Pirelli MT21 Dual Sport Rallycross

Customer Reviews for Pirelli MT21 Dual Sport Rallycross

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 30 Reviews

Return to Pirelli MT21 Dual Sport Rallycross Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Pirelli MT21 Dual Sport Rallycross Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good all around tire!

David in NJ – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 KTM 690 ENDURO

Comments On Apr 28, 2016:These tires were OEM on my bike, and I got 6000 miles out of them. I'm not easy on them ether. I accelerate hard on the pavement, and keep them spinning in the dirt. Ridden in the mountains, sand/pine forests, and the streets of Daytona Bike Week. I'm very hard on the front brake too, which makes the center knobs wear out funny. Can be shaky on the Interstate (Not "Death Wobble" Shaky), just enough to get a little funny handling on the front. I chalk half of that up to the bike being so light, compared to a normal street bike though. I don't feel it anymore ether since I installed a steering stabilizer. Knock-On-Wood, No Flats Ether! Didn't give it 5 stars just because no dual-sport tire is perfect handling in both dirt & street applications.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tires!

Dale in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2005 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Apr 04, 2016:I live in New England and these MT-21s are perfect for the single track woods and fire roads we have here. I dont have a whole lot to compare them to because I was a D-606 fan for a long time.With that said , I can say on the pavement and off these tires are waaay better than those or even the Motoz Hybrid that I had for a while (scary tire) I cant see there being much better out there for hooking up on a steep rocky hill climb and at the same time no worries leaning it over in the twisties.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good so far

Dan in Louisiana – Machine this part was bought for: 2006 SUZUKI DR650SE

Comments On Feb 16, 2016:Installed a set of these, 130x17 on the rear just before a five day ADV ride in Colorado and Utah. Im 230 lbs and the bike was loaded with 50 pounds of gear. Rode 1000 miles of hard riding everything from interstate to nasty jeep trails on the passes. The tires were given no mercy and ridden hard. The front held up well but is showing some uneven wear on the center knobs. The rear is over half used up. Granted the bike was run hard and pushed near the limits of traction with the extra load over the rear. The other guys on KLRs had much more street friendly tires and I hung in with them on the road. Will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best DOT Front Tire So Far

Scott in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Jan 02, 2016:Have tried several others but so far this is the best front I've used on my drz. hooks up good off road and does not wear too fast on the street.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

very good buy

TOM in PA – Machine this part was bought for: 2004 SUZUKI DR-Z 400S

Comments On Sep 09, 2015:nice tire wears great plenty of traction on roads and trails,would buy again A+

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Well-ballanced tire

Scott in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2011 SUZUKI DR650SE

Comments On Apr 23, 2015:Provides a good compromise between off-road capability and DOT street legal. These are the most aggressive DOT-approved tires I could find and they are great. I wouldn't recommend much freeway riding with them, though.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Soft Sidewall

Jason in OK – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 KAWASAKI KLR650

Comments On Sep 22, 2014:Bought this tire for the front to replace a Dunlop D606. I should have known better to stray away from the Dunlop. The Pirelli MT21 has a really soft sidewall and felt spongy to me offroad on my KLR. Removed it after two short rides and went back to my favorite Dunlop.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

tip on even wear for front MT 21

John in British Columbia – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 350 EXC-F

Comments On Jul 11, 2014:I have used the MT21 front tire many times on DRZ 400, KLR 250, WR250R and now KTM 350 EXCF. Yes the center knobs wear terribly uneven. That is when using an inner tube. What I have learned through experience is that when a Tubliss bladder is installed, the center knobs wear evenly when inflated to 28 psi on pavement. Also it helps if the rider is not heavy on the front brake when using an inner tube. By the way, I use an MT43 on the rear. Save the trails.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great front Dualsport tire.

Dustin in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 1991 HONDA XR600R

Comments On Jun 07, 2014:I get about 5000 miles before the knobs in the middle wear down as mentioned in the other reviews (WATCH for it, because the rest of the tire still looks great). Tire is DOT, gives great longevity, and performs on Blue diamond trails all day long! Easy to install with an ultra heavy duty tube.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great dual sport tire

Joshua in NB – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR250R

Comments On Jun 05, 2014:This tire has been great, I have used two of them now and they are much better than the front D606 or the stock tires for the WR. It doesn't hold side traction and washes out a bit (not as bad as the 606) however you have to give up something to get a tire that is ok on the road.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

great tier

chad in Utah – Machine this part was bought for: 2000 HONDA XR650L

Comments On Apr 16, 2014:i had the kenda for the rear and hated it didn't do crap in the sand and mud so i went to the perelli rally cross and i loved it, in fact i am getting a newer bike same xr650l and i will buy the same tier but i will stay with the kenda for the front if you are looking for a tier that last a long time go to a street bike tier but if you ride 80%to 90%dirt this is the tier for you

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Mark in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 HONDA XR400R

Comments On Nov 05, 2013:Purchased front & rear 18 months ago... and now have 4000 miles on them. The front has worn well but not evenly and missing a few side knobs. Generally run 12 to 14lbs of air and have had 4 flats with this tire. The rear is just about near the end of it's life cycle. Always 10 to 12lbs of air. No flats, no chunking, nothing outstanding regarding wear. Served me well with my riding in the Desert SW. Lots of rocks and sand limited pavement use. Would recommend these to others with my style of riding and the DOT rating pleases my insurance co.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Works well

Kyle in IA

Comments On Aug 02, 2013:Got these to be DOT legal. Ended up doing more street than I intended but they seem to hold up and grip ok on the street. No major wear or problems yet, been about 4 months - 500ish miles.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed, wears very quickly!

