Nuetech Tubliss (Tubeless) Tire System

Customer Reviews for Nuetech Tubliss (Tubeless) Tire System

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 43 Reviews

Return to Nuetech Tubliss (Tubeless) Tire System Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Nuetech Tubliss (Tubeless) Tire System Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love these

CORY in CA

Comments On May 05, 2015:I have been using this system for years now and love it. You have to get use to changing the tire a little differently but once you do you will not go back. The ability to run your air pressure very low and not worry about a pinch flat is outstanding.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Will not go back to tubes!

David in CA

Comments On Mar 28, 2015:2012 WR450, front and rear. Have had these for over a year and a couple of tire changes, they are holding up great. Easy to install and do not dread changing tires anymore. very easy. Like the fact that you can run the tire flat in an emergency and not come off the bead, rear tire was punctured and went flat traction was loose but was able to finish the race. NO Pinch flats and can adjust tire pressure down and have great traction!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

These work great

Todd in CA

Comments On Mar 26, 2015:I use these both front and rear on my KTM. I ride out at Divide Peak OHV, and I can be up to 15 miles from help if I break down. I usually ride by myself, so if I break down, it could be really bad. I've used these for about 18 months and they have saved my bacon. I've ridden home numerous times on a completely flat front tire (30 miles dirt and street) and made it home safely. Now I've learned how to plug my tires, and haven't had any non-repairable flat tires yet. It gives me piece of mind knowing that I can repair (plug) my tires on the trail (without removing the wheel) and get home if I get a flat. I carry tire plugs and CO2 cartridges with me when I ride. I highly recommend these for riders who need to be able to repair flat tires out on the trail.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

Matthew in NV

Comments On Mar 09, 2015:Perfect, well worth the money and not that bad to install.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Love It

Doug in CA

Comments On Feb 02, 2015:Put it on both my mx bike and enduro bike. Tire changes are no sweat if you follow the intructions

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire system ever!

MATT in AZ

Comments On Jan 30, 2015:Once you master the mounting of these tubebliss system. Just add slime and off you go. There are a lot of sharp rocks in Arizona. We all get flats now and then. but what is nice about tubeless is just stick a tire plug in and wait for it to dry then air up and off you go. No pulling the tire off of the bike. All my friends are jealous because I can charge hard and get flats with out going back to the truck to fix it. Only thing is buy good tires! will not work with cheap tires. Well it will you will just end up putting 4-5 plugs in it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent traction

Mark in TX

Comments On Jan 08, 2015:I purchased the Nuetech system to improve traction. It makes a huge difference. I noticed it the most on steep climbs and descents. Usually, my bike slides down loose, rocky descents and is somewhat uncontrollable. With the Tubliss system, I find that my bike is very controllable. Climbs where I would normally spin out are easily handled. So far, no flats. Get it...you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

easy peasy

philip in PA

Comments On Dec 28, 2014:I have been running this setup for over a year and haven't had a flat or worried about one, until now. I believe it was my neglect to check the inner bladder pressure before I left for a ride. no biggie. as for changing tires and install, if you have had trouble with it either your not trying hard enough or your not smart enough. the directions are very clear and nutech has a video to watch if you cant get the written ones. great product will buy again.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I hate flats

ZACH in CA

Comments On Dec 19, 2014:I've been running these in a yz250 for over a year now in 8 desert and cross-country races, and many weekend rides. I used to get flats all the time, I haven't got one flat since installing them. will always run these in all future bikes, its really nice to bash into anything I want and not worry about a flat. Changing tires is a little different and takes a little more time, but that's well worth it! Buy these! They are awesome

