The final round of the 2017 SCORE World Desert Championship, the 50th Baja 1000, took place November 14-18 from Ensenada to La Paz in Baja California, Mexico.

Pro Moto Unlimited Report

Francisco Arredondo came through with the win, solidifying his spot at the top of the leaderboard and awarding him the championship. Arredondo’s biggest rival this year, Mark Samuels, followed less than 20 minutes later and finished the season in 2nd. Ray Dal Soglio finished in 3rd, but he was not able to make up enough points to overtake Garrett Poucher for 3rd in the overall.

Pro Moto Unlimited Results

Pos.No.Rider of RecordBikePointsOverall
145XFrancisco ArrendondoHonda128346
21XMark SamuelsHonda122330
33XRay Dal SoglioHonda118242
444XJustin MorganHonda115174
533XGarrett PoucherHonda113290
655XCarlin DunneHonda112112
735XNick GustKTM111111
866XSantiago CreelKTM110238

Pro Moto Unlimited Season Results

Pos.No.Rider of RecordPoints
145XFrancisco Arrendondo346
21XMark Samuels330
333XGarrett Poucher290
43XRay Dal Soglio242
566XSantiago Creel238
623XMark Winkelman180
744XJustin Morgan174
855XCarlin Dunne112
935XNick Gust111
1010XSkyler Howes75
1113XDerek Ausserbauer57
1270XDylan Montanaro30
1346XMax Eddy21
1414XRodolfo Patron20
1543XRoberto Vallabos20

Pro Quad Report

Said Sanchez finished his perfect season with another win and the championship. Don Higbee finished a couple of hours later in 2nd. His perseverance throughout the season has awarded him with 2nd overall as well. Carlos Mendez Jr finished in 3rd, but it was Daniel Salazar who placed 3rd for the season.

Pro Quad Unlimited Results

Pos.No.Rider of RecordQuadPointsOverall
113ASaid SanchezHonda125340
22ADon HigbeeCan-Am119273
33ACarlos Mendez JrHonda115115

Pro Quad Unlimited Season Results

Pos.No.Rider of RecordPoints
113ASaid Sanchez340
22ADon Higbee273
311ADaniel Salazar141
43ACarlos Mendez Jr115
512AOscar Ruiz59
622AEdwin Lopez55

Pro UTV Turbo Report

Brandon Scheuler had an impressive run, finishing in 1st nearly two hours ahead of Justin Elenburg and Mike Cafro, who placed 2nd and 3rd. Scheuler managed to catch up and tie Marc Burnett in championship points thanks to his win. As Burnett had previously won a race in the season as well, the tiebreaker had to be determined by the most 2nd-place finishes – of which Burnett had one and Scheuler had zero. Burnett therefore took the championship, with Scheuler placing 2nd overall. Cory Sappington placed 3rd for the season.

Pro UTV Turbo Unlimited Results

Pos.No.Driver of RecordUTVPointsOverall
12919Brandon SchuelerPolaris145348
22977Justin ElenburgCan-Am139219
32975Mike CafroPolaris135309
42917Derek MurrayCan-Am132306
52971Wayne MatlockPolaris130258
62982Meredith HammondPolaris129149
72968Christine GiampaolCan-Am128158
82948Matt BurroughsCan-Am127219
92949Alonso LopezPolaris126284
102905Marc BurnettCan-Am125348
112912Tony RiggsPolaris124211
122904Cory SappingtonCan-Am123325
132930Sean CookCan-Am122287
142946Jose JuarezPolaris121280
152911Chris WerthCan-Am120120
162918Justin LambertPolaris119224
172924Lacrecia BeurrierUnknown118118
182903Jaime Romero JrUnknown117117
192969Stu WildPolaris116116
202988Jorge VelaCan-Am115115
DNF2906Marc BurnettCan-Am4040
DNF2907Max GordonArctic Cat4040
DNF2957Al McBethPolaris4040
DNF2966Rhys MillenPolaris40107
DNF2989Wes MillerPolaris40169

Pro UTV Turbo Unlimited Season Results

Pos.No.Driver of RecordPoints
12905Marc Burnett348
22919Brandon Schueler348
32904Cory Sappington325
42975Mike Cafro309
52917Derek Murray306
62930Sean Cook287
72949Alonso Lopez284
82946Jose Juarez280
92971Wayne Matlock258
102918Justin Lambert224
112977Justin Elenburg219
122948Matt Burroughs219
132912Tony Riggs211
142989Wes Miller169
152910Scott Trafton162
162968Christine Giampaol158
172982Meredith Hammond149
182911Chris Werth120
192924Lacrecia Beurrier118
202903Jaime Romero Jr117
212916Cody Rahders116
222969Stu Wild116
232988Jorge Vela115
242966Rhys Millen107
252913Brandon Sims99
262990Steve Smith90
272944Shane Redline84
282936Jacob Carver79
292931Craig Scanlon78
302967Anthony Perez74
312929Paul Wadlington73
322906Marc Burnett40
332907Max Gordon40
342957Al McBeth40
352914Tyler Walker30
362950Rodrigo Elorduy20
372998Bill Whittington20

Pro UTV Report

In his first SCORE International race of the season, Dan Fresh pulled through with a win and a finish nearly two hours ahead of Dodge Poelman in 2nd (who also raced his first SCORE event of the year). Don Whittington came through in 3rd. Whittington’s finish was enough to keep him at the top of the leaderboard, and he and took the championship. Kristen Matlock was the only competitor close in overall points and finished the season in 2nd. JT Holmes placed 3rd for the season.

Pro UTV Unlimited Results

Pos.No.Driver of RecordUTVPointsOverall
11939Dan FreshPolaris137137
21962Dodge PoelmanPolaris131131
31998Don WhittingtonPolaris127298
41923Ben BischoffPolaris124124
51913Dean ActonYamaha122122
61954Kristen MatlockPolaris121273
71984Mike LewisPolaris120120
81970Paul HodgeYamaha119119
91922Aldo SalazarPolaris118148
DNF1955Paul ChampionPolaris40155
DNF1903Cameron ChinYamaha4040
DNF1996Jim DanielsPolaris4040
DNF1924Jorge HernandezPolaris4040
DNF1950JT HolmesPolaris40178
DNF1905John T HolmesPolaris4040
DNF1907Daniel ParkerPolaris4070
DNF1995Kaden WellsPolaris4040

Pro UTV Unlimited Season Results

Pos.No.Driver of RecordPoints
11998Don Whittington298
21954Kristen Matlock273
31950JT Holmes178
41955Paul Champion155
51922Aldo Salazar148
61939Dan Fresh137
71962Dodge Poelman131
81923Ben Bischoff124
91913Dean Acton122
101984Mike Lewis120
111970Paul Hodge119
121985Adrian Orellana85
131925Matt Scarpuzzi78
141901Greg Row72
151907Daniel Parker70
161903Cameron Chin40
171996Jim Daniels40
181924Jorge Hernandez40
191905John T Holmes40
201995Kaden Wells40
211906Mark Levrett30
221958George Felix30
231977Javier Acosta24
241926Eddie Pimentel22