Primary Drive 520 ORH Gold X-Ring Chain

Customer Reviews for Primary Drive 520 ORH Gold X-Ring Chain

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 238 Reviews

Return to Primary Drive 520 ORH Gold X-Ring Chain Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Primary Drive 520 ORH Gold X-Ring Chain Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

Daniel in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Feb 24, 2015:Perfect fit great chain so far

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great looking, Really reliable

Scott in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 250 XC-W (E-Start)

Comments On Feb 11, 2015:Great chain! Wish it came with less lube or no lube out of the box. I had to soak in mineral oil to de contaminate so I could run a reasonable amount of lube

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Always a Gooder

Jake in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Feb 08, 2015:Have used the Gold X ring on several different bikes over the years, its always been a great chain. Usually one adjustment after the initial break in.............Will keep buying as the years go by...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rolling Resistance

Doug in CA

Comments On Feb 02, 2015:The chain is a beast and seems to be holding up great after 40hrs on my yz250 Massive rolling resistance compared to DID chain, I lube before every ride with yamaha chain lube Have noticed similar rolling resistance with all primary drive chains, get what you pay for

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good value

Matthew in IA

Comments On Feb 02, 2015:Used primary drive a lot. No issues.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great chain.

daniel in WV – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 31, 2015:I was hesitant at first. But this chain is very nice it has ALL of the plates coated with the gold coat not just half like renthal and did x ring chains.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

primary drive right price great product

JEREMY in OR – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA RAPTOR 700

Comments On Jan 11, 2015:outstanding chain and sprockets. for the abuse and amounts of sand gets cycled thru these i bought they hold up well. and the price you cant beat primary drive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome chain

Rudy in KS – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Jan 06, 2015:used this chain for awhile now and its one of the best chains ive ever used, cant beat the price either

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Heavy duty

Ryan in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Dec 31, 2014:This thing looks great. Had a slight initial stretch (to be expected) but hasn't budged since.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive X-ring chain

Josh in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Dec 23, 2014:This chain is BEAST!! Great look (GOLD), and I could tell a instant difference while riding!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks great

Wayne in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Dec 22, 2014:Made the mistake of Mean Green on my stock chain and it rusted overnight. Bought this and works great, fits good and lasted a long time. The gold doesn't look tacky like other colors.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Does what it is meant to do!

Sean in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Dec 01, 2014:This has been a good chain held up well. Has done a great job at a very fair price.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth every penny

PAUL in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Nov 23, 2014:After the initial break-in I have not had to adjust the chain in 18 hours of riding. I do keep it fairly clean and use chain wax. When, some time in the future I need another chain I'll buy this one again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Brian in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Nov 17, 2014:After a weekend of riding it still looks just like it did when it came out of the box

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain

William in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Nov 10, 2014:Good chain very little stretch and has held up well

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pulls

michael in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 CAN-AM DS450 X XC

Comments On Nov 04, 2014:very good chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain!!

Colin in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On Nov 04, 2014:Rode the heck out of this chain this year. I only had to adjust it once after initial break in. It has barely stretched at all! Keep it lubed and go!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

excelent

frank in Texas – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Oct 29, 2014:excellent chain for looks and play,lasts a long time!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain for the price

Zachary in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA WR250R

Comments On Oct 25, 2014:Ordered this chain because I went up 4 teeth in the rear. It has lasted tough riding for a whole season so far.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Chain!

Callum in NS – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA TTR230

Comments On Sep 29, 2014:I've put about 8 hours on this chain so far and has hardly stretched! Really really happy with this chain!! I recommend this chain to any dirt bike riders!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

cant beat

CHERIE in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Sep 08, 2014:for the price you cant beat it and hold great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Excellent chain for price

Cody in PA

Comments On Sep 04, 2014:For the price the chain is great and does a great job

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain

Jonathan in NJ

Comments On Aug 25, 2014:Doesn't stretch easily, wears well, and x rings stay lubed