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Traction Money Can Buy

Ultraman in Nevada

Comments On Dec 11, 2014:I have run these systems for several years and have them on my '14 KTM 300 XC-W. If you rate this less than 5 stars then you either don't understand how it works or haven't read the installation instructions completely. Factory teams spend truckloads of cash to minimize unsprung weight and Tubliss does it for under $100. I will grant you that they are not optimum for desert, but that is because they work best at lower speeds because the tire is set at a lower pressure. They are best for woods riding where a trials tire is magic at low pressure. There is a 360 degree rim lock from the inner liner. Make sure to use Slime in the tire. Flats can be repaired with a plug kit on the trail and usually in less than 5 minutes. I've run these with Maxxis knobbies at 6 pounds as well. I had questions and called with Jeff at Nuetech and the customer support is beyond anyone else. He bent over backwards to make sure the product performed as promised. Try an MT-43 at 9 pounds and you will be hard pressed to find wheel spin. If you ride around a track, these probably aren't your first choice. If you are adventurous and go for all day rides on secret single track, you probably already have these.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'm On The Fence With This Product...

JOHN in CA

Comments On Dec 05, 2014:Well, to start I'm a back yard mechanic and having an air compressor that goes up to 110lbs is difficult. Then I run a Pirelli MT-43 Trials tire and the most I run on some rides is 8lbs. The Tublis requires a minimum of 15lbs to keep the pressure sealed. So now I have to constantly re-air the tire. Also, directions say to constantly maintain the system and also replace the tube after a year. Pretty sure I'm going back to a UHD tube.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

The best option for trail riders

TREVOR in UT

Comments On Nov 30, 2014:My only added piece of advice is use a product called liquitube available at Napa auto parts instead of slime. Use it to lube the tire instead of water since it's water soluble. I have gone through 3 sets of tires and no problems at all. It is bar none the best solution on the market.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

must have

Chase in AL

Comments On Nov 24, 2014:A must have for your bike

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The bomb diggity

Donald in AZ

Comments On Nov 17, 2014:Running these front and rear. Ordered the rear first and it was missing some parts. Called RM and let them know. There was some confusion at first. Called Nutech and confirmed that the hang tag was missing which contains all the tape/plugs/instructions/guide plate/stickers. Called RM back and had the parts in a few days.
Set up the rear without the parts using guidance from Nutech. Set up the front on a subsequent purchase with the factory stuff. No issues after hundreds of miles with either setup.
Using Slime HD (black beads inside) as a sealer and internal lubricant. If you get a full flat you can run them but will slowly damage the internal "tire/tube" combo without lubricant/sealant. With sealant I have seen cases where they are ridden flat through some fairly rough stuff for up to 50 miles without issues. YMMV. Nice not to have to carry a tube, tire irons, etc. in my pack. Instead I carry a car type hole plug kit, and some CO2.
We have had to plug a friends front tire several times with this setup, and the plug work well. He was running intermediate MX tires and when the side knobs tore they would open up a hole. Add plug, air up, and go. OR simply ride back to the car/truck and fix it at home. No worries either way, and he did both.
Pair these with heavier duty tires so you don't have the knob tearing issue, and you should have a very robust setup. We have been running the AT81 Dunlop front, and Maxxis Desert IT rear with great results. No flats here, and one front end puncture (barbed wire or some type of wire) for my friend. He simply rode it out, and plugged it with a tire plug and has been riding it ever since without issues.
A note on the sealant. It may help, but it is more of a way to a.) tell you where the hole is (wet spot), and b.) lube the tire/tubeless combo in case you have to ride it out for long distances.
Running 1/2 the tire pressure has made the bike handle so much better than with normal pressures, reducing deflection and rim hits. I will never go back to tubes again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Don't wait, BUY THESE NOW!!!

TIMOTHY in CA

Comments On Oct 05, 2014:I gave this product a 5 only because 10 isn't available. Have used them anywhere from Northern CA woods riding to 250 mile Nevada desert runs.
Pay attention to the instructions. If you need help call Tubliss. Owner answers the phone often. Make sure you cover over any unused holes in the rim with a piece of aluminum can under the rim tape.
Amazing product. Does not expire like a BIB.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good, but the install...

Porter in NV

Comments On Jul 01, 2014:So far these replacements for my tubes work great and don't even have a problem with them at 90mph on my WR450. However the install was very difficult and required me and a buddy to do it because the trick is to keep the whole tire in the center of the rim (used clamps to do this). The instructions were not very clear, however if you can manage to get them on the rim it is a great product, but make sure that your local shop will install them before ordering. As far as traction, it is noticeably better and absorbs more rocks than I thought it would. Great for desert riding.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

can't say enough about these...

