar 30, 2015:it looks and functions great. the only problem i have is the twist in fastener to lock it down to the bike is crazy hard to get it. i almost never remove it because its so hard to get back on. it just doesnt line up like it should. other than that i like it. if the holes lines up i would have had it installed in less than 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good

Matthew in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 500 XC-W

Comments On Mar 09, 2015:protects well, but not designed for rock bashing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Plastic Skid Plate

Dave in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Feb 25, 2015:Great fit and function.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Durable and Good Mounting System

matt in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 150 XC

Comments On Jan 28, 2015:I ride a lot rocky terrain and it has held up great. The mounting system is easy to install and once installed, you can easily remove the skid plate to clean, etc. From my perspective, the mounting system alone makes this plate worth it. The side coverage is ok.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy to Clean

Andrew in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2015 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Dec 14, 2014:Its much easier to clean than most skid plates because it only takes seconds to uninstall and re-install. Its quiet and it does its job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Won't last, easily breakable.

BEN in NM – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Dec 08, 2014:Lasted less than a year. Two pieces broke off leaving the frame exposed. I put a different brand on my 450 that lasted for years with no breakage.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great skid

Steve in AB – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 250 XC

Comments On Nov 19, 2014:Went on in minutes and has held up to several rides, rocks and logs. So far I'm very happy with it. Its quiet, is easy to remove to clean or change oil and goes back on in seconds without tools. Thumbs up!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Kevin in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Jul 17, 2014:Good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

No problem after six years

Eric in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Jul 04, 2014:Construction looks weak, but has done its job for six years without a flaw. Easy on, easy off. Catches the occasional drip.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ktm six days skid plate

Troy in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Jul 02, 2014:Fits great, and took a big rock so works too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ktm six days skid plate

Troy in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 450 XC-W

Comments On Jul 02, 2014:Fits great, and took a big rock so works too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

picture is a little deceving

TODD in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HUSABERG FE 250

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:it is the same as stock(husaberg)...does NOT have the extra protection shown,but the stock one IS nice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

skid plate

ken in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Feb 13, 2014:awesome fit and quick release for easy cleaning

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

perfect

scott in NJ

Comments On Feb 02, 2014:identical to my other six days

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect product

mark in New York – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Jan 31, 2014:Fits my ktm perfectly, looks great and is VERY well made. A must have for any ktm.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing look and protection!

JIM in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Nov 28, 2013:This skid plate lasted for 3,000 miles of single track mountain trails with big rocks, roots, and log crossing. It lasted 2 trips in Moab with over 500 miles of expert rocky sections. Aside from being functional, it also fits perfect and looks stock. The aluminum skid plates are bulky and create weird sound reverberations. Another plus is the ease of one quick turn of the D-ring to remove it for maintenance or cleaning. It finally broke but I am buying another one since it lasted so long on the ultimate test terrain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy-on, easy-off and it protects!

Seth A. in CO

Comments On Aug 29, 2011:Have had this since purchasing the bike. and I was skeptical about its ability to take a Colorado rock and tree beating. all ihave to say way to go KTM. no more metal to rock clang.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KTM SixDays Skid Plate

JOSEPH in NSW

Comments On Aug 28, 2011:Standered skid plate ,not six days with the slots.However fitted good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not so good for rocks

WILLIAM in TX

Comments On Jun 04, 2011:Just broke mine on a rock riding in the Rockies....dinged my frame pretty good on my KTM 530. Going back to an Aluminum bash plate.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Skid plate is a great fit and does the job

Dale in OR

Comments On Apr 12, 2011:Installed on an 09 450EXC. Easy to install and the fit & finish was great. The quick release is nice for cleaning under the engine and allows for this to go on and off in seconds. The skid plate does it's function well and I only lowered the rating to good because the price is a little expensive for a plastic skid plate.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good fit

Don in OR

Comments On Mar 17, 2011:Good fit. Make sure you put some sort of safety tie on the plate in case the 1/4 turn latch come undone. Kind of spendy for a plastic plate but performs good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ktm 525 skid plate

Robert in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2010:Was really easy to Install. It took me about 10mins.... Great product for the cost..

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Light, easy removal for cleaning and bike service

MARTIN in MT

Comments On Oct 17, 2010:Excellent product. Light. Easily removes to service bike or clean out mud. Wish they had this for my two stroke as opposed to the aluminum.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best skid plate and a must have for KTM owners

BRET in TX

Comments On Jul 28, 2010:This is the easiest to install and remove skid plate for KTMs. I modified it and made this one fit on a 2008 and 2009 KTM xcf450.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

noise less

JORGE in TX

Comments On Mar 20, 2008:i have always used an aluminum skid plate before i like this one because it's lighter and doesn't make noise when hitting the rocks

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Makes cleaning easy

ROBERT in OH

Comments On Nov 12, 2007:If you ride in mud this is the skid plate you need. If you ride in big rocks it is possible to break it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice product

SPENCER in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:Bought mine after looking at a local KTM shops race team that ran them. Gives more than metal and its eaisly removable.Still protecks the case too.No Weight=More power

Was this review helpful?