Pirelli Scorpion XC Mid To Hard Terrain

Customer Reviews for Pirelli Scorpion XC Mid To Hard Terrain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 19 Reviews

Return to Pirelli Scorpion XC Mid To Hard Terrain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pirelli Scorpion XC Mid To Hard Terrain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Mud/Sand/Int.

Robert in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 1995 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Mar 21, 2015:I bought this tire after spending a day on a buddy's bike in the mud. I had ridden it before in sand and loam and liked it, but didn't see a huge advantage over my MX51. But after seeing how it handled in the mud as well, I was sold. Great all round tire. We do tons of riding on rocks too. Great grip, and holds up surprisingly well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worst tire I've put on my bike

Rick in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 500 XC-W

Comments On Feb 13, 2015:I decided to go for something new and different. I love Michelin in terms of sticky handling, but was concerned about their seemingly quicker than expected wear. Dunlop gave me the most durability and good traction but tended to slip out sometimes. So I thought I'd give the Pirelli Scorpions a shot. Bad decision. Two rides in and the back tire soon will need replacing likely after a third. Under heavy throttle, it breaks loose far sooner than any tire that's been on the bike, even the Bridgestones that came stock. Front tire gets better marks in terms of handling, and is wearing better than its rear counterpart. But neither tire comes close to the sticky feel of Michelins nor the great combination of good traction and bulletproof durability of the Dunlops. Save your money and skip the Pirellis. Every other tire I've had (Michelin, Dunlop and Bridgestone) is a far better buy and provides way more bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Too stiff

John in British Columbia – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Oct 13, 2014:I rode this tire at 8 psi over 3 days and with many shock adjustments I could not get descent traction. When I received this tire I first read on the side wall "Heavy Duty" and with the tire unmounted I found it hard to flex the side walls with my foot. So I mounted it anyway. I was so used to using the Pirelli MT43 trials tire and its' superior traction that I am taking this Scorpion XC tire off promptly. I did not enjoy riding this past 3 days in Kelowna, BC where it was dirt and baseball size rocks. The tire bounced off rocks so badly like a solid rubber tire.I had poor up hill control compared to a trials tire. I saw so many riders at Bear Creek OHV using the MT43 and loving them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tyres

Glenn in QLD

Comments On Oct 02, 2014:good grip and lasts a long time,2nd favourite tyres

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very bad tire

Patrick in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 250 XC

Comments On Aug 11, 2014:I bought a Pirelli Scorpion XCMH back tire for my KTM. After 3 rides the tire is almost done. It was used only in trail rides, with roots and some rocks. The traction wasn't that good and I had to ride it at 9 psi to actually get good traction.
They must have changed the compound since everybody says it's a good tire. It's really really bad, I will never buy again Pirelli tires..

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Rear wears VERY quickly

Benjamin in IL – Machine this part was bought for: 1994 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Aug 06, 2014:Compared to other tires I've had under the same circumstances, this tire wore out extremely quickly.
I bought them for a week of riding out in Colorado on the western slope (mix of rock and dirt) and the rear was almost done after two rides. After the whole week, it's more worn than any rear I've ever had on the bike. It's completely roached, and I don't ride like a maniac.
They provided decent grip and feel while they lasted, but WOW did the rear go away fast. The front seems to have worn pretty normally.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tires for Colorado

Dave in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 KTM 250 EXC

Comments On Aug 06, 2014:The front tire works great for me at 12 to 13 psi and is wearing very well. I will definitely use it again. The back tire has incredible grip. I found 8 psi to work best in the back. The rear wears pretty fast otherwise I would have given them 5 stars. DOT approved is a plus also.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don"t buy this tire!!

Neil in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jun 02, 2014:I have used several of the soft-mid terrain tires and love them, so I decided to try the mid-hard tire, the traction when the tire is new is marginal at best. I destroyed this tire in one weekend. It wore out in less than 100 miles.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really like it

braden in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Dec 29, 2013:Did they change the compound? This tire seems to wear better than the last one I tried a couple years back. Really like the handling and holding up well after a dozen or so rides.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Works well, doesn't last too long for a DOT tire.

Lance in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 530 EXC-R

Comments On Dec 10, 2013:I bought the front tire only. It's predictable and works fine in hard pack and sand. I put new tires front & rear on my bike, and this front is wearing at the same rate as the rear (Kenda trackmaster). Normally I have to replace 2 rears to one front, but pavement seems to sand this tire down quicker than I expected for a DOT tire.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pirelli Scorpion mid to hard terrain

Dave in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Oct 04, 2013:These tires worked well. I ride mainly on a track, starts off wet and gets harder as the day goes on-like most tracks-. Worked well front and rear. Rear worn really well for riding a 450. Front-still evaluating, but happy with it so far. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Average traction rear

Scott in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:I've only tried the rear, so I can't comment on the front. The rear has the stiffest sidewall I've ever seen. I sat on the mounted tire with the valve stem removed from my tube and it barely moved! I've had to run really low PSI (5-6) to compensate for the stiff sidewall, and although no flats, I don't like running such low pressure (even in a HD tube). Traction is just average but it lasts a fairly long time.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good and hard!!

Darrell in NL – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Aug 16, 2013:good traction, lasts long on serious hard pack, dont get to close to me unless you like to eat rocks!!! LOL.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Trail Tire

Ian in CO

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:I used the XCMH on my KTM 450 with Tubliss, running 0-8psi, and the traction was good on sand, rocks, and everything in between. Even with abuse like running 70+mph on mostly flat tires, I still got about 1000 miles out of them.
I just ordered another set for my RXV and am looking forward to getting out again!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Outlasts Most Other Front Tires

Kyle in OR

Comments On Sep 25, 2012:This tire keeps it's side knobs longer than any mid terrain front tire from Dunlop, Michelin, or Maxxis that I have tried. Grip when new is average, but after a few rides this one still has all of its knobs and will out perform others that lose theirs.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Tire!

Wes in ID

Comments On Aug 27, 2012:I've rode this tire in some pretty nasty terrain. Chunky or fine shale, boulders, tree roots & hard packed trails, this tire performs awesome! It's a great tire for mid-hard surfaced terrain. The others reviews are also correct, it doesn't chunk off at all. if you want a good tire for a good price, this is the one for you!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

awesome DOT rated tire for woods riding

Eric in WA

Comments On Jul 15, 2012:I've had great success with this tire. Its DOT, and it doesn't chunk (for me, xr400, 150lbs rider) ridden hard in the woods, few nasty rocks, mostly roots, dirt, sand, pebbles. I run it at lower pressure. Never had a flat. NEVER. hit alot of hard bumps. wears like steel. I had one for 4? years and it was awesome, even when it was getting older. The softer compound similar tire may also be good to go. but won't last as long if you are doing much road riding.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great traction and wear tire

Bill in TN

Comments On Apr 19, 2012:I'm on my 2nd set of Scorpions and love them. They do well in mid-hard to hard terrain like a champ! What's more impressive to me is that they last a long time. I will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding DOT tire for all terrain

Charles in AZ

Comments On Sep 14, 2011:This is by far the best DOT off-road tire I have used. I have the 110/100-18 (heavy duty) on my XR400R. I run a lower pressure (11psi) because of the stiff sidewall. This tire grips really well in sand and mud, as well as hardpack, and doesn't wear too fast on asphalt and rocks. This tire provides better grip in soft terrain than any mid-hard tire I have used, DOT or not. I will definitely buy again.

Was this review helpful?