TODD in GA

Comments On Jun 24, 2014:I run 5lbs of pressure and go anywhere without worry of spinning a tube I have 10,000 + miles with no problems at my trail rider pace

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great product

BRET in WA

Comments On Jun 22, 2014:Bought to use on my xr 650r, tired of getting pinch flats when I would air down to ride in the sand. Works great so far. Not hard to install, well thought out instructions.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome product

Chris in NJ

Comments On Jun 14, 2014:Put these on three days before an enduro in the Pa rocks with a Pirelli Mt16 rear tire and a m51 front and they worked great. Awesome traction on the up hills with the loose rocks and roots.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME PRODUCT!!!

Luke in UT

Comments On May 13, 2014:If you can change your tire, you can install this system and have one of the best products you can buy for your moto adventures. Great traction, no more tubes (no pinch flats), and cheap compared to how tubes you would use over time. Run low pressure or even no pressure! If by chance you get a flat, no worries! Run it or just stick a plug in it, no need to remove your tire. Fast and easy. Great customer service from Rocky Mountain and from Nuetech!!!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Read instructions carefully

anthony in WA

Comments On May 12, 2014:Once these are carefully mounted and installed they are a great product. Running slime helps you identify any punctures quickly and it can be plugged trail side. I carry a small repair kit with co2 canisters and plugs. The best thing about tubliss is the adjustability of pressures and the benefit of added traction. 12 psi works perfectly for me and the mx51/52 tyres I run. Old tyres are more inclined to get flats or leak. One tyre I had ripped every side knob off and was leaking from 4 of them. It was time for a new tyre anyhow.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

No tubes, no problems

Matt in CO

Comments On May 07, 2014:It was easy to install and has worked great. Just make sure to check the psi before every ride

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This tubeless system is the BOMB!!!

Brad in WA

Comments On Apr 20, 2014:I bought 1 for the front and rear wheels and I could not be happier. My front tube would get the valve stem ripped out EVERY practice day even though I used 2 rim locks. Some speculate too much braking power with my oversized brake rotor. That problem has been eliminated completely!! On the rear I use this for my paddle tire wheel. Previously the paddles flexing would wear a hole in the tube after 3-4 days of riding. Again the problem is eliminated because there is no tube to rub against. I was a little concerned about successfully getting the systems installed and sealing because neither tire was new and my front rim has lots of dings and 'wows' in it. There was no problems at all, I just followed the very clear instructions and everything worked out. Just finished 3 days of riding on the paddle tire and it worked awesome! I love being able to run lower air pressures in the front as well. I would certainly recommend this system to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good but rather use Bibs

Manuel in FL

Comments On Apr 09, 2014:Tubliss are definitely better than tubes, but since I start using Bibs I took it out and give it away.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

GREAT product.

Rodney in ON

Comments On Jan 10, 2014:2013 race season gave me 4 flats in 4 races. Installed this product and didn't get a flat since. Will not ride without one. Although a challenge to install the first time. Now I know how the next one will be easy.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

pain to mount tires around rim lock

BRENT in WA

Comments On Sep 21, 2013:Will never buy again

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

No more flats

George in BC

Comments On Sep 18, 2013:Works just as they say, no more flats, better traction. Mounting it takes some practice, but if you can mount a tire and tube, you can do it no worries.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

