Tusk Aluminum Handguards

Customer Reviews for Tusk Aluminum Handguards

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 209 Reviews

Return to Tusk Aluminum Handguards Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Aluminum Handguards Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks Cool

Shane in ID

Comments On Jun 18, 2015:I was able to customized my colors the way I wanted, Green and Black looks really good.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the investment!

Jeff in NC

Comments On Jun 02, 2015:I wanted to wait until I had used these guards for a bit before reviewing. Well, they definitely got "used" this past weekend when I yard-saled it due to catching a rut. Bike hit the ground pretty hard on the bars, enough to bend them and knock the steering out of whack. The Tusk handguards did their job and didn't bend or give at all. If they can take a fall like that and still be useable then they're good for just about anything within reason.
The matching Tusk plastic handshields have taken plenty of abuse too and are still perfectly serviceable. Aside from some scratches they're not broken and work exactly like you want them to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Saved my hands Hundreds of times!

Todd in MI

Comments On May 26, 2015:Don't be fooled by the price! These are perfect, I have bounced off of trees, fallen and saved my levers, Bike fell off of trailer, Bike fell off of rear hitch rack while moving... After writting this it appears that I am a cluts!! If it were not for these guards, I would be writting reviews for gloves, and levers ;) Worth every penny, Super guards, combined with the D-Flex plastic makes a very nice tree and mud guard!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good protection

William in KY

Comments On May 18, 2015:Need to be tweeked to fit KLR650

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Low price for effective protection

Bruce in TX

Comments On Apr 27, 2015:After dropping my dual sport bike on a steep, rock-covered slope and breaking the clutch lever, I realized the need to invest in more serious handguards (and improve my downhill braking technique). Researching several options, favorable comments about these handguards on a KLR650.net forum convinced me that I should give them a try. I'm glad I did, as they have done a great job in protecting both hands and levers for the last couple of years.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

strong but universal

daniel in LA

Comments On Apr 17, 2015:work well but I was too cheap to buy fatbar adapters so had to fit 7/8 adapters.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2009 TTR125E

Kyle in NV

Comments On Apr 06, 2015:Bought these for my wife's bike paired them with the cycra low profile endure handshields. They fit perfectly and simple install, she laid them down in a rock pile first time out and they didn't budge. Great value and product as expected from the TUSK brand.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent quality

Kevin in MI

Comments On Mar 21, 2015:I was quite alarmed when I first saw the package. These are literally a 1/2 inch by 3/4 inch aluminum bar. The swivel mount is excellent quality and fit my crf250l like a glove. Thanks RM ATV!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Extremely Beefy

Kevin in Ontario

Comments On Mar 21, 2015:I am very pleased with these hand guards. Excellent quality mounts and fit my crf250l with no problems. Couldn't get any better. Thanks RM ATV!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Weak Metal

BYRON in CA

Comments On Mar 01, 2015:I like a lot of the Tusk products, but these handguards are not made of strong enough metal. A simple tip over will bend them and then you have to reshape with a hammer. The fit was very good.
I have some Acerbis ones on another bike and they are much stronger.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just spend the extra money!

Joseph in CO

Comments On Jan 25, 2015:Have purchased MANY Tusk products and have always been happy, these are a different story. had to spend way too much time trying to get them to work with my Pro Taper bars and they bend really easy. Spend the money and get something else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great

ALEXANDER in NV

Comments On Jan 20, 2015:For the price, hard to beet. Ive had these before and they lasted quite a long time before one hard wreck finished them off. They do their job more than well. i'd recommend them to anyone

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Quality product

Alex in NV

Comments On Jan 12, 2015:Fit great with minimal bending. Nice and thick.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A+

LANCE in UT

Comments On Jan 05, 2015:Work well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Can't be beat!

DUANE in WY

Comments On Dec 10, 2014:Finally got tired of breaking control levers....These things fit great. I had to buy the fat bar adapters extra, but not a big issue. Definitely cant beat the price and the tusk wrap deflectors look awesome on them as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Product

Michael in PA

Comments On Dec 02, 2014:Good product but, better handguards exist. For the price they are worth it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

gaurds

Chase in AL

Comments On Nov 24, 2014:A little tough getting them to fit on my pro taper bars properly. They've taken a few good licks though and are holding up really nice

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does the job

Lehi in UT

Comments On Nov 23, 2014:Strong, well-built hand guards that look good. Easy to install. Best bet, take them out and see how they work, then install them without using the instructions. I've put these on two motorcycles. They have saved my control levers many times. Wipe out, stand the bike back up, and go. These do the job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Universal fit, but they do what they should.