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Chain and Sprocket Kit

Matthew in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Jul 21, 2014:This kit is awesome. Fit completely up to my bike with no issues. This was the first time that I have bought a chain and sprocket kit that I did not have to take links out of the chain. It comes ready for your ride. And the Steel sprockets are holding up well. The chain holds lube really well and rolls really nice. I have always ran other race chains and always took care of them but this chain seems to move freely and with ease. I race every weekend and ride trails and such during the week and I have only had to tighten my chain one time! Great product, great price and even better fit up.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

NICE

Trevor in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jul 15, 2014:This is an amazing chain! Fits well on my WR450 but I had to move the wheel in a fair amount with 15/50 gearing.
The looks are one of the best features. I know aesthetics should not be a prime concern when choosing a chain, but it can't not hurt either :)
I have wanted a quality x-chain for some time and decided to get one. I will be using x-chains from now on. This chain is quite and so far after about 50 miles of riding has not needed any adjustment.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

works great

DAKOTA in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA BLASTER 200

Comments On Jul 07, 2014:this chain is good for the price but i prefer a renthal. still a great chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Yet to be instaled

Manuel in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Jun 26, 2014:I have the complete package,rear, front, and chain; Looks real good ,master link and best of all the Price how can you beat that, looking for a chance to use it on this coming season

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bling chain

STEPHEN in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 YAMAHA RAPTOR 350

Comments On Jun 13, 2014:Wasn't sure on what chain to buy and after reviews and other sites I chose this chain. It looks great and has held up well for my small quad

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Looks awesome

Christian in QC – Machine this part was bought for: 1986 HONDA ATC 350X

Comments On Jun 05, 2014:Looks awesome on the 350X! Strong and clean!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WILLIAM in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 15, 2014:Chain is stiff and heavy, has to be adjusted every ride when new, then every other ride after about 15-20 hrs. Gold look is nice though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Go for tye Gold

Scott in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On May 13, 2014:Best buy I've seen in high performance chains. Buy this chain for its quality because the price is just icing on the cake. Minimal stretch and tough as any chain I've used in my 40 years of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain, Never stretched

Rick in Ohio – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On May 07, 2014:I have approx. 16hrs on the chain and never had to adjust it. I am a B rider in motocross and this chain is quite impressive. I am very pleased with the quality of this chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Bike chain

Matt in NSW – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On May 05, 2014:Spot on great product and good speedy delivery right to my door in Australia.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Really great chain

kaleb in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 SUZUKI RM125

Comments On Apr 29, 2014:Great chain. Looks good in gold. Haven't had any problems

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth the price

James in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 350 XC-F

Comments On Apr 08, 2014:I am not particularly impressed. The chain had more side flex new than the old chain I took off. It has worked well for several months of racing, but I will upgrade next time.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary Drive Gold X Ring Chains

KAYLA in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Mar 10, 2014:On 450, Inner links kept braking after a few rides. On 400ex they hold up much better. Switched to RK with excellent luck.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome chain.

Andrew in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI LT-R 450 QUADRACER

Comments On Mar 04, 2014:i only race mx and highly reccomend it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

My go to chain!

CARMEN in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Feb 06, 2014:Last forever, awesome price, quick shipping. You had me at hello.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain kit

James in MI

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:great value and works as good as a brand name item.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Chain

Russell in AL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Jan 03, 2014:I ride the woods and i have always ran the traditional O-ring set up but i needed something a little bit thinner. This did the trick. Chain doesn't rub on the bottom chain guide nearly as much.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works good for me

Greg in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 200 XC-W

Comments On Jan 01, 2014:Good price and the set is holding up well. I don't notice any wear after 6 months. Better value than the more expensive brands.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

No stretch

Tim in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Dec 21, 2013:Great chain. has not stretched out and have not had to adjust the tension since I put it on. my bike is throwing a lot of horse power at it and hasn't moved yet. I will buy again if I ever have to but at this point it doesn't look like its ever going to wear out

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DAMN GOOD CHAIN!!!

VINCE in Nevada – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Dec 19, 2013:I only had to adjust this chain once, and 9 rides later it's still perfectly set!! I ride a very powerful bike, and do lots of jumping and hard MX riding at top speeds and this chain never lets me down!!! Great chain, without the high top-brand prices!! Get one,..you won't be sorry...

