Shock Sox Fork Seal Guards

Customer Reviews for Shock Sox Fork Seal Guards

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 19 Reviews

Return to Shock Sox Fork Seal Guards Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Shock Sox Fork Seal Guards Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seal wreckers

Steve in CA

Comments On Apr 06, 2015:Worst product out there as far as seal protection goes. I've tried them all and should have stuck with seal savers! They're the best. Shock sox blow! Literally!! They blew both my new seals on first ride!! They let debris in because the wrap around design is terrible and once the grit is in they keep it in because they are just tight enough to do so. If you want to ruin your seals in one ride then buy these for sure. If you want to protect your seals you're better off with nothing rather than these! Total joke

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad

James in OK

Comments On Oct 28, 2014:A good and easy way to protect your seals. They are a snap to put on and remove for washing. If you use the brighter colors be aware they will fade pretty quickly. At least the red ones did. But I did have them in the old car wash a lot!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love these things

Sean in CA

Comments On Oct 23, 2014:I really love these seal guards. They are easy to install and remove. I have not had any issues with them coming loose and the price is right as well.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Thin Velcro Male Tab Tore 1st Ride w/o mud swiper

John in GA

Comments On Sep 16, 2014:I removed mud swiper rings from my Husaberg forks and SS went on easily. It was like 54 seconds and riding = GREAT no fork removal. Fast forward 4 engine hrs and i removed SS with a little difficulty. The male velcro hook backing is THIN. My finger tip poked a 1/2" hole into tab. Not gonna last long was my thought, but then the same tab's stitching unraveled across half the tab making the seal useless. I will say that if you treat these things like they're made of glass you may get a few uses, but I'm buying replacement mud swiper rings and going back to basics. It aint tough enough. Guys you should have spent 50 cents more on good velcro and you would not have bad feedback on this awesome design. I will say that no mud got to my seals even after 6" of rain fell the night before our 2 day ride. Kudos on design, but stingy materials = poor life expectancy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Shock Sox 2008 KTM 250 XCW

BRYANT in UT

Comments On Jul 25, 2014:Great fork seal protectors. It is nice not having to take the fork off the bike for installation or removal. Makes for quick clean up.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good quality and design!

Reannon in MO

Comments On May 18, 2014:Was looking for replacements for my old set. Good quality and love the designs so I can remove them and clean easily without taking the entire wheel off. Recommended!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Won't ride/race without them.

JEREMY in PA

Comments On Apr 21, 2014:Anything that helps to minimize mud build-up around your fork seals while XC racing/riding is great. They do increase the life of your fork seals, but make sure you clean under them also. They will hold the mud into your seals though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Shock sox were terrible on my KTM 300.

Matt in MS

Comments On Jan 08, 2014:Rubbed holes through both sox on the first ride... useless.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Seem to work

Joe in NM

Comments On Sep 03, 2013:My seals seem to be cleaner with the them on especially on the dusty trails. Recommend cleaning them reguarly to minimumize grime build up and neoprene to where out. Have purchased two sets and will again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not too happy.

Chris in TX

Comments On Aug 17, 2013:The inside liner has torn away from it's base material after a single ride. I guess it doesn't matter they're still gonna rub the dirt away, but if I'm gonna pay that much for just some stretchy material, that should cost less than five bucks, then I would like them to be better constructed. I expect these to have to be replaced every few months.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2nd go around

Chris in Idaho

Comments On May 21, 2013:The first shock sox I got were only on the bike for 5 days and about 50 miles before I took them off to clean them and the forks. I noticed upon removal that the inner material in the sox was literally falling apart. It was torn in several places and the material that was covering the sox was tearing in several places as well. I followed the install instructions to the letter from the box, but yet these were falling apart in less than a week. I explained and showed my issue to Rockymountainatv/mc and they called me back the next day saying they were shipping out a new pair free of charge. Rockymountain backed up their claims of superior customer service by being nothing short of outstanding in dealing with me and the defective product. 5 star, A+ rating for Rockymoutain. I am willing to give the shock sox a second try as I did like what they did for my bike when they were on. They even managed to eliminate my weeping fork seals on my USD forks. I like the idea, the design, the price, but we will see how the second set holds up. I really would like to give these things a higher rating. Cant speak enough about Rockymountain, they have secured me as a future customer and you are on the fence or skeptical about this or other products, give it shot. I am sure Rockymountain's customer service will take care of you and any issues.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Look good

Ronald in PA

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:Just put them on my KX450F, they look good but only time will tell if they work like they say, any chance to save the seals is worth a try.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Saves your seals

Scott in California

Comments On Dec 23, 2012:I was commenting at work to fellow employee about my purchase of this product and suggested he do the same. Another employee said they were a waste of money and actually traped dirt beneath them and drove it into the seals. Well after my first ride I removed them and found no dirt, not even dust near the seals. There was a small amount of fine dust working its way up the inside of the sox and with time may have made its way to the seals. Just take them off after every ride and clean. Soapy water and dry. Reinstall with a few zip straps for a tighter seal. Don't know how they will do over the long haul but for now a great product.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Stitching could be better.

JEFFREY in MO

Comments On Oct 30, 2012:Stitching could be better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great

Edwin in CA

Comments On Sep 11, 2012:great

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great buy!

Joshua in CA

Comments On Mar 27, 2012:Simple and convenient! Easy to install and remove!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must have Product!

Ronald in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2011:Well worth their money plus they look sweet

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Easy on-off!

Jeff in CO

Comments On Apr 14, 2011:These are great protectors of fork seals. Easy to install, I remove them for bike cleanings and wash them with a little soap and hang to dry. They last about a season of riding and then the velcro tabs start to come off. I think they're definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

easy installatin

TY in WV

Comments On Mar 28, 2011:velcro makes it easy to put on and take off

Was this review helpful?