Garret in AL

Comments On Nov 19, 2014:Keeps my hands from getting torn up going through foliage.

Additional Comments On Nov 19, 2014:Had to bend slightly to keep clear of a brake line, on 2008 Yamaha XT250.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very nice!

Ryan in MI

Comments On Nov 11, 2014:Very nice handguards. I installed them on the stock steel handlebars, then upgraded to the tusk aluminum handle bars and swapped the guards over to those. Good product, good price!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BUY

Alan in OH

Comments On Nov 04, 2014:Work great and the price can not be beat. I have these on 3 different bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great guards for the buck.

Kyle in TX

Comments On Sep 18, 2014:Good guards. easy installation. Serve their purpose and have done their job well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

saved my hands

CHERIE in MI

Comments On Sep 08, 2014:got into a head on collision at about fifth gear and didnt even bend this product. if your gonna ride in the woods these are a must and instillation was a breeze

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great value

Tom in CT

Comments On Sep 03, 2014:and great protection too. Easy install. Had to ditch my bar end weights on the KLR but no big deal...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid!

Alex in ON

Comments On Aug 20, 2014:Clear instructions and easy to install. Most importantly, they're solid and very sturdy.
Fits fine on stock bars of a 2006 Yamaha TW200

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You get what you pay for

Kyle in OR

Comments On Aug 19, 2014: I ordered these after finally breaking the Moose hand guards in half after 5 years of abuse. On the first tip over one of these guards bent. It's still usable for now, but I doubt the Moose ones would have bent in that crash. My suspect is that they use a cheaper aluminum on these Tusk ones than most of the "name brands" do. When these bite the dust (which probably won't bee too long) I will be looking at more expensive name brand sets to replace them.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Strong!

Dan in ID

Comments On Aug 12, 2014:Love these for the price, but most levers will hit the ball on the metal brace...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid, but could be better

Donald in AZ

Comments On Jul 23, 2014:This is a great bang for your buck product. Very solid and durable setup. I have the kit with the aluminum bar and the plastic screw on guards mounted to a standard diameter Renthal bar. They take a few tumbles before I have to loosen up the bolts, re-align, and retighten.
Lost one of the bolts on the first ride. A replacement from Ace hardware and a tube of blue locktight has solved this issue. Bolts should have come from the factory with a spot of locktight.
Inner interface clamps around bar and is a bit finicky. You have to crank the stuffing out of them (IMHO) more than I would expect to keep them in place. It would be a good idea for Tusk to provide the option of mounting the inner mount to the tripple somehow. Even of offered as an upgrade part, I would now go that direction.
I see they have plastic guards with integrated LED turn signals as an option. A nice feature if you decide to dual sport your machine or need to make it street legal to get to/from local trails.
Value is great, just add some locktight and don't be afraid to reef a bit on the bolts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Price

JONATHAN in CO

Comments On Jul 04, 2014:They bend very easy. Even just tipping over in the dirt. The mounting brackets are really large also.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ok but fit is bad

MAtt in Washington

Comments On Jun 12, 2014:These are very heavy construction. But I had to buy the 1 1/8" adapters and the fit is crappy at best. Spend more and get something that can be attached without looking like some hillbilly slapped it together with wood screws.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Should Have Big Bar Adapter Option

Shad in CA

Comments On Jun 03, 2014:They should give you the choice of adapters, either 7/8" or 1-1/8", depending on what you need. Not happy having to buy the big bar adapter set to mount these.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Guards

Andrew in CO

Comments On Jun 02, 2014:Can't beat these handguards for the price. Will buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

all good

jim in AZ

Comments On May 28, 2014:all good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nothing fancy, but work.

