The second round of the 2017 SCORE World Desert Championship, the 49th Annual Baja 500, took place June 1st-4th in Ensenada, Mexico.

Pro Moto Unlimited Report

Francisco Arredondo came through with the win, beating out Ray Dal Soglio by over 25 minutes. Mark Samuels finished in 3rd, only narrowly beating out Skyler Howes for the final podium position. Arredondo’s win puts him in the overall lead, though Samuels is only four points behind. No doubt they’ll continue to battle for points in the upcoming rounds.

Pro Moto Unlimited Results

Pos.No.Rider of RecordBikePointsOverall
145XFrancisco ArrendondoHonda88149
23XRay Dal SoglioHonda82102
31XMark SamuelsHonda78145
410XSkyler HowesHonda7575
523XMark WinkelmanHusqvarna73127
666XSantiago CreelKTM7272
733XGarrett PoucherHonda71123
DNF70XDylan MontanaroKawasaki3030

Pro Quad Report

Said Sanchez took another win, beating out Don Higbee by over two hours. This solidifies his spot in 1st in the overall points standings, a full 21 points ahead of Higbee in 2nd. Daniel Salazar received an unfortunate DNF over the weekend, but he still earned enough starting points to boost him up to 3rd in the overall standings over Oscar Ruiz and Edwin Lopez, who did not race the Baja 500.

Pro Quad Results

Pos.No.Rider of RecordQuadPointsOverall
113ASaid SanchezHonda85150
22ADon HigbeeCan-Am79129
DNF11ADaniel SalazarHonda3082

Pro UTV Turbo Report

Justin Lambert had a great race against numerous competitors in the class. He came through nearly 50 minutes ahead of Branden Sims in 2nd. Mike Cafro finished in 3rd. In the overall standings, it is actually Marc Burnett – who only finished in 12th over the weekend – who is currently in the lead. However, he is trailed by Cafro and Derek Murray (who finished in 6th at the Baja 500) by only a single point.

Pro UTV Turbo Results

Pos.No.Driver of RecordUTVPointsOverall
12918Justin LambertPolaris105105
22913Branden SimsPolaris9999
32975Mike CamfroPolaris95149
42948Matt BurroughsPolaris9292
52990Steve SmithPolaris9090
62917Derek MurrayCan-Am89149
72916Cody RahdersPolaris8888
82912Tony RiggsPolaris8787
92910Scott TraftonPolaris86141
102904Cory SappingtonCan-Am85142
112944Shane RedlineCan-Am8484
122905Marc BurnettCan-Am83150
132946Jose JuarezPolaris82134
142930Sean CookCan-Am81137
152977Justin ElenburgCan-Am8080
162936Jacob CarverPolaris7979
172931Craig ScanlonPolaris7878
182919Brandon SchuelerPolaris77140
192989Wes MillerPolaris76129
202949Alonso LopezPolaris75133
212967Anthony PerezCan-Am7474
222929Paul WadlingtonPolaris7373
DNF2968Christine GiampaolCan-Am3030
DNF2971Wayne MatlockPolaris30103
DNF2914Tyler WalkerPolaris3030

Pro UTV Report

JT Holmes came through with the win, no doubt made even sweeter in light of the unfortunate DNF he suffered in the first round. Adrian Orellana finished in 2nd. Don Whittington placed 3rd. It is Whittington who currently enjoys the lead in the overall standings.

Pro UTV Results

Pos.No.Driver of RecordUTVPointsOverall
11950JT HolmesPolaris91111
21985Adrian OrellanaPolaris8585
31998Don WhittingtonPolaris81140
41925Matt ScarpuzziPolaris7878
DNF1955Paul ChampionPolaris3030
DNF1958George FelixPolaris3030
DNF1906Mark LevrettCan-Am3030
DNF1954Kristen MatlockPolaris3085
DNF1907Daniel ParkerPolaris3030
DNF1901Greg RowPolaris3050
DNF1922Aldo SalazarPolaris3030