The third round of the 2017 SCORE World Desert Championship, the 21st Tijuana Desert Challenge, took place September 22-24 on a 23.8-mile loop beginning and ending in Tijuana, Mexico.

Pro Moto Unlimited Report

Shane Esposito took the win just ahead of Mark Samuels. Justin Morgan followed in 3rd. This keeps Esposito/Arredondo in the lead with championship points, though Samuels is only 10 points behind. Mark Winkelman is in 3rd overall.

Pro Moto Unlimited Results

Pos.No.Rider of RecordBikePointsOverall
145XShane EspositoHonda69218
21XMark SamuelsHonda63208
344XJustin MorganHonda5959
466XSantiago CreelKTM56128
533XGarrett PoucherHonda54177
623XMark WinkelmanHusqvarna53180
DNF3XRay Dal SoglioHonda20122
DNF46XMax EddyHonda2020
DNF43XRoberto VillalobosHonda2020

Pro Quad Report

Said Sanchez was victorious in the Pro Quad class, with Daniel Salazar finished behind him in 2nd. With Sanchez’s third straight victory in tow, he has dominated the class. Don Higbee trails distantly in 2nd overall, with Salazar in 3rd.

Pro Quad Results

Pos.No.Rider of RecordQuadPointsOverall
113ASaid SanchezHonda65215
211ADaniel SalazarHonda59141
DNF2ADon HigbeeCan-Am20149

Pro UTV Turbo Report

Marc Burnett finished in 1st, with Rhys Millen following in 2nd and Brandon Schueler in 3rd. This marks Burnett’s first victory of the season, and he continues in 1st overall. Schueler has moved into 2nd, while Scott and Cory Sappington are now in 3rd.

Pro UTV Turbo Results

Pos.No.Driver of RecordUTVPointsOverall
12905Marc BurnettCan-Am73223
22966Rhys MillenPolaris6767
32919Brandon SchuelerPolaris63203
42904Scott SappingtonCan-Am60202
DNF2916Cody RahdersPolaris28116
DNF2975Mike CafroPolaris27176
DNF2971Wayne MatlockPolaris26129
DNF2949Alonso LopezPolaris25158
DNF2917Derek MurrayCan-Am24173
DNF2946Jose JuarezPolaris23157
DNF2930Sean CookCan-Am22159
DNF2910Scott TraftonPolaris21162
DNF2982Meredith HammondPolaris2020

Pro UTV Report

Kristen Matlock took the win in the Pro UTV class by default as she was the only driver to finish the race at all. All six other drivers were credited with DNFs. Despite Matlock’s fortune as the only finisher, it wasn’t enough to put her into the overall lead due to her own DNF at the Baja 500. Don Whittington maintains the lead in championship points, though Matlock is now in 2nd. JT Holmes is currently in 3rd overall.

Pro UTV Results

Pos.No.Driver of RecordUTVPointsOverall
11954Kristen MatlockPolaris67152
DNF1998Don WhittingtonPolaris31171
DNF1950JT HolmesPolaris27138
DNF1977Javier AcostaPolaris2424
DNF1901Greg RowPolaris2272
DNF1955Paul ChampionPolaris21116
DNF1926Eddie PimentelPolaris2020