Timothy in WV

Comments On May 10, 2014:These aren't the greatest looking barkbusters, but they work really well. Put these on a KLR650, mounted like a dream. Project bars and levers like the should, even with the weight of the hog falling on them. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I Love These

Katy in TX

Comments On May 07, 2014:I primarily ride woods and these have saved my fingers and levers so many times. The only problem I have is that once you put the inserts into the handlebars they are impossible to get out.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

They work great

Nathan in NV

Comments On May 06, 2014:They work great and hold up to abuse. Before you install them make sure everything lines up. If it doesn't (It wont) Put it in a vice and bend it a little and check it again. Do this over and over until you have it bent perfectly for easy install. Then just bolt it together. Do not try and fight with it without bending it in a vice first you will get very frustrated.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent Handguards

AARON in WA

Comments On Apr 15, 2014:These are decent hand guards for the money. I put them on my wifes bike and they never broke on any of her crashes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Went on easy and did the job

Joshua in WA

Comments On Apr 08, 2014:Easy install and do the job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice fit, sturdy so far on "99 KLR/factory bars

Walker in WA

Comments On Feb 11, 2014:I like these so far, installation was fairly straight forward, plenty of maneuverability to get the fit just right. I didn't Loctite any of the mounting hardware, we'll see how tight things stay while I'm testing the set up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value

Mimi in CA

Comments On Feb 07, 2014:I bought a set of these to replace the lever mounted brush guards on my old KDX 200. After some fiddling around, and bending the brush guard bars like the instruction sheet suggested, they fit pretty nicely. I installed the Tusk green plastic brush shields as well. It was a tight fit where the mounts clamp to the handlebars, but looks good overall. You can't beat these for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

Eric in MO

Comments On Jan 20, 2014:Way shorter than the Cycras and much more inexpensive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Product

David in TX

Comments On Jan 15, 2014:Installed on 2012 KLR 650. Did not have to modify any component on the bike, had to adjust handlebars to avoid scratching or hitting anything. I ordered the bars with the wind deflector only, does nothing for cold wind pro. I even kept the bar weights. I took the inserts that came with the hand guards and cut them off at the horizontal relief cuts, turned them inside out, purchased a longer bolt and installed the new bolt and modified insert to have bar weights with the hand guards. well worth the money. Just wish the wind pro was better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit 2008 KLR650 perfect

Brendan in AB

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:Great price. no modification to the bars or controls, I use them with Barkbuster storm covers and Barkbuster B66 end weights

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great guards

Rex in Utah

Comments On Dec 14, 2013:I put these on an 02 DRZ400E over a year ago, fit was pretty good, no modifications needed, didn't use the inserts, drilled and tapped the stock handlebars instead. They have had several spills on them, they have held up well and saved my levers.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good deal! Great products!

DEREK in CO

Comments On Dec 04, 2013:Love these guards, been beating on them for two seasons and no damage yet! Can replace the outer plastic if you want too...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice guards

Josh in OR

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:Nice guards. Just remember if you have big bars you need to get the bigger clamps separately in addition.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best Bark Busters and Cheapest!

Drew in UT

Comments On Nov 22, 2013:The bars are sooo beefy and the fit is perfect. No reason to buy anything else. These Tusks are the bomb!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Saved my knuckles first ride

Jason in BC

Comments On Nov 01, 2013:Got these to go with my new rental bars. Perfect fit on my atv and very durable

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Handguards!

jason in MO

Comments On Oct 30, 2013:I bought these because we ride in the woods a lot. They have saved my knuckles and levers multiple times. Good product- good value!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

KEITH in AZ

Comments On Oct 11, 2013:I have these with the integrated turn signals on the plastic shields on my DRZ. After tons of abuse, they've never slid, bent, or broken. They protect my hands from the trees, cactus, and rocks, and make lever breaks a thing of the past. The shields and signals work great too.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Solid bark busters!

Mike in Montana

Comments On Oct 11, 2013:I have had a set on both of my bikes for four years. I dont run the plastic, just the aluminum bar.
1000's of diggers and 0 broken levers.
Trees dont pull my brake anymore.
My fingers love these.
They're cheap and indestructable. I shorten them so that they just go past the perch and brake res.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk hand guards

Matt in TX

Comments On Oct 09, 2013:Very easy to install! Look good too!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tuff

mark in NSW

Comments On Sep 29, 2013:I'm a believer in save myself and sacrifice the bioke, ie I throw the bike away a lot. These hand guiards are tuff.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price Quality product!