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pleased

Justin in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Dec 12, 2013:Replaced Chain/sprocket set two monthes ago. no complaints

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

well done

chad in OR

Comments On Dec 05, 2013:I have never been disappointed with the products purchased at Rocky mountain. They give back to the community and have my business.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

off road

anthony in PA

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:this is my endure chain..still holding up great

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Nice chain

Duane in NY

Comments On Nov 29, 2013:I was nervous about putting this relatively cheap chain on my xc-w just before a big trip to the mountains of West Virginia but after 4 hard days it never needed to be tightened once. It looks good and seems to be wearing nicely.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain!!

Vince in Nevada – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KAWASAKI KX250F

Comments On Nov 04, 2013:As good,..or better than high-priced named brands chains! Great color & look!! Much better than "standard" chains or stock ones!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

chain breakage

Dale in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 YAMAHA YZ450F

Comments On Oct 21, 2013:I got to use this chain for about 30 miles and then the chain broke when I was shooting a hill and it took out my case. About $1000.00 dollars in repair. Won't buy one again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain

CHRIS in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Oct 21, 2013:Good chain. has about 5 races on it still good

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT CHAIN

JAMES in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 YAMAHA YZ250F

Comments On Oct 15, 2013:BOUGHT THIS CHAIN TO TRY THE PRIMARY DRIVE BRAND AND WORKED OUT GREAT. THE CHAIN IS A QUALITY PRODUCT AND LASTS JUST AS LONG AS THE OTHER BRANDS.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Price Good Chain

michael in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 YAMAHA WR426F

Comments On Sep 25, 2013:Chain is on a plated WR426. Seems to hold up well, I have not had to adjust it after three rides.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Aaren in KS – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Sep 22, 2013:Looks great, works great, easy to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

Tyler in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Aug 27, 2013:I've been running it for a couple months now and no issues! Its stretching normal, not squeaking, holds up just fine! I do lube er up before every ride.
I figured I would give Primary Drive stuff a chance due to price and hearing good things on forums. Would definitely buy Primary Drive stuff again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

I always buy

TYLER in CA

Comments On Aug 25, 2013:I always buy these over the other expensive brands

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Four rides in so far!

Stan in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 KTM 380 MXC

Comments On Aug 23, 2013:I am a big guy on a pretty big bike in the Rocky Mountains. I haven't stretched the chain so far, and it looks nice! Great Price, and great chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Last chain you will buy

DAN in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 250 XC

Comments On Aug 08, 2013:Order the steel front and rear sprockets and you will never need one again. First ride stretch and then tuff tuff tuff tuff. Excellent value!!!! And steel is worth the extra couple of grams in weight!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Im sure it will last

Ryan in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jul 10, 2013:Be aware that most likely your local shop will not carry Primary Drive should you need a replacement master link or something else.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

Jared in OH – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 SUZUKI Z400 QUADSPORT

Comments On Jul 08, 2013:This chain is by far the best chain ive ever had on my quad. it fit perfectly and hasnt stretched at all. im very happy, its worth the money.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

Scott in CT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jul 05, 2013:Great value with good looks. Several hard, long motos with only minor adjustments. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

KLR 650 less than expeced life

Charlie in Florida

Comments On Jun 28, 2013:street driven klr, I lube my chain alot and keep adjusted (never to tight). I got less than 10 k miles its kinked up and needs replacing. Got more miles on the stock chain. This was gold chain and sprocket kit.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Not sure what to think of Primary Drive

Mike in MN – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA XR650L

Comments On Jun 23, 2013:I didn't have much time on this chain and while on a recent dual sport trip, the master link broke at about 60 mph. I have never had this happen before with other brands so I am not sure what to think of Primary Drive.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great buy

kurtis in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 HONDA TRX 450ER

Comments On Jun 22, 2013:What a good kit !!! will def buy again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good chain

Joe in NY – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YFZ 450

Comments On Jun 19, 2013:Good chain for a good price, ins tall was smooth.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain

LOGAN in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KAWASAKI KFX 450R

Comments On Jun 18, 2013:I figured a chains a chain so i just bought the x ring because they look cool and i have heard about them but it turns out there really strong i haven't had to tighten my chain on my Kawasaki 450 for 4 months where as stock i was at least once a month

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Almost too perfect fitment!!