These are great

RUSS in CA

Comments On Aug 08, 2013:If you ride in the desert or in a lot of rocks and get pinch flats this is the fix for that. I get pinch flats about every 400 miles but with these I have over 1500 miles and no flats with less air pressure. Mounting is no harder thin with a tube. Have even run the on the highway at 70mph for 10-15 miles at a time. works great will use them for now on.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

way better than tubes

CHARLES in IL

Comments On Jul 03, 2013:Great product it fit on easy and installed much easier than a tube. I like being able to run lower tire pressures for that added traction. I've yet to ride much but so far so good.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

tubliss tires are awesome! 2001 xr650r

Brenton in LA

Comments On Apr 03, 2013:A little hard to install tire with system, but can be done. Once installed though, these things are headache free. They're not as high maintenance as nutech says, I haven't checked the inner mini tube pressure in a week and my tire is still aired up. My tires did take 5-6 ounces of weight apiece to balance, but having to balance them is a small price to pay for the security and convenience of being able to plug and air up a tire on the trail in no time. Overall, two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

works well

Bruce in CO

Comments On Mar 08, 2013:It was a bit of a pain to install but not much worse than a tire with a tube. It holding air just fine after several thousand miles. Have used it both on and off road with no problems. being able to run crazy low pressure in the tire is great.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

tubliss

TODD in IL

Comments On Feb 25, 2013:The tublis system was a simple install if can change your own tires.Well worth the purchase its a great system.Now I will buy the front one.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the money!!

STEVE in UT

Comments On Dec 10, 2012:I have to say, I was a little skeptical at first with the idea of running tubeless tires. I watched the video and looked at the feedback and thought I would give this system a try.
First, the install is not bad, just watch the install video a time or two and then follow the instructions to the letter.
What I found is the weight savings is significant over heavy duty tubes. The wheels remain about the same weight as with stock inner-tubes. Next, I put down a hundred miles on these on rocky single track and found they do not deflect nearly as much and I was able to use a lower tire pressure than I would normally have been able to safely do. I checked the tire pressure after the first 40 miles and noticed no increase or decrease in pressure. Awesome!!
I finished off another sixty miles and found, again, the pressure in the tires was exactly as when I had started. I had set the pressure at 11 psi front and rear. The traction is amazing with this system. I am very happy with this purchase and highly recommend the product.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

Joshua in TX

Comments On Oct 01, 2012:Great product, super easy install, works better then expected!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Product, but doesn't eliminate flats

Kyle in OR

Comments On Apr 30, 2012:I have had the tubliss system on the front and rear of my 2006 WR450F for almost two years now. They advertise them as being half the weight of a tube system, virtually flat proof, and have the ability to safely run lower pressures for improved traction. They also say that tire changes are simpler that with a standard tube system.
I am skeptical about the weight savings being of any noticeable performance difference as I did not notice any change in this department.
As far as being virtually flat proof, this is not the experience I have had. In two years I have gotten five flat tires that were not due to improper inner tube pressure. This is down maybe 20% from normal tubes for me. The flats were not pinch flats which is what 100% of my tube flats have been in the past. Instead, the tire its self got holes in it. I was running Slime in my tires, but this did nothing to plug the holes as I assume they were too large. However, the leaking Slime did make the holes easy to locate. I now carry a standard tubeless tire plug kit with me in my tool pouch and a very small bicycle pump. When I get a flat on the trail, I can locate it, patch it, and pump it up to be riding again in 5-10 min. The wheel doesn't even need to come off the bike! This is the real value in the Tubliss system in my opinion and this alone is worth the $200 for a set!
Since pinch flats are very rare (I have not had one since buying these) you can run super low pressures for improved traction in muddy conditions. I run between 6-8 psi in the winter typically and have never had the tire spin on the rim as it is clamped to the rim around the whole rim with the Tubliss system and not just at one or two spots as with a conventional rimlock. As far as tire changes go, I believe that they CAN be simpler once you get the mounting method down, but I have not quite gotten that far yet. I still have the standard tire change method imbedded in my brain and keep wanting to revert back to it when changing tires with the Tubliss system and it just doesn't work well. You have to follow the Tubliss mounting instructions to the "T" if you want no slow air leaks and even then you need to repeat a few steps multiple times to get rid of all the slow leaks. If you did it 100% right the first time then it would be faster and easier than with a standard tube system.
To sum it up, this system will not prevent flats or improve performance, but it does make fixing flats a simple quick task that can be done trailside and CAN make tire changes easier but will take some practice.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Is Tubliss TruBliss?