Daniel in CT

Comments On Sep 22, 2013:I picked these up for my 2012 DRZ 400S. I have enough abuse on these Tusk gaurds that I can make an honest review. These are AWSOME!!! My gaurds have been fully optested. I ride hard and these have suffered several impacts. they even survivled a 40MPH low side on the street due to an emergency stop gone bad. One hint on install is leave all the pieces loose untill everything is on then tighten parts as a last step. These have clamps made for standard 7/8 bars a friend of mine has used these on fat bars with longer bolts but IMO it looks pretty wack. You can probably get adaptors to adapt to fat bars but I have 7/8 heavy wall pro tapers so I dont know the part number. with aftermarket 7/8 heavy wall bars these fit great just pull the rubber spacers off the end caps and they fit right in

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Basic

Andrew in FL

Comments On Sep 05, 2013:Simple and basic bark busters that have saved my fingers many times and survived several crashes since I have installed them. You cannot beat the price of these babies.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Price--Work Well

Cody in WY

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:These gaurds can take some abuse. I lay my bike over all the time and they have saved many a lever from breaking. They have retained shape after 3 years of abuse. Almost time for new plastic!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Keeps the levers in one piece

Evan in CO

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:They fit well and look good on my KLX650R

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

exclent

robert in PA

Comments On Aug 18, 2013:well worth the money!!!! has saved me tons of money buying replacement levers for my boys bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Inexpensive and sturdy

DAVID in UT

Comments On Jul 26, 2013:I had to buy an extra adaptor to get these to fit my street legal components, but they work great now. They are holding up good and have already saved me from a hard impact with rocks and a tree growing out of the side of a wash.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great hand guards

Jason in NC

Comments On Jun 26, 2013:Fitment was easy and Tusk makes good stuff.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A great value, and easy to install on a 2013 KLR

Nathan in UT

Comments On Jun 26, 2013:I was worried that I would have issues installing these, given that I am a pretty lousy mechanic but it was a piece of cake, even for me. To install them on a KLR is really easy. I just used the bolts that held on the handlebar weights instead of the expansion bolts that the handguards come with so no modification of the hande bars or grips was necessary . The only thing I had to modify at all was the little wire cable keeper on the clutch side. I just cut that off with wire cutters and dremelled off the welds. It took me about 10 minutes. Other than that the only tricky part was getting everything lined up to not hit the fairings on sharp turns, but that went fine with a little patience. If I can install these anybody can. I highly recommend these for a KLR.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

bulky guards

Chris in MT

Comments On May 07, 2013:awsome. i thought they were going to be small and dainty(kinda for looks). well, they are not. i mean they look real good, but they squashed any doubts i had that they would'nt hold up. glad i purchased some guards that will resist the punishment i put my klr 250 through.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice!

Eric in MI

Comments On Apr 23, 2013:These are solid! A little pain to install, but they are solid and have held up to a few falls and branches just fine! A must for any trail rider!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good product for the price.

James in MO

Comments On Apr 12, 2013:These worked well on our smaller bikes when we were going slower. At race pace these won't hold up as well as others. These will work good for a recreational rider.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

Gabe in OH

Comments On Apr 08, 2013:Withstands the normal abuse and light impacts of typical riding. Easy install.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Product

Kameron in NJ

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:I got these handguards a little over a week ago and they are great! Fit onto bike perfectly the only negative comment I have is that I dropped the bike and it bent the handguard bar. Easy fix though. Other than that truly an amazing product for its price.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very, very tough stuff

Michael in NH

Comments On Mar 31, 2013:I purchased these guards for my 1997 KX 125 (moose 7/8 bars). I ride mostly wooded/rocky hardpack trails so these keep your hands from being smooshed by tree branches or rocks away from your fingers when you're getting roosted by the guy ahead. The original reason I bought these was because I'm short and sometimes I drop the bike. I kept breaking my levers, so after doing it twice I decided to spend that money on something that would save my bars and levers and they do just that. I have also put these things to the real test and flipped my bike completely over mid-wheelie in 4th gear. After the bike and I stopped flipping and rolling down the street, I went over to the bike, picked it up, and noticed the only things that broke were my rear brake level and the rear fender. These guards didn't budge. They didn't break. They didn't bend. Lock-tite also goes a long way. Very, very tough stuff. As for fitment they went on with no problems. I was susprised because they are "universal". I gave them 4 stars only because I had to trim my levers. I do like them short anyways, but I wouldn't want to be trimming an expensive set of AVS levers.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product.

