Dunlop Geomax AT81 Tire

Customer Reviews for Dunlop Geomax AT81 Tire

Overall customer review score:

Showing All 24 Reviews

Return to Dunlop Geomax AT81 Tire Product Page

Reviews by real power sport enthusiasts...your opinion counts to us and fellow riders! Make the best purchasing decision by getting the latest reviews.

Customer Reviews

Dunlop Geomax AT81 Tire Reviews

Your review could win you a $100 or $500 gift card!

Each review submitted enters you into a $100 gift card monthly drawing, and a $500 gift card quarterly drawing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great for what they were designed for.

David in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Mar 28, 2015:Have not disappointed me, riding area is single track in CA. foothills and NV desert. Great traction in hard pack, rocks and woods and holding up very well good job Dunlop. Not the best in the loose stuff but that is not the intended use. Running with the Tubliss system front and rear.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great tire!

Jacob in MA – Machine this part was bought for: 2007 HONDA CRF250R

Comments On Mar 13, 2015:I went with an 18" rear wheel on my 250r due to riding all woods. This tire is amazing! Sticks like glue in wet or dry.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great desert all around front tire

Forest in CA

Comments On Mar 02, 2015:Works great in rocks and loose stuff, corner great, large volume even though a 90/90, heavy sidewalls, and durable. Cost a little more for than others, but worth it.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Over 1000 miles

Andrew in FL

Comments On Feb 26, 2015:This tire wears like iron. It hooks up in all situations, and with over 1000miles and over 50hrs it still had all its lugs. Zero chunking. I have never had a tire last this long. On my second set now.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Ok for me..had better

Kevin in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 500 EXC

Comments On Feb 09, 2015:This was a tire I bought after a review in a dirt bike mag. I was anticipating a better gripping tire. It seems like it was good at first but kinda a letdown soon after. I stick to a mx51/52 or Bridgestone 404 from now on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

awesome, awesome

J in AZ – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Feb 04, 2015:not to hard, not at all soft, i use in az, so far good amount of time on front
i've used in MN, worked awesome
they are not to hard so you slip on the rocks, but they aren't at all soft so you get short wear
good tire, good traction

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up well

JOHN in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 YAMAHA WR450F

Comments On Jan 21, 2015:Good fat profile. Easy to mount. OK wear. Clears mud well. Drifts when new.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Wear is medium

Kevin in MO

Comments On Dec 30, 2014:These tire are great but the time on the bike was short.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Grip

Josue in AL – Machine this part was bought for: 2002 YAMAHA TTR250

Comments On Dec 16, 2014:So far so good, I have had 2 long trips and they still look brand new. I would recommend these for various types of riding.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great traction

andrew in WA

Comments On Dec 08, 2014:I sold the bike before I could comment on longevity but the traction was great in the variety of terrain in the Pacific Northwest single track. I came almost to a stop on some pretty gnarly hillclimbs and I was still able to get going again.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Takes a licking...

Donald in AZ

Comments On Nov 17, 2014:Running with the tubliss setup on the front of a 250x at 8psi for off road riding. Holding up really well in the AZ and Moab conditions. Previously used Dunlop MX51 front which had about 1/2 the side knobs sheered or torn off under the same type of use. This one barely shows any wear despite harder cornering in the same conditions/trails.
My go to front. Have not tried the rear.

Additional Comments On Nov 25, 2014:Shortly after the above review I noticed the cornering lugs beginning to tear away. Still better than the MX51, but 7 lugs leaking sealant from the casing and fold back with thumb pressure. Revising my review downward and in search of something where the side lugs hold up better.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Good in the woods- garbage in the Desert

james in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 530 XC-W

Comments On Nov 18, 2014:recently went on a two day trip to NV with 10 riders. everyone ( 3 riders) with this tire got a flat the first day. possibly our mistake for not buying the "Desert" tire before heading out, so IF your are THINKING of riding NV with the AT81 be sure to get the "desert" version. my flat went thru the tread wall and a ultra heavy duty tube so it was sharp to say the least but my buddy races NV and swears by the desert version. switched over from a Maxxis since they chuck BAD after 5 or so rides. will keep you posted as we ride NV all winter. Brruup!!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Side lugs are ripping off - front tire