JOHN in VA – Machine this part was bought for: 1997 SUZUKI DR650SE

Comments On Jun 03, 2013:I dont understand all the rave reviews for this tire! I put on a new one just before last weekends national dual sport in PA. I wanted something a little more aggressive than the Kendas I was running but still DOT legal. Well was I disappointed! After only about 180 miles of which only about 30 was pavement this tire is nearly toast! It wore more than my friends non DOT full knobby! No chunking or anything bad, just massive wear! The indented wear line between the center knobs is almost gone and and all the knobs are rounded pretty badly, looks like I might get 1-2 more rides like this before it is really worn out. I will have to try something else. The tire did hook up pretty well in the bad mud etc, but was very skittish in the rocks also. Again dont get the rave reviews, my friend said he had a similar experience with this tire.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wears a little funny

BERT in AB

Comments On Apr 09, 2013:Had 3 of them in the last 5 years. Great DOT front tire with tons of grip in most conditions. Perfect for mud or gravel. Get about 6000km (4000 miles) on a front. It is awesome when new.
HOWEVER (if you do pavement) the tires wears unevenly: the two side-by-side knobbies in the center are wearing faster that the single ones. This results in a noisy and bumpy tire as it gets older.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tires

James in NJ

Comments On Mar 27, 2013:Great Rock Tire

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for an 80/20 bike

Travis in NV – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF450X

Comments On Mar 06, 2013:This is a great tire that wears very well and hooks up great for desert riding, while still being more than usable on the street.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Tire

Lane in ID – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 HONDA XR650L

Comments On Feb 28, 2013:This is a great front tire, handles well on pavement and holds up to agressive off road riding. I have over 5000 miles on mine with 75% of that on the street.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good dual purpose tire

Darin in NV

Comments On Jan 31, 2013:Went with this tire after several recommendations, I'm glad I did!! This is a good dual purpose DOT tire. Riding 90% of the time in the dirt, sand and rocks this tire has held up well after a season of long rides. Good grip on the pavement adds to this tires rating.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice DOT knobby but don't expect it to last long

MATTHEW in CA

Comments On Jan 03, 2013:Very nice grip offroad for a DOT tire but mine is down to 40% tread after 800 miles with a lot of city road use. I went ahead and switched to a Pirelli MT-43 since I've heard those last a lot longer on dual sports. Have 500 miles on that tire and it still looks new.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

GREAT TIRE FOR A DRZ400S

TODD in CO

Comments On Jan 04, 2009:TIRE WAS GREAT ON THE ROAD AND AWESOME OFF THE ROAD. LASTED ABOUT THE EXPECTED AMOUNT OF TIME BECAUSE OF THE ROAD RIDING. HIGHLY SATISFIED WITH THIS TIRE.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire, a little pricey

HOWARD in AZ

Comments On Nov 20, 2008:I really like this tire for dualsporting, but it wears pretty quick and is a bit on the pricey side.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

XR 650 L

Brian

Comments On Jun 23, 2008:These are great in the dirt, don't last well on the road at all. I go through 3 a year on the rear. They go bald so fast on the street I'm riding baldies when I do the dirt. I'm trying something new this time.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dual sport tires

WADE in WA

Comments On Apr 29, 2008:I have them on my DRZ400S 700 miles on them so far excellent traction and wear. Will buy again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great tire

JERRY in NE

Comments On Nov 16, 2007:I won't buy any other tire for my drz400.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

MT21

GREGORY in RI

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:The MT 21's work well on my 300cc two stroke. They work well on most terrain, One of the best DOT tires I've tried.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best off road DOT tire

NATHAN in NH

Comments On Oct 23, 2007:most aggressive DOT dirt tire out there, a little loud on the pavement, but works great. definitely worth considering

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't get any better

Brandon in NY

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Pirelli has it's name and the MT21 didn't get it's awards from Dirt Rider for no reason!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Dual Sport Tire

JOHN in UT

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:Used on a DRZ400S. I get about 1200miles out of this tire. (90% off road.) Good compromise.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

dual sport tires

David in PA

Comments On Oct 22, 2007:the dual sport tires are the most aggressive tires you can get that are street legal. The work great in the dirt on my drz 400 and they are adequate for short street hops

Was this review helpful?