Landon in UT

Comments On Mar 21, 2013:Good protectors, nothing worse than being way back in the hills, taking a spill and break a clutch handle. These guards will stop that. Just for your info they are compatible with the hand guards that come with the tusk offroad conversion kit. The only hard part i had was making the hole in the end of the throttle handle big enough to fit the insert, but even that only took a few minutes.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

uses 7/8 bar mounts

nathan in WA

Comments On Mar 16, 2013:Still use 7/8 bar mounts beware... Ive not owned a bike with these bars in years. Why cant they get with the program and supply modern day 1 1/8 mounts with the kit as it would save hassle. The actual handguards are really good and i hate to rip into TUSK as theyre products for me so far are faultless, just behind the times unfortunately with this one!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Strong

Josh in WA

Comments On Mar 15, 2013:they have held up well. Wife uses on her bike and she likes to hit everything

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good product

jon in AZ

Comments On Mar 05, 2013:fit good, nice and sturdy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not fitting right

robert in CA

Comments On Feb 18, 2013:bought these to go on my tusk chub handlebars and the big bar adapter. took longer than expected to install since the angle of the bars and adapter dont match up well. takes a little forcing but you can get it to fit snugg eventually

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did not fit the best Yamaha TTR 90

Mike in Washington

Comments On Feb 09, 2013:Did not fit the bikes I was putting them on. On both of them I had to extend the slotted hole where the inner bar adapters bolt up. On the bike with the Pro Taper bars, the hole in the end of the bars was too small and the wedge nut would not even fit into the bars. These hand guards would probably fit great on a different bike, but not on my kids' TTR 90's.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for light bikes

AJ in AB

Comments On Feb 12, 2013:Great on light bike but bent on my beast still better than busted levers anyway!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

impressed

cody in OK

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:Great product at great price, couldn't find a better deal, will buy more sets for future bikes, I do recommend this product to friends.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best hand guards for the money

Jacob in NM

Comments On Jan 30, 2013:You can't get better hand guards for the price anywhere. They come with pre drilled holes for mounting shields for your hands. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tusk aluminum Hand guards

Bryant in NV

Comments On Jan 29, 2013:The work great. Got them mostly to save my hands from roost. But I cannot tell you how many times they have saved my clutch and brake levers.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great product

Levi in CO

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:These hand guards fit perfectly and have taken a couple of good crashes with nothing more than a few scratches. If you use fat bars you will have to buy the adapter but that's not a big deal.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Fit and Easy Install

Shawn in WY

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:I put these on my daughters XR 100. They went fit well and the install was simple. She has not had any major impacts, but has tested them with several tip overs and even went over the bars once. They have done there job and are holding up well; only the plastic shows signs of wear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Strong

Tim in NC

Comments On Dec 23, 2012:Good quality and strong, needed for those of you who ride trails

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than the best

Randy in AZ

Comments On Dec 20, 2012:Are you kidding? The price on these handguards are crazy good. These bolted up just as easy as any brand. They look great and are massively strong. Tusk has great products, but this beats them all. I can't imagine why you would want to spend double for another brand. I ride a bit on the edge and have put these to the test. Even the plastic is indestructable. Thanks Tusk for showing the competition how to get us everyday riders some slack on price. Buy these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hangguards... Nuff said.

Christopher in CO

Comments On Dec 17, 2012:They work... Ended up taking off the larger plastic fairing, but they were an easy install. I'd get em again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not as strong

KATHLEEN in MO

Comments On Dec 15, 2012:These are OK, but bend much easier than the premium brands.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly strong, they work great

Matt in WI

Comments On Oct 08, 2012:I have these guards mounted on DRZ400-SM with Renthal SE bars. I had to snip the ball-ends off my levers to get them to clear the guards, but other than that, installation was straightforward. The guards themselves are really beefy, and look like they could take a real beating. The finish on them is nice as well, certainly way better than I expected for the price. Overall I would recommend these to anyone, and would buy another set in a heartbeat

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great

Edwin in CA

Comments On Sep 11, 2012:great

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can't beat these for the price!