ALLEN in UT – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 300 XC

Comments On Nov 06, 2014:I put this tire on 2 months ago and only have 5 trail rides on it. The lugs still look like new, but I can grab almost every other side lug and pull it away to reveal a crack down to the core of the tire.
I run tubliss with 10psi in the front, the tire won't hold air because it's leaking out of all the cracked side lugs.
I'm bummed about it, because I really liked the handling of the tire on the first couple of rides and I love the rear 81 AT desert, totally hooks up and lasts forever. Rear is tubliss as well at 4-5psi.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was hoping for more

Mark in TX

Comments On Oct 21, 2014:This rear tire works great in the soft stuff. On hard pack it is not very good. On hard pack, the rear tire slides like it is on ice during braking. Was hoping for a more all around tire...I will go back to the Bridgestone 404.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

at81

Glenn in QLD

Comments On Oct 02, 2014:Good quality front tyre,run it at around 6-8psi with tubliss and handles great in all terrain,no punctures and handles everything I throw at it

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good wear horrible grip

Nathan in IN

Comments On Sep 18, 2014:This has been the worst front tire I've ever run. No feel. Washes out bad on hardpack and feels unstable everywhere else. Tried all different tire pressures including a Tubliss and as low as 6psi. There it just rolled over bad. Do not recommend this tire unless you want long life and are a slow casual rider. The Dunlop mx32 is going back on my bike

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Paul in CO – Machine this part was bought for: 2003 YAMAHA YZ125

Comments On Aug 27, 2014:Great on the hard pack I ride on.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Great Tyre and better then mx51

Helmut in VIC – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 HUSQVARNA TE 511

Comments On Jul 30, 2014:This is my second Tyre AT81. Very good Grip in Victoria Australia Condition. Clay eater , Hill climber and great in the tricky single tracks with logs and many other things.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Traction

Brandon in NC – Machine this part was bought for: 2012 KTM 350 EXC-F

Comments On Jul 08, 2014:I run Tubliss front and rear and with these tires you can run very low pressure as the side walls are very hard. Ran them at the Snowshoe GNCC and had very little traction issues.

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Hooks up well!

Thomas in PA

Comments On Jun 15, 2014:worked great in all areas, have no complaints. good traction,lasts for a while if you stay off the hardtop.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome tire!

Daniel in TN – Machine this part was bought for: 2010 KTM 250 XC

Comments On Jun 03, 2014:Great tire in terms of traction and style. Works great in several different applications. I went with the tubliss system and I honestly don't have one complaint. Great tire!

Was this review helpful?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Best tire

Joe in TX – Machine this part was bought for: 2001 KAWASAKI KDX220

Comments On May 06, 2014:Took a chance on a set of AT 81 based on research and Dunlop's reputation. Glad I did, these are the best off road tires I have had on my KDX. The tire is great in all condition. very little sign of wear. I would buy again and recommend to friends

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The best all around summer off road tire yet

Randy in Idaho – Machine this part was bought for: 2013 KTM 300 XC

Comments On May 04, 2014:This is the best all around off road tire I have used in forty years of riding! It hooks up in the loam, tracks through the rocky technical sections and wears like a piece of iron! Thirty five miles of spin, mud, and rock, plus a little snow for humility, and barely a trace of wear on the leading edge. This tire is in the stable for sure.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great front tire

CRAIG in CA – Machine this part was bought for: 2014 KTM 450 XC-F

Comments On Jan 27, 2014:I figured since I was going to try the new RC out back I would try the matching front. Excellent performance all around, great cornering and wears good without chunking in the rocks.

Was this review helpful?