Tusk Clutch Holding Tool

Customer Reviews for Tusk Clutch Holding Tool

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 150 Reviews

Return to Tusk Clutch Holding Tool Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Tusk Clutch Holding Tool Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Use it often

tim in FL

Comments On May 04, 2016:use it often on the 50 and seem to lend it out just as much. Works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as it should

Jay in WA

Comments On Apr 27, 2016:finally bought one of these. Works as its supposed to

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Lionel in UT

Comments On Apr 22, 2016:This tool is a must. Had no issues taking my clutch apart

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This thing is a piece

Matt in UT

Comments On Apr 20, 2016:It worked, but I wouldn't recommend this tool. It bends and flexes all over the place. The jaws are cast and have slag that will scratch your clutch basket. Either plan on cleaning them up or see if you can buy a different tool. I think for my bike there is a 'standard' wrench option that looks kind of like a spanner wrench but a full circle. Unfortunately I can't remember who made it. Motion Pro maybe...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked Great

CADE in WV

Comments On Apr 14, 2016:Used this to remove the clutch on my ktm atv and it did exactly as it was supposed to!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't work on some clutch hubs

Hunter in AL

Comments On Apr 04, 2016:The teeth are too large to hold a 125 2T inner clutch hub, also works as a flywheel holder.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tool for engine work

JOHN in IN

Comments On Mar 28, 2016:This tool works like a charm on any engine. I took apart a 85 engine and it works just like it is supposed to. Would recommend this product to anyone

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works as advertised

david in NV

Comments On Mar 05, 2016:Good tool for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool for the price

David in NC

Comments On Feb 20, 2016:Great tool for the price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does the job

Dan in WY

Comments On Feb 15, 2016:but using on a RM125 I had to file the clamps just a little bit to fit the clutch hub better. The pins to hold the flywheel are a nice touch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great! keep it oiled.

dylan in FL

Comments On Feb 02, 2016:worked great for what i needed it for. wish the fingers were slightly thinner but i fixed that problem. keep the threads and spring oiled and it will last forever.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk clutch holding tool

Tyler in ME

Comments On Jan 23, 2016:Ordered it for my Kx did the job but the pins on the back are to big to hold the flywheel

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Clutch Holding Tool

JEFF in CA

Comments On Jan 15, 2016:Great price works excellent. I use it to hold the clutch basket for removal and for the flywheel removal

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not perfect...but good enough

Blake in NC

Comments On Dec 16, 2015:Had to modify the clutch ends and flywheel ends due to them being too big for YZ125. Easy fix with a dremel, and otherwise a great tool that works on all bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have tool

Preston in UT

Comments On Dec 14, 2015:Seriously. Just buy it. I tried making due with something else rigged together and broke a clutch basket. Got this and have never regretted it. So much simpler.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works okay...better if you modify it

JASON in PA

Comments On Dec 07, 2015:Ended up sanding down the square shaped clutch basket holding tips so they fit better into the basket notches. Works good for holding flywheels too

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have for motor or clutch work

kimberly in WV

Comments On Dec 09, 2015:Helps a lot

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

As good as motion pro

J.D. in CO

Comments On Nov 30, 2015:Used to rebuild bottom end on a TTR125. Worked great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

it works. good build quality

Ben in -

Comments On Nov 26, 2015:I've only used this on my 05 CRF450X clutch and it does the job. Like others say, the 'teeth' are a tad too big to fit right down into the clutch hub grooves but it still works great without any modification. just don't clamp it too tight or you'l risk breaking the aluminum hub

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk clutch holder

Austin in MI

Comments On Sep 10, 2015:Worked perfectly always happy with tusk products

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2004 crf250r

Josh in WV

Comments On Aug 22, 2015:A handy tool for a good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Clutch Holding Tool

James in MT

Comments On Aug 17, 2015:Had to grind a little off the sides, but works like a charm

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not good enough

Tyler in OH

Comments On Aug 04, 2015:never was able to hold baskets good enough to torque the hub nut down.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

keith in TX

Comments On Jul 14, 2015:works perfect as a clutch tool and can also hold your flywheel down for you.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Use it alot

DAVID in CA

Comments On Jul 02, 2015:Good quality

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

jon in WV

Comments On Jun 28, 2015:makes life easier

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

teeth too big, doesnt double as flywheel holder

Jonathan in PA

Comments On Jun 03, 2015:the claim is that this can also work as flywheel holder but for me on my 2000 cr250 is does no and it also a has big of teeth and can damage my inner clutch grooves.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

TUSK

BRYAN in WI

Comments On Apr 30, 2015:Tusk is the clear choice when you are looking for value, with the same performance as any Big Brand name Manufacturer.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Michael in PA

Comments On Apr 18, 2015:I loved this tool. Too bad I didn't buy it before I broke the old hub by using a screwdriver to hold it. This tool works great.

