T.M. Designworks Factory Edition 2 Rear Chain Guide

Customer Reviews for T.M. Designworks Factory Edition 2 Rear Chain Guide

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 20 Reviews

Return to T.M. Designworks Factory Edition 2 Rear Chain Guide Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

T.M. Designworks Factory Edition 2 Rear Chain Guide Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does not fit

Nicholas in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Apr 04, 2015:This chain guide looks really good but that's about it. Bolt holes line up but the sprocket is very close to rubbing at installation and rubs while riding. It made my chain wear funny with in an hour of riding this product. Will not buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

better

Matthew in NV

Comments On Mar 09, 2015:better than stock

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Considerably Better Than Stock

matt in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jan 28, 2015:Yes, it is expensive. It is more durable and a much better design over the stock guide. This did help some with the notoriously noisy KX drive train and of course the green looks sharp.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Robust

Mark in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Jan 22, 2015:This chain guide is way more robust than the KTM factory guard. My KTM factory guard got bent. This guide is built substantially heavier. I have not had any hard hits on it yet, but I expect it to fare better than the original. It should as it is also about $40 more than the factory unit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

High quality, tough.

Jeff in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Jan 17, 2015:I purchased this guide after wearing out the stock guide that lasted six seasons in CO. For 2014 I purchased a different brand, priced lower. It was broken in one season. The TM Designworks model is more stout. I use a BPD chain guide guard as well. The only negative is how low it hangs, but I guess that's the compromise for toughness. TMD does make a moto version for my bike that doesn't hang down as low, but recommended this one for CO.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy Easy Easy

Andrew in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Dec 16, 2014:Super cool addition. Easy to install. No need to remove chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Better than stock

nathan in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 450 SX-F

Comments On Dec 08, 2014:This is a good chain guide and is very smooth. Just the price is a little steep.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Beefy and mounts well

George in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Aug 21, 2014:Mounted easily and made to last. 10 hours of riding and still looks brand new.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good repacement

Travis in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KAWASAKI KX85

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:THis was exactly what i was looking for, its a bit of a fight to get it around the swing arm but nothing tough. More of a confined space job if you dont want to loosen anything else haha. Good product

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Factory Quality

BnGA in Georgia – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 SX

Comments On Jun 22, 2014:The TM Designs chain guide is the most expensive but it does allow you to replace the wear pad for around $20 instead of purchasing a complete new unit. Installation is easy and the fit is perfect. I use Loctite 243 on all bolts for added security without over-torquing. After replacing my entire driveline (both sprockets, chain, slider, under slider, and chain guide), the rear wheel spins a lot more freely when spinning by hand. There is nothing negative I have to say about this part.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product but over priced

brandon in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 350 SX-F

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:works and fits good but over priced

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tough as nails.

Sam in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Jan 22, 2014:This chain guide is super tough. I love to ride the messed up gnarly trails and this thing takes a beating.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You need one if you ride in the woods/rocks.

ANDREW in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On May 13, 2013:Solid, will take some serious abuse. The stock ones will eventually bend, wearing down the master link of your chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product, good price.

James in MO

Comments On Apr 12, 2013:We have had no issues. It seems to fit and perform at least as well as the OEM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TM

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Great products

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NICE

RAMON in COA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Mar 07, 2013:RESISTANT, GREAT, AND NICE PROTECTION

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

dont bother

steve in Queensland – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:ktm 300 exc, big, bulky, almost twice the weight of original part, did not fit aftermarket supersprox, no adjustment. No such thing as zero drag either. Rubbish. Threw it away and bought original

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product, make sure to torque thier bolts.

JEFFREY in MO

Comments On Oct 30, 2012:The bolts that hold it together need to be torqued before you ride. Their instructions don't mention this but I lost a bolt the first ride out with it. RM was awesome and send me the replacement bolts for free. Used lock tight this time.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hey guys sell the replaceable wear parts for this

MICHAEL in CO

Comments On Jul 30, 2011:Put this on a 2011 KX450, the replaceable, bottom piece broke off in 40 hrs of MX riding. I had the Factory edition #1 which is one piece and it lasted well over a hundred hours on my honda.

Additional Comments On Jul 04, 2012:Put this on a 2011 KX450, the replaceable, bottom piece broke off in 40 hrs of MX riding. Just broke the second wear bar, I wish RMATV would sell the serviceable parts for this chain guide.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

DUNCAN in ON

Comments On Mar 12, 2011:tougher than stock and doesn't wear as quickly. worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?