Chris in TAS – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 SUZUKI RM250

Comments On Jun 12, 2013:Chain fits perfectly, almost too perfectly! Was worried that the chain wasnt going to be long enough and fear that if I had gone larger sprockets, the chain would not have fit properly. Besides that, works perfectly so far!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain !

ROB in CO

Comments On Jun 10, 2013:I have used this chain on all my Race Quads, never had a problem with stretching or breaking, would recommend to anyone!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain for powerful bikes

Ryan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KX450F

Comments On Jun 06, 2013:Took me along time to find a chain that format stretch on my kx. This chain never needs adjusting with the steel sprockets. This is the best combo on the market u can buy

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

pretty good!

Tanner in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On May 31, 2013:looks trick, wont wear out as fast as standard and its strong! only problem is is that u should get a chain tool cuz we had to put the master link on without the o rings cux we couldn't get the masterlink in the slot but holds up great!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

bargain chain

CHRISTOPHER in CA

Comments On May 25, 2013:excellent value has been very durable

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good

Royal in UT

Comments On May 23, 2013:For my application i needed a spacer for my front sprocket because this chain was too wide for my project yz125 and would grind into the case if i didn't put a spacer. Other than that the chain seems to hold up well. (again it is only a 125 not a 450 torque machine)

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best chain.

Gabe in MI – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ250

Comments On May 22, 2013:This is the best chain I have ever bought. it looks great and lasts.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Worth It

Barry in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI RM125

Comments On May 20, 2013:A Must have if you serious

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tough

COLE in MT – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 18, 2013:lasts forever if maintained. I have three of them on different bikes and I love these chains

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Very good chain for the money

DANIEL in LA

Comments On May 12, 2013:Just installed my 3rd one of these. They hold up very well if kept clean and lubricated. The gold coating resist rust which is a plus.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works great

JOHN in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On May 08, 2013:Works great. I've used several of these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

great!!!

Trenten in BC – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Apr 29, 2013:love the price, chain is looking good! no problems.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good chain, good price

JAY in UT

Comments On Apr 23, 2013:wears just like DID or RK at a fraction of the cost

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

strong

Francis in MD

Comments On Apr 22, 2013:love the x-ring over the standard o-ring

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Chain

Scott in WY

Comments On Apr 19, 2013:I don't think paying the extra price for the gold finish is worth it, but the chain is of great quality.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Yamaha WR 450. Chain Broke cost me $1200 in repair

Mike in Utah

Comments On Apr 10, 2013:DON'T BUY!!!Spend a Little more $$ on a Better Chain!!!I'm about the 5th guy on here that a Primary Drive chain broke on a 450 bike.Spend the extra $$$ and buy something else.When It broke it cracked my engine Case that was $650 alone.LAST time I buy Primary Drive ANYTHING.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cant beat this deal,

Daniel in OR

Comments On Mar 19, 2013:I've had many chains over the years and I always thought you get what you pay for and that just isn't true.. these chains have held up as well or even better than the $120+ chains i've purchased in the past

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hmmmmmm at first but happy now.

Steven in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CRF450R

Comments On Feb 28, 2013:Well I finally got around to installing this chain & im wondering if I made a mistake buying it. First off it came virtually dry. So dry that I wont run it without lubing it first. Thats a first for any new chain Ive ever bought in 30 years.Second the master link did not come with grease pack to lube it. Another first with a oring or xring chain. The master link was also virtually dry. Luckily I have the better part of a grease pack that came with a DID oring master link & I can use that. I purchased a chain a couple links longer than I needed cuz I am adding a tooth to my rear sprocket & also installing hammerhead axle blocks which are a bit larger than the oem ones & I wondered if that alone might need another link. Anyway I went to break the chain & discovered that again there was virtually no grease in the sealed link. Never seen any chain so dry when brand new. It is so dry that if you hang the chain up it appears kinked. It isnt but it should move better than that. You cant lube behind a oring & the grease installed when the chain was built is all there is.Im wondering about the life of this chain now.Time will tell but I can say at this point in not a happy camper & cant recommend this chain.It looks like cheap building & just not using enough grease when making the chain.