Additional Comments On Apr 18, 2015:I used it on a 97 CR250 clutch

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Durable

EDGARD R in AZ

Comments On Apr 10, 2015:Nice tool makes work easier

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ears to big

Travis in TX

Comments On Mar 09, 2015:The tool does the job but you have to be careful clamping the vice grips do to the ears are bigger than my clutch hub teeth slots. A little grinding and they fit just fine.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

clutch tool holder

Mark in CA

Comments On Mar 14, 2015:great tool it works like it should

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk strikes again

Cody in CA

Comments On Jan 03, 2015:Works great .. Saves tons of time and won't damage clutch basket

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Michael in PA

Comments On Dec 17, 2014:Works great/ must have tool.
The pins for the flywheel holder will not work with KTM flywheels.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does work on ktm

joe in TX

Comments On Dec 10, 2014:Fantastic tool. Does work on ktm just be careful

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works Great

Maksim in TX


Additional Comments On Oct 06, 2014:This holds clutches. Basically a locking pliers. Wish the knobs were a bit smaller. Used this a number of times, and have no doubt it will stand the test of time. Please ignore the original comment as it was meant to be left for a different tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Rayford in TX

Comments On Aug 26, 2014:Great tool. A good idea for any toolbox.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked.

Dan in ID

Comments On Aug 12, 2014:Worked fine. Did mash the "ribs" a little, could have been a little skinnier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Talk about making a job simpler

Jeromy in CA

Comments On Jul 31, 2014:This tool is a serious must have. hardy construction and simple design do a wondrous job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Clutch holding tool works on drive sprocket too.

Patrick in AB

Comments On Jul 08, 2014:I found tightening the drive sprocket required a special tool and I finally found this clutch holding tool also works great on the drive sprocket or counter-shaft sprocket.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

love this

Tabitha in AL

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:Awesome product.... Great price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Bob in BC

Comments On Jun 19, 2014:Makes the job a lot easier than some of the home made holders I have seen and made. Price is nothing for the time it saves

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Clutch Holding Tool

Oliver in FL

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:Works well as described, feels strong.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good product for the price!

Joseph in NC

Comments On Jun 03, 2014:It worked just as described.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Why Didn't I buy this thing sooner

Andrew in CO

Comments On Jun 02, 2014:After using home-made tools and strap wrenches for a while. I finally broke down and got the tool. It works just like it should. Very happy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does its job

david in TX

Comments On May 12, 2014:Its not a crimping tool just get it snug or u will damage the clutch basket. And use a impact of u have one to remove the nut on the clutch

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality

Chris in MI

Comments On May 07, 2014:Tool worked pretty good when working on my banshee but would of been nice if the flywheel pieces were just a tad bigger to avoid slipping when taking off flywheel nut.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

makes life easier

David in CA

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:this thing is solid, seems as well made as a visegrip brand tool.
said it before - I love tusk tools

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool for the money

Austin in CA

Comments On Mar 31, 2014:Save yourself some money and go with tusk brand tools, so far they've been doing their jobs well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Needs modifying

Brendan in WA

Comments On Mar 30, 2014:To fit my RMZ250 clutch hub teeth I had to grind the tines down much finer and change the angle so that they fit in nice ad deep and snug. I wouldn't dare use it as it comes. After modifying it did a sterling job.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice!

Thomas in PA

Comments On Mar 08, 2014:get one and make your life easy.works great. right tool for the job!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool!

Ben in PA

Comments On Mar 09, 2014:Bought this to hold inner clutch hub to tighten nut, tool worked great, didn't slip or damage anything, should have bought this years ago!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't spend money on other expensive tools!

Derek in IN

Comments On Mar 06, 2014:Works perfectly for clutch disassembly. Be careful and use a manual, and you'll be gold! Do not overtighten onto clutch hub or you can break the edges of the hub!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worked well

Owen in OR

Comments On Feb 15, 2014:Pretty simple product. worked as intended.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks good and feel weel made.