Sean in OH

Comments On Apr 13, 2012:Just installed one of these. Excellent support from Jeff @ Tubliss. First the rhetoric is getting a little out of hand. Tubliss weighs more than the stock tube I took out of my CRF250X '05, 18in. wheel (a Dunlop). I also weighed a brand new BikeMaster 400/425 tube. BM tube, rim lock, rim strap - total 26oz. Dunlop (w/ some Slime Left in that I couldn't clean out) 24oz. + 3oz. rim lock + 2oz. rim strap. = 29oz. Tubliss w/ rim tape 32oz. I don't see tire changing being any easier. Of course this was the first install but look at the video and note how you have to use a special plate to push the entire rim into the tire. You then simply use two tire irons at once while pushing down on the tire (sure!). Not with a Dunlop Geo Max M51. It was preheated with an heat gun also, I eventually sat on the tire and rolled it with my butt on it as I tried to force the wheel in to the tire. Now you have to mount both sides of the tire without the benefit of one lip of the tire in the tire well. Why all the drama? Because the wheel well is filled with a very stiff inner liner. Think of installing a tire with the inner tube on the rim. A normal installation would allow you to just push the one side of the tire on the rim - no tire irons. You can' do that with the Tubliss in the way. It may a great boon to Westerners hitting rocks at high speeds but as a 66 year old dirt biker and former Bultaco shop owner I have lived and ridden in AZ,WY,ID,WA and LOT of OH riding I've only had one dirtbike flat. A few trophies tho.. Maybe the lower tire pressures will offset the cost and headaches but you CAN install two rim locks instead.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great

JAMES in MO

Comments On Apr 05, 2012:You can run your tire presure as low as you want and never get pinch flats. I use STANS, which is a mountain bike tubeliss tire sealant, inside mine to help it seal. The stans also will seal a small punture in the tire. I have no flats to date with over 500 miles in gnarly sharp rock trails.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

5/5 product, but price hurts

MATTHEW in CA

Comments On Mar 20, 2012:Watch the video and read the instructions prior to install. Also you might want to get some Armor-All or similar shiny tire dressing as its needed for an easier install. If you mess up, you're quite possibly out $100. This is a great product but unfortunately I think a lot of people won't use it based on price alone. $100 per wheel is a tough sell, especially if you follow Nuetech's advice and purchase new tires at the same time. While I feel that the benefits are worth $100 and the components are top-notch, I just can't see the production costs adding up enough to justify this price tag. I think a lot more people would make the switch if this was priced closer to $70 each. $140 for both wheels would be a no-brainer purchase, especially if you used an RMATV annual bonus. While I absolutely love this product, it would be one of the last mods I'd do to a bike.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Top Stuff

Geoff in VIC

Comments On Mar 15, 2012:I dont know why I waited so long to put these in both our bikes. Its funny how much lighter my CRF450x feels in the tight stuff now that it doesnt have the UHD tubes in it.
Pretty easy to install and makes tire changing oh so much easier.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good stuff

David in FL

Comments On Dec 09, 2011:I had a pinch flat on the rear during a hare scramble and desided to give these a try as I had a few bucks of credit in my account and it ended up being the same as an MSR Ultra tube. I watched the install video a few times and then went to work. This was a very easy install and the tire is holding the same pressure 3 days later. I am going to ride this weekend and see how it holds up, expecting great results. If all is good I will be ordering one for the front.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Bomb!

JIM in OH

Comments On Sep 21, 2011:No pinch flats, GREAT traction @ 9 PSI, 360 degree beadlock. Great invention even if a bit pricey. I should buy a front!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Innovative and worth the money

PAUL in UT

Comments On Mar 22, 2008:I like it. You should use a brand new tire with it -- nothing used. I tried it with a used tire first and it wouldn't hold air. The instructions say so too but it's something I hadn't read online or in a magazine. No more pinch flats -- priceless.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

This tubeless system works AWESOME!!

jeff in CA

Comments On Feb 02, 2008:Besides being 2.5lbs lighter then the HD tube, it makes changing tires easier too! I have been running 10.5 PSI & NO pinch flats. Can't wait to get the front.

Was this review helpful?