Tusk Front Motorcycle Steel Braided Brake Line

Customer Reviews for Tusk Front Motorcycle Steel Braided Brake Line

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 33 Reviews

Return to Tusk Front Motorcycle Steel Braided Brake Line Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Front Motorcycle Steel Braided Brake Line Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great line priced right.

DANIEL in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Aug 18, 2015:So bought this and installed it on a 2001 yz250f. I had to tweak the banjo fitting that attaches to the master cylinder. (do this by getting a smooth shank 10mm diameter bolt, or the banjo bolt and install the line in a vice, or the stock then use the bolt through the banjo to tweak to the desired angle.) I also dilled a couple more holes in the banjo bolts that came with it since there is only one hole on each bolt (be sure to deburr and remove chips if you do this) . Not sure how much a difference the extra holes make but line really improved lever feel on my Yamaha. the lever doesn't go to the grip anymore before it starts working. I routed the line through the stock hold point on the fork guard then drilled a couple holes and installed zip ties to hold it in the line holder. Pairing this line with some EBC mxs pads really made these wooden brakes come alive. they aren't as powerful as my KTM but they are pretty close now. great price, great line, with a few tweaks its perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit is perfect and looks good

Owen in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Jun 04, 2015:2008 YZ450F. Fits like a glove and all angles correct. Looks nice too. More braking power than OEM.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Helps but was a little short

Nick in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 21, 2015:Overall quality of this is great and does help in stopping power and does reduce brake fade. However, it was just a little shorter than stock for me so it fit a little tight.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TUSK

BRYAN in WI

Comments On Apr 30, 2015:Tusk is the clear choice when you are looking for value, with the same performance as any Big Brand name Manufacturer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Galfer line with Tusk packaging!

Gunnar in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2015 HONDA CRF250X

Comments On Mar 25, 2015:Don't let the Tusk brand name fool you, this is the same line Galfer line that they produce. This is a great option for anyone looking for the benefits of performance and reliability a steel braided line has to offer. Worth buying!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ride red!

Dan in AL – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF150R Expert

Comments On Mar 06, 2015:This line is red, and fits extremely well on my 150r motard. Used it in conjunction with a 250/450r caliper, EBC 250mm rotor and gsxr600 master cylinder on my mini motard race bike. zero complaints with this product, fittings are quality and so is the line itself, same line as the galifer line for less money, has galifer printed on it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

86 KLR600: Fits Fine

Mike in New York

Comments On Dec 08, 2014:Ordered this brake line to replace the original OEM line on 1986 Kawasaki KLR600. I used the 1987 KLR650 as a parts-finder bike because the 86 KLR600 was not listed. Brake line fit well, no issues. 86 & 87 OEM part number are the same.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy, worth it

joseph in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Nov 20, 2014:I installed in 10 minutes. No problems. Have for front and back. Very flashy looking. I love it. Will buy again if i ever need another. Year old now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Just like the OEM

Joshua in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Sep 18, 2014:Comes with new banjo bolts and gaskets, Fits and looks just like the OEM. Great product, Cheap price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

High quality brake line

Derek in IN

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:I was really impressed with the quality of the brake line. Helped regain feel and brake line is up there with the best. Mine came with washers and banjo bolts, great deal!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

DEAN in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Dec 18, 2013:have Hondas from 2002 cr 250r, 2006 450r and a 2010 crf250r. The front brake line fits all models and works great. They are not machine specific. If ordering for a Honda crf the lines tend to be same length and Banjo bend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best upgrade made

kyle in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Jun 13, 2013:Provides amazing feel at the lever and doesnt fade through a moto.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fits Perfectly

Nick in AZ

Comments On Apr 13, 2013:I tried installing this thing every way possible and the banjo fittings were not clocked properly. I was getting mad and then I remembered reading a review that said they were clock-able I looked at them several times and thought there is no way they are. THEY ARE, I used a P4 screwdriver (Phillips #4 it was close to the same size as the banjo fittings) and a pair of pliers. I stuck the screwdriver through the banjo and grab the hose fitting were it is crimped on to the hose and turned the screw driver. FITS PERFECTLY. Great look and quality product!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Surprised

ROBERT in TX

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:says Galfer on it

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Way Too LONG

Jeff in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:The quality of this brake line is good (4 stars) but it was 6 inches too long and the angle of the fitting at the master cylinder was not right. I buy lots of tusk products but disappointed with the fitment of this brake line. I can't even return it because some of the packaging is missing. I will be buying OEM next time.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product - but not 1 size fits all

Russ in TX

Comments On May 07, 2012:As everyone else says, it's a Galfer brake line. Looks great, performs great, no complaints there.
My issue on a CRF250X is that it is too long. My specific bike holds the rubberized portion via clamp, and the flexible steel line has a red plastic coating on it that you adjust to connect to the caliper. This section is so long that it moves around and either rubs on the spokes, or I've also had the front rotor catch the line and tear the red plastic coating. Before you say I installed wrong, I did swap the cable thinking the same thing...same issue. Still works great, but I'll have to figure out how to keep it out of the rotor and from getting torn up.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Actually a galfer line