Additional Comments On Mar 17, 2013:Just a lil update. While I was not impressed with this chain due to its lack of lubrication when brand new it is holding up really well so far. I have 7.0 hrs of moto track time on it now & at about 1-2 hours I had to make a small chain adjustment which is normal with most all new chains as they tend to stretch a bit when first used. At the 7 hour mark it has not needed any further adjustments. Its installed on a 450 & 450's put a chain to pretty hard use. At this point I can recommend this chain.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

strong steel sprocket

Matt in GA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 KAWASAKI KX250

Comments On Feb 19, 2013:Just installed on kx250 and works great so far last one had no teeth left so ordered new chain also both came on time with no problems! Will definatly use rocky mountain again!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

nice chain

Scott in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Feb 18, 2013:seems like a nice chain

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain

Michael in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 KTM 250 SX-F

Comments On Feb 11, 2013:Very stout x-ring chain, no worries about replacing in the near future.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

good

corey in SD

Comments On Jan 30, 2013:fit right on. looks like it is strong chain. only got one ride on it, so time will tell.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Primary drive 520 X ring chain.

Bryant in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 29, 2013:Great chain. Getting the master link on of the first time is a bit of a chore. But once installed and properly lubricated it will last for what seems like forever. Stretch is minimal unless you dont have it adjusted correctly. Im unsure if the extra price is worth it in comparison to the O ring chain, but they are different. But I havent worn this one out yet, so time will tell.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Super tough, resists stretching

Mark in MO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 HONDA CR250R

Comments On Jan 24, 2013:Awesome chain, and I ride my CR250 hard, mostly woods. The chain required one first adjustment, and have not had to touch it with over 30 hard hours. The gold finish wears off where it runs through the guides, but that is it. I do take care of my chains.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a chain

DAVID in VA

Comments On Jan 02, 2013:The abuse it takes. The chain is strong hardly stretches so there are not as many chain adjustments that need made. The o-rings are durable taking all the sand,mud, and cleaning chemicals without breaking down. I have cleaned and oiled the chain and it has outlived my sprockets and is still in great condition yes its not shiny and its discolored but the chain, links, and o-rings are in great shape ready to be used on another set of sprockets! A FANTASTIC STRONG CHAIN.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Works Great, High quality, Quiet, Looks Good

Evan in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Dec 31, 2012:The chain does what it should, and looks really nice, the gold adds a nice touch

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great chain

Donald in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA TRX 400EX

Comments On Dec 19, 2012:Lasted the entire race season, keep it lubed and adjusted and it would last for years for normal trail use. Great product RM as always!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great value

steve in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2008 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 14, 2012:best ive ever ran ill diffinitly buy again

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

ALWAYS BUY THE BEST

JAMES in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI RMZ450

Comments On Dec 11, 2012:SO FAR SO GOOD!!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent chain

DAVID in MD – Machine this part was bought for: 2009 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Dec 08, 2012:I bought this for a KLR650, to replace the stock chain. (I ride mostly on the street) I changed it with the front and rear sprockets. I could feel the difference right away. The bike felt stronger. I've been using it for a few months now. I haven't noticed any stretch at all. I haven't been keeping up on the cleaning and oiling of it, but there is only slight rust in a couple spots. The bike sits out side all the time. I will buy this chain again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

cheap and tough

Jacob in WA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:cheap chain but performs great. Its been holding up for quite some time on my race bike. I will purchase agian

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Chain

Daniel in FL – Machine this part was bought for: 1989 SUZUKI LT500 QUADRACER

Comments On Dec 05, 2012:Good chain for the $$$. I ride in sand and it seals out the grit. Chain stayed nice and tight after many hours on it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Ed in NH – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 HONDA TRX 450R

Comments On Dec 01, 2012:Even after a summer of riding it was like new! Great product. I've used this kit on my 2004, 2006 TRX450R and on my wife's 1999 400EX. I will order it again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good Price, Decent Quality

Diane in IN – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 SUZUKI RM125

Comments On Nov 27, 2012:Can't be the price for an x-ring gold chain. Really heavy compared to other x-rings I have used in the past. Very durable chain, but the gold finish wears away quickly.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love this Chain

Robert in CA

Comments On Nov 05, 2012:Price was right, and and the chain is a winner.

Was this review helpful?