Bill in MD

Comments On Jan 06, 2014:Did not end up using this tool on rebuild of son's bike. Most likely due to my first time rebuilding a bottom end and had taken things apart in the wrong order. The tips were to large to use as a stator holder. It was a kx65 engine, most likely works well on larger bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

must have

Tim in CA

Comments On Dec 21, 2013:you must have this tool if you are changing the hub or basket. you will end up breaking or gouging the hub/ basket with wedge or screw driver trying to hold it and for the price it is worth not having an expensive fix. JUST BUY IT

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for clutch

David in MI

Comments On Dec 02, 2013:This tool worked good for me on my clutch, but the pins on it for holding a flywheel were too big. Couldnt use for that on my cr125.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

CR owners!!!

Gustavo in TX

Comments On Nov 25, 2013:The clutch side of this tool works fine, but the dowels that are supposed to double as a flywheel holder DO NOT fit the holes on my '00 CR 250R

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not for cr250

Brandon in TX

Comments On Nov 22, 2013:While I did get this tool to work on the clutch hub (eventually) I ended up ruining the hub before I got it off. THe material on the tool is to thick to fit into the splines on the hub properly, so it slipped a couple of times. Ended up having to really torgue it down. Also, could not use it on the flywheel because the posts that fit into the flywheel were to large, so I will end up having to fabricate something or purchase another tool from another manufacturer. This might work great on other bikes, it just didn't work very well on a CR250

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good tool for jap bikes

jayce in TX

Comments On Nov 06, 2013:great tool but will not hold the flywheel on a ktm

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really nice tool to have

FRANK in TX

Comments On Nov 03, 2013:This tool saved me a lot of trouble, I tried to torque my bolts down without it and broke the clutch pressure plate. Would highly recommend if you like to do your own work saves a lot of trouble.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must have

CAMERON in UT

Comments On Oct 27, 2013:Don't try to "Jimmy-rig" your inner clutch hub to try to get the nut off. It won't work, trust me! You need this to hold the hub in place, so you can remove the nut. I tried to jimmy-rig it, and ended up breaking the hub. Then had to go buy this AND a new hub. Just get this in the first place, and you won't have the same problem that I did!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome tool

justin in MI

Comments On Jun 16, 2013:Makes life a whole lot easier. Seems to be good quality not cheaply made.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

not just a clutch tool

Timothy in MI

Comments On Jun 01, 2013:This tool works very well for holding the outer clutch boss and the fly wheel while loosening or torquing the nuts. I've even used this to hold some of the inner clutch plate covers while torquing the springs. The design of this tool inspired me to come up with a better spanner tool for the rear shock nut.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good quality

Dave in CA

Comments On May 31, 2013:Work very well. No issues.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best cluth tool I have used

Joshua in NB

Comments On May 21, 2013:This tool is great for two reasons, it can hold any clutch not specific to model and it can hold any front sprocket.
Must have if you work on your own bikes.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great!!

Justin in LA

Comments On Apr 10, 2013:Used this tool on all makes and models of dirt bikes from 2 storke to 4stroke.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Must have!

Jason in SK

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:Makes life a lot easier! from holding the flywheel while removing/installing to loosening/tightening clutch basket! definite must have for the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

This tool sucks

JAKE in ID

Comments On Feb 15, 2013:The tool works ok on large bikes 450+ cc. BUT it is not design for smaller bikes, I destroyed the inner hub on a 125 using this tool.
It will leave tool marks on your clutch hub regardless of what bike you are working on.
TECH NOTE: Ensure that the tool is not over tightened. Light pressure is all that is needed when the tool is clamped down.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

You need this tool

Neal in ON

Comments On Feb 24, 2013:this is a must have tool for anyone working on bikes WORKS GREAT !!! and at a good price

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great too

Zachary in NY

Comments On Feb 21, 2013:If you work on your bike yourself, just buy this tool and save yourself the aggravation of not having it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!!

