The Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Mountaineer Run (11th round) of the 2017 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series presented by Maxxis, an AMA National Championship took place September 23-24 at Marvin’s Mountain Top in Masontown, WV.

Brycen Neal at GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC

Motorcycle Report

Ricky Russell grabbed the holeshot, but Ryan Sipes quickly took over the lead. Kailub Russell and Trevor Bollinger moved into podium positions within the first lap. Sipes continued riding strong in 1st, while K. Russell and Bollinger swapped places back and forth. When Sipes ran into problems with his quick-fill gas can during a pit stop, it looked as though he would lose his lead, but he managed to get back on the track before getting caught. About halfway through the race, Bollinger fell back, while R. Russell moved into the final podium position.

Ricky Russell at GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC

Sipes took the win – the first overall GNCC win of his career. K. Russell placed 2nd, while R. Russell finished in 3rd.

Ryan Sipes at GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC

K. Russell extended his lead in championship points, now more than 50 points ahead of Thad Duvall (who didn’t race due to his ISDE injury). Steward Baylor is currently in 3rd.

Kailub Russell at GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC

Top 20 Overall Motorcycle Results

Overall Pos. No.NameBikeClassPointsSeries Points
1264Ryan SipesHusqvarnaXC1 Open Pro30112
21Kailub RussellKTMXC1 Open Pro25260
3212Ricky RussellYamahaXC1 Open Pro21184
4206Joshua TothYamahaXC2 250 Pro18167
5514Steward BaylorKTMXC1 Open Pro16193
6314Grant BaylorHusqvarnaXC1 Open Pro15144
75Trevor BollingerHondaXC1 Open Pro14129
89Craig DeLongHusqvarnaXC2 250 Pro13114
9523Layne MichaelHusqvarnaXC2 250 Pro12116
10282Michael WitkowskiKTMXC2 250 Pro1194
1112Benjamin KelleyKTMXC2 250 Pro1057
12123Austin LeeHondaXC2 250 Pro950
13125Jason ThomasHusqvarnaFMF XC3 125 Pro-Am853
14113Russell BobbittKTMXC1 Open Pro7101
15228Brendan RiordanYamahaXC2 250 Pro610
16420Dylan MacritchieKTMXC2 250 Pro511
1799Paul WhibleyYamahaFMF XC3 125 Pro-Am414
18309Alex TeagardenHusqvarna250 A311
19295Jesper BorjessenHusqvarnaXC2 250 Pro26
20118Jack EdmondsonHusqvarnaFMF XC3 125 Pro-Am133

Motorcycle Podium at GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC

ATV Report

Westley Wolfe took off with the holeshot, while Brent Sturdivant and Walker Fowler were close behind. Sturdivant managed to pass Wolfe for the lead, but it wasn’t long before Fowler followed him and then took the lead himself. Before the first lap was done, Brycen Neal also managed to work his way up, reaching 2nd. Sturdivant lost another position, this time to Jarrod McClure.

Westley Wolfe at the Start of GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC

Fowler took another win, while Neal placed 2nd and McClure placed 3rd.

At this point, the 2017 championship already belongs to Fowler, but that doesn’t seem to be slowing him down at all. In championship points, Neal moved into 2nd, while McClure jumped up to 3rd (only nine points behind Neal). Chris Borich slid back to 4th from 3rd, while Adam McGill fell back from 2nd to 5th.

Walker Fowler at GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC

Top 20 Overall ATV Results

Overall Pos. No.NameQuadClassPointsSeries Points
11Walker FowlerYamahaXC1 Pro30325
25Brycen NealYamahaXC1 Pro25194
34Jarrod McClureHondaXC1 Pro21183
43Chris BorichSuzukiXC1 Pro18182
5741Westley WolfeSuzukiXC1 Pro16100
610Joshua MerrittYamahaXC1 Pro1593
7201Cody CollierYamahaXC1 Pro1454
817Hunter HartKTMXC2 Pro Am13119
9712John GlaudaYamahaCollege A1218
109Greg CovertYamahaXC2 Pro Am11103
1113Johnny GallagherYamahaXC1 Pro10118
128Martin ChristoffersonHondaXC1 Pro9116
1316Devon FeehanHondaXC2 Pro Am8113
14303Matthew LindleHondaXC2 Pro Am791
15441Brandon IcardHondaXC2 Pro Am629
1687Wes KinsleySuzukiXC2 Pro Am55
17926Tanner WalkerHondaCollege A44
18217Drew LandersYamahaCollege A335
19427Cameron BruceYamahaXC2 Pro Am213
2025Steven CovertYamahaXC2 Pro Am11

ATV Podium at GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC

UTV Report

William Yokley gained the edge early in the race, with Walker Fowler and Hunter Miller following behind. The first change in the podium spots occurred when Cody Miller worked his way past H. Miller for 3rd. H. Miller lost several more spots, and Kevin Trantham got into 3rd. From there, Trantham worked his way up to the lead. H. Miller managed to make the passes necessary to get back into 3rd.

Trantham took the overall win, the first of his career. C. Miller finished in 2nd, while H. Miller placed 3rd.

H. Miller remains in the lead for championship points, but C. Miller has cut the gap down to a single point. Yokley is in 3rd.

Top 20 Overall UTV Results

Overall Pos. No.NameUTVClassPointsSeries Points
122Kevin TranthamPolarisXC1 Pro3041
21Cody MillerYamahaXC1 Pro2593
36Hunter MillerCan-AmXC1 Pro2194
4117Collin TruettPolarisXC3 Pro-Am1824
512John BarnesPolarisXC1 Pro1631
619Michael SwiftPolarisXC1 Pro1543
714Mouse PrattYamahaXC1 Pro1424
8411Jason WattCan-AmXC2 Pro Sport1330
928Derron OakleyCan-AmXC2 Pro Sport1240
10685Bryan RiggsCan-AmXC2 Pro Sport1127
11412William YokleyPolarisXC1 Pro1058
12623Eric PalomakiYamahaXC3 Pro-Am99
13116Spencer ModlinCan-AmXC2 Pro Sport826
1469Chris WolfePolarisXC2 Pro Sport714
15400Casey BoyntonPolarisXC1 Pro612
1645Bill RossPolarisAmateur Modified55
17714Richie NolanPolarisXC2 Pro Sport45
18513Donald HarrisonPolarisXC3 Pro-Am317
1946Jim GoughenourPolarisXC2 Pro Sport23
20777Josh DavisCan-AmXC3 Pro-Am19

UTV Podium at GNCC
Photo Credit: Ken Hill | Courtesy of GNCC