CURT in IL

Comments On Jan 17, 2012:Unreal braking power and feel especially when matched up with a oversized rotor (I use a driven rotor). This IS the galfer line. Galfer is printed on the side with nothing that says tusk. Apparently they just buy the lines from galfer and sell them for less. It looks exactly like the picture of the galfer line. There is red on the top and bottom but a black sheath over the middle. It's the galfer line. I bought and used the line before getting the rotor. I thought the honda brakes were great before. The line brings them into a new league. The power is substantially improved. No disadvantages to getting one of these. The feel is improved too with a more progressive feel. Adding the oversized rotor later, gave another significant jump in performance. I'd say the line gave more power than feel and the rotor gave more feel than power but both feel and power were improved with each upgrade. I will never have a bike without a line and rotor. It's soo much better. All the top racers use both. Braking is a huge part in reducing lap times. Braking is really underrated (and talked about) in motocross, but is known to be of utmost importance in different types of racing.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works well for the price

Mark in CO

Comments On Nov 06, 2011:Purchased a CRF450X front hose for my CRF450R to clear the head light. (have lighting coil, it gets dark in the desert) Found line fit very well but not as rock solid as you would think. The line said Gaffer on it and tusk on bag it came in. After many bleedings the brakes worked but lever never solid, allways could be pulled to bar with increasing effort. The brakes would allways lock but it allways was springey. After the first line broke (after two years and a crash cracked it) I ordered and installed anouther one hoping it might be different. The new line is the same. The springy feel doesn't bother me thats why I gave it 4 stars. But if you want a rock solid no give line, this is not the line for you. If you need a new line that works ( with a little give) at a good price buy this line. (the red looks cool to!)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

fittings werent clocked properly

chris in BC

Comments On Feb 18, 2011:fittings werent clocked properly for 09 crf 250f chassis, 500 motor made it a little stiffer, even with it 100% properly bled i can still pull the lever to the bars
made by galfer
Additional Comments On Oct 22, 2011:THE FITTINGS SPIN AND CAN BE CLOCKED HOWEVER YOU WANT look carefully, its hard to see

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CRF450X

Ray in WA

Comments On May 10, 2011:Installed these on front and rear , planning on installing the pads and stainless rotors too.
Handle and pedal feel is improved , takes less effort to brake now .
Great deal for a renamed galfer product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great brake line

BILL in OR

Comments On May 01, 2011:brakes are back to like new again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great brake line

Brent in AZ

Comments On Apr 25, 2011:Great fit on my bike, tougher then stock lines and looks better too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect fit

Tyler in IA

Comments On Apr 22, 2011:fit my YZ perfectly and took out the flex the stock line had. i notice the fittings say galfer on them. i guess i know who makes it. Great stuff!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

work and look great

Stan in ID

Comments On Apr 20, 2011:I like the look. It was a little longer than stock but that made it so i could run taller bars without a problem. perfect for me.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2001 KX250 Front Brake Line

Les in CA

Comments On Apr 05, 2011:The brake line was the proper length and came with the new proper banjo fittings and crush washers. So far so good. When dry fitting the line I noticed that the lower bend would not allow for the front brake pads to be removed. The bend blocked the brake pad pin. I notified Rocky Mountain and they refunded my account without an issue.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Disapointed

Dusty in UT

Comments On Apr 11, 2011:This brake line is a full 5-6 inches longer then the stock one which makes the brake line run about half an inch away from the spokes(1994 CR125). I use Tusk products a lot and this is the first one that was this poorly designed. The brake line says "Galfer" all over it. Is it a "Second" and that is why it is too long? I don't know but I won't recommend the product. Luckily, I had a Stock brake line handy because I bought a used master cylinder off Ebay to replace mine and it came with perfect stock brake line. I put that one on and took the Tusk one off.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

brake line

Brendel in NJ

Comments On Mar 11, 2011:Awesome! These are made by Galfer. It says so right on the lines! Only they are cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

just Ok

BRIAN in UT

Comments On Jul 20, 2010:It is an average brake line. you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

99 CR 250

Michael in WV

Comments On May 04, 2010:This is an awesome product. All the fittings are clocked correctly and it bolts right up. The fit and finish are EXCELLENT. It seems Galfer was the actual manufacturer of mine. I will buy these again if I ever get another bike!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Galfer brake line at a Tusk price.

Bruce in CA

Comments On Mar 20, 2010:As other reviewers have stated, this is a Galfer brake line in Tusk packaging. I purchased this for a '95 CR500. On the plus side, this brake line is 1/2 the price of OEM. It brings the braking performance back to like new condition. It?s also a great looking translucent red color. The only negative is it?s about 2 inches longer than OEM, but this doesn't affect performance in any way. I would definitively recommend this product. Note: a torque wrench is needed for proper installation.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Still Galfer!

JIM in OH

Comments On Aug 03, 2009:Galfer quality at a Tusk price. These are a steal. Look a little bling too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

SUPER!

MATTHEW in IN

Comments On May 30, 2009:Great price. Had Galfer printed right on it... great quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

clint in TN

Comments On Apr 21, 2009:my stock yz brake started feeling mushy so I got this. It made a huge difference. It works great. I notice it says galfer on it too. great deal!

Was this review helpful?