Robert in WA

Comments On Aug 06, 2012:I have had the same set for four years. Dropped the bike lots off times and they are still in great shape. My son also has a set, he did manage to slightly twist one, but he hit pretty hard. I would definitely buy these again if they ever do break.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

these things are tough

Michael in LA

Comments On Jul 30, 2012:I like the price too

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product - great price

JOHN in IA

Comments On Jul 16, 2012:Had these on my last three bikes. Can be a pain to get to fit with the supplied 7/8 or suggested 1 1/8" mounts but time with a vice can bend them into a nice shape. Broke the inner mount on one of my 7/8" sets and rocky mountain sent me a replacement free of charge! Great service you guys! No problems with the last 2 sets I have ran with 1 1/8" bars with some hard side spills.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Guards

Daryl in IA

Comments On Jul 06, 2012:Installed these on a CRF 230. Easy to install.
Would recommend shorty levers for this application, as I had minor issue with the clutch side. Perch wouldn't slide over far enough to allow no interference. I just cut the tip of the lever off with a hack saw, and rounded the end with a file. Next order from Rocky Mountain will include shorty levers. Just leave everything loose until you get things where you want. Make sure you can access all the fasteners. I had to fiddle around a bit to reach the inner screws due to the crossbar. Like the fact that the holes for the plastic guards are already there.
The guards have easily survived banging through saplings, and a minor low speed get off. No tweaks, bends, or smashed knuckles.
Great product, great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great handguards

CARMINE in CA

Comments On Jun 22, 2012:All the hardware and quality you need. These are strong and versatile. Have put on a TTR 125 and a CR250. Easy and high quatlity.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Look great, bad fit

Jason in WY

Comments On Jun 04, 2012:I bought these for my 11 YZ250F with Pro Taper bars. I bought the fat bar adapters, and handguards will not fit correctly without some custom bending.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

crf450r

donatas in CA

Comments On Apr 11, 2012:used for fat bar you don't need extra brackets easy to grind with grinder to make it fit. tree times felt down on rocks in big bear hand guards like new.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tested Tough

Jess in OH

Comments On Apr 17, 2012:I think these things may be cursed, both pair I bought were tested the first day. They survived a flip on a YZ85 with no damage despite the renthal bars bending. The next rollover really put them to the test!! My TRX700 rolled and nothing but a little rotation inside the bar. NO BENDS!! This was a big roll maybe more than one (I was knocked out even with a helmet on) so I am a HUGE fan.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk-Aluminum Hanguards

ANDREW in CO

Comments On Apr 11, 2012:Excellent fit and protection on my Honda XR 200R, they work great.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Handguards

Donald in MI

Comments On Mar 03, 2012:Took some munipulating to install on my wr450f. Needed the mount extenders to finish install on pro taper bars. Look great and work fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Easy peasy

David in AZ

Comments On Mar 01, 2012:Easy to put on and without a doubt will protect me when I need it. Look awesome to!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Work great, tough

TYLER in IN

Comments On Jan 18, 2012:Used these for TransAmerica Trail on the DRZ. Good value and tough. Couldn't ask for more.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Install Tip!

Mark in OH

Comments On Dec 25, 2011:Install handlebar insert first, then attach handguard and tighten about 80%. Next, remove the bolt and nut on the backside of the clamp, and then insert the screw to attach the handguard to the clamp (about 1/2 way). Now, attach the clamp all the way around the handlebar with the bolt and nut you removed earlier. Everything should be loose. Now tighten the bar insert bolt 1st, then the handguard-to-clamp bolt, then tighten the clamp-to-bar bolts last. So much easier this way.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Fit well on 93 CR250R and 2008 TTR125

Paul in CO

Comments On Aug 17, 2011:They fit well, were easy to install and hold up well. Great product, great price. Installation took some minor tweaking using a vice but wasn't as bad as others i've installed. I was suprised how well they fit the small TTR bars. My daughter and girlfriend ride these bikes and ... I hope they don't read this .... they get their share of abuse on everything from asphalt, my trailer, sharp rocks, other dirt bikes... you get the idea.
The Acerbis crap I bought from our local shop for the same price broken in the sand.. seriously. It was very cold out but they broke on the first ride. The local shop Vickory in Denver wouldn't take them back so I won't buy parts from them anymore.
Additional Comments On Oct 19, 2011:After a season's of tough use from Goblin Valley to Black Hills to Taylor Park these have held up to countless falls. I recommend them now more than ever.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice!

Merle in CO

Comments On Oct 19, 2011:Put on before my 2 ride on this bike. Have taken a few diggers and they have protected the brake/clutch levers. I would recommend buying the plastic guards with the aluminum to keep the breeze off your fingers. I will be paying the extra $ to add them now.

Was this review helpful?