Jeff in MI

Comments On Feb 04, 2013:Great product, couldn't remove the clutch basket or hub without it! I have broken clutch basket teeth in the past trying to hold it to remove the nut...not anymore!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Tusk Clutch tool

Bryant in NV

Comments On Jan 29, 2013:Does what its supposed to.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

does half the job

Tom in Nevada

Comments On Dec 18, 2012:This tool does exactly what its supposed to do. It holds the clutch perfectly. It has, on the back side of the forks, two small cylinders that are supposed to fit in the two holes on the flywheel to hold it in place to loosen the nut on the crank to pull the flywheel off. They, unfortunately, do not fit by a long shot. Like i said it works great at holding the clutch but not the flywheel.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great product

Matthew in MB

Comments On Nov 21, 2012:makes the job a lot easier with the right tools plus then you wont damage something else

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best thing since sliced bread

Wes in ID

Comments On Nov 03, 2012:If you do any rebuilds on dirt bikes, you must have this tool!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

magneto holder too big but works great

Ryan in PA

Comments On Oct 23, 2012:this product works great only problem is the magneto pins are way to big, needed to grind them down a bit

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

400 ex worked pretty good

Raymond in OH

Comments On Oct 11, 2012:Says its also a fly wheel holder but won't work on 400 ex. Also as a note you need to get the jaws pretty tight mine slipped and took a small chunk out of the clutch center. Would help of the jaws were slightly thinner

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

clutch tool

LARRY in IN

Comments On Oct 05, 2012:works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tool

Marc in UT

Comments On Oct 01, 2012:Works great. Saved me a ton of frustration. a little thick on the ends for my clutch basket, but no filing/grinding necessary. Happy with my purchase. Tusk makes good stuff for the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tool

Paul in OK

Comments On Sep 27, 2012:great tool very helpful to have

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

These things are great

Jeramy in VA

Comments On Sep 15, 2012:I will admit I haven't used other styles or types, but this is easy for me to use, holds well, and the price is right. Much less than other brands out there.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice

DEAN in CA

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:works great and built well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great product

DAVID in FL

Comments On Sep 05, 2012:tusk are great products cheaper than other brands

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

hold it

Michael in CA

Comments On Aug 28, 2012:Works good. No complaints here.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works well

Ken in AZ

Comments On Jul 28, 2012:Must have for clutch work. My friend's motion pro tool slipped and broke his case on his KX450.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works but...

Kelly in AZ

Comments On Jul 23, 2012:could be better. I bought this to use on a '90 KDX200. The pins wouldn't fully seat in the flywheel because the arms of the tool would hit the rivets of the FW. Took about 5 minutes with my grinder and removed just enough to let the pins fully engage. Now it works great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Decent product

Cory in VA

Comments On Jul 10, 2012:The quality was ok, not as nice as some others but it didn't break the first time I used it so that was good. The reason for 3 stars is the jaws seem to be pretty small, it just barely opened up large enough to fit on the boss of my YFZ 450 clutch.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Andrew in CA

Comments On Jun 05, 2012:Works great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good tool

Bret in MI

Comments On May 15, 2012:Flexes a little but works okay

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

2003 Banshee

David in WA

Comments On May 08, 2012:Between this tool and the flywheel puller... made changing the stator simple!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

Justin in NV

Comments On Apr 23, 2012:Love this tool.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

A Must Have

Prentice in NC

Comments On Apr 11, 2012:One of the most important MX tools I've ever purchased. Many uses other than clutches and flywheels.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Clutch Tool

JAMES in UT

Comments On Mar 25, 2012:Good tool if your taking your primary drive, or clutch boss off I would definitely get one. it makes it so much easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

invaluable tool

andy in PA

Comments On Mar 19, 2012:if you rebuild motors yourself you need one of these. holding clutches, flywheels, gears, you name it

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did Not Fit My 2011 KX250F Clutch Hub

Michael in CA

Comments On Nov 16, 2011:The grippers are too big to fit into the notches in my 250f clutch hub. I had to grind them down in order to get them to fit.
I also noticed that the ends that are designed to hold the hub are not the same, meaning the metal is not the same size or even which made it a pain to grind down to fit.
I also don't like the "vice" style grip as it is easy to hold the hub too tight which could damage it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Tool From Tusk

LAUREN in OK

Comments On Dec 05, 2011:I have bought several Tusk products and have been satisfied each time. This tool is no different. Build quality is good and it performs the task just as well as the name brand version.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great price and quality

Rick in CA

Comments On Oct 01, 2011:Great price and quality, beats just tossing a rag in the gears instead.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite tools

Davin in MN

Comments On Sep 03, 2011:Amazing how simple this tool makes it to get your clutch apart. I broke two inner clutch hubs using home made holders before I bought this tool. Buy it!! I have many Tusk tools, all are great.
It clamps down tight and has a long handle for leverage. Perfect.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

perfect

France in QC

Comments On Aug 10, 2011:perfect

Was this review helpful?