2014 Monster Energy Cup Showdown on Saturday, October 18

Monster Energy Cup

The biggest event of the off-season – the Monster Energy Cup – will be on Saturday, October 18. It will take place at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas. The track and racing format make it an exciting event for any supercross fan. All professionals race in a single class (the Cup Class), but there are several major amateur events as well, including the KTM Junior Supercross Challenge as well as super-mini and amateur all-star classes.

The 2014 Monster Energy Cup features an all-new track design inspired by five-time Monster Energy Supercross champion Ricky Carmichael. The Carmichael-inspired track design will consist of supercross and motocross obstacles unlike any other racetrack design in the world. The Monster Energy Cup track will include a unique split start where 11 riders from each side will blitz down a long straightway to huge 180 degree bowl turns, then converge into one lane. The Monster Energy Cup posts a $250,000 purse with the winner walking away with a $100,000 check, and any rider that wins all three main events will take home $1 million.

“This year’s track design is unlike anything I have ever seen in my career,” said Carmichael. “It’s definitely going to be exciting and challenging for everyone. We started with a great foundation and have an epic final product.”

Check out a preview of the track in this video:

In the three years of the Monster Energy Cup, there have been three different winners: Ryan Villopoto, Justin Barcia, and James Stewart. Of these, only Barcia has been confirmed for the 2014 race – and with new team as well. “This is my first-ever race for the JGRMX team, and I am stoked,” said Barcia. “Not only can I become the first-ever two-time winner of the Monster Energy Cup, I can give the team its first-ever title at this race.”

In fact, many riders will be on new machines, and this will be the first competitive event with a lot of riders on their new bikes:

  • Dean Wilson (KTM)
  • Justin Brayton (KTM)
  • Blake Baggett (Suzuki)
  • Davi Millsaps (Kawasaki)
  • Cole Seely (Honda)
  • Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
  • Martin Davalos (Husqvarna)

Former two-time Monster Energy Supercross champion Chad Reed’s best finish at the Monster Energy Cup was in 2012 when he finished fourth overall. “The Monster Energy Cup comes during the off-season, so everybody is well rested and has had some time off, so everybody is excited to get back to racing,” said Reed. “The format is a little different with three 10-lap main events. The focus is to win or go home.”

Like Reed, Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey also brings a Monster Energy Supercross title to this year’s race. Dungey has finished in second place at the first three Monster Energy Cup races and has his sights set on his first title. “I always look forward to going back to the Monster Energy Cup,” said Dungey. “There is always a lot going on at this race; it’s exciting for the fans and the riders. This race is going to be closer and tighter than ever.”

How to watch:

  • The pre-race press conference will be streamed live at SupercrossOnline.com on Friday, October 17 at 3:00 pm ET.
  • The Monster Energy Cup will be live on FOX Sports 2 on Saturday, October 18 at 9:00 pm ET.
  • FOX Sports 1 will re-air the entire race at 1:00 pm ET.
  • The FOX broadcast network will offer a 90-minute Monster Energy Cup encore special on Sunday, October 26 following NFL football in most markets, while preceding football in others. (Check your local listing to find out which applies to you).

For more information on the Monster Energy Cup, go to MonsterEnergyCup.com.